Subscribe: Comments on: Review of Bic Matic.
http://www.pencilrevolution.com/2006/06/review-of-bic-matic/feed/
Added By: Feedage Forager Feedage Grade A rated
Language: English
Tags:
bic matic  bic  cheap  don  good  lead  matic  mechanical pencils  mechanical  pencil revolution  pencil  pencils  plastic  tip  write 
Rate this Feed
Rate this feedRate this feedRate this feedRate this feedRate this feed
Rate this feed 1 starRate this feed 2 starRate this feed 3 starRate this feed 4 starRate this feed 5 star

Comments (0)

Feed Details and Statistics Feed Statistics
Preview: Comments on: Review of Bic Matic.

Comments on: Review of Bic Matic.



pencil philosophy: wooden wisdom, product reviews & ephemera, etc.



Last Build Date: Tue, 23 Jan 2018 06:43:29 +0000

 



By: Johnny

Thu, 13 Aug 2015 23:40:34 +0000

In my experience, the only way to prevent breaking these clips is not to use them. Or you can carefully file/sand off what's left, for a nice, smooth finish.



By: Regie

Thu, 13 Aug 2015 21:43:51 +0000

I have a problem with breaking the clips off of pencils and it has gotten so that I now break not only my own but my friends' as well. how can I stop? I don't really care but its straining my personal relationships with friends..SERIOUSLY HELP ME



By: The BIC Matic Classic 0.7mm » Bleistift

Sun, 09 Jun 2013 10:00:21 +0000

[...] Lime2. The colours used for the clips seem to have changed since this pencil has been reviewed by Pencil Revolution and Dave’s Mechanical Pencils, but the reason for the colour change might be geographical [...]



By: Gogo

Fri, 21 Oct 2011 22:43:46 +0000

I just worked out that I can pull the plastic tip off to reveal the feed mech which works like a split collet holding the lead tight. When you push to advance the lead the collet opens and allows the lead to travel forwards. Feeding leads in from the tip can easily break one side of the thin plastic collet and then its useless.



By: Gogo

Fri, 21 Oct 2011 17:26:24 +0000

I've been using Bic matic for about 2 years and have always thrown them away when the lead wouldn't come out anymore. Didn't realise there was another two leads stored inside under the eraser Doh! Today I pulled the lead from a little used perfectly good one just to try replacing it and now the lead wont advance and pushes back up inside when you try and write. Looks like they could be single use disposable after all. Unless there is a trick to overcome this?



By: Pencil Revolution

Wed, 29 Sep 2010 13:40:56 +0000

I've had a thing for the clear PaperMate Write Bros pencils that came out a few years ago. So cheap, but so awesome. :-)



By: Mechanical Pencils :: PigPog

Sat, 25 Sep 2010 22:20:38 +0000

[...] Matic – We’ve not tried any Bic pencils ourselves, but our comrades over in the revolution have just posted a review of the Bic Matic. Cheap, but good and useable. Sounds quite similar to the Pilot Super Grip, but without the grip, and with a plastic tip. [...]



By: ana

Fri, 24 Sep 2010 22:29:27 +0000

I confess to loving these cheap little pencils. For a cheap plastic pencil I can buy in bulk, they have a fairly classic look-and-feel. I can leave a jar on my desk and not be too bothered if someone walks off with one (I'd never do this with my Palominos!). I keep one in the car so I can write notes at red lights and not worry about needing to sharpen a pencil or worry about pen leakage. If you need a good stand-by pencil, you can't go wrong with the Bic Matic.



By: Cossack

Sun, 27 Sep 2009 04:18:17 +0000

I find the love for the Bic Matic absolutely amazing, as negative experiences with these things helped turn me away from mechanical pencils entirely until recently. However, I tend to write forcefully, which is probably the cause of my problems. The above poster touches on one of my greatest problems with the pencil. It does advance too much lead at a time, resulting in a "write write *SNAP*" experience. This also causes the pencil to use up a lot more lead, which oddly only seems to run out just before or during a test. The main other part is that when the lead doesn't snap, it often slides back up into the pencil. I wonder if this is more of a problem with a pencil that has seen some use as opposed to a fresh one.



By: Kevin

Mon, 19 Jan 2009 18:09:13 +0000

I'm a fan of the Bic Matic, I'm studying Japanese and I've found it very useful for writing kana. It's great for keeping the lines thin enough so that I can write small and make my kana legible and look nice. Wood pencils tend to dull or round too easily for me and I would find myslef having to keep sharpening the pencil all the time. Writing with a rounded tip tends to make the lines too fat. And sometimes when writing kana you have to trail off a stroke where it is thinner at one end than the other. I've found the Bic Matic perfect for this. The only problem is the eraser. It is a good eraser but it runs out too quickly and I don't know where to get replacements. I don't want to buy new pencils just for the erasers. I don't think you mentioned this but the Bic is much more convenient than mechanical pencils where you twist instead of click in order to retract the lead. Just hold the pencil vertical, click down, and press the lead against a hard surface and it retracts back into the pencil, quick and easy. Great review!