Subscribe: Recipe Reviews
http://recipereviews.blogspot.com/rss.xml
Added By: Feedage Forager Feedage Grade B rated
Language: English
Tags:
add  bake  baking  bowl  cabbage  chopped  coconut  great  minutes  mix  mixture  oven  potatoes  rice  sauce  shrimp  tsp  water 
Rate this Feed
Rate this feedRate this feedRate this feedRate this feedRate this feed
Rate this feed 1 starRate this feed 2 starRate this feed 3 starRate this feed 4 starRate this feed 5 star

Comments (0)

Feed Details and Statistics Feed Statistics
Preview: Recipe Reviews

Recipe Reviews



These recipes have either been sent to me, I've found in the paper or cookbooks, or came across online. I don't include nutrition information, you'll have to use your own judgment about fat/sodium/etc... content. I welcome your recipes and comments!



Last Build Date: Wed, 13 Dec 2017 14:12:38 +0000

 



Pumpkin Muffins

Sun, 11 Nov 2007 17:38:00 +0000

Dense, yet light, these muffins are not only delicious fresh from the oven, but also eaten anytime. Packed with vitamins, these make a great breakfast and snack.

Pumpkin Muffins

2 c. flour
1 & 1/2 tsp. baking powder
1/2 tsp. baking soda
1/2 tsp. salt
1 tsp. Pumpkin Pie spice or 1/2 tsp cinnamon, 1/4 tsp. ea. ground cloves & ginger
1 & 1/4 c. canned Pumpkin
1/4 c. canola oil or melted butter
2 eggs
1 & 1/2 c. sugar
optional: 1/2 c. raisins, nuts, chopped apples, or dried cranberries.

topping: 2 tbl. sugar & 1 tsp. cinnamon mixed well.

Oven 350 degrees. Bake 28-30 minutes. Makes 9 medium or 12 small muffins.

Mix dry ingredients, through spices, together in small bowl. Set aside.
Mix Pumpkin, oil, eggs and sugar in medium bowl.
Add dry ingredients, mixing until moist.
Spray muffin tins or line with muffin liners.
Divide batter evenly among tins.
Sprinkle cinnamon sugar mixture on tops.

Bake until tops spring back or toothpick inserted comes out clean.
Cool in pan for 10 minutes, then remove to wire rack to completely cool.
Pack in airtight container or ziplock bag.

Notes: I used oil, not butter, and 1/3 c. raisins & 1/4 c. chopped apples, but any of the options listed above would be wonderful. Note to self: keep canned pumpkin on hand, as these will not last long.



Really Great Hot Dogs

Mon, 04 Jun 2007 14:07:00 +0000

I know, you're thinking a hot dog is a hot dog, right? Kinda sorta. I am a midwestern girl and where I come from, nothing beats a hot dog and chips (specifically, Eckrich hot dogs and Jay's - not Lay's - potato chips).

So here's one really great way to make the perfect summer meal:
  • Cook the dogs on the grill, do not boil in water.
  • Plaster the dogs with Coney Island-style chili sauce, onions and a sqeeze of mustard.
  • Serve on paper plates with a GIANT handful of chips.
  • Wash down with a cold beer, like a Stroh's.
If you don't have access to the above ingredients, go to Vince Genna Stadium during a Central Oregon Bucks or Bend Elks game and get a dog on the BBQ deck. Throw on some sauerkraut & mustard and grab a cold Golden Glove Ale to go with it. Damn near perfection.



Coconut Shrimp - Lightly

Wed, 18 Apr 2007 14:31:00 +0000

This is baked, not fried, hence the light designation. It takes a couple steps, but well worth it. My family loved this. I got this from The Bulletin a few weeks ago.

Serves 4-5

1 14.oz can light coconut milk, divided
1 jalapeno pepper, seeded and chopped
1/4 c. minced fresh cilantro
1 1/4 lbs uncooked medium shrimp, peeled and deveined, tails left on, rinsed thoroughly
3/4 c. flour
4 egg whites
3/4 c. panko or bread crumbs
3/4 c. flaked coconut, lightly toasted
1/3 c. apricot preserves
1 tsp. spicy brown mustard

Step one: In a small bowl, place 2 tablespoons coconut milk. Cover and refrigerate for later.
In a gallon-size resealable bag, combine remaining coconut milk, jalapeno, cilantro and shrimp. Seal bag, coat shrimp, and place in fridge for an hour.
Preheat oven to 400 degrees.
Place flour in a shallow bowl. In another bowl, lightly beat egg whites. In a third bowl, combine breadcrumbs and coconut. Drain shrimp and discard marinade. Drip shrimp in flour, then egg, then roll in crumb/coconut mixture. Place on greased baking sheet.
Bake for 7-9 minutes on each side - until lightly browned.
For dipping sauce, mix preserves and mustard with reserved coconut milk. Serve with shrimp.

*Notes
-I used orange marmalade instead of the apricot preserves. I also added 2 tsp. chopped fresh ginger. Very exotic flavor.
-I used a bit more mustard for more zing.
-Next time, instead of using egg whites, I might dip the shrimp back in the marinade after the flour step (and before the crumb/coconut mixture). Plus, it will pick up more of the cilantro and jalapeno left in the marinade.
-I forgot to toast the coconut, which is OK, because it toasted in the oven during baking.
-I might add more coconut, like 1 cup, next time.
-I used "large" white shrimp (apx. 30 per pound), but I might go a bit larger. Otherwise, you get close to running out on the breading and it takes longer to flip in the oven.



Corned Beef and Cabbage

Thu, 15 Mar 2007 14:18:00 +0000

Alrighty, it's that time of year - time for something good and Irish! I never had this before (my father hated it and would never let my mother cook it) until my father-in-law Jack made this for me years ago. I can't say enough how much I love cooked cabbage, seared cabbage, steamed cabbage. This will stink up the whole house, it's so very caggabe-y. Pull out the crock pot and get to work. It's ready when you walk in the door. And, yes, you'll smell the cabbage long before you even get near the house!

Corned Beef and Cabbage
1 brisket corned beef, fat cut off and cubed
1 &1/2 heads of cabbage (more or less, depending on what fits), cut into big wedges
1 can kidney beans, drained
3 potatoes, peeled and cut in half (again, whatever fits)
2 c. water
1 tablespoon peppercorns, optional
Salt

Drain and rinse the corned beef, then cut into cubes. Put it into the bottom of the crock pot. Arrange the potatoes on and around the meat. Pour beans around. Put cabbage wedges on top. Pour water around the edges. Srinkle peppercorns and about a tablespoon of salt evenly over the cabbage. Put lid on and set to low for about 6-8 hours.

Notes:
* Be careful you don't put too much water in, because then the potatoes will get mushy. If you like more soup with it, then just make sure the potatoes aren't sitting in the water. You could fill that space with cabbage.
* I'm still smelling it today, so light lots of candles when you get home to help dissipate the smell. Unless you like to wake up to last night's dinner...



Mexi Chicken in a Pot

Fri, 23 Feb 2007 17:40:00 +0000

This is one of the most incredibly easy, tasty and low-fat recipes I've ever whipped up. A handful of ingredients and a warm oven are all it takes, practically. Here goes:

Mexi Chicken in a Pot
Serves 3-4

1 lb. Chicken Tenders or 2 Chicken Breasts cut in 3 pieces each
1 14 oz. can corn, drained
1 14 oz. can black beans, drained
1 c. uncooked brown rice
2+ c. boiling water
1 pkg. Taco seasoning
1/2 c. sour cream (optional)
1/2 c. chopped fresh cilantro (optional)

Oven to 350 degrees. Spray casserole dish with PAM. Add rice and water. Evenly pour corn on top, then beans. Sprinkle Taco seasoning. Gently spread chicken pieces on top. Put lid on top. Bake about an hour, or until rice is tender. Divide evenly among plates or wide bowls. Add dollop sour cream on top, sprinkle with cilantro.

Notes:
I really liked it, just the way it was. I thought it was very tasty. But you could:

* Add just a touch extra of water. The rice definitely soaked it all up. And while I didn't consider it dry, some people may like it a bit moist.
* Maybe pour a bit of salsa in before you add the corn, to give the rice a bit more zip and add moisture.
* White rice would be fine, too. Just be careful you don't add too much water and you could probably cut the baking time.
* Sprinkle grated cheddar or pepper jack cheese on top and let melt before serving. That takes away from the low-fat designation, however.

* Serve with corn tortillas the next day for lunch.



Potatoes Supreme

Wed, 13 Dec 2006 16:33:00 +0000

Thanks to Anonymous, who sent in this recipe. Apparently there are about a billion versions of this - give or take a couple. I added my own little twist (because I always have to fiddle):
I added 1 cup of leftover Taco Meat and used Pepper Jack cheese. For the topping, I used crushed Tortilla Chips, to continue the mexican flavor. So, here's my review: It was pretty dang good. My only hesitation is that it was dry, not all bubbly and golden like I expected. About 3/4 of the way through baking, I realized it was on the dry side, so I gently poured about 3/4 of a cup of milk over it. That really helped. Next time I'll add that to the sour cream & soup mixture before I mix with the potatoes. If I went the mexican route again, I will add a can of chopped chilies, too. I can certainly see why this is such a people pleaser - it has lots of flavor! Enjoy!


Potatoes Supreme
-2 lb. bag frozen southern style (cubed, not shredded) hash brown potatoes (DEFROST)
-1 small chopped onion (1/2-1 cup)
-1 can cream of chicken soup
-8 oz. shredded sharp cheddar cheese
1 pint sour cream
-Appx. 1/3-1/2 cup crushed corn flakes
Preheat oven to 350F.In large bowl, mix all of the ingredients except corn flakes. Butter a 9 x 13 inch casserole dish and spread mixture evenly into it. Top with crushed flakes. Bake for 45 min. to 1 hour until golden and bubbly.

Notes:
*Make sure you defrost the potatoes, mine took FOREVER to cook when frozen
*As stated above, I would add about 3/4 cup of milk to make it extra gooey
*You could add broccoli, peas, chopped sweet red pepper for more flavor and color
*Vary the cheese flavors - Swiss would be great if you added ham or bacon, too



A+++ Banana Bread

Mon, 04 Dec 2006 16:31:00 +0000

First off, let me say this: I am not into low- fat or fat-free food. (Low-fat I can do once in a while). That said, this recipe is amazingly great when I cut the oil by adding applesauce. It's moist, delicious and will please all banana bread lovers!

Elise's Banana Bread

3/4 c. sugar
3 large mashed bananas
1/4 c. vegetable oil
1/2 c. applesauce
2 eggs
2 tsp. vanilla
2 c. flour
1 teas. baking soda
1/2 teas. baking powder
1/2 teas. salt
1/2 c. nuts, raisins, dried cranberries, etc... (optional)

Heat oven to 325 degrees. Grease loaf pan.
Mix sugar, bananas, oil, applesauce, eggs and vanilla in a large bowl. In a small bowl, mix dry ingredients and add to banana mixture. Fold in nuts or dried fruit, if using.

Pour into greased pan and bake 60-70 minutes, until toothpick inserted in center of bread comes out clean. Bread should be pulling away from the sides of the pan. Let cool 10 minutes before taking from pan and cooling on rack. Makes one loaf.

Notes
* with the applesauce, it does take just a bit longer to cook, closer to 70 minutes.
* This is really great if you leave small chunks of banana (don't mash completely)
* The batter should have a thick consistency, not runny. But, if it is a bit on the runny side, add some wheat germ or bran flakes.
* This doubles very nicely, no need to adjust measurements.
* Great toasted and topped with peanut butter.



Oven Porcupines - a kid-tested recipe

Mon, 27 Nov 2006 16:27:00 +0000

I've tried this one out on little folks & big folks, and everyone agrees it's yummy! Not only does it taste great, but it's fun to look at - like little porcupines. Really adds to the kid-friendly factor. Sorry I don't have pictures, we ate them too fast. Enjoy!

Oven Porcupines, serves 4 to 6
1lb of meatloaf mixture (combination of ground beef, veal, pork)
1/2 c. uncooked rice
1/2 c. water
1/3 c. minced onion
1/2 tsp salt
1/2 tsp celery salt
1/8 tsp garlic powder
1/2 tsp black pepper
15 oz can tomato sauce
1 c. water
2 tsp Worcestershire sauce

Oven to 350 degrees. Mix meat, rice, 1/2 c. water, onion, salts, garlic powder and pepper. Shape mixture into tablespoon-size balls. Place meatballs single layer in ungreased baking dish.
Stir together tomato sauce, 1 c. water, and Worcestershire sauce and pour over meatballs. Cover with foil and bake 45 minutes. Uncover and bake 15 minutes more to let sauce thicken.

Notes:
  • The meat will be very soft since there's so much water in it, but the balls will retain their shape.
  • Since the meat cooks in the sauce, there may be some grease (depending on how high a fat content the meat is), so be sure to spoon some off the top after it's cooked.
  • If the sauce does not cover the balls, you'll want to baste or turn the balls about halfway through, so the rice absorbs more sauce and gets tender.