Subscribe: I Think, Therefore I Review.
http://ithinkthereforeireview.blogspot.com/feeds/posts/default
Preview: I Think, Therefore I Review.

I Think, Therefore I Review.



*** Celebrating TEN YEARS of Commentaries from Horror Author Kristin Battestella -- Movies, Music, Television, Silents, Classics, Vinyl! ***



Updated: 2017-12-16T06:53:01.651-05:00

 



Old School Music Documentaries

2017-12-15T22:25:40.965-05:00

Old School Music Documentaries by Kristin Battestella This trio of recent music documentaries highlighting classic cool subjects is all about sex, drugs, and rock n roll – with some vinyl, music genius, depression, and shop talk bandied about for good measure. The Beach Boys: Making Pet Sounds – This fiftieth anniversary hour revisits the 1966 album's inception, recording, and (image)



Top Ten: Christmas Albums!

2017-12-12T09:10:32.666-05:00

Welcome to our new Top Tens series in celebration of I Think, Therefore I Review's Tenth Anniversary! These monthly lists will highlight special themes and topics from our extensive archive of reviews. This time a festive I Think, Therefore I Review presents... Our Top Ten Christmas Albums! Elvis' Christmas Album Bing Crosby White Christmas Johnny Mathis Merry (image)



Luther Vandross: The Classic Christmas Album

2017-12-11T22:55:51.961-05:00

Luther Vandross: The Classic Christmas Album a Smooth Holiday Winner by Kristin Battestella The 2012 Luther Vandross: The Classic Christmas Album compilation is a smooth collection of mellow holiday standards, new hits, and rare recordings beginning with a sophisticated adult welcome in The Christmas Song. This track was originally included on A Very Special Christmas 2 in 1992, and (image)



A Literary Extravaganza!

2017-12-07T16:38:38.363-05:00

It's a Literary Extravaganza! By Kristin Battestella Stateside or British, these Victorian, turn of the last century, and post war dramatizations, documentaries, and biographies have heaps of period decorum, famous names, and family friendly bookishness thanks to Agatha, Emily, Louisa, and Sherlock. Louisa May Alcott: The Woman Behind Little Women – This American Masters (image)



Top Ten: Religious Shows and Books!

2017-12-05T08:57:19.035-05:00

Welcome to our new Top Tens series in celebration of I Think, Therefore I Review's Tenth Anniversary! These monthly lists will highlight special themes and topics from our extensive archive of reviews. This time I Think, Therefore I Review presents in chronological order... Our Top Ten Religious Movies, Documentaries, and Books! Samson and Delilah Gentleman's (image)



The Bob Newhart Show: Season 5

2017-12-01T00:53:30.237-05:00

The Bob Newhart Show Season Five Dips but Remains Charming By Kristin Battestella Dr. Robert Hartley (Bob Newhart), his wife Emily (Susan Pleshette), their neighbor Howard Borden (Bill Daily), orthodontist Jerry Robinson (Peter Bonerz), and receptionist Carol Kester (Marcia Wallace) are feeling a little deja vu with some stagnant retreads for this 1976-77 Fifth Season of The Bob (image)



Top Ten: Family Shows!

2017-11-21T09:59:21.846-05:00

Welcome to our new Top Tens series in celebration of I Think, Therefore I Review's Tenth Anniversary! These monthly lists will highlight special themes and topics from our extensive archive of reviews. This time I Think, Therefore I Review presents in chronological order...   Our Top Ten Family Friendly Shows! Sleeping Beauty Cinderella (1965) The Addams (image)



British "War" Miniseries

2017-11-20T22:14:35.439-05:00

British “War” Miniseries by Kristin Battestella These relatively recent but limited edition British originals, revivals, and adaptations provide succinct yet no less heavy contemporary gang wars, World War II legacies, and interwar turmoils. Archangel – Professor 007 Daniel Craig is tracing lost Stalin documents in this three part 2005 adaptation opening with 1953 deathbeds,(image)



Gothic Ladies and Ghostly Thrillers

2017-11-15T19:03:40.323-05:00

Gothic Ladies and Ghostly Chillers by Kristin Battestella Though some are better than others are, these retro monsters, avante garde witches, and not so nice ghosts provide for some unusual humor, bleak atmosphere, and gothic allure – all with a decidedly feminine touch.    The Love Witch – Artist, witch, and murderess Samantha Robinson's (Doomsday Device) romantic spells go(image)



Top Ten: Gerard Butler!

2017-11-14T09:22:13.746-05:00

Welcome to our new Top Tens series in celebration of I Think, Therefore I Review's Tenth Anniversary! These monthly lists will highlight special themes and topics from our extensive archive of reviews. This time I Think, Therefore I Review presents in chronological order... Our Top Ten Gerard Butler Films! Attila Dear Frankie Phantom of the Opera (2004) 300 (image)



Tales from the Crypt Season Three

2017-11-28T22:34:17.754-05:00

Tales from the Crypt Season Three Stands Out by Kristin Battestella During Summer 1991, HBO's Third Season of Tales from the Crypt delivered fourteen episodes adapted from the Tales from the Crypt, Shock SuspenStories, The Vault of Horror, and Haunt of Fear comic book canon – and nearly every half hour plot steps up the sarcasm, star power, and scares. The 'Honey, I'm home!' (image)



Top Ten: Musicals!

2017-11-10T09:14:01.378-05:00

Welcome to our new Top Tens series in celebration of I Think, Therefore I Review's Tenth Anniversary! These monthly lists will highlight special themes and topics from our extensive archive of reviews. This time I Think, Therefore I Review presents in chronological order... Our Top Ten Musicals! The Glenn Miller Story Guys and Dolls Jailhouse Rock King Creole (image)



Top Ten: Witches!

2017-10-31T09:53:08.728-04:00

Welcome to our new Top Tens series in celebration of I Think, Therefore I Review's Tenth Anniversary! These monthly lists will highlight special themes and topics from our extensive archive of reviews. This time I Think, Therefore I Review presents in chronological order... Our Top Ten Witches! I Married a Witch Bell, Book, and Candle The Witch's Mirror Burn, (image)



Top Ten: Horror Television!

2017-10-20T11:10:12.614-04:00

Welcome to our new Top Tens series in celebration of I Think, Therefore I Review's Tenth Anniversary! These monthly lists will highlight special themes and topics from our extensive archive of reviews. This time I Think, Therefore I Review presents in chronological order... Our Top Ten Horror Television Series! The Twilight Zone Thriller Dark Shadows Night (image)



Another Peter Cushing Trio

2017-10-29T00:36:05.798-04:00

Another Peter Cushing Trio! by Kristin Battestella Whether he's playing the hero or the villain, there's simply no shortage of old school Peter Cushing frights! And Now the Screaming Starts! – An amorous and surprisingly fertile ghost reeks havoc for Stephanie Beacham (Dracula A.D. 1972) in this 1973 Amicus period piece co-starring Peter Cushing. The 1795 carriages, antiques, (image)



Tales from the Darkside Season 1

2017-11-28T23:31:30.441-05:00

The Tales from the Darkside Debut Still Has Memorable Frights by Kristin Battestella The late George A. Romero produced the 1984-85 syndicated debut of Tales from the Darkside, a twenty-three episode anthology of original and short story adaptations with familiar faces and plenty of memorable half-hour frights. The Complete Series DVD set, however, begins with the original 1983 “(image)



Bleak But Decent Chillers

2017-10-08T02:15:51.453-04:00

Bleak but Decent Chillers by Kristin Battestella Though less than perfect, this recent movie trio provides bitter frights, unexplained angst, and heaps of despair to match the contemporary plagues, Victorian black widows, and Lovecraftian gore. It Comes at Night – Gas masks, bodies in the wheel barrow, and backyard executions open this 2017 thriller as rough and bearded Joel (image)



Top Ten: Frankenstein!

2017-10-06T08:36:07.573-04:00

Welcome to our new Top Tens series in celebration of I Think, Therefore I Review's Tenth Anniversary! These monthly lists will highlight special themes and topics from our extensive archive of reviews. This time I Think, Therefore I Review presents in chronological order... Our Top Ten Frankenstein Adaptations! Frankenstein (1910) Frankenstein (1931) The (image)



Campy Eighties Horrors

2017-10-04T23:50:10.507-04:00

Campy Eighties Horrors by Kristin Battestella Heads will roll for this camp trio of eighties horrors featuring ice skating killers, devilish passengers, dingoes, divas, and feathered hair. Neato. Rad.    Curtains – An actress attacks orderlies and ends up wearing a straight jacket in this 1983 slasher – but the squeaking wheelchair, crazy humming, cackling patients, and drab (image)



Top Ten: Old School Vampire Movies!

2017-09-29T09:16:15.213-04:00

Welcome to our new Top Tens series in celebration of I Think, Therefore I Review's Tenth Anniversary! These monthly lists will highlight special themes and topics from our extensive archive of reviews. This time I Think, Therefore I Review presents in reverse chronological order... Our Top Ten Old School Vampire Movies! Fright Night Vampyres (1974) Twins of (image)



Retro Wives and Witches!

2017-09-24T01:52:53.841-04:00

Retro Wives and Witches, Oh My! By Kristin Battestella These eighties wedded dames and old school widows face ghosts and cult forces when not dabbling in a little something something black magic on the side themselves. Beyond Evil – A one hundred year old ghostly possession interferes with John Saxon (A Nightmare on Elm Street) and Lynda Day George's (Mission: Impossible) (image)



Top Ten: Modern Vampire Movies!

2017-09-22T09:20:05.068-04:00

Welcome to our new Top Tens series in celebration of I Think, Therefore I Review's Tenth Anniversary! These monthly lists will highlight special themes and topics from our extensive archive of reviews.    This time I Think, Therefore I Review presents in reverse chronological order... Our Top Ten Modern Vampire Movies! A Girl Walks Home Alone at Night Only Lovers (image)



Recent Iffy Lady Thrillers

2017-09-17T14:23:46.866-04:00

Recent but Iffy Lady Thrillers by Kristin Battestella I'm not seeking bad horror and suspense. I don't really like the so bad it's good perspective either. However, it just seems like recently this genre, be it foreign or domestic, has more than its fair share of big name ladies in peril trapped inside some unimpressive thrillers. Two Emily Blunt Questionables The Girl on(image)



Top Ten: Charlton Heston!

2017-09-08T10:14:00.279-04:00

Welcome to our new Top Tens series in celebration of I Think, Therefore I Review's Tenth Anniversary! These monthly lists will highlight special themes and topics from our extensive archive of reviews. This time I Think, Therefore I Review presents in chronological order... Our Top Ten Charlton Heston! The Naked Jungle Three Violent People The Ten (image)



Top Ten: Tom Hiddleston!

2017-08-29T08:56:03.242-04:00

Welcome to our new Top Tens series in celebration of I Think, Therefore I Review's Tenth Anniversary! These monthly lists will highlight special themes and topics from our extensive archive of reviews. This time I Think, Therefore I Review presents in ranked order... Our Top Ten Tom Hiddleston Shows! 10. Kong: Skull Island 9. Wallander 8. The Deep Blue Sea(image)