Subscribe: Comments on FemaleScienceProfessor: Reviewing Reviewers
http://science-professor.blogspot.com/feeds/3460504679867084191/comments/default
Added By: Feedage Forager Feedage Grade B rated
Language: English
Tags:
data  deadline  information  long time  long  papers  people turn  people  review  reviewer  reviewers  reviews  time  turn reviews  turn 
Rate this Feed
Rate this feedRate this feedRate this feedRate this feedRate this feed
Rate this feed 1 starRate this feed 2 starRate this feed 3 starRate this feed 4 starRate this feed 5 star

Comments (0)

Feed Details and Statistics Feed Statistics
Preview: Comments on FemaleScienceProfessor: Reviewing Reviewers

Comments on FemaleScienceProfessor: Reviewing Reviewers





Updated: 2017-12-31T21:26:07.888-06:00

 



I did not referee much so far but I have always se...

2007-07-11T11:44:00.000-05:00

I did not referee much so far but I have always sent in the review in the last day or before :). You should not be posting this information because those that have been doing it on time might think that is is OK to let it slip a little bit.



This information is useful and makes sense to me. ...

2007-06-29T21:21:00.000-05:00

This information is useful and makes sense to me. I will definitely keep it in mind for my next submission! And Maxine makes a very valid point- I know far too many of these "if left to their own devices" types!

But I'm much more interested in the other statistics.
Who rejected the most papers, accepted the most papers, etc.

That list could really tell you a lot about who's influencing the state of science in your field and what kind of influences they exert (conservative vs. liberal approach to new data?).

I'd give a small body part (maybe a toe?) to know who reviewed and rejected the most papers in my field the last 5 years. I can guess, but having the actual data would be a lot more fun.



Oh OK, I get it. You know the ID of reviewers beca...

2007-06-28T15:07:00.000-05:00

Oh OK, I get it. You know the ID of reviewers because you are the editor, sorry. I thought you had a clever way of knowing who had reviewed "any old" paper.
At Nature we have a huge reviewer database, tens and tens of thousands, but we don't collect any data on them such as senority, gender (;-) ) etc. I think there would be data protection legal issues. Also, once we receive the first review (of two) or the second (of three) we begin chasing up the outstanding reviewer, so I guess it would not be a fair spreadsheet, in our case. If left to their own devices, those last reviewers might never deliver, despite having agreed to do so in a certain time frame before being sent the ms.



This is really interesting. Like anonymous, I sudd...

2007-06-28T10:02:00.000-05:00

This is really interesting. Like anonymous, I suddenly feel better about turning in my reviews a few days after the deadline. I hope this information doesn't make me feel like I can push the envelope further next time.



As an editor, I have a chart with reviewer names, ...

2007-06-26T16:42:00.000-05:00

As an editor, I have a chart with reviewer names, number of reviews, and length of review time. I have data for the past 5 years. For matching these data with seniority, I knew the vast majority of reviewers, and the others I looked up.



I am fascinated to know how you acquired your data...

2007-06-26T16:16:00.000-05:00

I am fascinated to know how you acquired your data. How did you know the seniority level of the reviewers, and match that with how long they took to turn in their reviews? As peer review is anonymous, I am stumped as to how you managed to do this. Journals often publish lists of their reviewers, but you can't match these to individual papers/times.
What was your dataset?



' The % of people who turn in reviews at or before...

2007-06-26T02:19:00.000-05:00

' The % of people who turn in reviews at or before the deadline is very small,...'

Hey, that means that with my usual three days late I'm actually rather fast! Who'd have thought?



The % of people who turn in reviews at or before t...

2007-06-25T16:24:00.000-05:00

The % of people who turn in reviews at or before the deadline is very small, but most people submit their reviews within 1-2 weeks of the deadline.



On average, I bet that the time-to-review is a cha...

2007-06-25T12:05:00.000-05:00

On average, I bet that the time-to-review is a characteristic of the reviewer; but, given your experience with getting all of your reviews back at once, I wonder if there is an overall "seasonal effect." So, on average, people who take a long time take a long time, but that people, whether they tend to take a long time or short time, send back the manuscripts right after the semester ends?



I'm curious what the times actually look like. I'm...

2007-06-25T11:35:00.000-05:00

I'm curious what the times actually look like. I'm usually what I would consider late (a week or two after the deadline), but someone told me that it isn't late unless my review is the last one. They were at least half-joking, I'm sure, but I started wondering what the standard is really like. if you don't mind, can you share what's the % of reviews that arrive at or before the deadline?

(this is a dangerous question. I really only want to know the answer if a sizeable portion of people do that, so I can shame myself into not procrastinating!)



I'm not an academic, but I find that if I don't de...

2007-06-25T09:10:00.000-05:00

I'm not an academic, but I find that if I don't deal with the paperwork when it arrives, I never get to it. So I'd be the quick-to-review type, perforce.