Subscribe: Comments on Shelf Life: Mini reviews
http://shelflifeblog.blogspot.com/feeds/5627045525794792919/comments/default
Added By: Feedage Forager Feedage Grade B rated
Language: English
Tags:
barbara pym  barbara  book  iliana  jane prudence  jane  lucky girls  maybe  prudence  pym  read barbara  read  review  reviews 
Rate this Feed
Rate this feedRate this feedRate this feedRate this feedRate this feed
Rate this feed 1 starRate this feed 2 starRate this feed 3 starRate this feed 4 starRate this feed 5 star

Comments (0)

Feed Details and Statistics Feed Statistics
Preview: Comments on Shelf Life: Mini reviews

Comments on Shelf Life: Mini reviews





Updated: 2018-04-01T03:31:45.214-07:00

 



Yay! Another Pym reader. I just love her novels, t...

2008-07-15T15:05:00.000-07:00

Yay! Another Pym reader. I just love her novels, though I haven't read Jane and Prudence... yet.



I'm glad to see that someone else but me is readin...

2008-05-12T11:29:00.000-07:00

I'm glad to see that someone else but me is reading Pym! She's a gem. I've only read Excellent Women, but I have a copy of No Fond Return of Love on my nightstand right now.



That was a lovely review. I so enjoyed reading it...

2007-05-22T07:27:00.000-07:00

That was a lovely review. I so enjoyed reading it.



lesley--I hope you like Barbara Pym. For me, she ...

2007-05-12T09:17:00.000-07:00

lesley--I hope you like Barbara Pym. For me, she was an acquired taste. I read a few of her books when I was younger and didn't appreciate them as much as I do now.

dewey--I enjoyed Lucky Girls--though I have to say I was more impressed when I learned it was a 22-year-old's first book...



They all sound pretty interesting, especially the ...

2007-05-11T19:35:00.000-07:00

They all sound pretty interesting, especially the first one. I actually thought that variety of subject matter sounded more appealing than anything else.



I really need to read something from Barbara Pym -...

2007-05-11T19:05:00.000-07:00

I really need to read something from Barbara Pym - this is the third time I've heard her mentioned in as many weeks.



iliana--I read your review of Jane and Prudence--i...

2007-05-11T07:11:00.000-07:00

iliana--I read your review of Jane and Prudence--it was great. Thanks!

stefanie--Taylor is in the same vein as Pym, just not as funny. Both books have a lot of atmosphere :)



Nice reviews. I must read more Pym. I forget how g...

2007-05-11T05:42:00.000-07:00

Nice reviews. I must read more Pym. I forget how good she is. And it seems everyone is reading or has read Taylor but me! Must work on fixing that.



Ah maybe that's why everyone was so annoyed that s...

2007-05-10T19:53:00.000-07:00

Ah maybe that's why everyone was so annoyed that she published a book :) I am a bit curious about her latest book actually. By the way, I just wrote about J&P. I hope to go to the used bookstore this weekend and find more of her books!



Iliana--I'm interested to hear what you think of J...

2007-05-10T12:51:00.000-07:00

Iliana--I'm interested to hear what you think of Jane and Prudence. I have Excellent Women and Crampton Hodnet, which I will probably re-read. Funny about Lucky Girls--maybe people ranted because the author was so young when she wrote the book (22, I think) :)



Oh good points on Jane & Prudence. I finished it t...

2007-05-10T11:13:00.000-07:00

Oh good points on Jane & Prudence. I finished it this week and still need to talk about it too. I loved it. I really must read more by Barbara Pym.
I read Lucky Girls a while back and I was surprised by some of the reviews on Amazon. I didn't like the book much but it was certainly not that subject matter. Some of the reviews just seemed to make it a personal rant about the author. Weird.



jenclair--and I need to see the movie! Maybe Mom ...

2007-05-10T09:44:00.000-07:00

jenclair--and I need to see the movie! Maybe Mom and I will rent it. I always like Joan Plowright, too :)



I really need to read Mrs. Palfrey at the Claremon...

2007-05-10T08:25:00.000-07:00

I really need to read Mrs. Palfrey at the Claremont as I did enjoy the movie. There are quite a few changes I understand, but the movie had so many great characters. Joan Plowright was, as usual, marvelous.