Subscribe: London Review of Books
http://www.lrb.co.uk/homerss.xml
Added By: Feedage Forager Feedage Grade B rated
Language: English
Tags:
books vol  books  contents  london review  london  resistance  review books  review  revolution author  vol january  vol  white   
Rate this Feed
Rate this feedRate this feedRate this feedRate this feedRate this feed
Rate this feed 1 starRate this feed 2 starRate this feed 3 starRate this feed 4 starRate this feed 5 star

Comments (0)

Feed Details and Statistics Feed Statistics
Preview: London Review of Books

London Review of Books



Literary review publishing essay-length book reviews and topical articles on politics, literature, history, philosophy, science and the arts by leading writers and thinkers



Copyright: © LRB Limited 2017
 



Ian Patterson: Saving Time

Thu, 19 Jan 2017 00:00:00 +0000




Amia Srinivasan: Remembering Derek Parfit

Thu, 19 Jan 2017 00:00:00 +0000




Rebecca Solnit: Penis Power

Thu, 19 Jan 2017 00:00:00 +0000

Hillary Clinton was all that stood between us and a reckless, unstable, ignorant, inane, infinitely vulgar, climate-change-denying white-nationalist misogynist with authoritarian ambitions and kleptocratic plans. A lot of people, particularly white men, could not bear her, and that is as good a reason as any for Trump’s victory. Over and over again, I heard men declare that she had failed to make them vote for her. They saw the loss as hers rather than ours, and they blamed her for it, as though election was a gift they withheld.



Alexander Briant: Oil Industry Corruption

Thu, 19 Jan 2017 00:00:00 +0000

‘Eileen’ tells me that the crime ring is making money hand over fist. She is the only one standing up to them. She cannot provide documentation – that would be too risky for her – but she names names. She speaks slowly, deliberately, weighing each word. ‘I am so confident that my words that no one wants to hear will be of good help to you. Please treat this as confidential because no one else has heard what you are hearing now. For the sake of my life and that of my family.’ Feebly, I tell her that I will do my best.



Adam Shatz: Frantz Fanon’s Revolution

Thu, 19 Jan 2017 00:00:00 +0000

Author of the anti-racist jeremiad Black Skin, White Masks; spokesman for the Algerian Revolution and author of The Wretched of the Earth, the ‘bible’ of decolonisation; inspiration to Third World revolutionaries from the refugee camps of Palestine to the back streets of Tehran and Beirut, Harlem and Oakland; founder, avant la lettre, of post-colonialism; hero to the alienated banlieusards of France, who feel as if the Battle of Algiers never ended, but simply moved to the cités: Frantz Fanon has been remembered in a lot of ways, but almost all of them have foregrounded his advocacy of resistance, especially violent resistance.



Michael Wood: ‘La La Land’

Thu, 19 Jan 2017 00:00:00 +0000




Stephen Sedley: Anonymity

Thu, 19 Jan 2017 00:00:00 +0000




Julian Barnes: At the Fondation Louis Vuitton

Thu, 19 Jan 2017 00:00:00 +0000




Letters

Thu, 19 Jan 2017 00:00:00 +0000

The letters page from London Review of Books Vol. 39 No. 2 (19 January 2017)



Table of contents

Thu, 19 Jan 2017 00:00:00 +0000

Table of contents from London Review of Books Vol. 39 No. 2 (19 January 2017)