Subscribe: London Review of Books
http://www.lrb.co.uk/homerss.xml
Added By: Feedage Forager Feedage Grade B rated
Language: English
Tags:
black  books vol  books  contents  houses  israeli  letters  life  london review  london  review books  review  sex  vol  white   
Rate this Feed
Rate this feedRate this feedRate this feedRate this feedRate this feed
Rate this feed 1 starRate this feed 2 starRate this feed 3 starRate this feed 4 starRate this feed 5 star

Comments (0)

Feed Details and Statistics Feed Statistics
Preview: London Review of Books

London Review of Books



Literary review publishing essay-length book reviews and topical articles on politics, literature, history, philosophy, science and the arts by leading writers and thinkers



Copyright: © LRB Limited 2017
 



Stephen Sedley: Defining Anti-Semitism

Thu, 04 May 2017 00:00:00 +0100




Adam Shatz: Mass Incarceration

Thu, 04 May 2017 00:00:00 +0100

One of the great paradoxes of the Obama era is that it encouraged so many liberals, both black and white, to see the black experience in America not as a slow, arduous struggle for freedom culminating in the election of a black president – Obama’s version, not surprisingly – but as an unending nightmare. Not least among the reasons was that a black man of unerring self-discipline and caution, bipartisan to a fault, should have provoked such ferocious white resistance – fanned by the man who questioned the validity of his birth certificate and then succeeded him as president.



Tim Parks: ‘Les Misérables’

Thu, 04 May 2017 00:00:00 +0100

There are references to sex in the book, but it is always disreputable, destructive sex. This is one of the things that must put a question mark over Les Misérables’s achievement: a narrative claiming to offer ‘the social and historical drama of the 19th century’, should surely have something to say about the impulse that was absolutely central not only to its author’s life, but to life in general. Sex never so much as occurs to Valjean, or indeed to those who adore him – this while Valjean’s creator was enjoying the charms of every chambermaid he could lay his hands on.



Ghaith Abdul-Ahad: In and Out of Mosul

Thu, 04 May 2017 00:00:00 +0100

For the last three years, Ali and his men and fellow officers in the Iraqi Special Operations Forces have been living like modern-day nomads. Once a neighbourhood is liberated, they move into abandoned civilian houses and set up camp. When the frontline shifts they move with it and change houses, sometimes every night, but often they find themselves stuck in the same house for weeks. Whether in mud huts in villages with no running water, in villas with nice décor and expansive gardens or in brick houses in the narrow alleyways of provincial towns, they build their temporary nests, moving into the beds of a family that has just joined a caravan of refugees, replacing the stinking blankets they have brought from a previous house with fresh ones. They talk about girls, drinking Grey Goose, and their wives and children back home.



Fida Jiryis: Diary

Thu, 04 May 2017 00:00:00 +0100

After the wiping out of Palestine in 1948, about 15 per cent of the Palestinian population remained in the new state of Israel. On the surface, we are far more privileged than our brethren in the West Bank and Gaza; having Israeli citizenship and a passport means that we can vote, we have access to good education, public healthcare and social benefits, and we can travel easily, although we can’t visit some Arab countries. We don’t live in an occupied zone surrounded by checkpoints, with the constant threat of clashes, Israeli army incursions and settler violence. We are free to study almost anything we choose, in a country with a large job market. But this is a façade behind which is a system of rampant structural and institutional discrimination. As Palestinians, we spend every minute of our lives paying for the fact that we are not Jewish.



Nicholas Penny: At Tate Britain

Thu, 04 May 2017 00:00:00 +0100




Thomas Meaney: Short Cuts

Thu, 04 May 2017 00:00:00 +0100




Michael Wood: Empson’s Buddha

Thu, 04 May 2017 00:00:00 +0100




Letters

Thu, 04 May 2017 00:00:00 +0100

The letters page from London Review of Books Vol. 39 No. 9 (4 May 2017)



Table of contents

Thu, 04 May 2017 00:00:00 +0100

Table of contents from London Review of Books Vol. 39 No. 9 (4 May 2017)