Subscribe: post-gazette.com - Opinion
http://post-gazette.com/rss/opinion.xml
Added By: Feedage Forager Feedage Grade A rated
Language: English
Tags:
ahead time  care  city  crisis  general assembly  government  health care  health  morocco  pittsburgh  political  president  suicide   
Rate this Feed
Rate this feedRate this feedRate this feedRate this feedRate this feed
Rate this feed 1 starRate this feed 2 starRate this feed 3 starRate this feed 4 starRate this feed 5 star

Comments (0)

Feed Details and Statistics Feed Statistics
Preview: post-gazette.com - Opinion

Post-Gazette -- OPINION





Updated: 2017-09-22T04:24:12

 



Police practice: The city should heed the county DA’s concerns

2017-09-21T10:14:03

In recent days, Allegheny County District Attorney Stephen A. Zappala Jr. has complained that city police have hindered his investigation into a fatal officer-involved shooting, a man was the subject of a violent arrest in the Lower Hill and a federal jury began hearing Leon Ford’s suit over a traffic stop that ended in his paralysis from multiple police gunshots.



Paying the QE piper: The Fed starts to unwind trillions in bonds

2017-09-21T11:17:40

The Federal Reserve announced Wednesday that it would begin gradually unwinding its massive bond holdings, enlarged in three waves since 2008 to combat the effects of the great recession on the national economy.



The ACA is imploding; something must be done

2017-09-20T16:05:46

As the debate for repeal or changes in the Affordable Care Act is about to begin again, it is interesting to note that the four most important facts have been obscured by political one-upmanship. Little if any of the four great facts facing the ACA and the public are heard from either political side, the media or the health care providers.



The king of Morocco has provided visionary leadership toward democratic government

2017-09-21T18:46:34

I agree that the U.S. government should continue to support Morocco, our strongest ally in North Africa (“Rocky in Morocco,” Aug. 29 editorial). However, the Post-Gazette’s characterization of Morocco under Mohammed VI is mistaken.



A reckless president shouldn't be in charge of nuclear weapons

2017-09-21T18:43:46

I sent the following to my three elected officials in Congress after reading the PG’s front-page article “Trump Threatens Total Destruction of North Korea” (Sept. 20) about his address to the U.N. General Assembly. The story was accompanied by an AP photo of White House Chief of Staff John Kelly, his face on his hands (it is hard not to interpret what this body language reveals). I wish I could have sent an email to every seated member of Congress (nonconstituent email is often blocked) as an urgent appeal to reason regarding the reckless actions of a sitting president to extend his brand of chaos, and the destruction that would likely ensue, to the entire globe.



Please take steps to get help for veterans in crisis

2017-09-21T18:39:26

VA Pittsburgh Healthcare System’s highest priority is the health and well-being of veterans, especially veterans in emotional distress and considering suicide. One veteran suicide is too many. But we can’t do it alone. You don’t have to be a medical professional to save the life of a veteran in crisis: You just need to care. Anyone — friends, family, neighbors, co-workers — can be there for a veteran who may be contemplating suicide.



tb0388c-jpg-8

2017-09-21T11:48:18

September is Suicide Prevention Month. I am writing to request all those in the community who have firearms in their homes to be sure that they are stored securely.



201709013lf-Innovation01

2017-09-21T06:00:00

Pittsburgh is a city where dozens of the top 1 percent of 1 percent of robotics minds in the world gather to drink beer and eat wings. That proximity and informality puts the city “in the top 10 in a small amount of things that are about to explode.”



United-Nations-General-Assembly-2-6

2017-09-20T11:53:31

President Donald Trump made an impression in his Tuesday speech to the U.N. General Assembly. These speeches by heads of government and state, given the forum and attendance of world leaders and international figures, can be considered a statement of a nation’s foreign policy, much more so than campaign speeches, media interviews and tweets.



Redrawing-America-Imbalance-of-Power-6

2017-09-19T14:16:29

The initial impact of the state’s 2-month-old budget standoff landed Friday, when Gov. Tom Wolf froze about $1.2 billion in Medicaid payments to insurers who cover the state’s poor and vulnerable. Insurers said they wouldn’t shut off coverage, but there’s bound to be a ripple effect. If insurers have to borrow at some point to pay for health care services, doesn’t that mean less service or more costly care down the line?



tb1977-jpg-1

2017-09-20T13:33:17

At this shank end of a summer that a calmer America someday will remember with embarrassment, you must remember this: In the population of 325 million, a small sliver crouches on the wilder shores of politics, another sliver lives in the dark forest of mental disorder, and there is a substantial overlap between these slivers. At most moments, 312 million are not listening to excitable broadcasters making mountains of significance out of molehills of political effluvia.



GOP, put your focus on people rather than repealing Obamacare

2017-09-20T14:38:51

I am so tired of these Republican senators and representatives, who when asked if people with pre-existing conditions will be able to afford health care with any of their new proposed plans, they immediately go to Obamacare. We are not talking about Obamacare; we are concerned about what they might put in effect with their new proposed health care plans. 



Ahead of our time in life sciences

2017-09-20T14:05:49

Pittsburgh is usually ahead of its time. Occasionally we get reminded of this in surprising and satisfying ways.



Leaders, stop the politics and treat health care as the serious business it is

2017-09-20T19:59:12

Health care is an essential issue that affects all Americans, rich or poor. I insist that our elected senators and representatives take this matter seriously and improve health care policy — rather than worsen it — by working together for as long as it takes. 



My longtime enthusiasm for the Pirates is greatly diminished

2017-09-20T19:56:17

My return on investment in the Pittsburgh Pirates covers decades; it started at Sunday doubleheaders at Forbes Field with my father in the mid-1940s. The cost of tickets, travel, parking and hot dogs over many years may be a small price to pay for special memories.



The PSO players were the highlight of the Steelers game

2017-09-20T19:53:28

On Sunday, I attended the football game against Minnesota and had a fine time. The Steelers played like real professionals and won handily. The Pitt band played and marched well.



Climate crisis is a more accurate term for what is happening

2017-09-20T19:49:20

Why do we keep saying climate change? A more accurate term is climate crisis. Al Gore said it. Let’s all run with it.



tb1813c-jpg-5

2017-09-20T16:29:53

Our forefathers established for our great country a government of, by and for the people. It is a wonderful democracy established to protect and give voice to those without power or money. It is why the vote is our most important and precious right. However, with gerrymandering, the manipulation of district lines, used by both political parties over the years, our vote is often negated by the politicians for the benefit of the politicians.



AP-17262542411368

2017-09-20T14:45:29

When Donald Trump ran for president, he criticized the interventionist policies of his Republican and Democratic predecessors, sparking fears that he would usher in a new era of American isolationism. But at the United Nations this week, Mr. Trump laid out a clear conservative vision for vigorous American global leadership based on state sovereignty.



9781633852198

2017-09-18T18:19:51

There are at least a couple of difficulties in writing a book about a living thing, such as Pittsburgh.