Subscribe: Brett Arends
http://feeds.thestreet.com/tsc/feeds/rss/brett-arends
Added By: Feedage Forager Feedage Grade B rated
Language: English
Tags:
brett arends  ceo  credit  decent yields  fund managers  fund  hillary clinton  market  mutual fund  mutual  new fund  wall street  yields 
Rate this Feed
Rating: 3 starRating: 3 starRating: 3 starRate this feedRate this feed
Rate this feed 1 starRate this feed 2 starRate this feed 3 starRate this feed 4 starRate this feed 5 star

Comments (0)

Feed Details and Statistics Feed Statistics
Preview: Brett Arends

Brett Arends



Columnist Brett Arends 'Follows the Money' in his popular column that keeps watch on the mutual fund and hedge fund industries.



Copyright: 1996-2007 TheStreet.com, Inc.
 



European Central Banks Blew It With Gold

Mon, 12 Nov 2007 16:44 GMT

Switzerland, the U.K., the Netherlands and Spain all were on the wrong side of the gold trade.



Bookies: Thompson Out, Rudy and Mitt Tops

Fri, 09 Nov 2007 15:21 GMT

The betting now puts the Republican race between two people: Giuliani and Romney.



$1,000 Google? Sure, but Why Bother?

Wed, 07 Nov 2007 17:07 GMT

Shares could hit $1,000 by late January. But what kind of long-term returns would it offer?



Nothing Constant at Fidelity but Change

Mon, 05 Nov 2007 15:58 GMT

There's a constant shuffling of the top ranks as the mutual-fund giant tries to revive sales.



Citi's Fat Cats Take a Drubbing in Decline

Fri, 02 Nov 2007 14:49 GMT

The half-billion in losses indicate the kind of pressure CEO Chuck Prince faces.



O'Neal Skates With $160 Million

Tue, 30 Oct 2007 18:44 GMT

Makes you wonder what Merrill would pay for a really good CEO.



Money Doesn't Count for Much in Baseball

Fri, 26 Oct 2007 14:30 GMT

There's little correlation between a team's payroll and success in the World Series.



Jeremy Grantham's Losing His Growl

Wed, 24 Oct 2007 15:11 GMT

A legendary bear stops calling for a meltdown. Why? Credit Fed head Ben Bernanke.



Fund Managers Loving Emerging Markets

Mon, 22 Oct 2007 15:48 GMT

A survey also shows the managers underweight financials, which could presage a rebound in those stocks.



Democrats Still Winning Over Wall Street

Fri, 19 Oct 2007 16:33 GMT

Through September, Democratic presidential candidates outraised Republican rivals by nearly $2 million from financial firms.



This Fund Is So Good It's Scary

Mon, 15 Oct 2007 14:29 GMT

Ken Heebner's CGM Focus Fund is up 50% over the past two months.



Apple Declares iPhone Martial Law

Fri, 12 Oct 2007 16:16 GMT

Owners who broke network rules file a class-action suit after Apple cripples iPhones.



I'm Standing My Ground on Hillary Clinton

Wed, 10 Oct 2007 16:08 GMT

Yes, she could very well be our next president, but 50-50 odds are crazy.



Treasuries a Bad Bet Now

Mon, 08 Oct 2007 16:42 GMT

The gap between yields on TIPS and government bonds is the lowest in years.



Are We in a Hillary Clinton 'Bubble'?

Fri, 05 Oct 2007 13:22 GMT

Oddsmakers giver her a 70% shot at the nomination -- and even odds on the whole thing.



Smallish Jordan Fund Offers Big Returns

Wed, 03 Oct 2007 13:35 GMT

This almost unheard of mutual fund is charging into the fourth quarter in a bullish mood.



Greenspan Blew Chance to Fix Social Security

Fri, 28 Sep 2007 16:25 GMT

The ex-Fed chief whiffed when he headed a reform panel.



Funds Cave to Google's Blind Eye at Censorship

Wed, 26 Sep 2007 10:18 GMT

Few supported a proposal to fight the Chinese government's demands for censorship.



Three Places to Find Decent Yields

Mon, 24 Sep 2007 09:48 GMT

With short-term rates falling, decent yields are getting harder to find. Try CDs, muni bonds and bank stocks.



Deadbeat Worries Haunt Fund Managers

Fri, 21 Sep 2007 14:59 GMT

Merrill's latest survey indicates just how fragile market sentiment was before the rate cut.



Tweedy Browne's New Fund Aims at Worldwide Dividends

Mon, 17 Sep 2007 10:19 GMT

This new fund is in the investment manager's sweet spot.



Annual Return on Red Sox Tickets: 240%

Fri, 14 Sep 2007 15:12 GMT

More holders are scalping season tickets on eBay.



Housing Bust Hits Enclave of Super-Rich

Wed, 12 Sep 2007 15:51 GMT

The Nantucket real estate market is headed for its worst year since the crash of 1990.



Market-Neutral Mutual Funds Shut Down

Mon, 10 Sep 2007 14:57 GMT

Three that can go long or short did so poorly that they were shut down last month.



Credit Apple for Giving Credit

Thu, 06 Sep 2007 21:47 GMT

Steve Jobs hopes to calm customers who paid full price for the now-$200-cheaper iPhone.



Sugar Daddy States Should Get First Primaries

Wed, 05 Sep 2007 14:32 GMT

Only 13 states are net contributors to the federal budget; why should they have to wait in line?



Homebuilders Finally Nearing the Bottom

Fri, 31 Aug 2007 14:22 GMT

When nearly everyone on Wall Street is bearish, you know the bad news is priced in.



Mozilo Cashed Out at Top of Market

Wed, 29 Aug 2007 16:56 GMT

The Countrywide CEO sold $425 million of shares over the past three years.



Bond Manager Says Don't Bail Out Subprime

Mon, 27 Aug 2007 16:42 GMT

First Pacific's Tom Atteberry says a housing slump won't bring down the economy.



Skip Skype, Vonage: Get VoIP for Next to Nothing

Fri, 24 Aug 2007 15:38 GMT

It's easy -- and a bad omen for telephone and VoIP outfits.