Subscribe: CFR.org - Middle East
http://feeds.cfr.org/region/middle_east
Preview: CFR.org - Middle East

Middle East and North Africa



Middle East and North Africa



 



Saudis Are Hoping Mohammed bin Salman Will Drain the Swamp

Tue, 21 Nov 2017 13:39:12 EST

This article was originally published (image)



Mugabe and Mubarak

Sat, 18 Nov 2017 17:23:40 EST

Robert Mugabe is finally falling from power, after 37 years of vicious dictatorship that ruined h(image)



Saudi Arabia’s Lebanon Gambit

Fri, 17 Nov 2017 11:39:41 EST

Saad Hariri’s unexpected resignation in Riyadh fueled speculation in Lebanon over whether its pri(image)



The Saudis and Israel

Fri, 17 Nov 2017 09:49:08 EST

This past week the Chief of Staff of the Israel Defense Force gave an(image)



How the Islamic State Benefits from Sexual Violence

Tue, 14 Nov 2017 12:29:37 EST

Extremist groups benefit strategically and financially from the subjugation of women.(image)



Saudi Arabia’s Shaky Experiment in Modernization

Wed, 08 Nov 2017 14:11:10 EST

On November 4, official media(image)



Oil and a More Muscular Saudi Arabia

Mon, 06 Nov 2017 21:44:41 EST

Saudi oil policy is undergoing a significant, yet subtle shift that is likely to have broader, st(image)



Women Around the World: This Week

Mon, 06 Nov 2017 09:35:42 EST

UK workplace harassment scandal(image)



Iraq, the Kurds and Me: What Went Wrong in Kirkuk?

Mon, 23 Oct 2017 09:32:11 EDT

This article was originally published (image)



What to Watch For in Post-ISIS Iraq and Syria

Wed, 18 Oct 2017 15:59:46 EDT

Introduction The self-proclaimed Islamic State, once estimated to have occupied a third(image)



Can the United States Broker Peace Between Iraq and the Kurds?

Tue, 17 Oct 2017 16:01:47 EDT

The chaos spread by the self-proclaimed Islamic State across Iraq, further fragmenting that alrea(image)



Mrs. Clinton and the Trump Nuclear Decision

Sun, 15 Oct 2017 15:41:50 EDT

Hillary Clinton is now complaining that President Trump has broken America’s word with his policy(image)



John Kerry's Attack on the Iran Nuclear Decision

Sat, 14 Oct 2017 09:51:43 EDT

Former President Obama and former Vice President Biden have been among the many Democrats who hav(image)



Will Decertification Spike the Iran Nuclear Accord?

Fri, 13 Oct 2017 16:13:37 EDT

President Donald J.(image)



The Coming Confrontation Between Israel and Iran

Sun, 08 Oct 2017 08:15:45 EDT

In the United States, discussions of Iran have for the last few years been mostly about the JCPOA(image)






Turkey’s Incursion Into Syria: Making Things Better or Worse?

Mon, 02 Oct 2017 10:14:34 EDT

This article was originally published (image)



Ideology and Foreign Policy

Sun, 01 Oct 2017 16:21:48 EDT

Barack Obama undertook two supremely ideological foreign policy moves.(image)



Weekend Reading: The Yom Kippur War

Fri, 29 Sep 2017 16:13:48 EDT

Who knew that(image)



Women Around the World: This Week

Fri, 29 Sep 2017 11:12:03 EDT

Saudi Arabia lifts driving ban for women(image)



Weekend Listening: The Gulf Crisis, Not Just My Hijab Part I and Part II

Fri, 22 Sep 2017 16:17:49 EDT

Marc Lynch and Kristian Coates Ulrichsen break down the(image)



Is Iran the New North Korea? Not Even Close

Mon, 18 Sep 2017 11:05:24 EDT

This article was originally published (image)






Support for Democracy and Human Rights in Arab World Advances U.S. Interests and Ideals, Says Abrams in New Book

Wed, 13 Sep 2017 11:03:28 EDT

September 14, 2017—Setbacks to political liberalization in the Arab world have caused the(image)



Is the World Ready for “Kurdexit”? Referendum Among Iraqi Kurds Has Middle East on Edge

Mon, 11 Sep 2017 10:04:14 EDT

This article was originally published (image)



Israel's Bombing of a Weapons Factory in Syria: What Comes Next?

Fri, 08 Sep 2017 16:11:21 EDT

This week Israel bombed a site in Syria, from Lebanese air space.(image)



Israeli Foreign Aid to American Jews

Tue, 05 Sep 2017 13:59:52 EDT

It was bound to happen, sooner or later.(image)






The Tragic Tale of Egypt’s Decline: Is It Also the Story of America’s Future?

Mon, 28 Aug 2017 10:23:44 EDT

This article was originally published(image)






"Reform" in Iran

Thu, 17 Aug 2017 13:15:17 EDT

During June’s presidential election in Iran, many Westerners strongly hoped for a Hassan Rouhani(image)



Financing Egypt’s "Missing Middle"

Wed, 16 Aug 2017 13:59:06 EDT

The Central Bank of Egypt (CBE) recently launched an initiative that will dedicate approximately(image)



Is Zionism "Creepy"? The Question at the Heart of a Social-Media Controversy Deserves an Answer

Mon, 14 Aug 2017 10:44:37 EDT

This article was originally published(image)









Geopolitical Information Blockades: A New Norm?

Wed, 02 Aug 2017 10:34:38 EDT

Jennifer Wilson is a research assoc(image)



Empowering Refugees in Times of Crisis

Tue, 01 Aug 2017 16:10:32 EDT

The United Nations(image)



Flying Over the Boycotts of Israel

Tue, 01 Aug 2017 09:41:36 EDT

How’s that movement to boycott Israel going?(image)



The Next Israel-Hezbollah Conflict

Sun, 30 Jul 2017 10:27:45 EDT

During the Obama years, concerns about Israel’s security situation focused on the Iranian nuclear(image)






Weekend Reading: Iran's Foreign Policy, Egyptian Dystopian Literature, and Protests in Morocco

Fri, 21 Jul 2017 15:48:09 EDT

Ariane Tabatabai and Annie Tracy Samuel (image)



The Other Gulf Conflict: How the Qatar Crisis Is Playing Out in D.C. Back Rooms

Tue, 18 Jul 2017 09:54:23 EDT

This article was originally published(image)



How Al Jazeera Amplifies Qatar’s Clout

Wed, 12 Jul 2017 15:27:20 EDT

Introduction A Saudi-led bloc has demanded Qatar shutter Al Jazeera, the global news br(image)



Follow the External (Balance of Payments) Breakevens of the Oil Exporters

Mon, 10 Jul 2017 14:32:31 EDT

The global impact of oil’s fall from $100 plus to under $50 a barrel has not gotten as much atten(image)



What Trump Gets Right About the Middle East

Thu, 06 Jul 2017 10:54:25 EDT

This article was originally published(image)



About Israel's "Isolation"

Wed, 05 Jul 2017 11:24:33 EDT

Indian Prime Minister Modi is now visiting Israel, in the first visit ever from an Indian head of(image)



Egypt’s Leader Faces a Crisis of His Own Making—One That Reveals His Nation’s Dangerous Weakness

Wed, 05 Jul 2017 10:34:42 EDT

This article, which I coauthored with my research associate, Amr Leheta, was originally publi(image)



Weekend Reading: Hebrew in Egypt, Israeli Nukes, and Jewish Beirut

Fri, 30 Jun 2017 16:57:06 EDT

Amira Sayed Ahmed(image)