Subscribe: DevX: Latest Database Content
http://services.devx.com/outgoing/databasefeed.xml
Preview: DevX: Latest Database Content

DevX: Latest Database Content



www.DevX.com



Published: Fri, 23 Jun 2017 00:25:01 -0700

Last Build Date: Fri, 23 Jun 2017 00:25:01 -0700

 



The sp_spaceused Procedure in SQL

Thu, 22 Jun 2017 05:02:00 -0700

Language: SQL, Expertise: Intermediate - See an example of how to use the sp_spaceused special SQL procedure.



Using xp_create_subdir to Create Windows Folders with SQL

Thu, 15 Jun 2017 05:02:00 -0700

Language: SQL, Expertise: Intermediate - Create folders in T-SQL with the help of the built-in Extended Stored Procedure named xp_create_subdir.



Merge Two DataTables, Preserving the Old Values

Tue, 13 Jun 2017 05:12:00 -0700

Language: .NET, Expertise: Beginner - Learn how to maintain all the old values when merging two databases.



Using xp_ dirtree to List Folders, Subfolders and Files with SQL

Thu, 01 Jun 2017 05:00:00 -0700

Language: SQL, Expertise: Intermediate — Learn how use an undocumented Extended Stored Procedure named xp_dirtree to list folders, subfolders, and files for a given path.



Flyway with Multiple Databases

Wed, 31 May 2017 05:00:00 -0700

Language: Web, Expertise: Intermediate - Learn how to use Flyway with multiple databases.



Turn Off the Index Maintenance of DataTable when you Load Data

Tue, 30 May 2017 05:06:00 -0700

Language: .NET, Expertise: Intermediate - Learn how to turn indexing on and off when loading data.



Working with an SQL Output Parameter in C#

Thu, 25 May 2017 05:28:00 -0700

Language: .NET, Expertise: Beginner - How to specify the SQL Output parameter's Direction property once you have created it.



Retrieving Specific Information Using the Inspect Docker Command

Tue, 02 May 2017 06:47:00 -0700

Language: Web, Expertise: Intermediate — Learn how to specify the information you want to return by requesting a specific element.



Using Boolean Logic Instead of CASE WHEN

Wed, 26 Apr 2017 06:58:00 -0700

Language: SQL, Expertise: Intermediate — Once you get the hang of the CASE WHEN SQL Statement it can be easy to overuse it. Sometimes you can simply replace it with Boolean logic.



Encrypting and Decrypting a Database Connection String

Thu, 20 Apr 2017 07:25:00 -0700

Language: .NET, Expertise: Intermediate — Learn to encrypt your connection string to a database



Entering a Docker Container

Wed, 19 Apr 2017 08:09:00 -0700

Language: Web, Expertise: Intermediate — Learn an easy way to create a new interactive bash shell in the running container.



Enumerating all SQL Servers

Fri, 14 Apr 2017 04:27:00 -0700

Language: SQL, Expertise: Beginner — Learn how easy it is to enumerate (list) all the possible SQL servers to which you want to connect.



Use SUBSTR to Remove the Last Character from any String in Oracle SQL

Tue, 11 Apr 2017 06:39:00 -0700

Language: SQL, Expertise: Beginner — This code snippet is great for removing trailing slashes or other characters from the end of a string.



Using the SET NOCOUNT SQL Method

Fri, 07 Apr 2017 11:19:00 -0700

Language: SQL, Expertise: Beginner — Learn how to use the NOCOUNT method to switch off the DONE_IN_PROC messages and boost the performance of queries and network traffic.



How to Convert to a Specific Data Type Using CAST in Oracle SQL

Tue, 04 Apr 2017 06:39:00 -0700

Language: SQL, Expertise: Intermediate — If you need to convert to a specific data type (and length or precision), you can use the CAST function.



Add Months to a Date in Oracle SQL

Wed, 29 Mar 2017 06:41:00 -0700

Language: SQL, Expertise: Beginner — Learn to easily add a number of months to a date in Oracle SQL with the ADD_MONTHS function.



Remove a Constraint from a Table in Oracle SQL

Wed, 22 Mar 2017 06:37:00 -0700

Language: SQL, Expertise: Beginner — Learn how to remove constraints that have been set up to enforce business rules on a database.



Built-in JSON Functions in SQL

Fri, 17 Mar 2017 06:22:00 -0700

Language: SQL, Expertise: Intermediate — Did you know that SQL has some very handy built-in JSON functions?



Find the Source Code of a Function or Procedure in Oracle SQL

Tue, 14 Mar 2017 06:36:00 -0700

Language: SQL, Expertise: Beginner — If you need to find the source code for a function or procedure in the database, it's easy to do in Oracle.



Optional Parameters in SQL

Thu, 09 Mar 2017 11:20:00 -0800

Language: SQL, Expertise: Beginner — Learn to implement an optional parameter in SQL by declaring a parameter in your stored procedure with a default value of NULL



Add Multiple Columns to a Table in a Single Statement in Oracle SQL

Mon, 06 Mar 2017 07:40:00 -0800

Language: SQL, Expertise: Beginner



Turn on Line Numbers in SQL Developer

Thu, 23 Feb 2017 06:40:00 -0800

Language: SQL||Expertise: Beginner



Using the SQL LCASE Function

Wed, 22 Feb 2017 02:36:00 -0800

Language: SQL||Expertise: Beginner



Get a List of all Tables In Oracle SQL

Mon, 20 Feb 2017 02:35:00 -0800




How to Undo Dropping a Table in Oracle SQL

Tue, 07 Feb 2017 07:42:00 -0800

Language: SQL||Expertise: Beginner