Subscribe: DevX: Latest Database Content
http://services.devx.com/outgoing/databasefeed.xml
Preview: DevX: Latest Database Content

DevX: Latest Database Content



www.DevX.com



Published: Mon, 16 Jan 2017 07:36:31 -0800

Last Build Date: Mon, 16 Jan 2017 07:36:31 -0800

 



The Future of Tech Careers

Thu, 12 Jan 2017 05:12:00 -0800

Learn how to future-proof your career by combine innovations from multiple areas to achieve synergies.



Using REPLICATE for SQL Strings

Thu, 05 Jan 2017 05:27:00 -0800

Language: SQL||Expertise: Beginner



Top 10 Security Best Practices

Fri, 30 Dec 2016 13:37:00 -0800

Security is hard. It takes dedicated attention, knowledge and meticulous execution. It is also an ongoing process. It's important to educate stakeholders and clarify the state of security, the risks and mitigations. You need to be vigilant and on your toes.



The sp_MSforeachdb Stored Procedure

Thu, 22 Dec 2016 01:49:00 -0800

Language: SQL||Expertise: Intermediate



Check if a Temporary Table Exists

Thu, 15 Dec 2016 11:47:00 -0800

Language: SQL||Expertise: Intermediate



Using FOR XML PATH and STUFF SQL String Concatenation

Tue, 06 Dec 2016 02:23:00 -0800

Language: SQL||Expertise: Intermediate



Convert Oracle Queries into Microsoft SQL Format

Fri, 02 Dec 2016 02:52:00 -0800

Language: SQL||Expertise: Intermediate



Container Orchestration with Docker Swarm

Fri, 25 Nov 2016 11:10:00 -0800

The power of containers shines brightest when you build large systems made up of many machines running lots of interacting containers. That's were Docker Swarm comes -- arguably the simplest orchestration solution for Docker containers and it is built into the Docker engine itself.



Renaming an SQL Server Database

Tue, 22 Nov 2016 02:22:00 -0800




Working with Cloud-Based Development Environments

Tue, 15 Nov 2016 12:52:00 -0800

Big data belongs in the cloud and has become much more reasonable to run the applications that manage, sift and display the data in the cloud as well.



The SQL Intersect Operator

Fri, 11 Nov 2016 00:31:00 -0800

Language: SQL||Expertise: Intermediate



Vagrant Provisioning with Puppet

Thu, 10 Nov 2016 09:03:00 -0800

Automating software installations is an important part of deploying virtual machines with Vagrant. This process is called provisioning and can be integrated with DevOps tools, such as Puppet. Let's see how to do that.



Using the SQL MINUS Operator

Tue, 01 Nov 2016 00:31:00 -0700




Container Wars: Docker vs. Rkt

Tue, 18 Oct 2016 15:23:00 -0700

It will be very interesting to see how the container landscape evolves. Are developers going to stick with the incumbent, yet quickly innovating, Docker or are they going to flock to the supposedly superior newcomer?



Using the @@rowcount Global Variable in SQL

Fri, 14 Oct 2016 02:29:00 -0700

Language: SQL||Expertise: Intermediate



Automating Web Site Deployment

Tue, 11 Oct 2016 12:45:00 -0700

Examine a few of the approaches and tools that can help standardize and automate Web site deployment to a certain level.



Skip Weekends SQL Function

Thu, 22 Sep 2016 08:28:00 -0700

Language: SQL||Expertise: Intermediate



Perform Data Audits in SQL Azure Using Temporal Tables

Tue, 13 Sep 2016 07:54:00 -0700

Learn why Temporal Tables are a powerful feature to help you tailor your auditing needs without having to write any code.



Obtaining the Next Number in a Sequence Using a Stored Procedure and an Output Parameter

Fri, 09 Sep 2016 02:15:00 -0700

Language: SQL||Expertise: Beginner



Find out Whether a Value Exists in a List of Values

Fri, 26 Aug 2016 02:08:00 -0700

You can use a normal SELECT query joined with a bunch of AND statements to determine if a certain value exists, but this can become cumbersome and tedious. Language: SQL||Expertise: Beginner



Agile Build Environments Require Testing

Tue, 23 Aug 2016 09:53:00 -0700

To follow Agile principles and allow an individual developer to have a quick build cycle of edit-built-test requires significant effort. In most cases it is worth it. There are two representative cases: small and large



Doing Upserts with the Help of MERGE

Tue, 16 Aug 2016 02:57:00 -0700

Language: SQL||Expertise: Intermediate



Eventual Consistency

Thu, 11 Aug 2016 02:45:00 -0700

In general, distributed systems that are designed for eventual consistency typically still provision enough capacity and redundancy to be pretty consistent under normal operating conditions.



Get All Tables and Views Inside a Database

Tue, 02 Aug 2016 11:02:00 -0700

Language: SQL||Expertise: Intermediate



Build an Intuitive View-Driven Data Stack for Your Modern Apps Using Apollo

Fri, 29 Jul 2016 10:47:00 -0700

The Apollo data stack builds on the power of GraphQL and provides a set of client and server side components that contain easy-to-use boilerplate templates for setting up a data service for modern UI driven apps.