Subscribe: DevX: Latest Java Articles
http://services.devx.com/outgoing/javafeed.xml
Preview: DevX: Latest Java Articles

DevX: Latest Java Articles



www.DevX.com



Published: Sun, 25 Feb 2018 14:53:00 -0800

Last Build Date: Sun, 25 Feb 2018 14:53:00 -0800

 



Usage of a Custom Ordinal in Enum

Fri, 23 Feb 2018 01:19:00 -0800

Language: Java, Expertise: Intermediate - Use this mechanism when you want to override the default ordinal with a custom ordinal.



Get the Attention of a User with a Beep

Tue, 13 Feb 2018 02:14:00 -0800

Language: Java, Expertise: Intermediate - Learn to use java.awt.Toolkit.getDefaultToolkit.beep(); to get the attention of a user.



Knowing the Temp Location in Your Environment

Fri, 09 Feb 2018 01:59:00 -0800

Language: Java, Level: Intermediate: - Learn how to find the temp location in your environment.



Time Zone Conversion

Tue, 06 Feb 2018 03:42:00 -0800

Language: Java, Expertise: Beginner - Learn how to avoid this common time zone conversion mistake.



How to Find the End of a File in Java

Mon, 05 Feb 2018 04:01:00 -0800

Language: Java, Expertise: Intermediate - Easily find the end of file that you are processing.



Interesting Java.lang.Math Class

Mon, 29 Jan 2018 02:40:00 -0800

Language: Java, Level: Intermediate: - Check out this interesting java.lang.math class.



Daemon Threads in Java

Fri, 26 Jan 2018 02:19:00 -0800

Language: Java, Level: Intermediate: - Did you know that execution of a Java program will continue only when there is at least one user thread running?



Using Calendar.getInstance()

Wed, 24 Jan 2018 02:07:00 -0800

Language: Java, Level: Beginner: - Learn why you should avoid using the Calendar.getInstance() in many instances.



Avoiding the HashMap Size Trap

Wed, 17 Jan 2018 00:01:00 -0800

Language: Java, Level: Beginner: - See how to avoid having the HashMap resize half way through the insertion.



Random Number Generation Using Java

Mon, 15 Jan 2018 02:09:00 -0800

Language: Java, Level: Intermediate: - Learn how to use the Random class available in the java.util package to generate random numbers.



Do Not Assume SimpleDateFormat Is Thread-safe

Thu, 11 Jan 2018 05:44:00 -0800

Language: Java, Level: Beginner: - Learn why it is important to remember that sharing a SimpleDateFormat requires proper synchronization.



Finding a Boolean that Is Part of an Input String

Tue, 09 Jan 2018 04:36:00 -0800

Language: Java, Level: Intermediate: - See how to find a boolean that is available as part of the input string.



Catching to Log in Java

Thu, 04 Jan 2018 02:43:00 -0800

Language: Java, Level: Beginner: - See why it is important to pass all required information along in the exception.



Learn Some Efficient Programming Practices

Tue, 02 Jan 2018 00:01:00 -0800

Language: Java, Level: Intermediate: - Avoiding null pointer exceptions is a good programming practice. Learn some more ways to avoid this pitfall.



Creating a Link to a File in Java

Fri, 22 Dec 2017 03:15:00 -0800

Language: Java, Level: Intermediate: - See how to crosslink files in Java so that you don't have to hunt for multiple files when changes are made to one.



Using the "==" Operator with Double or Float

Wed, 13 Dec 2017 12:47:00 -0800

Language: Java, Level: Beginner: - Avoid causing and endless loop with float or double values in Java.



Clearing the Contents of a StringBuffer

Tue, 12 Dec 2017 06:01:00 -0800

Language: Java, Level: Intermediate: - StringBuffer is a class that facilitates string operations and also helps reduce memory usage.



Avoid NullPointerException in String Equality Comparison

Tue, 05 Dec 2017 02:11:00 -0800

Language: Java, Beginner: Intermediate - Learn why it's important to place literals first in equal comparisons.



Understanding the Long Data Type in Java

Mon, 04 Dec 2017 01:21:00 -0800

Language: Java, Expertise: Intermediate - See how Java long behaves differently when used with the letter L and without it.



Simple Annotation in Java

Fri, 24 Nov 2017 02:00:00 -0800

Language: Java, Expertise: Intermediate - Annotations are similar to interfaces in that you can convey your own specifications that others will need to follow.



Reducing Unbuffered Streams

Mon, 20 Nov 2017 05:36:00 -0800

Language: Java, Expertise: Intermediate - Learn how to significantly reduce the number of native calls.



Converting Numbers to Strings

Mon, 13 Nov 2017 01:41:00 -0800

Language: Java, Expertise: Beginner - Learn the right way to convert numbers to Strings.



Obtaining a Thread Dump of Your Java App in Linux

Thu, 09 Nov 2017 02:26:00 -0800

Language: Java, Expertise: Intermediate - Learn how to trigger a thread dump in Java on Linux os.



Reasons for Android Runtime Garbage Collection

Wed, 08 Nov 2017 02:27:00 -0800

Language: Java, Expertise: Advanced - See some suggestions regarding what could be triggering Garbage Collection in your Android run time environment.



Parsing and Converting Numbers in Java

Thu, 02 Nov 2017 02:27:00 -0700

Language: Java, Expertise: Intermediate - Learn how to use the API without allocating unnecessary objects.