Subscribe: The Star Online: Opinion
http://thestar.com.my/rss/opinion.xml
Added By: Feedage Forager Feedage Grade B rated
Language: Malay
Tags:
asean  club  country future  figure  front page  future  health  move  offers  orang asli  page  paris  ratus  students  talk  toll   
Rate this Feed
Rate this feedRate this feedRate this feedRate this feedRate this feed
Rate this feed 1 starRate this feed 2 starRate this feed 3 starRate this feed 4 starRate this feed 5 star

Comments (0)

Feed Details and Statistics Feed Statistics
Preview: The Star Online: Opinion

Editorial



Editorial



 



A need to reach out to the orang asli

Wed, 25 Nov 2015 00:00:00 +08:00

WHEN an orang asli villager in Sungai Kejar of Perak’s Royal Belum State Park was asked how many people in the area had been lost to the disease they call serawan, his answer was: “Satu ratus, dua ratus ... tiga ratus!”



Asean more than a club of 10

Sun, 22 Nov 2015 00:00:00 +08:00

SOME of us think of Asean as simply a club comprising the 10 countries in this corner of the world, and every now and then, their leaders meet to talk shop and figure out ways in which the governments and other institutions can work together.



Game-changing moves for a better future

Wed, 18 Nov 2015 00:00:00 +08:00

A KEY objective of the 11th Malaysia Plan is to ensure the country’s poorest families can seize the opportunities that national prosperity offers.



Mayhem in Paris raises chills

Sun, 15 Nov 2015 00:00:00 +08:00

RIGHT now, Paris is neither the City of Lights nor the City of Love. It is more like a war zone shrouded in shock, fear, confusion and anguish – as it was in January after the Charlie Hebdo shooting.


Media Files:
http://www.thestar.com.my/~/media/online/2015/11/14/23/42/paris-terror-attack.ashx?crop=1&w=0&h=0&




Don’t let emotions get in the way of DLP

Sun, 08 Nov 2015 00:00:00 +08:00

“WHEN we think about our country, the future of our country, the future of our students ... I feel very sad to see that many of our students, when they have finished school, they can’t even speak in English.” The words of SK Bukit Beruntung principal Nor Azian Abd Manan, as published on our front page yesterday, speak volumes.



Be proactive during the monsoon

Sun, 01 Nov 2015 00:00:00 +08:00

THE two front page reports last week said it all. On Oct 27, the headline was “A climate of fear” and on Friday, our Page One declared, “Monsoon storms in.”



Treating the health of the nation

Wed, 28 Oct 2015 00:00:00 +08:00

A TOTAL of RM23.03bil has been allocated for healthcare in the 2016 budget, a figure representing 8.6% of the overall sum.



Concern over rash of health hazards

Wed, 21 Oct 2015 00:00:00 +08:00

TALK about mixed feelings. On Monday, the Health Ministry issued a three-page statement to provide details of the current increase in typhoid fever cases in Kuala Lumpur. It was a move meant to raise awareness without causing panic.



Time for another evolution of toll roads

Sun, 18 Oct 2015 00:00:00 +08:00

Motorists and toll operators have one thing in common. Neither are happy with the present system.



Let not the children’s deaths be in vain

Wed, 14 Oct 2015 00:00:00 +08:00

LIFE goes on, we sometimes tell each other in times of grief and loss. It is a banal statement that offers zero comfort, but it is true. The clock does not pause to allow the sorrow to pass, and resumes ticking once we are ready to move on.