Subscribe: MAP - Opinion
Added By: Feedage Forager Feedage Grade A rated
Language: English
canada  column  commission  drug  drugs  health  important  legalized  marijuana  medical marijuana  medical  oct  pot  racial ethnic  racial 
Rate this Feed
Rate this feedRate this feedRate this feedRate this feedRate this feed
Rate this feed 1 starRate this feed 2 starRate this feed 3 starRate this feed 4 starRate this feed 5 star

Comments (0)

Feed Details and Statistics Feed Statistics
Preview: MAP - Opinion

MAP - Opinion

Media Awareness Project Drug News

Published: Fri, 21 Oct 2016 04:59:17 -0700

Last Build Date: Fri, 21 Oct 2016 08:10:01 GMT


CN BC: Editorial: Testing For Safety

Wed, 19 Oct 2016 07:00:00 GMT

Powell River Peak, 19 Oct 2016 - As long as marijuana remains illegal in Canada, we are trapped in a grey area that takes away our power as consumers. All Canadians should have the right to know what is in the products they buy, yet because of Health Canada's insistence that it is illegal for dispensaries or consumers to test marijuana products it also deems illegal, we are unable to find out if what we are buying is safe. Without requirements for unlicensed marijuana producers to test their products, Health Canada is also not ensuring product safety at the source.

CN BC: Column: Drug Talk Still Important

Fri, 14 Oct 2016 07:00:00 GMT

The Morning Star, 14 Oct 2016 - Welcome back to a new school year. A very important discussion that needs to take place in your home is the old drug talk. Parents play a key role in reducing teen substance abuse. More than half of all Canadian kids will try drugs at least once between Grades 1 and 12, but many will choose not to experiment. Please talk openly with your child about substance abuse and set a no-use rule for all drugs and alcohol. Remember, with the advent of newer drugs like fentanyl talking to our kids about illicit drugs is more important than ever.

US AZ Column: No To Proposition 205

Sun, 16 Oct 2016 07:00:00 GMT

Daily Courier, 16 Oct 2016 - I ask all of you folks who care about the young to vote against Proposition 205. Summarizing information from a number of sources in Arizona and Colorado, here are some of the primary reasons: * Prop 205 Endangers Arizona's Young People

CN BC: Column: Commitment Of A Community

Fri, 14 Oct 2016 07:00:00 GMT

Maple Ridge News, 14 Oct 2016 - Recently, following the death of a friend's son due to an overdose of fentanyl, I questioned, when will the hurting end? The answer to that question is still unclear, but hope is emerging that our community cares and is willing to work together to bring to an end the epidemic of drug overdose deaths.

CN BC: Editorial: Overdose Issue Close To Home

Wed, 12 Oct 2016 07:00:00 GMT

Sooke News Mirror, 12 Oct 2016 - When the province declared a public health crisis in the wake of the climbing number of illicit drug overdoses in B.C., some people may not have realized the scope of the problem. The seriousness of this issue has touched Sooke as well as other areas of Greater Victoria and Vancouver Island.

US: OPED: Our Reefer Republic

Sun, 09 Oct 2016 07:00:00 GMT

New York Times, 09 Oct 2016 - PORTLAND, Ore. - The budtenders of the Rose City are relentlessly helpful with tips pairing a marijuana strain that is "equal parts fruity and musky" with a stimulating Sichuan dish. As Oregon, the place where empires once clashed over the global trade of beaver furs, glides into a second year of legalized recreational pot, the state is determined to show the world that a certain kind of drug prohibition belongs in history's Dumpster. Soon, with the likely passage of legal pot in California next month, all of the West Coast - from the tundra of Alaska to the sun-washed suburbs of San Diego - will be a confederacy of state-regulated marijuana use.

CN ON: OPED: Safe Injection Sites: Yes - And In My Backyard

Tue, 11 Oct 2016 07:00:00 GMT

Hamilton Spectator, 11 Oct 2016 - There's an addiction crisis: Morality has no place here. This is a health issue. Period. As Hamiltonians begin to debate the possibility of introducing safe injection sites in our city, it is important to understand that Canada and the United States are in the grips of an addiction crisis like we have never seen in our history.

US MD: Editorial: Md.'s Geography Of Pot

Mon, 10 Oct 2016 07:00:00 GMT

Baltimore Sun, 10 Oct 2016 - Our view: Legislators should investigate apparent inconsistency in medical marijuana commission's criteria for who gets grower licenses When the General Assembly legalized medical marijuana in Maryland, it required the commission running the program to "actively seek to achieve racial, ethnic, and geographic diversity when licensing medical marijuana growers." But the attorney general's office advised the commission that, absent a study documenting racial disparities in the medical cannabis industry, creating racial and ethnic preferences was unconstitutional. As a result, the regulations the commission adopted make no mention of racial diversity.

US CA: Column: Legalized Pot Almost A Certainty

Mon, 10 Oct 2016 07:00:00 GMT

Porterville Recorder, 10 Oct 2016 - A sense of certainty that recreational, random marijuana use will be legalized, regulated and taxed in California after next month's election lies behind the millions of dollars invested so far in Proposition 64, which would allow adults to grow, buy and possess pot. No more medical marijuana ruses. The sense of inevitability stems partly from the experiences of Colorado and Washington state, where cannabis can be had anytime in very many places and is regulated somewhat like cigarettes. In short, not much. Polls now show between 55 and 60 percent of likely voters favor complete legalization, and national polls indicate almost exactly half of all Americans also want that. Support for freedom to use the weed has never been higher.