Subscribe: Comments on: Does anyone have any opinions on FeedLounge?
http://www.marusin.com/2006/06/09/does-anyone-have-any-opinions-on-feedlounge/feed/
Added By: Feedage Forager Feedage Grade A rated
Language: English
Tags:
based readers  blog archive  feedlounge  feeds  give  great  marusin blog  matt feedlounge  read  readers require  readers  web based  web 
Rate this Feed
Rate this feedRate this feedRate this feedRate this feedRate this feed
Rate this feed 1 starRate this feed 2 starRate this feed 3 starRate this feed 4 starRate this feed 5 star

Comments (0)

Feed Details and Statistics Feed Statistics
Preview: Comments on: Does anyone have any opinions on FeedLounge?

Comments on: Does anyone have any opinions on FeedLounge?



what happens when a technologist, music-lover and blogger are all trapped in the same body



Last Build Date: Tue, 17 Nov 2009 08:03:08 +0000

 



By: marusin.com » Blog Archive » I’ve been up to lots of stuff

Wed, 19 Jul 2006 17:59:45 +0000

[...] - I have given up on FeedLounge for the time being. I switched to them after there was a marusin.com record for the most comments ever to a post all in praise of FeedLounge. I have to say, I agree with most of them (when the service is working correctly). The interface is great. The response to support problems is great. Unfortunately, though, it is buggy as hell and it seems there’s a new issue I encounter on a daily basis. Between not being able to subscribe to certain weblogs to bugs with tagging to feeds not being updated enough to me being unable to access my feeds for a couple of days has made me go back to Bloglines. Without a doubt, I want to like FeedLounge but I feel burned and have a bad taste in my mouth right now. I have a year subscription and may revisit in a couple months when I feel better about things. Until then I’m back to my old standby. [...]



By: marusin.com » Blog Archive » No more late night coffee for me

Thu, 13 Jul 2006 11:05:56 +0000

[...] I’ve been up since 4:00am and am still wide awake two hours later.  In a way, it’s cool since I’m caught up on my feeds (even though FeedLounge has really been sucking lately ~ makes me wonder if I made the right decision switching) and email. [...]



By: Josh

Thu, 06 Jul 2006 03:15:26 +0000

FeedLounge is wonderful; I just gave up my Newsgator account for it. The only complaint I have is that, as of now, organizing feeds is not an easy task.



By: Charlie

Tue, 13 Jun 2006 01:18:05 +0000

It's definitely worth a try. Alex and Scott give great support and the UI is good. I've tried other consolidators and this is the one I've stuck with.



By: Paul

Mon, 12 Jun 2006 14:59:33 +0000

Speed and ease. Most web based RSS readers require a refresh of the ENTIRE page when moving from one set of stories to the next. This takes considerable time. Most web based RSS readers require the use of a "click" to mark something as read. This not only takes times but precision. With Feedlounge, only the main feed screen is refreshed when moving from group to group. The space bar eliminates using the mouse to mark items as read. These features create a reading environment that is easy as well as speedy. I was definitely skeptical of feedlounge releasing their pay version first. I wondered how they could compete with all the free readers out there. The answer: a far better product that is worth paying for.



By: Javier

Sat, 10 Jun 2006 21:05:37 +0000

Before Feedlounge I had big problems with RSS because of the amount of feeds, posts and information. Now I can have a very fast view just pressing the space bar, tag what I want to read and it goes directly to my delicious account. I have even increased my feeds and reduced my reading time.



By: mike

Sat, 10 Jun 2006 18:48:38 +0000

Wow, who knew anyone read this blog? :) I think I just spent $50... Expect a report in the near future. Thanks for all of your help (and sorry your comments got caught up in moderation ~ you've all been green-flagged).. :)



By: Matt W.

Sat, 10 Jun 2006 16:52:48 +0000

I've been using feedlounge for quite awhile now (ever since they opened the doors) and I really enjoy it. As you said, it's a slick interface. I think what sets it apart the most for me is the fact there's no need for snychronization between computers and all of the hotkeys that make navigating it pretty easy. If you haven't already I would give their free tour a test. I imagine you'll like it.



By: Eli

Sat, 10 Jun 2006 16:48:02 +0000

After trying almost every client and web-based RSS aggregator out there (including Gregarius, a server-side install), I settled on FeedLounge for a few reasons: 1) UI is beautiful 2) fast speed 3) posting directly to my del.icio.us bookmarks. Give it a whirl - I'm sure you'll be convinced.



By: Matt

Sat, 10 Jun 2006 16:19:45 +0000

I know nothing about FeedLounge, so I'll give a totally different opinion. Buy the latest NetNewsWire. It syncs with NewsGator Online for free.