Subscribe: AWAYE!
http://abc.net.au/rn/podcast/feeds/aye.xml
Added By: Feedage Forager Feedage Grade A rated
Language: English
Tags:
aboriginal  april  august  awaye  culture  indigenous  introducing  january  july  language  march  new  october word  october  word 
Rate this Feed
Rate this feedRate this feedRate this feedRate this feedRate this feed
Rate this feed 1 starRate this feed 2 starRate this feed 3 starRate this feed 4 starRate this feed 5 star

Comments (0)

Feed Details and Statistics Feed Statistics
Preview: AWAYE!

AWAYE! - Full program podcast



Awaye! means 'listen up' in the Arrernte language of central Australia. It is produced and presented by Aboriginal broadcasters and is Australia's only national Indigenous arts and culture program.



Copyright: Copyright 2016, Australian Broadcasting Corporation. All Rights Reserved.
 



AWAYE! - 2016-12-10

Sat, 10 Dec 2016 18:05:00 +1100

Philanthropic money to fund Aboriginal art history. The Season. Songs That Sound Like Blood. The ancestors are here. Word Up: Dwayne Newry and Jimmy Paddy.


Media Files:
http://mpegmedia.abc.net.au/rn/podcast/2016/12/aye_20161210.mp3




AWAYE! - 2016-12-03

Sat, 03 Dec 2016 18:05:00 +1100

How racist tropes inform the present. A 'whole of university' approach to Indigenous education. The best view in the world. Word Up: Gary Williams.


Media Files:
http://mpegmedia.abc.net.au/rn/podcast/2016/12/aye_20161203.mp3




Saturday 26 November 2016

Sat, 26 Nov 2016 18:05:00 +1100

Driven by purpose and striving for all: Andrea Mason. The truth is not political: the Sydney Festival's Wesley Enoch. Word Up: Lille Madden.


Media Files:
http://mpegmedia.abc.net.au/rn/podcast/2016/11/aye_20161126.mp3




AWAYE! - 2016-11-19

Sat, 19 Nov 2016 18:05:00 +1100

A dance movement: the precursor to Bangarra. Word Up: Matthew Heffernan. Sebastian Kelly-Toiava sings a black anthem.


Media Files:
http://mpegmedia.abc.net.au/rn/podcast/2016/11/aye_20161119.mp3




AWAYE! - 2016-11-05

Sat, 05 Nov 2016 18:05:00 +1100

Never leave anyone behind: 2016 Charles Perkins Memorial Oration. Word Up: Yolngu Matha.


Media Files:
http://mpegmedia.abc.net.au/rn/podcast/2016/11/aye_20161105.mp3




Saturday 29 October 2016

Sat, 29 Oct 2016 18:05:00 +1100

Word Up: Evelyn Araluen. Spirit of the Mountain. Is there such as thing as Aboriginal design?


Media Files:
http://mpegmedia.abc.net.au/rn/podcast/2016/10/aye_20161029.mp3




Saturday 22 October 2016

Sat, 22 Oct 2016 18:05:00 +1100

Word Up: Paul Paton. River of No Sound. Barbed Wire and Cherry Blossoms.


Media Files:
http://mpegmedia.abc.net.au/rn/podcast/2016/10/aye_20161022.mp3




Saturday 15 October 2016

Sat, 15 Oct 2016 18:05:00 +1100

Word Up: Kylie Bracknell. Big Sky. The mystery of Narrabeen Man: a 4000 year old cold case.


Media Files:
http://mpegmedia.abc.net.au/rn/podcast/2016/10/aye_20161015.mp3




Saturday 8 October 2016

Sat, 08 Oct 2016 18:05:00 +1100

Introducing Miss Georgia Lee.


Media Files:
http://mpegmedia.abc.net.au/rn/podcast/2016/10/aye_20161008.mp3




Saturday 1 October 2016

Sat, 01 Oct 2016 18:05:00 +1000

Theft, misappropriation and fridge magnets. Case in point: Bibi Barba. The sound of museum objects.


Media Files:
http://mpegmedia.abc.net.au/rn/podcast/2016/10/aye_20161001.mp3




Saturday 24 September 2016

Sat, 24 Sep 2016 18:05:00 +1000

'It's time for black truth to replace white lies'. Writing diverse characters. The human fallout from Maralinga.


Media Files:
http://mpegmedia.abc.net.au/rn/podcast/2016/09/aye_20160924.mp3




Saturday 17 September 2016

Sat, 17 Sep 2016 18:05:00 +1000

More than just words. Just the two of us: Marcus Corowa sings Bill Withers. Straight outta Darwin, a superhero who can manipulate mass.


Media Files:
http://mpegmedia.abc.net.au/rn/podcast/2016/09/aye_20160917.mp3




Saturday 10 September 2016

Sat, 10 Sep 2016 18:05:00 +1000

Telling it like it is about racism and social exclusion. Performance anxiety: why venues don't stage Indigenous theatre. Love poems, death threats and literary awards.


Media Files:
http://mpegmedia.abc.net.au/rn/podcast/2016/09/aye_20160910.mp3




Saturday 3 September 2016

Sat, 03 Sep 2016 18:05:00 +1000

The etymology of country. Ten Shades of Blues.


Media Files:
http://mpegmedia.abc.net.au/rn/podcast/2016/09/aye_20160903.mp3




Saturday 27 August 2016

Sat, 27 Aug 2016 18:05:00 +1000

Racism is present: unpacking a social media storm. After The Carnage. Introducing Tia Gostelow.


Media Files:
http://mpegmedia.abc.net.au/rn/podcast/2016/08/aye_20160827.mp3




Saturday 20 August 2016

Sat, 20 Aug 2016 18:05:00 +1000

The legacy of Wave Hill.


Media Files:
http://mpegmedia.abc.net.au/rn/podcast/2016/08/aye_20160820.mp3




Saturday 13 August 2016

Sat, 13 Aug 2016 18:05:00 +1000

A serious painting for serious times. The next generation of river people. A rite of passage.


Media Files:
http://mpegmedia.abc.net.au/rn/podcast/2016/08/aye_20160813.mp3




Saturday 6 August 2016

Sat, 06 Aug 2016 18:05:00 +1000

A lack of vision and deafening silence. Deborah Cheetham's field of dreams. The people's court decides.


Media Files:
http://mpegmedia.abc.net.au/rn/podcast/2016/08/aye_20160806.mp3




Saturday 30 July 2016

Sat, 30 Jul 2016 18:05:00 +1000

Three festivals in one: Barunga celebrates women. A film about courage. The desert meets the sea in Nashville.


Media Files:
http://mpegmedia.abc.net.au/rn/podcast/2016/07/aye_20160730.mp3




Saturday 23 July 2016

Sat, 23 Jul 2016 18:05:00 +1000

"They left me standing alone": Stephen Page on loss and empowerment. Hubris is the enemy of politicians. From Broome to Rio.


Media Files:
http://mpegmedia.abc.net.au/rn/podcast/2016/07/aye_20160723.mp3




Saturday 16 July 2016

Sat, 16 Jul 2016 18:05:00 +1000

Close to You: the documentary photography of Lisa Bellear. Justification, not recognition. Flagging social justice and equality. The tricky ground of cross-cultural collaboration.


Media Files:
http://mpegmedia.abc.net.au/rn/podcast/2016/07/aye_20160716.mp3




Saturday 9 July 2016

Sat, 09 Jul 2016 18:05:00 +1000

Tracking in the dark: the sovereign will of Professor Aileen Moreton-Robinson. Keeping them safe: Djugun songlines. Can we teach culture?


Media Files:
http://mpegmedia.abc.net.au/rn/podcast/2016/07/aye_20160709.mp3




Saturday 2 July 2016 - New songlines

Sat, 02 Jul 2016 18:05:00 +1000

We feature contemporary songlines in new Indigenous music - from electric soul and desert pop to post-colonial death metal.


Media Files:
http://mpegmedia.abc.net.au/rn/podcast/2016/07/aye_20160702.mp3




Saturday 25 June 2016

Sat, 25 Jun 2016 18:05:00 +1000

Mungo Man disproves another theory. The historic nature of the new parliament. Cultural revivalism: Vicki Couzens. The Power to translate. Where do you belong?


Media Files:
http://mpegmedia.abc.net.au/rn/podcast/2016/06/aye_20160625.mp3




Saturday 18 June 2016

Sat, 18 Jun 2016 18:05:00 +1000

The public nature of sorry business. Friend, foe or syphilitic drunkard? Barunga Festival 2016: Celebrating Women.


Media Files:
http://mpegmedia.abc.net.au/rn/podcast/2016/06/aye_20160618.mp3




Saturday 11 June 2016

Sat, 11 Jun 2016 18:05:00 +1000

The art of patience. Treading new paths in Indigenous playwriting. Taking aim: rapper Nooky dreams big.


Media Files:
http://mpegmedia.abc.net.au/rn/podcast/2016/06/aye_20160611.mp3




Saturday 4 June 2016

Sat, 04 Jun 2016 18:05:00 +1000

The rise of the Aboriginal superhero. Blood on the Dance Floor. The architect and the carpenter: Dylan River and Bruce Pascoe.


Media Files:
http://mpegmedia.abc.net.au/rn/podcast/2016/06/aye_20160604.mp3




Saturday 28 May 2016

Sat, 28 May 2016 18:05:00 +1000

It's about time: the return of Mungo Man.


Media Files:
http://mpegmedia.abc.net.au/rn/podcast/2016/05/aye_20160528.mp3




Saturday 21 May 2016

Sat, 21 May 2016 18:05:00 +1000

The role of culture in suicide prevention. Exploding the hunter-gatherer myth. Treaty in practice: Michael Mansell on a seventh state.


Media Files:
http://mpegmedia.abc.net.au/rn/podcast/2016/05/aye_20160521.mp3




Saturday 14 May 2016

Sat, 14 May 2016 18:05:00 +1000

The pointy end of the spear of language revival. Darkly comic: Maurial Spearim's BlaaQ Catt. Crabbing with Dad.


Media Files:
http://mpegmedia.abc.net.au/rn/podcast/2016/05/aye_20160514.mp3




Saturday 7 May 2016

Sat, 07 May 2016 18:05:00 +1000

Invisible Spears: the poetry of Ellen van Neerven. Meditating on decolonisation. Rise: Birdz.


Media Files:
http://mpegmedia.abc.net.au/rn/podcast/2016/05/aye_20160507.mp3




Saturday 30 April 2016

Sat, 30 Apr 2016 18:05:00 +1000

The poetics of language and a lover's condescension. Introducing Emily Wurramara. Bedroom soul and a morbid fear of frogs. Lest we forget: honouring Indigenous war service.


Media Files:
http://mpegmedia.abc.net.au/rn/podcast/2016/04/aye_20160430.mp3




Saturday 23 April 2016

Sat, 23 Apr 2016 18:05:00 +1000

Bridging the gap between the stage and the classroom. Sovereign acts that bear witness. New trends in Indigenous writing.


Media Files:
http://mpegmedia.abc.net.au/rn/podcast/2016/04/aye_20160423.mp3




Saturday 16 April 2016

Sat, 16 Apr 2016 18:05:00 +1000

With Secrecy and Despatch: making sense of a massacre.


Media Files:
http://mpegmedia.abc.net.au/rn/podcast/2016/04/aye_20160416.mp3




Saturday 9 April 2016

Sat, 09 Apr 2016 18:05:00 +1000

A hair's breadth: mapping Aboriginal genetic history.


Media Files:
http://mpegmedia.abc.net.au/rn/podcast/2016/04/aye_20160409.mp3




Saturday 2 April 2016

Sat, 02 Apr 2016 18:05:00 +1100

The nuanced execution of story. News in language. The Great Australian Cookbook.


Media Files:
http://mpegmedia.abc.net.au/rn/podcast/2016/04/aye_20160402.mp3




Saturday 26 March 2016

Sat, 26 Mar 2016 18:05:00 +1100

Take Heart: the scourge of rheumatic heart disease. The latest iteration of an ancient songline. A home away from home.


Media Files:
http://mpegmedia.abc.net.au/rn/podcast/2016/03/aye_20160326.mp3




Saturday 19 March 2016

Sat, 19 Mar 2016 18:05:00 +1100

Lemons in the Chicken Wire. Cuba exports literacy to Aboriginal communities. Culture warrior: Lily Shearer.


Media Files:
http://mpegmedia.abc.net.au/rn/podcast/2016/03/aye_20160319.mp3




Saturday 12 March 2016

Sat, 12 Mar 2016 18:05:00 +1100

An activist masquerading as an artist. Putuparri and the Rainmakers. Memory and forgetting: Border Crossings.


Media Files:
http://mpegmedia.abc.net.au/rn/podcast/2016/03/aye_20160312.mp3




Saturday 5 March 2016

Sat, 05 Mar 2016 18:05:00 +1100

'Story is story': is genre a western concept? Showcasing remote Indigenous talent: VAMPtv. Groove kings: Sutardy Brothers.


Media Files:
http://mpegmedia.abc.net.au/rn/podcast/2016/03/aye_20160305.mp3




Saturday 27 February 2016

Sat, 27 Feb 2016 18:05:00 +1100

The crest of a wave. Unpacking the Blak: Anita Heiss. SMASHED: Films from Roebourne. Introducing Dane Simpson.


Media Files:
http://mpegmedia.abc.net.au/rn/podcast/2016/02/aye_20160227.mp3




Saturday 20 February 2016

Sat, 20 Feb 2016 18:05:00 +1100

Blak, queer and trans: the politics of recognition. Coalescing the arts: Clothilde Bullen. Desert Fringe 2016: Nathan May. Bright designs: Chern'ee Sutton.


Media Files:
http://mpegmedia.abc.net.au/rn/podcast/2016/02/aye_20160220.mp3




Saturday 13 February 2016

Sat, 13 Feb 2016 18:05:00 +1100

Hot topic: The politics of identity. A new deal for Aboriginal artists inside. Culture clash: a truly global music collaboration.


Media Files:
http://mpegmedia.abc.net.au/rn/podcast/2016/02/aye_20160213.mp3




Saturday 06 February 2016

Sat, 06 Feb 2016 18:05:00 +1100

Survivor or fantasist? The myth of Eliza Fraser. The living archive of Aboriginal languages. New kid on the block: Kuren.


Media Files:
http://mpegmedia.abc.net.au/rn/podcast/2016/02/aye_20160206.mp3




Saturday 30 January 2016

Sat, 30 Jan 2016 18:05:00 +1100

Wominjeka Festival: the art of activism.


Media Files:
http://mpegmedia.abc.net.au/rn/podcast/2016/01/aye_20160130.mp3




Saturday 23 January 2016

Sat, 23 Jan 2016 18:05:00 +1100

Under Skin, In Blood. Once a teacher: Vic Chapman. Dance stories: Bangarra's I.B.I.S.


Media Files:
http://mpegmedia.abc.net.au/rn/podcast/2016/01/aye_20160123.mp3




Saturday 16 January 2016

Sat, 16 Jan 2016 18:05:00 +1100

Daniel Boyd at the Venice Biennale. "Be more Aboriginal": Wesley Enoch's challenge to Australian artists. A whale woven in time.


Media Files:
http://mpegmedia.abc.net.au/rn/podcast/2016/01/aye_20160116.mp3




Saturday 09 January 2016

Sat, 09 Jan 2016 18:05:00 +1100

The memory of water. The drive to dance. Can't even write: Steven Oliver.


Media Files:
http://mpegmedia.abc.net.au/rn/podcast/2016/01/aye_20160109.mp3




Saturday 02 January 2016

Sat, 02 Jan 2016 18:05:00 +1100

Restylin' Up: Christine Anu. Through The Forest. Freedom Ride: Troy Cassar-Daley.


Media Files:
http://mpegmedia.abc.net.au/rn/podcast/2016/01/aye_20160102.mp3




Saturday 26 December 2015

Sat, 26 Dec 2015 18:05:00 +1100

Kill The Messenger. The new stolen. A love letter to Waterloo.


Media Files:
http://mpegmedia.abc.net.au/rn/podcast/2015/12/aye_20151226.mp3