Subscribe: Wahiduddin's Web
Added By: Feedage Forager Feedage Grade B rated
Language: English
displease  displeases  displeasure  fear god  fear  god  pleases  pleasure displeasure  pleasure  spiritual  stage  wahiduddin web  wahiduddin 
Rate this Feed
Rate this feedRate this feedRate this feedRate this feedRate this feed
Rate this feed 1 starRate this feed 2 starRate this feed 3 starRate this feed 4 starRate this feed 5 star

Comments (0)

Feed Details and Statistics Feed Statistics
Preview: Wahiduddin's Web

Wahiduddin's Web

What's New at Wahiduddin's Web

Copyright: Copyright 2011, wahiduddin Richard Shelquist

Bowl of Saki - February 24

Sat, 24 Feb 2018 07:09:02 GMT

Do not fear God, but consciously regard His pleasure and displeasure.  

Commentary by Hazrat Inayat Khan: 

The religion of the Sufi is the religion of the heart. The principal moral of the Sufi is to consider the heart of others, so that in the pleasure and displeasure of his fellow-man he sees the pleasure and displeasure of God.

~~~ "Complete Works, Original Texts, Feb 26, 1924", by Hazrat Inayat Khan


There are four paths or stages that lead a person to spiritual knowledge, from the limited to the unlimited.

The first stage is Shariat. This is where the God-ideal is impressed upon mankind as authority, as fear of God. This really means conscientiousness, not fear as is usually thought. If we love, we do not wish to displease; love does not force us to act, but it asks us to be conscientious and take care not to cause the least disharmony with the one whose happiness we want. ...

This stage of Shariat is that in which a person asks himself what will please Him, or displease Him. He learns his religion from his parents, from his friends. A good action pleases, a bad action displeases, and pride displeases most; he learns everything very easily by seeing what displeases another. How easy it is; and yet they still go to a clergyman or to a priest, to ask what pleases God. And all the time it is just what pleases man that pleases God, and therefore if we please all around us, we please God; if we displease them, we displease God. A man who has attained to this stage realizes what reward comes to him when he pleases the world, and what happens when he does not.

~~~ Do not fear God, but consciously regard His pleasure and displeasure.


Our Spiritual Journey... and the Ox-Herdng Pictures

Thu, 1 Aug 2013 23:33:01 GMT

New for August is an article which explores the stages of spiritual development. Step-by-step the Ox-Herding Pictures show our progression from a self-concerned, habitually conditioned state, through the stages of gaining insight and understanding, and finally emerging back into the busy marketplace of life in a benevolent new role.