Subscribe: NPR Columns: NPR Ombudsman
http://www.npr.org/rss/rss.php?id=2781901
Preview: NPR Columns: NPR Ombudsman

NPR Ombudsman : NPR



The Ombudsman is the public's representative to NPR, serving as an independent source of information, explanation, amplification and analysis for the public regarding NPR's programming.



Last Build Date: Fri, 02 Dec 2016 17:17:00 -0500

Copyright: Copyright 2016 NPR - For Personal Use Only
 



Pipeline Protests Prompt Calls For More Coverage

Fri, 02 Dec 2016 17:17:00 -0500

NPR has produced roughly 50 newsmagazine and online stories about the pipeline protests so far.



Listeners: Two Recent Interviews Are 'Normalizing Hate Speech'

Fri, 18 Nov 2016 17:25:00 -0500

Pleas for a different approach to reporting on the "alt-right."



NPR's Election Coverage: A Review And Wrap Up

Tue, 15 Nov 2016 14:47:00 -0500

An analysis of NPR's journalism over the long presidential campaign.



Poor Timing To Investigate A Trump Attack Line

Fri, 04 Nov 2016 14:49:00 -0400

The NPR story came almost a month after Trump's attack and less than a week before the election.



Frequently Asked Questions: Ombudsman Edition

Wed, 02 Nov 2016 10:00:26 -0400

Fast answers to common questions.



Fact Checking The Vox Pops; Election Coverage: Oct. 9-22

Fri, 28 Oct 2016 14:50:00 -0400

"Person on the street" interviews rankle some listeners.



How Should NPR Report On Hacked WikiLeaks Emails?

Wed, 19 Oct 2016 14:51:00 -0400

Ethical dilemmas make reporting on hacked information awkward.



Calling Trump's Bragging What It Is; Election Coverage: Sept. 25 – Oct. 8

Tue, 18 Oct 2016 14:52:00 -0400

What language should NPR have used to describe Donald Trump's comments in the leaked Access Hollywood video?



'A Weekly Pattern Of Unfairness': Political Commentary On NPR

Thu, 06 Oct 2016 14:53:00 -0400

Listeners question the ideological match-ups in political opinion segments.



Behind The Scenes: NPR Fact Checks First Debate In Near Real Time

Mon, 03 Oct 2016 14:54:00 -0400

Listeners want to know how the fact-checkers chose which facts to check.



Reporting Embargoes That Cross The Line

Fri, 30 Sep 2016 10:38:00 -0400

Scientific American examines a controversial practice that NPR and others agreed to in 2014.



Tracking Election Coverage: September 11-24

Mon, 26 Sep 2016 14:54:00 -0400

Candidate coverage evened out a bit in the past two weeks.



Tracking Election Coverage: August 28-September 10

Mon, 19 Sep 2016 14:56:00 -0400

We're tracking NPR's election coverage for balance and best practices.



A 'Whisper' Of News Creates A Commentary Brouhaha

Wed, 14 Sep 2016 14:56:00 -0400

Listeners had concerns about anonymous sources in a Morning Edition commentary.



Listeners Ask: Where's The Third Party Candidate Coverage?

Thu, 08 Sep 2016 15:35:00 -0400

Third party candidates Gary Johnson and Jill Stein are getting little NPR coverage.