Subscribe: USATODAY.com - Opinion
http://rssfeeds.usatoday.com/News-Opinion
Added By: Feedage Forager Feedage Grade B rated
Language: English
Tags:
apos  don apos  editorial cartoons  late night  readers shared  readers sound  readers  shared thoughts  trump apos  trump  view 
Rate this Feed
Rate this feedRate this feedRate this feedRate this feedRate this feed
Rate this feed 1 starRate this feed 2 starRate this feed 3 starRate this feed 4 starRate this feed 5 star

Comments (0)

Feed Details and Statistics Feed Statistics
Preview: USATODAY.com - Opinion

Untitled





 



I interviewed an executive in his underwear to get the job done

Fri, 20 Oct 2017 05:00:04 -0400

Back then, my boss laughed. Now the laughter is gone and men are stepping forward. Maybe times are changing.


Media Files:
https://www.gannett-cdn.com/media/2017/10/19/USATODAY/USATODAY/636440292968033111-GTY-860971312-94549587.JPG




Saving Puerto Rico: A month after Hurricane Maria, private help and government failure

Fri, 20 Oct 2017 08:47:27 -0400

Citizens and businesses are proving more capable in relief efforts than the Federal Emergency Management Agency or local government.


Media Files:
https://www.gannett-cdn.com/media/2017/10/19/USATODAY/USATODAY/636440232232319782-GTY-862599156-94660923.JPG







Memo to both parties: Stop foot-dragging on Children's Health Insurance Program

Fri, 20 Oct 2017 06:00:08 -0400

The holdup on CHIP funding is a perfect example of how Washington politicians lose the public’s confidence. We the parents say set this hostage free.


Media Files:
https://www.gannett-cdn.com/media/2017/10/11/USATODAY/USATODAY/636433282566894623-AP-HEALTH-OVERHAUL-APPLING-FOR-BENEFITS-54738911.JPG




Donald Trump is news media's No. 1 salesman and threat

Thu, 19 Oct 2017 17:44:34 -0400

Presidents and press often are at odds, but this is different: Leaders who swore to 'preserve, protect and defend' First Amendment are assaulting it.


Media Files:
https://www.gannett-cdn.com/media/2017/10/17/USATODAY/USATODAY/636438541222065851-EPA-USA-TRUMP-MCCONNELL-94628227.JPG







Readers sound off: Outrage over Weinstein is 'a bit over the top'

Thu, 19 Oct 2017 17:51:36 -0400

Our readers shared their thoughts on the prevalence of






Jordan Klepper, Jimmy Fallon, Seth Meyers on tide turning against Trump in Best of Late Night

Tue, 17 Oct 2017 12:36:06 -0400

Who is becoming a Trump enemy? Late-night comics fill us in.






You can't wish away hard truths. One is we must fix Lifeline phone plan abuse.

Thu, 19 Oct 2017 14:38:14 -0400

Democrats often say Republicans reject data that don't fit their worldview. But many of them are doing that as flawed Lifeline program wastes millions.


Media Files:
https://www.gannett-cdn.com/media/2017/10/18/USATODAY/USATODAY/636439404172256118-GTY-631546622-87915840.JPG




Trump let down Sgt. La David Johnson's widow and the nation: Montel Williams

Thu, 19 Oct 2017 09:06:32 -0400

We should all be ashamed that her kids will one day read that the commander in chief made their mother cry. And we should pray our ideals survive.


Media Files:
https://www.gannett-cdn.com/media/2017/10/18/USATODAY/USATODAY/636439468680713605-coffin.JPG




Break up the Google-Facebook-Amazon web monopoly

Thu, 19 Oct 2017 17:46:42 -0400

Serious legislation is required to combat the countless abuses of power by 'The Web Trust.'


Media Files:
https://www.gannett-cdn.com/media/2017/10/12/USATODAY/USATODAY/636434279607616075-EPA-FACEBOOK-DOWN-94506731.JPG




We failed Robert Pruett from childhood on. Then Texas executed him.

Thu, 19 Oct 2017 07:13:27 -0400

We'll likely never know if he died for a crime he didn't commit. But we do know he didn't belong in adult prison in the first place.


Media Files:
https://www.gannett-cdn.com/media/2017/10/18/USATODAY/USATODAY/636439325258682265-AP-TEXAS-EXECUTION-APPEALS-94288153.JPG




#MeToo sexual harassment and assault tales are painful for me, not empowering

Wed, 18 Oct 2017 17:05:46 -0400

It feels like a gut punch every time I see another friend post her story. I find myself reliving all the instances in which it happened to me.


Media Files:
https://www.gannett-cdn.com/media/2017/10/18/USATODAY/USATODAY/636439360602368821-AFP-AFP-TF38K-94617805.JPG







Florida Gov. Rick Scott is right to stand up to 'vigilante censors' and fight for free speech

Wed, 18 Oct 2017 13:31:22 -0400

If we reward bottle-throwing mobs by silencing unpopular speakers, we will get more bottle throwers and more censorship.


Media Files:
https://www.gannett-cdn.com/media/2017/10/17/USATODAY/USATODAY/636438603932766725-USP-NEWS-CHARLOTTESVILLE-RALLY-93260251.JPG




Dow — breaking 23,000 — defies politics and punditry

Thu, 19 Oct 2017 19:36:00 -0400

But investors beware. It's the eve of the 30th anniversary of the worst day in stock market history, when the market plunged 22.6%: Our view


Media Files:
https://www.gannett-cdn.com/media/2017/10/18/USATODAY/USATODAY/636439462019295109-EDITORIAL.JPG




Comics on tide turning against Trump in Best of Late Night

Tue, 17 Oct 2017 12:21:07 -0400

Who is becoming a Trump enemy? Late-night comics fill us in. Take a look at our favorite jokes, then vote for yours at usatoday.com/opinion.


Media Files:
https://media.gannett-cdn.com/29906170001/29906170001_5614521527001_5614509347001-th.jpg?pubId=29906170001




Readers sound off: Trump wants credit for his condolences

Wed, 18 Oct 2017 18:19:43 -0400

Our readers shared their thoughts on President Trump's condolences to Army widow.


Media Files:
https://www.gannett-cdn.com/media/2017/10/18/USATODAY/USATODAY/636439441913266046-toon-1018.png




Get tough on 'Confederate sanctuaries,' not athletes who take a knee

Wed, 18 Oct 2017 15:14:45 -0400

Until the fake patriots of the Trump administration target racism and its legacy, they should stop attacking athletes for protesting this plague.


Media Files:
https://www.gannett-cdn.com/media/2017/10/17/USATODAY/USATODAY/636438458416458880-AP-TRAVEL-DAVIS-MEMORIAL-1431525.JPG




Readers sound off: Men need to recognize, speak out against sexual harassment

Tue, 17 Oct 2017 16:52:51 -0400

Our readers shared their thoughts on what men and women could be doing to reduce sexual harassment or assault



Donald Trump didn't create danger of presidential dictatorship, he inherited it

Wed, 18 Oct 2017 20:05:47 -0400

Those who denounce Trump's constitutional depredations and anti-democratic pronouncements are clueless about the real threat.


Media Files:
https://www.gannett-cdn.com/media/2017/08/21/USATODAY/USATODAY/636389385229711097-XXX-IMG-TRUMP-OBAMA-4-1-1-C9JAKKFI-93173933.JPG




Miracle on Hudson pilot: Don't privatize air traffic control

Wed, 18 Oct 2017 17:20:46 -0400

If we go down this road, I’m worried about access. I’m worried about equitability. And, I’m worried about safety.


Media Files:
https://www.gannett-cdn.com/media/2017/10/17/USATODAY/USATODAY/636438621736367431-AP-CONGRESS-AIR-TRAFFIC-SULLY-92765717.JPG




Trump keeps kicking opioid crisis down the road

Wed, 18 Oct 2017 13:35:14 -0400

Tom Marino rightly dropped out of contention for drug czar. Will national emergency declaration come next week?: Our view


Media Files:
https://www.gannett-cdn.com/media/2017/10/17/USATODAY/USATODAY/636438647172863764-OURVIEW-2-.JPG







Trump Baby-Sitters Club is no substitute for checks and balances

Tue, 17 Oct 2017 16:49:00 -0400

We all need to get some sleep before the president begins morning ego ablutions on Twitter. But this is not how our government is supposed to operate.


Media Files:
https://www.gannett-cdn.com/media/2017/10/16/USATODAY/USATODAY/636437745182114939-AP-US-IRAN-CONGRESS-94559685.JPG




Drug law hasn’t hurt enforcement

Tue, 17 Oct 2017 19:45:29 -0400

It was negotiated transparently with DOJ, DEA and Congress: Opposing view


Media Files:
https://www.gannett-cdn.com/media/2017/10/17/USATODAY/USATODAY/636438643749733821-OPPOSE.JPG




Donald Trump's appalling presidency might just be a boon for empty wallets

Thu, 19 Oct 2017 20:56:00 -0400

Despite tanking popularity, the economy is on the rise. History shows a connection between awful chief executives and good times.


Media Files:
https://www.gannett-cdn.com/media/2017/08/14/USATODAY/USATODAY/636383162382949156-ULYSSES-S-41509315.JPG




People writer: Long before Trump attacked me, there was an actor in a bathrobe

Tue, 17 Oct 2017 16:51:29 -0400

I realize he was a factor in why I didn’t report the Trump incident when it happened. But times are changing. We are not afraid anymore.


Media Files:
https://www.gannett-cdn.com/media/2017/10/16/USATODAY/USATODAY/636437650954372060-OPLEDE-2-.JPG







The dance between anchor and assassin in Las Vegas

Tue, 17 Oct 2017 10:06:48 -0400

"We don't make the news, we just report it,” isn't the whole story of mass shootings.


Media Files:
https://www.gannett-cdn.com/media/2017/10/16/USATODAY/USATODAY/636437698969314705-USP-NEWS-LAS-VEGAS-SHOOTING-94292309.JPG




Stop Big Pharma from 'getting away with murder'

Mon, 16 Oct 2017 19:39:41 -0400

Exhibit A: generic drugs, which have failed to restrain spiraling prices: Our view


Media Files:
https://www.gannett-cdn.com/media/2017/10/16/USATODAY/USATODAY/636437682098723702-OURVIEW-3-.JPG




Readers sound off: It’s sad, but ‘dreamers’ have to be deported

Tue, 17 Oct 2017 07:05:07 -0400

Our readers shared their thoughts on the news that 20,000 DACA teachers could face deportation.


Media Files:
https://www.gannett-cdn.com/media/2017/10/16/USATODAY/USATODAY/636437661852757921-toon-1016-2.png







Atonement, free housing and life lessons — Exodus House helps ex-inmates stay out

Tue, 17 Oct 2017 00:03:33 -0400

Housing is a barrier to re-entry. So are job skills and emotional support. A religious-based group provides a fresh start


Media Files:
https://www.gannett-cdn.com/media/2017/10/16/USATODAY/USATODAY/636437851956044524-XXX-20171004-Melissa-jh-04b.JPG




Readers sound off: Trump is making a joke of the U.S. internationally

Mon, 16 Oct 2017 19:47:42 -0400

Our readers shared their thoughts on President Trump's foreign relations strategy and the Iran deal.


Media Files:
https://www.gannett-cdn.com/media/2017/10/16/USATODAY/USATODAY/636437656517523721-toon-1016.png







Harvey Weinstein can't wash away Hollywood's sins: Glenn Reynolds

Sun, 15 Oct 2017 19:08:17 -0400

Exiling one mogul won't bury this question: If people realize the system is exploitative and inhuman, will they still watch movies?


Media Files:
https://www.gannett-cdn.com/media/2017/10/15/USATODAY/USATODAY/636436676681338235-polanski.JPG




Trump's move to end Iran nuclear deal makes America less safe

Sat, 14 Oct 2017 19:01:20 -0400

The agreement provides visibility into Iran’s capabilities and actions. Backing out of it has devastating implications for U.S. and world security.


Media Files:
https://www.gannett-cdn.com/media/2017/10/13/USATODAY/USATODAY/636434931924377851-iran-women.JPG




P.R. congresswoman: Everything we’ve asked for, Trump has provided

Fri, 13 Oct 2017 12:21:26 -0400

Jenniffer Gonzalez-Colon, Puerto Rico’s delegate in Congress, talks about relief efforts on the island and President Trump’s response.


Media Files:
https://www.gannett-cdn.com/media/2017/10/13/USATODAY/USATODAY/636434906704843275-Jennifer-Gonzalez-Colon.jpg




Jimmy Fallon, James Corden, Stephen Colbert on Trump unhinged in Best of Late Night

Fri, 13 Oct 2017 12:05:44 -0400

A recent "Vanity Fair" article implies that the president might be losing it. The comics respond: "Might be?"


Media Files:
https://www.gannett-cdn.com/media/2017/10/13/USATODAY/USATODAY/636434920475739454-GTY-846076098.jpg




Don't make Russian election hack great again

Fri, 13 Oct 2017 14:06:18 -0400

Failure to act on interference only invites repeat attack on American democracy: Our view


Media Files:
https://www.gannett-cdn.com/media/2017/10/12/USATODAY/USATODAY/636434218963383518-OURVIEW-2-.JPG




Trump to hurricane-ravaged Puerto Rico: We're not staying forever

Fri, 13 Oct 2017 14:03:19 -0400

Trump once was a businessman buried in debt looking for help. Puerto Ricans are the same, except they're not responsible for creating a disaster.


Media Files:
https://www.gannett-cdn.com/media/2017/10/12/USATODAY/USATODAY/636434288790267106-XXX-IMG-AP-TRUMP-A-PRI-4-1-9LJSMEID-94359571.JPG




Taking a knee won't change police-community relations: Your Say

Thu, 12 Oct 2017 22:01:37 -0400

Perhaps the best way to kill the divisive flag debate is to stop playing the anthem. Go for a moment of silence instead.


Media Files:
https://www.gannett-cdn.com/media/2017/10/12/USATODAY/USATODAY/636434379086334564-GTY-838053336.jpg