Subscribe: USATODAY.com - Opinion
http://rssfeeds.usatoday.com/News-Opinion
Added By: Feedage Forager Feedage Grade B rated
Language: English
Tags:
apos  editorial cartoons  health  late night  president trump  president  readers sound  readers  shared thoughts  trump  view 
Rate this Feed
Rate this feedRate this feedRate this feedRate this feedRate this feed
Rate this feed 1 starRate this feed 2 starRate this feed 3 starRate this feed 4 starRate this feed 5 star

Comments (0)

Feed Details and Statistics Feed Statistics
Preview: USATODAY.com - Opinion

Untitled





 






Why we stand for the flag: Gen. Dempsey

Mon, 25 Sep 2017 09:12:48 -0400

I don't agree with everything America has done, but the world is a better place because it exists: Flashback from USA TODAY archives


Media Files:
http://www.gannett-cdn.com/media/2016/09/15/USATODAY/USATODAY/636095596563917373-EPA-USA-AMERICAN-FOOTBALL-NFL-85113248.JPG




Focus on Obamacare, not single-payer pipe dreams

Mon, 25 Sep 2017 03:15:06 -0400

Bernie Sanders' Medicare for all is an unwieldy manifesto: Our view


Media Files:
https://www.gannett-cdn.com/media/2017/09/24/USATODAY/USATODAY/636418700378896090-OPPOSE.JPG




Tax question GOP won't ask: How much should we raise taxes on the rich?

Mon, 25 Sep 2017 08:21:24 -0400

Trump and Republicans talk about a simpler, more fair tax code, but their real intention has always been to fluff the fortunes of the 21 Club set.


Media Files:
https://www.gannett-cdn.com/media/2017/09/24/USATODAY/USATODAY/636418593570720695-B03-REPUBLICANS-0818-92546735.JPG




Trump voter who survived cancer: Graham-Cassidy health bill worst by far

Mon, 25 Sep 2017 05:00:01 -0400

The president said everyone would be covered. I got critical treatment through Obamacare then watched in horror as he and his party tried to repeal it.


Media Files:
https://www.gannett-cdn.com/media/2017/09/24/USATODAY/USATODAY/636418680982385343-GTY-812061226-92287735.JPG




Donald Trump, divider in chief, tackles NFL

Mon, 25 Sep 2017 06:47:19 -0400

Attacking #TakeTheKnee and First Amendment has nothing to do with patriotism or love of country: Our view


Media Files:
https://www.gannett-cdn.com/media/2017/09/24/USATODAY/USATODAY/636418723655649299-OURVIEWNFL.JPG







Men must confront men who disrespect women. That's the fight we really need.

Mon, 25 Sep 2017 07:00:09 -0400

How men interact with women is important, but even more crucial is men having the courage to challenge men who interrupt women, harass them or worse.



Readers sound off: Trump finally spoke out against disrespect

Sun, 24 Sep 2017 19:32:25 -0400

Our readers shared their thoughts on President Trump’s remarks on NFL players kneeling during the national anthem.



Seth Meyers, Stephen Colbert and Trevor Noah on the latest from Russia in Best of Late Night

Fri, 22 Sep 2017 12:36:55 -0400

Who's a good liar? Not Sean Spicer. The late-night comics talk Paul Manafort, Robert Mueller, Spicer and oligarchs.


Media Files:
https://www.gannett-cdn.com/media/2017/09/22/USATODAY/USATODAY/636416803797376415-XXX-Trevor-Noah-portait-TP0018.jpg




The Russians are hacking. Luckily the Trump voter fraud commission isn't in charge.

Sat, 23 Sep 2017 10:28:56 -0400

The Kris Kobach group is clownish. But some seriously competent people are mobilizing to protect our elections.


Media Files:
https://www.gannett-cdn.com/media/2017/09/21/USATODAY/USATODAY/636416138867108192-vote.JPG










Like hurricanes, climate change is dangerous, but smart storm fixes won't help climate

Fri, 22 Sep 2017 11:09:38 -0400

Climate change brings good and bad weather patterns. Throwing money at fixes to cut carbon emissions is ineffective and narrow-minded.


Media Files:
https://www.gannett-cdn.com/media/2017/09/20/USATODAY/USATODAY/636415195954546822-AFP-AFP-SL5K6-93936154.JPG




We need a National Service Reserve for disasters like Maria, Irma and Harvey

Sun, 24 Sep 2017 13:40:15 -0400

This project could restore a lot more than hurricane-damaged homes. It could help us rebuild something much larger — national common ground.


Media Files:
https://www.gannett-cdn.com/media/2017/09/21/USATODAY/USATODAY/636415936135052991-841006502-93407047.JPG




In Hurricane Irma, why did nursing home patients have to die?

Thu, 21 Sep 2017 19:45:59 -0400

Rehabilitation Center at Hollywood Hills not the only focus in this tragedy that claimed nine lives: Our view


Media Files:
https://www.gannett-cdn.com/media/2017/09/21/USATODAY/USATODAY/636416100485558158-OURVIEW-4-.JPG




In protests, NFL comes together for one of its most powerful days

Sun, 24 Sep 2017 18:48:43 -0400

Players, coaches, owners and the league office united in forceful condemnation of the latest torrent of hate from President Donald Trump.


Media Files:
https://www.gannett-cdn.com/media/2017/09/24/USATODAY/USATODAY/636418623353374519-USP-NFL--Denver-Broncos-at-Buffalo-Bills.jpg




To prevent angry protests like St. Louis, cop video footage must be immediately released

Sat, 23 Sep 2017 00:40:19 -0400

In the five years it took to release Stockley footage — and six years that it took for a verdict — a justifiable anger boiled over in the city.


Media Files:
https://www.gannett-cdn.com/media/2017/09/22/USATODAY/USATODAY/636417155495826541-GTY-848242886.jpg




Seth Meyers, Stephen Colbert and Trevor Noah on the latest from Russia in Best of Late Night

Fri, 22 Sep 2017 12:29:11 -0400

Who's a good liar? Not Sean Spicer. The late-night comics talk Paul Manafort, Robert Mueller, Spicer and oligarchs.


Media Files:
https://media.gannett-cdn.com/29906170001/29906170001_5584596401001_5584590900001-th.jpg?pubId=29906170001







Abusing taxpayer money used to be a firing offense. Not in the Trump era.

Sun, 24 Sep 2017 13:59:00 -0400

Top officials like Tom Price used to be humiliated and ousted for ethics violations like these. Now they're just following the example set at the top.


Media Files:
https://www.gannett-cdn.com/media/2017/09/21/USATODAY/USATODAY/636415957259168046-trump-price.JPG




Florida Health Care Association: We're dedicated

Thu, 21 Sep 2017 18:14:13 -0400

We support governor's intent to increase generator capacity for nursing homes: Opposing view


Media Files:
https://www.gannett-cdn.com/media/2017/09/21/USATODAY/USATODAY/636416139109221744-OPPOSE-1-.JPG




Readers sound off: Would states having control of their health care system change anything?

Fri, 22 Sep 2017 08:24:00 -0400

Our followers shared their thoughts on the Graham-Cassidy measure and how 32 million Americans could lose their health insurance coverage.


Media Files:
https://www.gannett-cdn.com/media/2017/09/21/USATODAY/USATODAY/636416104700237175-toon-0921.png




Spicer, Manning, Lewandowski: Harvard succumbs to clickbait

Thu, 21 Sep 2017 05:00:05 -0400

America's blue chippiest educational institution could have found much more deserving people to celebrate. But they aren't trending on Twitter.


Media Files:
https://www.gannett-cdn.com/media/2017/09/20/USATODAY/USATODAY/636415196591319942-spicer.JPG







It's hard to see Hurricane Maria through all this smoke

Wed, 20 Sep 2017 16:19:33 -0400

Our forest fires are going to keep getting worse if we can't reform the way we fight fires.


Media Files:
https://www.gannett-cdn.com/media/2017/09/12/USATODAY/USATODAY/636408368945422220-AP-MONTANA-WILDFIRES-93521379.JPG




Last-ditch Obamacare repeal would be poison

Thu, 21 Sep 2017 13:43:18 -0400

Graham-Cassidy is another cynical effort that would deny health insurance to millions: Our view


Media Files:
https://www.gannett-cdn.com/media/2017/09/20/USATODAY/USATODAY/636415211586315025-OURVIEW-3-.JPG




Slashing refugee admissions would be tragic and irrational

Wed, 20 Sep 2017 16:15:59 -0400

Refugees need us, help us and aren't security threats. And the U.S. is the only country with a special program to help children alone in the world.


Media Files:
https://www.gannett-cdn.com/media/2017/09/20/USATODAY/USATODAY/636414984553833304-AP-APTOPIX-BANGLADESH-MYANMAR-ATTACKS-93918276.JPG




School choice is crucial for African-American students' success

Thu, 21 Sep 2017 11:13:06 -0400

The NAACP refuses to acknowledge the benefits that come from school choice and expects all people of color to follow their lead. I won't.


Media Files:
https://www.gannett-cdn.com/media/2017/09/14/USATODAY/USATODAY/636409894796252215-AP-EDUCATION-NYC-62646566.JPG




Sen. Ron Johnson: Let states tailor health care plans

Wed, 20 Sep 2017 19:24:38 -0400

Graham-Cassidy-Heller-Johnson will repeal harmful, costly provisions: Opposing view


Media Files:
https://www.gannett-cdn.com/media/2017/09/20/USATODAY/USATODAY/636415309425291123-OPPOSE.JPG




Readers sound off: We have a leader with a backbone in President Trump

Wed, 20 Sep 2017 18:13:00 -0400

Our readers shared their thoughts on President Trump's display of leadership during his speech before the United Nations General Assembly.


Media Files:
https://www.gannett-cdn.com/media/2017/09/20/USATODAY/USATODAY/636415258837287520-toon-0920.png




The wooing of Amazon HQ2: Taxpayers, watch out for your wallets

Thu, 21 Sep 2017 14:08:37 -0400

Amazon will have more experience and money than those who want HQ2, and will be focused on what's best for Amazon. Feel free to say no or walk away.


Media Files:
https://www.gannett-cdn.com/media/2017/09/18/USATODAY/USATODAY/636413503726474779-AP-APTOPIX-SEATTLE-DAILY-LIFE-90525852.JPG




Bernie Sanders Medicare-for-all plan is all wrong for America

Wed, 20 Sep 2017 16:28:03 -0400

It would be senseless to replace employer-based coverage with an expensive one-size-fits-all system that couldn't handle treatments of the future.


Media Files:
https://www.gannett-cdn.com/media/2017/09/18/USATODAY/USATODAY/636413574088853817-AP-CONGRESS-HEALTH-OVERHAUL-93756088.JPG




At U.N., Trump's 'me first' doctrine abandons Truman's postwar 'security for all'

Tue, 19 Sep 2017 19:49:32 -0400

Truman would have been appalled to see a U.S. president threatening war and praising national sovereignty as the greatest good.


Media Files:
https://www.gannett-cdn.com/media/2017/09/19/USATODAY/USATODAY/636414339204440548-AP-UNITED-NATIONS-GENERAL-ASSEMBLY-93915828.JPG







At the United Nations, Trump tries to out-bluff 'rocket man'

Wed, 20 Sep 2017 16:24:24 -0400

'No choice but to totally destroy North Korea'? It's certainly not Roosevelt and 'speak softly and carry a big stick': Our view


Media Files:
https://www.gannett-cdn.com/media/2017/09/19/USATODAY/USATODAY/636414405145283243-OURVIEW-3-.JPG




Readers sound off: ESPN should speak up alongside Jemele Hill

Tue, 19 Sep 2017 17:31:17 -0400

Our readers shared their thoughts on ESPN and Jemele Hill's comments on President Trump.



Brennan: Donald Trump missed the memo: Don't pick on football players

Sun, 24 Sep 2017 13:54:56 -0400

USA TODAY Sports' Christine Brennan writes that with his comments about the NFL on Friday, President Donald Trump picked the wrong fight.


Media Files:
https://www.gannett-cdn.com/media/2017/09/23/USATODAY/USATODAY/636417717963646573-AFP-AFP-SO7O8.jpg




Roger Stone: Russian collusion? It’s a delusion

Mon, 18 Sep 2017 19:13:04 -0400

Leaks and allegations show intelligence agencies have been politicized: Opposing view


Media Files:
https://www.gannett-cdn.com/media/2017/09/18/USATODAY/USATODAY/636413576474617027-OPPOSE.JPG




Former Navy physician: The VA doesn't need to experiment on dogs

Tue, 19 Sep 2017 08:05:01 -0400

A retired rear admiral of the U.S. Navy comments on Veterans Affairs Secretary David Shulkin's claim of needing to continue research on dogs.



The tax reform we'd like to see

Sun, 17 Sep 2017 20:43:15 -0400

How about a revenue-neutral plan that cuts corporate tax rates while providing sanity and simplification to the individual code: Our view


Media Files:
https://www.gannett-cdn.com/media/2017/09/17/USATODAY/USATODAY/636412646638495285-OURVIEW-4-.JPG




Readers sound off: London needs sympathy, not our condemnation

Sun, 17 Sep 2017 20:46:04 -0400

Our readers shared their thoughts on President Trump’s tweets that appear to blame British security for London terrorist incident.


Media Files:
https://www.gannett-cdn.com/media/2017/09/17/USATODAY/USATODAY/636412745711858959-toon-0917.jpg




I moved from a blue state to a red state and it changed my life

Mon, 18 Sep 2017 07:50:48 -0400

We ask politicians to reach across the aisle and work with their constituents. Why aren't we doing the same and reaching out to our neighbors?


Media Files:
https://www.gannett-cdn.com/media/2017/09/14/USATODAY/USATODAY/636410108341945712-AP-SCHOOL-TAX-LEVY-61287786.JPG







Jimmy Kimmel, Trevor Noah, James Corden and Samantha Bee on Trump vs. Trump in Best of Late Night

Fri, 15 Sep 2017 12:16:07 -0400

Is the president in a Twitter war with himself? Watch our favorite jokes from last night's lineup.



Being conservative at a liberal college means you have to pick your fights wisely

Sun, 17 Sep 2017 20:47:37 -0400

I don't feel bad for conservatives at liberal colleges because they know the world doesn't owe them a safe space.


Media Files:
https://www.gannett-cdn.com/media/2017/09/14/USATODAY/USATODAY/636410120821713710-A01-OBAMA-YOUNG-VOTERS-20258213.JPG