Subscribe: USATODAY.com - Opinion
http://rssfeeds.usatoday.com/News-Opinion
Added By: Feedage Forager Feedage Grade B rated
Language: English
Tags:
apos apos  apos  billy graham  don apos  graham  gun control  gun  late night  night  people  readers  trump apos  trump  view  vote 
Rate this Feed
Rate this feedRate this feedRate this feedRate this feedRate this feed
Rate this feed 1 starRate this feed 2 starRate this feed 3 starRate this feed 4 starRate this feed 5 star

Comments (0)

Feed Details and Statistics Feed Statistics
Preview: USATODAY.com - Opinion

Untitled





 



Democratic memo shows no wiretap scandal

Sun, 25 Feb 2018 19:19:02 -0500

FBI had an independent basis for investigating Carter Page: Our view


Media Files:
https://www.gannett-cdn.com/media/2018/02/25/USATODAY/USATODAY/636551802291063237-PAGE.JPG




Rep. Lee Zeldin: Dem memo doesn’t refute abuses

Sun, 25 Feb 2018 19:21:27 -0500

FISA collection on an American is an extremely powerful tool: Opposing view


Media Files:
https://www.gannett-cdn.com/media/2018/02/25/USATODAY/USATODAY/636551807660617657-OPPOSE.JPG




Florida shooting yet another government failure to keep us safe: Glenn Reynolds

Sun, 25 Feb 2018 18:08:19 -0500

From the FBI to local law enforcement to the schools, every institution failed. We have more government than ever, but it isn't working.


Media Files:
https://www.gannett-cdn.com/media/2018/02/25/USATODAY/USATODAY/636551686227776585-A02-PRESSER-0216-97528048.JPG




Dear GOP, try to stop gun violence before you bug G-d with thoughts and prayers

Sun, 25 Feb 2018 17:15:51 -0500

Politicians have no shortage of actions they can take to deal with mass shootings. So don’t pray. Act. Otherwise you're wasting G-d's time.


Media Files:
https://www.gannett-cdn.com/media/2018/02/22/USATODAY/USATODAY/636549169798160063-do-something.JPG




Stutzman: All we ask is for the freedom to live out our beliefs

Sun, 25 Feb 2018 07:00:00 -0500

Artists like Jack Phillips and myself who cherish marriage as a God-ordained institution face a terrible choice: our faith or our livelihood.



'This Is Us': Toxic stress on TV is reality for many Americans

Fri, 23 Feb 2018 13:25:14 -0500

Intentionally or not, 'This Is Us' writers are connecting the dots on a health crisis hidden in plain sight for far too long.


Media Files:
https://www.gannett-cdn.com/media/2018/02/14/USATODAY/USATODAY/636542293227755086-XXX-IMG-THIS-IS-US-BROWN-MET-1-1-N1JKK14A-93769194.JPG




Trump's awful plan to arm teachers is straight from the NRA playbook

Fri, 23 Feb 2018 12:44:00 -0500

Trump's embrace of 'scholastic carry' is a recycled NRA talking point from 2012. And it's still a really bad idea.


Media Files:
https://www.gannett-cdn.com/media/2018/02/22/USATODAY/USATODAY/636549184643531956-AP-TRUMP-GUNS-97828947.JPG







When cops lie under oath, prosecutors must take some blame

Thu, 22 Feb 2018 19:03:39 -0500

Investigate officer claims to ensure that innocent people don't end up behind bars.


Media Files:
https://www.gannett-cdn.com/media/2018/02/22/USATODAY/USATODAY/636549225291771789-802066388.jpg







Today's evangelicals should be more like Billy Graham. We all should be.

Thu, 22 Feb 2018 18:36:47 -0500

Graham was too close to Nixon and too hard on gays. But he generally put faith over politics and inclusion over division. People remember his smile.


Media Files:
https://www.gannett-cdn.com/media/2018/02/22/USATODAY/USATODAY/636549008130101104-SWS19-RUTH-0223-97788855.JPG




3 Olympic lessons from Pyeongchang

Thu, 22 Feb 2018 18:18:41 -0500

Team USA winners and losers, Winter Games no longer so white, and standing up to Russia: Our view


Media Files:
https://www.gannett-cdn.com/media/2018/02/22/USATODAY/USATODAY/636549174006872562-russia.jpg




Turkey under Erdogan: Our academic colleague is on trial for signing a petition

Thu, 22 Feb 2018 08:42:58 -0500

Erdogan and his government are trying to ruin their critics. Perhaps this can happen in any democracy, as authoritarians rise and institutions fail.


Media Files:
https://www.gannett-cdn.com/media/2018/02/21/USATODAY/USATODAY/636548281841508093-AP-APTOPIX-TURKEY-MAY-DAY-90603580.JPG




Readers sound off: 'The NRA is an evil organization'

Thu, 22 Feb 2018 18:12:53 -0500

After CNN's town hall on gun control, our readers shared their comments on Trump and the National Rifle Association.


Media Files:
https://www.gannett-cdn.com/media/2018/02/17/USATODAY/USATODAY/636544856743553248-XXX-NDN-0217-Parkland-Gun-Rally-007.JPG




Democrats won big in 2017 against Trump and GOP and we're not done yet: Tom Perez

Fri, 23 Feb 2018 09:22:02 -0500

We didn’t just focus on the sexy races. We lifted Democrats up and down the ticket with money and organizing, and there's more to come in 2018.


Media Files:
https://www.gannett-cdn.com/media/2018/02/22/USATODAY/USATODAY/636549105853495532-XXX-FACEBOOK-LIVE-WITH-DEMOCRATIC-CHAIRMAN-TOM-PER-89902710.JPG




Trump used to back gun control. If he wants to be popular, he'll go there again.

Thu, 22 Feb 2018 11:53:18 -0500

Here’s a prediction: Trump will edge away from the NRA's hard line and move toward tighter gun laws that even majorities of gun owners favor.


Media Files:
https://www.gannett-cdn.com/media/2018/02/20/USATODAY/USATODAY/636547348223142845-AP-TRUMP-97699362.JPG




Billy Graham's legacy: An unspectacular preacher preaching a powerful Gospel

Wed, 21 Feb 2018 21:38:56 -0500

Graham understood that evangelism isn’t about light displays, smoke machines, or even skillful rhetoric. People need the gospel, presented simply.


Media Files:
https://www.gannett-cdn.com/media/2018/02/21/USATODAY/USATODAY/636548325586216506-57064510-97779939.JPG







The top things you may have missed in policing this week

Fri, 23 Feb 2018 23:08:04 -0500

News and opinion from outlets across the country compiled by Policing the USA


Media Files:
https://www.gannett-cdn.com/media/2018/02/23/USATODAY/USATODAY/636550223471216863-AFP-553240103.jpg




Even at the White House, domestic abuse was a secret. Don't hide this, fight it.

Thu, 22 Feb 2018 08:33:18 -0500

We must go to the heart of the underlying beliefs and attitudes in our culture that allow secrecy and tacit acceptance to be the norm.


Media Files:
https://www.gannett-cdn.com/media/2018/02/20/USATODAY/USATODAY/636547244339424928-EPA-USA-ANTI-DOMESTIC-VIOLENCE-RALLY-97234614.JPG




Australian prime minister: In our global travails, mateship is more important than ever

Thu, 22 Feb 2018 05:30:05 -0500

We remain as committed to our shared values of freedom, democracy and the rule of law as we were on the battlefields of Europe 100 years ago.


Media Files:
https://www.gannett-cdn.com/media/2018/02/21/USATODAY/USATODAY/636548336350909510-TURNBULLAFP-AFP-O443V-90678478.JPG




Readers on the America's Harvest Box plan: Rethink food stamps and the recipients

Thu, 22 Feb 2018 15:38:40 -0500

From a food stamps recipient from Illinois to a man from Ohio who thinks the box plan is a good idea, our readers share their thoughts on government assistance.


Media Files:
https://www.gannett-cdn.com/media/2018/02/19/USATODAY/usatsports/grocery-delivery_large.jpg




On gun control, President Trump almost sounds woke

Wed, 21 Feb 2018 21:38:05 -0500

America will soon see how the Florida school shooting affects the White House and Congress: Our view


Media Files:
https://www.gannett-cdn.com/media/2018/02/21/USATODAY/USATODAY/636548303925945659-OURVIEW-3-.JPG




Readers sound off on gun violence: Florida House's decision is a slap to student survivors

Thu, 22 Feb 2018 11:50:57 -0500

From arming teachers to calls for better mental health treatment, our readers shared their thoughts on gun violence.


Media Files:
https://www.gannett-cdn.com/media/2018/02/21/USATODAY/USATODAY/636548065639728214-AP-School-Shooting-Florida.4.jpg




People with disabilities are rapidly joining the workforce. That's a hopeful trend.

Thu, 22 Feb 2018 05:00:02 -0500

TV shows like 'Born This Way,' 'The Good Doctor' and 'Speechless' parallel a hopeful workforce trend of inclusion and success for people with disabilities.


Media Files:
https://www.gannett-cdn.com/media/2018/02/20/USATODAY/USATODAY/636547473644046820-AP-DISABLED-PARKING-58197946.JPG




Billy Graham's new home, by Franklin Graham

Sun, 25 Feb 2018 12:27:22 -0500

My father never gave up on me, even when I caused him pain. He lived like the Gospel he preached — a message he repeated till his last breath.


Media Files:
https://www.gannett-cdn.com/media/2018/02/21/USATODAY/USATODAY/636548219046269562-GRAHAM-1990S-1315077.JPG




CNN thinks that socialism is cool. My grandparents from the USSR would disagree.

Wed, 21 Feb 2018 16:04:23 -0500

It is frustrating to me that many Americans are ignorant of the crimes of socialist and communist movements.


Media Files:
https://www.gannett-cdn.com/media/2018/02/18/USATODAY/USATODAY/636545753632317901-AFP-AFP-MC9WP-89290063.JPG




Don't forget small businesses. We're booming under Trump tax cuts, too.

Wed, 21 Feb 2018 17:25:48 -0500

We're green-lighting two start-ups, doubling research and development, hiring more people and giving larger raises and bonuses.


Media Files:
https://www.gannett-cdn.com/media/2018/02/18/USATODAY/USATODAY/636545731840382210-GTY-881043460-95645353.JPG







I admired Mr. Rogers as a mentor from afar — now I'm walking in his sneakers.

Wed, 21 Feb 2018 09:34:56 -0500

The issues that affected children in the 60s affect them still: the inner drama of childhood, anger, and feelings towards siblings and friends.


Media Files:
https://www.gannett-cdn.com/media/2018/02/19/USATODAY/USATODAY/636546541730059094-AP-PARENTING-MEDIA-GUIDELINES-30787414.JPG




Alexa, could health care be fixed?

Tue, 20 Feb 2018 18:52:34 -0500

No, not even Amazon, Berkshire Hathaway and JPMorgan Chase can cure employer-based insurance system: Our view


Media Files:
https://www.gannett-cdn.com/media/2018/02/20/USATODAY/USATODAY/636547441056247424-OURVIEW-2-.JPG




Employers lead on health care

Tue, 20 Feb 2018 18:57:49 -0500

We welcome the Amazon-Berkshire Hathaway-JPMorgan Chase initiative: Opposing view


Media Files:
https://www.gannett-cdn.com/media/2018/02/20/USATODAY/USATODAY/636547466834476668-OPPOSE-3-.JPG







Thank you, Billy Graham. You changed Louis Zamperini's life and his example changed me.

Wed, 21 Feb 2018 17:21:17 -0500

Billy Graham taught Louis Zamperini how to forgive the guard who beat him daily in a Japanese POW camp. His example freed me to forgive in my own life.


Media Files:
https://www.gannett-cdn.com/media/2018/02/21/USATODAY/USATODAY/636548119888295959-AFP-AFP-10Q4J5-97780185.JPG




Florida school massacre won't change our gun laws, but bridging our divides might work

Tue, 20 Feb 2018 11:06:52 -0500

Americans see guns either as a safety threat or a form of self-protection. We should focus stiffer laws on the fraction of guns in the first category.


Media Files:
https://www.gannett-cdn.com/media/2018/02/15/USATODAY/USATODAY/636543022629736978-GTY-814507676-92374409.JPG




It was mere chance that tragedy struck Florida and not here in Indiana

Tue, 20 Feb 2018 17:39:21 -0500

The day of the shooting, our own children sang a piece of devotional music, asking us to acknowledge sorrow and tragedy.


Media Files:
https://www.gannett-cdn.com/media/2018/02/19/USATODAY/USATODAY/636546601380629467-AP-SCHOOL-SHOOTING-FLORIDA-97699670.JPG




Mueller's potential investigation options are increasing. But they're still 'potential.'

Tue, 20 Feb 2018 18:58:59 -0500

Trump's potential obstruction, financial crimes and false statements could become explosive. But they're not a clear danger just yet.


Media Files:
https://www.gannett-cdn.com/media/2018/02/19/USATODAY/USATODAY/636546426857029832-AP-TRUMP-RUSSIA-PROBE-BIT-PLAYERS-97434724.JPG







Trump said he 'alone can fix it,' and now it's absolutely true

Tue, 20 Feb 2018 06:27:01 -0500

Mr. President, it's 11:59 PM. Use the little time remaining to try to salvage your collapsing presidency.


Media Files:
https://www.gannett-cdn.com/media/2018/02/19/USATODAY/USATODAY/636546397274728898-AFP-AFP-10B090-97655560.JPG




Bill Maher and Jimmy Kimmel talk Stormy, Russia and Mueller in Best of Late Night

Mon, 19 Feb 2018 12:53:49 -0500

Get the latest on White House scandals, then vote for your favorite weekend moment.



Good luck explaining your abortion vote high-fives to your constituents, senators

Mon, 19 Feb 2018 16:48:31 -0500

Why can’t Democrats vote with the American people on this issue, even when their stance has failed to deliver real results to the party?


Media Files:
https://www.gannett-cdn.com/media/2018/02/12/USATODAY/USATODAY/636540569436549033-907233944-96718303.JPG




Mueller accusations multiply

Sun, 18 Feb 2018 18:45:57 -0500

What people are saying about special counsel investigation into Russia and U.S. elections


Media Files:
https://www.gannett-cdn.com/media/2018/02/18/USATODAY/USATODAY/636545631319421849-OTHER.JPG




As Robert Mueller fights Russian interference, Trump is MIA

Sun, 18 Feb 2018 18:46:46 -0500

Special prosecutor is only 1 warrior trying to protect U.S. elections. America now needs a field marshal: Our view


Media Files:
https://www.gannett-cdn.com/media/2018/02/16/USATODAY/USATODAY/636544012177687520-OURVIEW-6-.JPG




Don't assume high school graduation fraud is only in D.C. It's not.

Sat, 17 Feb 2018 08:00:01 -0500

Fake progress is nothing to celebrate. Governors should use audits and exams to uncover which districts are really making gains.


Media Files:
https://www.gannett-cdn.com/media/2018/02/13/USATODAY/USATODAY/636541449500670678-B01-GRADUATES-0718-78311032.JPG




President Trump's Russia denialism is grounds for impeachment

Fri, 16 Feb 2018 17:48:50 -0500

That fundamental right to choose our own leaders is under siege and the president is not only doing nothing, he won't accept that it's happening.


Media Files:
https://www.gannett-cdn.com/media/2018/02/14/USATODAY/USATODAY/636542229486863745-GTY-917838754-97432522.JPG




'Black Panther' empowers students of color by highlighting Africa's centuries of greatness

Thu, 15 Feb 2018 07:00:06 -0500

If teachers fail to create experiences that reveal the strength and cultural pride of Africa, students of color will continue to believe that their African ancestral heritage reflects only poverty and pain.


Media Files:
https://www.gannett-cdn.com/media/2018/02/09/USATODAY/USATODAY/636537874888505241-XXX-BLACKPANTHER59E4D0718BFEC-97185240.JPG