Subscribe: USATODAY.com - Opinion
http://rssfeeds.usatoday.com/News-Opinion
Added By: Feedage Forager Feedage Grade B rated
Language: English
Tags:
apos  charlottesville  confederate  editorial cartoons  late night  night  president trump  president  readers  trump apos  trump  view 
Rate this Feed
Rate this feedRate this feedRate this feedRate this feedRate this feed
Rate this feed 1 starRate this feed 2 starRate this feed 3 starRate this feed 4 starRate this feed 5 star

Comments (0)

Feed Details and Statistics Feed Statistics
Preview: USATODAY.com - Opinion

Untitled





 



Charlottesville's tranquil story was forever changed by a horrifying attack: Voices

Tue, 22 Aug 2017 16:19:45 -0400

After narrowly avoiding the deadly car attack in Charlottesville, I'm realizing that it's empathy that will begin to restore this town.


Media Files:
https://www.gannett-cdn.com/media/2017/08/22/USATODAY/USATODAY/636390070332844832-AP-APTOPIX-CONFEDERATE-MONUMENT-PROTEST-CAMPUS-MAR-93113629.JPG




Readers' best comments: In Afghanistan, learn from previous presidents

Tue, 22 Aug 2017 17:32:09 -0400

Our readers shared their thoughts on President Trump's plan for Afghanistan.



Jimmy Fallon, Jimmy Kimmel, Seth Meyers and Conan O'Brien on the latest from the White House in Best of Late Night

Tue, 22 Aug 2017 17:11:11 -0400

Steve Bannon is out, the president looked directly at the sun during the eclipse and a book tells all about how Trump got to be Trump.


Media Files:
https://www.gannett-cdn.com/media/2017/08/22/USATODAY/USATODAY/636390132954766252-AP-TV-Critics-Watch.jpg




Former Charleston mayor: To heal Charlottesville, tell African-American story

Tue, 22 Aug 2017 17:46:49 -0400

We’re fighting today about statues and flags because we have yet to deal openly and honestly enough with our full past.


Media Files:
https://www.gannett-cdn.com/media/2017/08/18/USATODAY/USATODAY/636386542235051782-AP-WASHINGTON-TOURISM-90773534.JPG







Trump takes ownership of Afghanistan War

Tue, 22 Aug 2017 18:12:33 -0400

Daunting South Asia commitment might well persist through the balance of president's term: Our view


Media Files:
https://www.gannett-cdn.com/media/2017/08/21/USATODAY/USATODAY/636389508177078508-EDITORIAL.JPG




Sen. Ben Cardin: Don’t send more U.S. troops

Tue, 22 Aug 2017 18:09:52 -0400

President Trump’s Afghanistan speech was short on details: Opposing view


Media Files:
https://www.gannett-cdn.com/media/2017/08/22/USATODAY/USATODAY/636390219728138488-OPPOSE-1-.JPG




Homeland Security secretary: Border walls work. Yuma sector proves it.

Tue, 22 Aug 2017 03:15:00 -0400

A bipartisan effort resulted in a wall that has cut the number of illegal immigrant apprehensions to a 10th of what it was in 2006.


Media Files:
https://www.gannett-cdn.com/media/2017/08/21/USATODAY/USATODAY/636389261750703777-XXX-SOUTHWEST-BORDER021-55187719.JPG




After battling prison and addiction, mother stops women from returning to system

Tue, 22 Aug 2017 17:52:14 -0400

Susan Burton called incarceration "torture." She spent nearly two decades in its revolving door. Life taught her how to provide help that confinement doesn't.


Media Files:
https://www.gannett-cdn.com/media/2017/08/06/USATODAY/USATODAY/636375822186683991-XXX-JJC23184.JPG







Mike Pence: Donald Trump's new American strategy for Afghanistan will undo past failures

Mon, 21 Aug 2017 23:05:41 -0400

Under President Trump, America will not write a blank check for countries that fail to root out the same forces who try every day to kill our people.


Media Files:
https://www.gannett-cdn.com/media/2017/08/21/USATODAY/USATODAY/636389339920152860-XXX-AP-17120777146267-93199839.JPG




Readers sound off: Have Trump pay for his family's security himself

Mon, 21 Aug 2017 18:52:34 -0400

Our readers shared their thoughts on USA TODAY’s report showing President Trump’s travels and family are depleting the Secret Service’s funds for agents.


Media Files:
https://www.gannett-cdn.com/media/2017/08/21/USATODAY/USATODAY/636389293969434306-EPA-USA-NEW-YORK-TRUMP-TOWERS-PROTEST-93079585.JPG




Pardon America’s toughest sheriff

Mon, 21 Aug 2017 20:50:28 -0400

Joe Arpaio became a principal target of the militant left wing, writes Trent Franks, a Republican representing Arizona’s 8th congressional district.


Media Files:
https://www.gannett-cdn.com/media/2017/08/21/USATODAY/USATODAY/636389448036820094-OPPOSING.JPG




Voices: I write about race because ... We are not your slaves!

Tue, 22 Aug 2017 05:00:04 -0400

Discrimination is not limited to “out in the open” nationalists; they are just more upfront about it and in touch with their racism.


Media Files:
https://www.gannett-cdn.com/media/2017/08/17/USATODAY/USATODAY/636385952201104776-USP-NEWS-UNITE-THE-RIGHT-RALLY-93020793.JPG




Arpaio lawyers: Sheriff Joe is not a racist

Mon, 21 Aug 2017 20:54:49 -0400

This case has been a proxy battle over immigration enforcement: Opposing view


Media Files:
https://www.gannett-cdn.com/media/2017/08/21/USATODAY/USATODAY/636389380666291948-OPPOSE.JPG







Jimmy Fallon, Kenan Thompson and Bill Maher on the meaning behind today's eclipse in Best of Late Night

Mon, 21 Aug 2017 11:25:58 -0400

Why is the eclipse like a Trump news conference? Find out in today's Best of Late Night.



Of course, Trumpian hysteria and an eclipse come together: Welcome to our crazy years

Mon, 21 Aug 2017 16:51:33 -0400

Craziness comes when beliefs are immune to facts. And we're living in conditions that make that kind of belief possible.


Media Files:
https://www.gannett-cdn.com/media/2017/08/20/USATODAY/USATODAY/636388466341404555-XXX-IMG-SELF-PHOTO-CONCEPT-I-1-1-IGJ7534Q-92891491.JPG




Comics on the latest White House happenings in Best of Late Night

Tue, 22 Aug 2017 11:48:32 -0400

Steve Bannon is out, the president looked directly at the sun during the eclipse and a book tells all about how Trump got to be Trump. The comics give us the latest from Pennsylvania Avenue.


Media Files:
https://media.gannett-cdn.com/29906170001/29906170001_5548105716001_5548099621001-th.jpg?pubId=29906170001




Penn State president: 'Self-governance' for fraternities and sororities needs to end

Tue, 22 Aug 2017 14:24:48 -0400

There are no easy solutions, and we do not claim to have all the answers. We will adjust and learn, and explore new ideas as we forge ahead.


Media Files:
https://www.gannett-cdn.com/media/2017/08/20/USATODAY/USATODAY/636388501497789915-BARRON.JPG










Solar eclipses have always been weird. Don't let this one weird you out.

Sun, 20 Aug 2017 17:29:06 -0400

From folklore to numerology, solar eclipses have inspired fear, awe and even ads for copulation during the moment of totality.


Media Files:
https://www.gannett-cdn.com/media/2017/08/17/USATODAY/USATODAY/636385875469516910-AFP-IA08-ECLIPSE-13-965927.JPG







Readers sound off: Kelly is straightening out Trump’s team

Sun, 20 Aug 2017 18:35:14 -0400

Our readers their thoughts on Steve Bannon leaving the White House.



The reality of racism America continues to deny

Sat, 19 Aug 2017 18:09:34 -0400

One of the deepest troubles revealed in the discussion, accusation and heated debate about what happened in Charlottesville is America’s long-running problem with the idea of race and racism as systemic issues


Media Files:
https://www.gannett-cdn.com/media/2017/08/18/DetroitFreeP/DetroitFreePress/636386608079795115-UST-memphis-confederate.jpg




Solar eclipse offers moon-walk moment: Science is all the rage

Sat, 19 Aug 2017 03:29:18 -0400

The spectacle will inspire bright young Americans to pursue science careers and, if we’re lucky, motivate our jaded leaders to support scientific research.


Media Files:
https://www.gannett-cdn.com/media/2017/08/17/USATODAY/USATODAY/636385809212928191-ECLIPSE.JPG




Checkers vs. chess: Donald Trump's fateful insistence on instant gratification

Sun, 20 Aug 2017 17:21:01 -0400

The most egregious act of short-termism was Trump’s presidential candidacy itself. It’s clear he did not think through what might happen if he won.


Media Files:
https://www.gannett-cdn.com/media/2017/08/18/USATODAY/USATODAY/636386672405406202-AFP-AFP-NA71H-90036432.JPG




Trump's moral failures on Charlottesville are shredding America's global reputation

Fri, 18 Aug 2017 08:00:48 -0400

The world sees a disturbingly open celebration of hate-filled ideas and a leader unable to differentiate between those for and against racial hatred.


Media Files:
https://www.gannett-cdn.com/media/2017/08/17/USATODAY/USATODAY/636385868490968176-XXX-WHITENATIONALISTTORCHRALLEY-MM-003-93008271.JPG




After Ferguson, struggles with racial bias continue

Fri, 18 Aug 2017 18:18:32 -0400

Despite worldwide attention, little progress has been made in the three years since Michael Brown's death. And state's move toward predictive policing won't help.


Media Files:
https://www.gannett-cdn.com/media/2017/08/17/USATODAY/USATODAY/636386041310279985-AFP-543261826.jpg




On Confederate monuments, be deliberate

Thu, 17 Aug 2017 19:26:55 -0400

Make removal decisions state by state, community by community, monument by monument: Our view


Media Files:
https://www.gannett-cdn.com/media/2017/08/17/USATODAY/USATODAY/636385886991453264-OURVIEW-3-.JPG




Trump chose bigotry over democracy. It's time to act: Rochelle Riley

Fri, 18 Aug 2017 07:57:07 -0400

There are no sidelines for Americans now that Trump has taken sides. To ignore what is happening is to support it.


Media Files:
https://www.gannett-cdn.com/media/2017/08/17/USATODAY/USATODAY/636385736359580871-AP-TRUMP-93093127.JPG







Confederate monuments must go immediately

Fri, 18 Aug 2017 08:03:15 -0400

But removing them is not enough, just as denouncing neo-Nazis is not enough: Opposing view


Media Files:
https://www.gannett-cdn.com/media/2017/08/17/USATODAY/USATODAY/636385832700765249-OPPOSE.JPG




Trump is right — violent extremists on both sides are a threat

Thu, 17 Aug 2017 16:24:44 -0400

Neo-Nazis and the KKK are the mirror image of the anarchist and Communist left. All are a threat to our way of life.


Media Files:
https://www.gannett-cdn.com/media/2017/08/16/USATODAY/USATODAY/636385035861698206-AP-CONFEDERATE-MONUMENT-PROTEST-93100735.JPG




Readers sound off: Move monuments to appropriate places

Thu, 17 Aug 2017 08:05:01 -0400

Baltimore removed at least four Confederate statues in the wake of violent protests in Charlottesville, Va. Our readers react.


Media Files:
https://www.gannett-cdn.com/media/2017/08/16/USATODAY/USATODAY/636385024987164676-AFP-AFP-RM328-93101647.JPG




Police must act fast to protect First Amendment rights: Robert Shibley

Thu, 17 Aug 2017 10:24:34 -0400

The deliberate decision by local and campus leaders to let violence start serves the interests of those who would squelch debate.


Media Files:
https://www.gannett-cdn.com/media/2017/08/16/USATODAY/USATODAY/636384985860569688-EPA-EPASELECT-USA-CHARLOTTESVILLE-RALLY-AFTERMATH-93051143.JPG




President Trump wants 'the facts' on right-wing extremism. Here they are.

Fri, 18 Aug 2017 05:48:24 -0400

We've been conditioned to view terrorism as the exclusive province of extremist Muslims. And now the chickens are coming home to roost.


Media Files:
https://www.gannett-cdn.com/media/2017/08/17/USATODAY/USATODAY/636385848792892403-AX140-5212-9.jpg




Common: Time to look at prisoners as human beings

Thu, 17 Aug 2017 13:13:55 -0400

Common met with inmates during his 'Hope and Redemption' prison tour and talked about life behind bars and beyond. The hip hop icon is calling for major changes to the criminal justice system and the end of life sentences for young offenders.


Media Files:
https://media.gannett-cdn.com/29906170001/29906170001_5543853768001_5543850558001-th.jpg?pubId=29906170001







After Charlottesville, time to censure President Trump

Wed, 16 Aug 2017 19:34:34 -0400

After Charlottesville, Republicans, put your votes where your tweets are: Our view


Media Files:
https://www.gannett-cdn.com/media/2017/08/16/USATODAY/USATODAY/636385047968790552-OURVIEW-5-.JPG




Readers' best comments: Trump made clear which side he stands behind

Wed, 16 Aug 2017 17:39:17 -0400

Our readers share their thoughts on President Trump saying left-wing protesters were just as violent as white supremacists in Charlottesville, Va.



Trump champion: Bury Confederate romanticism. It's indefensible and bad for GOP.

Wed, 16 Aug 2017 13:16:25 -0400

Confederate memorials must be seen for what they are: celebrations of subjugation and a warning for blacks to stay in their place. Take them down.


Media Files:
https://www.gannett-cdn.com/media/2017/08/15/USATODAY/USATODAY/636384178855346441-DECKER.JPG




Trump Tower presser proved our president is far worse than a racist

Wed, 16 Aug 2017 14:23:19 -0400

Faced with a mother's grief for a murdered daughter, Donald Trump only thinks about himself.


Media Files:
https://www.gannett-cdn.com/media/2017/08/15/USATODAY/USATODAY/636384207096986426-AP-TRUMP-93092003.JPG




I'm a racist, but I want to change.

Thu, 17 Aug 2017 07:16:31 -0400

We need to have difficult conversations with the people we vehemently disagree with the most.


Media Files:
https://www.gannett-cdn.com/media/2017/08/16/USATODAY/USATODAY/636384834559567816-AP-CONFEDERATE-MONUMENTS-PROTEST-93100705.JPG




Trump, North Korea, JFK, Cuba and World War I: Look to history and stay worried

Wed, 16 Aug 2017 15:48:22 -0400

Trump has managed to do what Kennedy desperately sought to avoid: box himself in with rhetoric.


Media Files:
https://www.gannett-cdn.com/media/2017/08/15/USATODAY/USATODAY/636384114465525680-AP-TRUMP-93089953.JPG