Subscribe: NPR Topics: Opinion
http://www.npr.org/rss/rss.php?id=1057
Added By: Feedage Forager Feedage Grade A rated
Language: English
Tags:
blade runner  blade  blame  china  events  guns  hippie  language  newsletter  nfl  npr  runner  trump  vegas shooting  vegas  world  years 
Rate this Feed
Rate this feedRate this feedRate this feedRate this feedRate this feed
Rate this feed 1 starRate this feed 2 starRate this feed 3 starRate this feed 4 starRate this feed 5 star

Comments (0)

Feed Details and Statistics Feed Statistics
Preview: NPR Topics: Opinion

Opinion : NPR



Editorial opinions and commentary on news events and world events. Download podcasts and subscribe to RSS feeds.



Last Build Date: Wed, 18 Oct 2017 11:19:00 -0400

Copyright: Copyright 2017 NPR - For Personal Use Only
 



5 Years Ago, China's Xi Jinping Was Largely Unknown. Now He's Poised To Reshape China

Wed, 18 Oct 2017 11:19:00 -0400

China's president has embraced a strongman style of personal rule. The 19th Communist Party Congress, now underway in Beijing, is expected to strengthen his ability to bend the system to his will.



When A Name Doesn't Quite Fit

Sat, 14 Oct 2017 08:08:00 -0400

The Hotel Group didn't seek approval from Jane Addams' family before naming the hotel.



On Halloween, Insensitivity Goes Beyond Kimonos And Black Face

Fri, 13 Oct 2017 06:00:00 -0400

Halloween is nigh. Does your costume pass the racial sensitivity test? That's our topic this week on Ask Code Switch.



Brazil's Deep Cuts To Science Funding Will Lock Country In The Past

Thu, 12 Oct 2017 15:17:00 -0400

Scientists worldwide have watched Brazil's budget cuts in shock. We, too, could see trouble ahead if flat U.S. federal spending without additional corporate funding continues, says Marcelo Gleiser.



Wine Not? Promotion Spills Into Editorial Newsletter

Thu, 12 Oct 2017 12:19:00 -0400

NPR newsletter subscribers bristle at wine club promotion email.



What Influences Attitudes Toward Gun Control Reform?

Mon, 09 Oct 2017 12:08:00 -0400

People see the causes of mass shootings differently, depending on whether they own guns. Those who don't own guns often blame such incidents on the widespread availability of guns — but owners do not.



How To Make AI The Best Thing To Happen To Us

Sun, 08 Oct 2017 14:51:00 -0400

We can thrive with AI if we win the race between the growing power of our technology and the wisdom with which we manage it, but we must ditch the idea of learning from our mistakes, says Max Tegmark.



We Remember The Wrong Names After Tragedies. Who's To Blame?

Sat, 07 Oct 2017 04:33:17 -0400

After events like the Las Vegas shooting, the names of killers often have more staying power than those of heroes. NPR's Scott Simon ponders the media's role in determining who we remember.



Should You Leave Grandma With The Robot?

Fri, 06 Oct 2017 13:27:00 -0400

Once a technology that treats emotions as data becomes pervasive, we may soon find that data is the only aspect of emotion we come to recognize or value, says astrophysicist Adam Frank.



'Florida Project' Turns A Decrepit Corner Of Orlando Into A Cinematic Playground

Fri, 06 Oct 2017 10:00:00 -0400

Sean Baker's new film follows an adorably unstoppable 6-year-old and her barely more mature single mom living in the shadow of Disney World.



Review: 'Blade Runner 2049'

Fri, 06 Oct 2017 05:00:45 -0400

Thirty-five years after the release of Blade Runner comes Blade Runner 2049. The original wasn't a big hit. Film critic Kenneth Turan talks with Rachel Martin about why a sequel was made anyway.



Mailbag: Las Vegas Shooter Labels And Their Subtext

Thu, 05 Oct 2017 16:18:54 -0400

Listeners asked about language and audio choices made during NPR's special coverage of the Las Vegas shooting.



50 Years After The Summer Of Love, Hippie Counterculture Is Relegated To Kitsch

Wed, 04 Oct 2017 13:51:16 -0400

Looking back on the vanished styles and language of the hippie movement, linguist Geoff Nunberg says, "The most persistent single pejorative term to come out of the era is 'hippie' itself."



Trump And The Truth About NFL Ratings

Wed, 04 Oct 2017 05:01:00 -0400

Commentator Mike Pesca talks about President Trump's attack on NFL players who kneel during the national anthem and his claim about the NFL rapidly losing viewers.



Telling Time: Ta-Nehisi Coates On The History That Continues To Haunt America

Tue, 03 Oct 2017 11:06:30 -0400

The writer discusses his journalism, comics, the transition from Presidents Obama to Trump and more.