Subscribe: NPR Topics: Opinion
http://www.npr.org/rss/rss.php?id=1057
Preview: NPR Topics: Opinion

Opinion : NPR



Editorial opinions and commentary on news events and world events. Download podcasts and subscribe to RSS feeds.



Last Build Date: Sat, 01 Oct 2016 11:08:00 -0400

Copyright: Copyright 2016 NPR - For Personal Use Only
 



A Couple Clashes Over Sex And Religion

Sat, 01 Oct 2016 11:08:00 -0400

Dear Sugar Radio is a podcast offering "radical empathy" and advice for the lost, lonely and heartsick. Today they tackle a conflict over religious beliefs in a relationship.



Week In Politics: Trump Attacks Former Miss Universe After Debate

Fri, 30 Sep 2016 16:43:00 -0400

NPR's Ari Shapiro speaks with our regular political commentators, E.J. Dionne of The Washington Post and Brookings Institution and David Brooks of The New York Times, about Donald Trump's attacks on former Miss Universe Alicia Machado and the upcoming vice presidential debate.



The People's Guide To Navigating Racial Awkwardness

Fri, 30 Sep 2016 14:04:00 -0400

What are the best strategies for responding to uncomfortable racial comments? We asked, you delivered. Here are some of our favorite ideas.



Reporting Embargoes That Cross The Line

Fri, 30 Sep 2016 10:37:57 -0400

Scientific American examines a controversial practice that NPR and others agreed to in 2014.



Behind The Scenes: NPR Fact Checks First Debate In Near Real Time

Tue, 27 Sep 2016 16:24:59 -0400

Listeners want to know how the fact-checkers chose which facts to check.



How Do I Find The Courage To Be My Own Guide?

Sat, 24 Sep 2016 15:00:00 -0400

Dear Sugar Radio is a podcast offering "radical empathy" and advice for the lost, lonely and heartsick. Today the team talks about how to face fear.



While Everyone Was Partying At Woodstock, I Was Stuck At Schrafft's

Sat, 24 Sep 2016 08:51:00 -0400

The chain restaurant that catered to women helped redefine how Americans eat, according to a new book. For NPR's Lynn Neary, it also defined how she did and didn't fit with the counterculture.



Week In Politics: Police Shootings, Upcoming Presidential Debate

Fri, 23 Sep 2016 16:42:00 -0400

NPR's Robert Siegel speaks with our regular political commentators David Brooks of The New York Times and E.J. Dionne of The Washington Post and Brookings Institution. They discuss reaction to the police shooting in Charlotte, N.C., and look ahead to the presidential debate next week.



Player Protests: When Athletes Stand Up (Or Kneel) For Social Justice Issues

Wed, 21 Sep 2016 04:40:00 -0400

We're seeing something we did not witness a decade or two ago: Sports as a vehicle not just for making money, but for social change.



Imagining A World Without Prisons For Communities Defined By Them

Tue, 20 Sep 2016 16:13:00 -0400

The activist Marc Lamont Hill argues that America needs to end its prison system. With crime at all-time lows, he might sway people of color who've long called for harsher punishment for lawbreakers.



The Long Goodbye: When To Be There For A Dying Parent

Sun, 18 Sep 2016 10:34:00 -0400

Dear Sugar Radio is a podcast offering "radical empathy" and advice for the lost, lonely and heartsick. Today the team talks about how much someone should be in the life of a dying parent.



Lupita Nyong'o, Who Designed Your Nigerian-Style Head Tie?

Sun, 18 Sep 2016 07:00:00 -0400

The Oscar-winner got raves for the outfit she wore this past week. The gown was by Carolina Herrera. And the head tie? Pure Nigeria.



How To Leave An Abusive Partner

Sat, 17 Sep 2016 16:57:00 -0400

Dear Sugar Radio is a podcast offering "radical empathy" and advice for the lost, lonely and heartsick. Today they talk about how to leave a partner who is emotionally abusive.



Now Play Nice, Children

Sat, 17 Sep 2016 08:45:07 -0400

Back in the days of the Lincoln-Douglas debates, there was no moderator. What if we tried that kind of thing in this year's campaign?



Week In Politics: Presidential Candidates Release Health Records

Fri, 16 Sep 2016 16:31:00 -0400

NPR's Kelly McEvers speaks with our regular political commentators, E.J. Dionne of The Washington Post and Brookings Institution and David Brooks of The New York Times. They discuss the revival of the birther movement, the tightening presidential race, and the hype surrounding the release of candidates' health records.