Subscribe: Comments on: Peak Pro 5 XT, Mac Audio Package, on Review at Macworld
http://createdigitalmusic.com/2006/01/09/peak-pro-5-xt-mac-audio-package-on-review-at-macworld/feed/
Added By: Feedage Forager Feedage Grade B rated
Language: English
Tags:
admin  article  audio  audition  bugs  check dsp  dsp quattro  dsp  haven  interface  mac  peak pro  peak  quattro  software  time  velocipede 
Rate this Feed
Rate this feedRate this feedRate this feedRate this feedRate this feed
Rate this feed 1 starRate this feed 2 starRate this feed 3 starRate this feed 4 starRate this feed 5 star

Comments (0)

Feed Details and Statistics Feed Statistics
Preview: Comments on: Peak Pro 5 XT, Mac Audio Package, on Review at Macworld

Comments on: Peak Pro 5 XT, Mac Audio Package, on Review at Macworld



Create digital music, motion, and more.



Last Build Date: Fri, 23 Feb 2018 05:47:00 +0000

 



By: Morgan

Mon, 09 Oct 2006 22:02:21 +0000

I just wanted to say that DSP-Quattro is total vaporware. Buggy, completely unstable. I cannot believe that someone would have the audacity to sell such an untested peice of crap as a professional tool. I wasted $100 and plenty of time trying to get this pathetic software to do even simple edits without freezing up. No thanks to the stupid bloggers who raved about how wonderful is was based upon five min. of browsing the interface. Do not waste your time on DSP-Quattro. A check of DSP-Quattro's License agreement reads: THE SOFTWARE AND ACCOMPANYING ELECTRONIC AND WRITTEN MATERIALS (INCLUDING INSTRUCTIONS FOR USE) ARE PROVIDED "AS IS" WITHOUT WARRANTY OF ANY KIND.



By: admin

Tue, 10 Jan 2006 12:55:09 +0000

According to BIAS, window management has indeed changed. The Sample Rate Conversion engine is new, not dithering. I have seen bugs in past versions, as the program made the OS X transition; this one, for me at least, was rock solid. (Sometimes bugs don't crop up while you're reviewing, of course!)



By: bucky

Tue, 10 Jan 2006 11:45:07 +0000

contrary to the review, peak has had window tiling and stacking since the 20th century, and POWr dithering for quite awhile too. it's also been full of bugs in every version, though i haven't got v5.



By: velocipede

Tue, 10 Jan 2006 09:52:42 +0000

Thanks!



By: admin

Mon, 09 Jan 2006 21:17:20 +0000

That's indeed an error on my part. DSP-Quattro has VST, AU, and virtual instrument support. Mea culpa; thank you for catching it. (Authors tend to prefer to be the ones to catch errors, but we don't always succeed.) I'll add a comment to the article. And certainly, at its price point, DSP-Quattro must be considered; it has more functionality than the low-end Peak (though depending on what you need, you might prefer one or the other for other reasons).



By: velocipede

Mon, 09 Jan 2006 20:49:19 +0000

I read this article originally on Macworld.com. Please check out DSP Quattro. Although it may not be as sophisticated as the software you mention in your article, it should be included in the comparison. You write,"Peak Pro 5 also shines for its plug-in capabilities: it’s the only Mac waveform editor that supports both VST and Audio Unit (AU) plug-ins," but, in fact DSP-Quattro does this too.



By: niall

Mon, 09 Jan 2006 19:37:29 +0000

i use dsp quattro on the mac and audition on the windows box. neither of them have pencil tools, and this frustrates me. the forthcoming version of dspQ will have a pencil, though.



By: Symbiotic

Mon, 09 Jan 2006 15:00:12 +0000

Let's do it! I haven't seen one recently - just DAW shootouts.



By: admin

Mon, 09 Jan 2006 14:21:01 +0000

Honestly, I'm really impressed by Audition and where it's going . . . and note that it was the one PC app that equaled Peak for resampling audio fidelity. Basically, though, SF seems to be the way to go for bread and butter editing, while Audition is by far more feature-rich. I'm just not in love with Audition's cluttered interface. Maybe it's time for a shootout? :-) Can ask the parties involved at NAMM.



By: Symbiotic

Mon, 09 Jan 2006 14:16:36 +0000

Peter - Care to draw a comparison to SoundForge 8 for PC? I'm still undecided between these two...