Subscribe: Opinion/editorials from www.nwherald.com
http://www.nwherald.com/?rss=opinion/editorials
Added By: Feedage Forager Feedage Grade A rated
Language: English
Tags:
donald trump  donald  mchenry county  mchenry  president donald  president  program  thumbs  trump made  trump  view  week  woodstock   
Rate this Feed
Rate this feedRate this feedRate this feedRate this feedRate this feed
Rate this feed 1 starRate this feed 2 starRate this feed 3 starRate this feed 4 starRate this feed 5 star

Comments (0)

Feed Details and Statistics Feed Statistics
Preview: Opinion/editorials from www.nwherald.com

Editorials



The latest news from nwherald.com



 



Our View: McHenry Mayor: Wayne Jett

Sun, 26 Mar 2017 10:30:00 GMT

McHenry is fortunate to have two strong candidates seeking to lead the city after Mayor Sue Low decided not to seek another term.



Our View: Woodstock mayor: Brian Sager

Sun, 26 Mar 2017 10:30:00 GMT

There’s a lot of interest in the Woodstock mayor’s seat this year where challengers Michael Rein and Gregg Hanson are taking on longtime incumbent Brian Sager.



Finally some good news for former Motorola site

Sat, 25 Mar 2017 10:30:00 GMT

Thumbs-up: To Edward Harvard Holdings LLC, which plans to start manufacturing smartphones at the Motorola campus in Harvard. The company’s application submitted to the Harvard-Woodstock enterprise zone said it would make smartphones and have distribution, a research and development center, customer support, engineering services, telecommunications operations and a training center on the campus. The application gave an estimated completion date of May. The $32 million project will add 100 temporary construction jobs and 100 permanent jobs. That is well short of the 5,000 people employed there at its peak, but after the building has been vacant and deteriorating since 2003, with its potential for everything from a water park to a prison falli



Our View: Gambling expansion is no solution

Sun, 12 Mar 2017 14:11:00 GMT

Thumbs-down: To gambling expansion is yet another nonsolution to Illinois budget woes. There certainly are problems with what’s been described as a grand bargain, particularly a massive income tax hike, but it looked for a moment as if a solution to the lack of a state budget was at least on the horizon. Instead, the shiny object was new gambling licenses for Chicago, Lake County, Rockford and other locations around the state, which were approved by the Illinois Senate. This is no jackpot for weary Illinois taxpayers.



Our View: Consolidation movement gaining steam

Mon, 06 Mar 2017 19:29:00 GMT

It’s hard to know what to make of voter moods when only about seven percent of registered voters came out for a primary election that, locally, only featured township races.



Our View: Woodstock Route 47 widening is vital

Sun, 26 Feb 2017 18:35:00 GMT

While we understand there are concerns with a $78 million plan to widen Route 47 through Woodstock, this project needs to happen, and it should have happened a long time ago.



Our View: Real help from poverty realized

Sun, 26 Feb 2017 18:34:00 GMT

Thumbs-up: To the Hope Takes Action program, which helps people living in long-term poverty become self-sufficient. Six McHenry County participants graduated last week after completing the 20-week workshop series and mentoring program. This was the first year the program took place in McHenry County. The Society of St. Vincent de Paul’s National Council started incorporating it in 2012, and since then, it has spread to more than 300 communities throughout the country. “I was ready to just give up and lay down, and figure I was going to die one of these days,” said Michael Moore, 62, of McHenry. “But then, through this program, I found all kinds of resources that help me.”



Thumbs Up: Peer mentoring is a plus

Sat, 18 Feb 2017 11:22:00 GMT

Thumbs-up: To new peer mentoring programs at McHenry County College. The Focus program is open to students who want to establish or improve their GPA, or those who may need additional encouragement. The Excel program provides students an opportunity to develop leadership skills by mentoring other students and preparing them for life after community college. Candice Johnson, coordinator of multicultural affairs at MCC, said the pairing of program participants will allow them to learn from one another, noting students who take advantage of such resources tend to do better in school. After a successful first semester, we wish them luck in expanding the program.



Thumbs up to McHenry theater plan

Sat, 11 Feb 2017 11:30:00 GMT

Thumbs up: To the McHenry City Council and others involved in plans to renovate and reopen the McHenry downtown theater, which has been closed since 2014. The City Council earlier this week unanimously approved plans to grant a conditional use permit for an expanded site plan to allow a theater, a restaurant serving alcohol, outdoor seating, outdoor entertainment and any other variances needed to develop the property at Walsh Park. The project was proposed by Boone Creek Crossing LLC. As part of the project, the west facade of the existing building will be renovated. “This is one of the most exciting projects that’s coming along in a very long time,” Mayor Susan Low said. We couldn’t agree more.



Another view: A carbon tax even GOP could support

Fri, 10 Feb 2017 18:08:00 GMT

Some Republicans have grown tired of fighting the rest of the world on climate change.



Another View: Trump's unwanted gift to Wall Street

Fri, 10 Feb 2017 11:30:00 GMT

President Donald Trump says he wants to reduce the regulatory burden on the finance industry. But by taking aim at a new rule on retirement advice, he’ll most likely add to that burden – and harm many small investors at the same time.



An unfunded mandate we can support

Fri, 10 Feb 2017 11:30:00 GMT

Public school administrators and boards of education have complained bitterly about being inundated with unfunded state mandates, and rightly so.



Another view: Move foreward with Keystone XL and Dakota Access pipelines

Fri, 10 Feb 2017 05:03:00 GMT

Among the headlines President Donald Trump made during his first week was one citing his executive order to clear obstacles standing in the way of the proposed Keystone XL and Dakota Access oil pipelines.



Another view: Donald Trump's moral blind spot

Thu, 09 Feb 2017 11:30:00 GMT

Of all the strangely accommodating remarks President Donald Trump has made about Russian President Vladimir Putin, none is quite so startling and pernicious as his suggestion that the United States is morally equivalent to a ruthless regime whose critics keep getting murdered. For all its flaws, the U.S. is fundamentally different from the Russia of Putin, whose relentless pursuit of hegemony over his neighbors and the degradation of the West is founded in cynicism. Every U.S. president prior to Trump has embraced a contrary vision of American exceptionalism in which the country serves as a beacon of democracy, human rights and the rule of law. For Trump to casually equate the two is as false as it is shocking.



Our view: Stop filing trivial legislation

Wed, 08 Feb 2017 11:30:00 GMT

As far as we know, there is no sanity test for Illinois state legislators.



Another view: Gorsuch a gift to country

Tue, 07 Feb 2017 21:28:00 GMT

“If you breathe air, drink water, eat food, take medicine, or in any other way interact with the courts, this is a very bad decision.” — Nancy Pelosi



Another view: Right values of leadership

Mon, 06 Feb 2017 11:30:00 GMT

“I want us to be honest with one another,” a new leader on the national stage said late last week. “We’re on the same team. We share the same mission. Honesty will undergird our foreign policy, and we’ll start by making it the basis of how we interact with each other. . . . Let us extend respect to each other, especially when we may disagree.”



Our View: Human service providers need help

Sun, 05 Feb 2017 11:30:00 GMT

Sad and pathetic, but not the least bit surprised.



Another view: Questions for Gorsuch

Fri, 03 Feb 2017 11:30:00 GMT

President Donald Trump’s nomination of Judge Neil Gorsuch for the Supreme Court elicited an immediate, furious and depressingly predictable reaction. Senate Minority Leader Charles Schumer, D-N.Y., called him an ideologue in a tweet sent shortly after Trump made his announcement, and liberal senators such as Sherrod Brown, D-Ohio, and Elizabeth Warren, D-Mass., announced they would oppose the nomination not long after that. Conservative activist groups, meanwhile, vowed to go on an election-year-style campaign to advance Gorsuch’s nomination.



Our view: Successful transfer of power

Thu, 02 Feb 2017 23:54:00 GMT

Thumbs-up: To another successful and mostly peaceful transfer of power. After a contentious campaign that included violent protests, threatening phrases such as “Lock her up” and 11th-hour bombshells that embarrassed both major party candidates, Donald Trump was sworn in Friday as the 45th president of the United States with few problems. Yes, there were protests, clashes with police and arrests, but that’s unfortunately standard fare. Thank you to Barack Obama for his eight years of service. Good luck to President Trump in his first term in office.