Subscribe: Opinion/editorials from www.nwherald.com
http://www.nwherald.com/?rss=opinion/editorials
Added By: Feedage Forager Feedage Grade B rated
Language: English
Tags:
amendment  championship  community harvest  day  election  food  great  mchenry county  president  season  thanksgiving  thumbs  time  view 
Rate this Feed
Rate this feedRate this feedRate this feedRate this feedRate this feed
Rate this feed 1 starRate this feed 2 starRate this feed 3 starRate this feed 4 starRate this feed 5 star

Comments (0)

Feed Details and Statistics Feed Statistics
Preview: Opinion/editorials from www.nwherald.com

Editorials



The latest news from nwherald.com



 



Our view: Franks, McSweeney seek to protect taxpayers from lame-duck lawmakers

Sun, 04 Dec 2016 11:30:00 GMT

For months, we’ve been expecting a sad repeat of the 2011 lame-duck session of the Illinois General Assembly.



Our view: Wolves are champions, a class act

Sat, 03 Dec 2016 11:30:00 GMT

Thumbs up: To the Prairie Ridge football team, which won the Class 6A IHSA football championship last weekend in convincing fashion. The Wolves (14-0) rushed for a Class 6A championship game record 544 yards in their 48-17 win over Sacred Heart-Griffin a week ago today in Champaign. It was the second state title in five years for the Wolves, who also won the 2011 Class 6A football championship. Congratulations on your perfect season.



Another view: Amending the amendment?

Fri, 02 Dec 2016 11:30:00 GMT

Imagine you live in a place that passed an amendment to its state constitution, and 10 days after the election, no one is really sure what effect the amendment will have.



Our view: A new approach to choosing Illinois' House speaker:

Thu, 01 Dec 2016 05:16:00 GMT

A courageous, bipartisan coalition could bring new leadership to Illinois House



Our View: Spike in police deaths is alarming

Sun, 27 Nov 2016 11:30:00 GMT

One can’t draw causation from rhetoric, national media attention or social media outrage, but there definitely has been an increase in the deaths of police officers who intentionally were shot and killed because of their profession.



Thumbs up: To Thanksgiving Day volunteers

Sat, 26 Nov 2016 11:30:00 GMT

Thumbs up: To the hundreds of volunteers who attended the 26th annual Community Harvest on Thankgiving Day to help sort and box donated food items to benefit the Crystal Lake Food Pantry and its clients. The Thanksgiving and Christmas season is a time to count our blessings and to give back to those who might need a little help. Judging by the turnout out at the harvest, it looks like McHenry County did a fine job this week. Last year, the Community Harvest collected about 68,000 pounds of food and $46,000 for the food pantry. This year’s goal was to raise 85,000 pounds and $50,000. During this holiday season, consider making a donation of time, money or whatever you can to any of a number of local nonprofits.



Our view: Shop local, stay local

Fri, 25 Nov 2016 11:30:00 GMT

It’s the Friday after Thanksgiving.



Our view: Be safe if traveling this Thanksgiving

Wed, 23 Nov 2016 11:30:00 GMT

Tomorrow is Thanksgiving, an annual holiday when families come together to enjoy each other’s company and a good meal, and to give thanks for all of our blessings.



Our View: Union must see reality

Sun, 20 Nov 2016 11:30:00 GMT

We wouldn’t like to hear our boss tell us that for the next four years our pay would be frozen and we’d have to pay double for health insurance.



Another view: A stand against hate

Fri, 18 Nov 2016 11:30:00 GMT

The morning after Donald Trump’s election as president, a student at Baylor University had a nasty, hate-filled encounter on her way to class. A native of Zambia, she was called the n-word by another student, who shoved her off the sidewalk and said he was “just trying to make America great again,” the signature slogan of Trump’s campaign. What is perhaps most appalling about the incident is that it was not isolated.



Our View: Jekyll-Hyde conduct sours governance

Wed, 16 Nov 2016 04:58:00 GMT

What does “The Strange Case of Dr. Jekyll and Mr. Hyde,” published in 1886 by Robert Louis Stevenson, have to do with American post-election politics 130 years later?



Our view: Pass budget with no tax hike

Sun, 13 Nov 2016 11:30:00 GMT

Like procrastinating teens putting off a big homework assignment, this summer Illinois’ leaders found a way to put off addressing our state’s budget problems until after the election.






Our view: Thank veterans year-round

Fri, 11 Nov 2016 05:08:00 GMT

President Barack Obama called President-elect Donald Trump on Wednesday to congratulate him on his election victory and to begin preparing for a peaceful transfer of power.



Our view: Time to pull country back together

Thu, 10 Nov 2016 11:30:00 GMT

The most divisive presidential election in modern U.S. history is behind us, but not even the most cheerful Pollyanna believes the fractures have healed.



Our View: Get out and vote today

Tue, 08 Nov 2016 11:30:00 GMT

The polls have been open since Sept. 29, but at 7 p.m. today they are scheduled to close for the final time in 2016.



Our View: Endorsement Roundup

Sun, 06 Nov 2016 11:30:00 GMT

Ahead of Election Day on Tuesday, we are reprinting the Northwest Herald Editorial Board’s recommendations in some contested races McHenry County voters will see on the ballot. To help make a decision, visit Northwest Herald’s Election Central online to read candidate responses to our questionnaires. Once informed, please remember to vote. Check the McHenry County Clerk’s website for polling locations.



Sharing concerns with candidates

Sat, 05 Nov 2016 10:30:00 GMT

Thumbs up: To Bernotas Middle School seventh-graders, who are asking the next president – whomever it may be – to keep their concerns in mind after he or she is elected on Tuesday. Students in Belinda Strebel’s language arts class submitted their requests to Letters to the Next President 2.0 with others across the country who aren’t able to share their views with their vote but who still are highly invested in the future of the country. Sponsored by the National Writing Project, organizers say the initiative provides a real-time window into what teens care about. In Strebel’s class, those issues included gun violence, racial profiling, climate change and women’s rights, among others. Younger generations often are criticized for their insula



Our view: Cubs provide a great end to a great season

Fri, 04 Nov 2016 13:32:00 GMT

It’s a great day for a parade.



Our View: Great end to a great season

Fri, 04 Nov 2016 04:59:00 GMT

It’s a great day for a parade.