Subscribe: Opinion/editorials from www.nwherald.com
http://www.nwherald.com/?rss=opinion/editorials
Added By: Feedage Forager Feedage Grade A rated
Language: English
Tags:
crystal lake  crystal  donald trump  health care  health  illinois  lake  new  people  president  teen  thumbs  trump  view  year 
Rate this Feed
Rate this feedRate this feedRate this feedRate this feedRate this feed
Rate this feed 1 starRate this feed 2 starRate this feed 3 starRate this feed 4 starRate this feed 5 star

Comments (0)

Feed Details and Statistics Feed Statistics
Preview: Opinion/editorials from www.nwherald.com

Editorials



The latest news from nwherald.com



 



Our View: Reject plan for huge tax hikes

Sun, 22 Jan 2017 11:30:00 GMT

The Illinois Senate could vote as early as Wednesday on a budget bill supported by Democrats and even some Republicans, including Senate Republican Leader Christine Radogno.



Our view: Successful transfer of power

Sat, 21 Jan 2017 11:30:00 GMT

Thumbs up: To another successful and mostly peaceful transfer of power. After a contentious campaign that included violent protests, threatening phrases such as “Lock her up” and 11th-hour bombshells that embarrassed both major party candidates, Donald Trump was sworn in Friday as the 45th president of the United States with few problems. Yes, there were protests, clashes with police and arrests, but that’s unfortunately standard fair. Thank you to Barack Obama for his eight years of service. Good luck to President Trump in his first term in office.



Our view: Rooting for Donald Trump's success

Thu, 19 Jan 2017 11:30:00 GMT

Donald Trump was not our choice for president.



Another view: Charging four with hate crime was right decision

Mon, 16 Jan 2017 11:30:00 GMT

The decision to charge four young adult African-Americans in Chicago with hate crimes and other felonies for the abduction and torture of an 18-year-old white student with special needs was the correct one.



Our View: MLK Jr. reminds us 'We cannot walk alone'

Sun, 15 Jan 2017 05:35:00 GMT

The nation will celebrate Martin Luther King Jr. Day on Monday, a good time to reflect on the work of the country’s greatest civil rights leader and on our current state of race relations.



Our view: Helping prevent teen suicide

Sat, 14 Jan 2017 11:30:00 GMT

Thumbs up: To the McHenry County Mental Health Board and Crystal Lake-based Community High School District 155 for their partnership to train about 250 staff members to be better equipped to help prevent suicide. High school communities around the area including in District 155 have been devastated too often when students have taken their own lives, leaving permanent wounds to surviving family members and friends. This training will help those who are around young people everyday better identify risks and guide students toward seeking the help they need.



Our view: State lawmakers must find a path to fiscal recovery

Thu, 12 Jan 2017 15:12:00 GMT

The members of the 100th General Assembly who were sworn in Wednesday in Springfield are the lawmakers who will be in office when Illinois marks it bicentennial in December 2018.



Another view: Cleaning up VA should be a top priority

Mon, 09 Jan 2017 11:30:00 GMT

The body of a military veteran was left in a Veterans Affairs health care facility shower room for more than nine hours before someone finally had it moved to a morgue, the Tampa, Florida, Bay Times reported last month.



Our View: Census data brings little joy

Sun, 08 Jan 2017 11:30:00 GMT

Illinois certainly didn’t get much of a Christmas gift from the U.S. Census Bureau.



Our view: Thumbs up to children helping others

Sat, 07 Jan 2017 11:30:00 GMT

To 5-year-old Brayden Jenkins of Marengo, who recognized a need and decided to do something about it. Brayden realized that homeless people need help staying warm during the winter, so he started a coat drive at Roc’s Barber Shop in DeKalb. Kendra Jenkins, Brayden’s mother, said her son came up with the idea of giving coats to people who don’t have them while they were sitting in the car on a cold day. Jenkins told her son that people can start coat drives to collect coats for people in need, and Brayden said that was what he wanted to do. While Brayden’s family lives in Marengo, it frequents Roc’s Barber Shop.



Our view: Videos of Crystal Lake teen being tortured in Chicago give harsh glimpse into evil world

Fri, 06 Jan 2017 06:40:00 GMT

What happened to a Crystal Lake teen who suffers from mental illness paints another horrific picture of what is happening to individuals in some Chicago neighborhoods and the general coarsening of culture.



Our view: Best of luck to U.S. Sen. Tammy Duckworth

Fri, 06 Jan 2017 05:11:00 GMT

The Land of Lincoln got a new U.S. senator this week; best of luck



Another view: An ethics lesson for Trump from House Republicans

Wed, 04 Jan 2017 21:27:00 GMT

What happened this week among House Republicans carries a useful and important lesson.



Another view: Big Pharma and opiate addiction

Mon, 02 Jan 2017 11:30:00 GMT

Today’s nationwide epidemic of opiate addiction was spawned in part by doctors who, with the best of intentions, wanted to help patients in pain, and by drug companies that said they had just the remedy – long-lasting, effective painkillers with none of the addictive qualities of their predecessors.



Another view: Sanctions on Russia should only be a start

Mon, 02 Jan 2017 11:30:00 GMT

President Barack Obama’s imposition of sweeping new sanctions against Russian spies is risky and tarnished by political calculation. It is also the right thing to do.



Our View: Embrace promise a New Year holds

Sun, 01 Jan 2017 11:30:00 GMT

People have made New Year’s resolutions since ancient times.



Our view: Helping to feed the hungry

Sat, 31 Dec 2016 11:30:00 GMT

Thumbs up: To everyone involved in the relocation of the Crystal Lake Food Pantry to its new home at 42 East St. The new location gives the pantry nearly 10 times the space it had at its most recent building on King Street, bringing the capacity to 30,000 square feet. That will certainly help the pantry serve the 250 percent growth it has experienced over the past five years. More than $700,000 was raised by the community to support this move, which is a stunning accomplishment. 



Another view: Climate change worse than just inconvenient

Fri, 30 Dec 2016 15:40:00 GMT

The earth’s natural systems are so complex that it can be hard to prove links between specific instances of extreme weather and the long-term shifting of global temperatures that humans are causing. But that does not suggest there are no links, or that warming is not happening.



Our view: With traffic fatalities up in 2016, be more careful driving

Fri, 30 Dec 2016 11:30:00 GMT

Driving in Illinois became more dangerous in 2016. If we’re all a little more careful out there, we can make it a safer 2017 and a happier new year.



Another view: Don't stop pushing on Medicare payment reform

Thu, 29 Dec 2016 19:40:00 GMT

The quest to create a more rational health-care system took a dispiriting turn this month, when the federal government abandoned an effort to motivate doctors to use the best available drugs, rather than the costliest ones. What’s worrisome is that this could be the start of a more general retreat from payment reform in health care as the White House changes hands.