Subscribe: Opinion/editorials from www.nwherald.com
http://www.nwherald.com/?rss=opinion/editorials
Added By: Feedage Forager Feedage Grade A rated
Language: English
Tags:
county  day  high school  high  illinois  labor day  mchenry county  mchenry  oct  school oct  school  thumbs  view  voters  year 
Rate this Feed
Rate this feedRate this feedRate this feedRate this feedRate this feed
Rate this feed 1 starRate this feed 2 starRate this feed 3 starRate this feed 4 starRate this feed 5 star

Comments (0)

Feed Details and Statistics Feed Statistics
Preview: Opinion/editorials from www.nwherald.com

Editorials



The latest news from nwherald.com



 



Our View: No reason not to vote

Thu, 29 Sep 2016 10:30:00 GMT

As of Thursday, there are 40 days left until Nov. 8, otherwise known this year as Election Day.



Our View: Policy takes backseat to attacks

Wed, 28 Sep 2016 10:30:00 GMT

Recent polls have shown that more than half the electorate holds a negative view of both Democrat Hillary Clinton and Republican Donald Trump.



Volunteers make a big difference

Sat, 24 Sep 2016 10:30:00 GMT

Thumbs up: To all of the churches and church volunteers who host and have hosted McHenry County PADS overnight shelters for the homeless. Because the county does not have a permanent homeless shelter, churches across the county open their doors one night each week from October through April to provide food and shelter for those who need it. It’s a big undertaking but one that is vital for the community. With a week before the shelters are scheduled to open, PADS is still in need of church sites on Saturday nights for men, women and children. Overflow sites also are needed for women and children only on Sunday, Monday and Thursday. To learn more, contact Erin Brumfield Grima at 815-344-1230 ext. 3163 or email egrima@pioneercenter.org.



Our view: Training young drivers on traffic stops

Fri, 23 Sep 2016 10:30:00 GMT

A new state law will require student drivers to be instructed on what to do and what not to do when they are pulled over by police.



Views: An expense worth bearing

Thu, 22 Sep 2016 10:30:00 GMT

The cost of public trust and officer safety cannot be overpriced.



Our view: Honoring those who serve

Sat, 17 Sep 2016 10:30:00 GMT

Thumbs up: To the Prairie Ridge football program, for hosting a Military Appreciation Night for Friday’s game against Crystal Lake South. This is the second year for this event, honoring those who served in the Army, Air Force, Marines, Navy or National Guard. A week earlier, Marian Central football held a First Responders Night to honor current and former police, EMT and fire personnel.



Our view: Steps to reduce drunken driving

Thu, 15 Sep 2016 10:30:00 GMT

One day in the not-too-distant future, cars might be able to drive themselves. Until then, it will be up to people to make good choices and prevent traffic fatalities.



Our View: Enrollment declines a troubling trend

Tue, 13 Sep 2016 10:30:00 GMT

The 10th day enrollment figures released this week by Northern Illinois University weren’t good, but they could have been worse. NIU’s 5.5 percent year-over-year enrollment decline was the greatest percentage decline in records going back to 1980, but at schools including Western Illinois (down 7 percent) and Southern Illinois (down 7.5 percent) it was even worse.



Our View: Remembering, and honoring, those lost in 2001 terrorist attacks

Sun, 11 Sep 2016 10:30:00 GMT

The nation wept 15 years ago today.



Our view: Giving voters more information

Sat, 10 Sep 2016 10:30:00 GMT

Thumbs up: To the McHenry County League of Women Voters, for holding debates involving local candidates in contested November races. Allowing the public to be more informed and candidates to go head-to-head publicly is an important part of the election process. The more informed that voters can become, the better. Four of the forums will occur between now and Oct. 5 at McHenry County College while the fifth debate, on Oct. 13, will occur at Jacobs High School in Algonquin.



Our view: Take politics out of courts

Thu, 08 Sep 2016 10:30:00 GMT

We’ve been critical in this space on many occasions of House Speaker Michael Madigan and other state Democratic leaders refusal to allow for redistricting reform in Illinois.



Our view: Celebrate the workforce this Labor Day

Sun, 04 Sep 2016 10:30:00 GMT

More than 100 years after the first federal observance of Labor Day, there still is debate about who first pitched the idea of a holiday to celebrate workers.



Our view: Educating young voters

Sat, 03 Sep 2016 10:30:00 GMT

Thumbs up: To the McHenry County Clerk’s Office and the League of Women Voters, who will hold mock elections at seven area high schools to help educate local students about the election process and get them excited about participating. The first mock election takes place Sept. 29 at both campuses of McHenry High School, with the second taking place the following day at Crystal Lake Central High School. Mock elections will follow Oct. 4 at Woodstock North High School, Oct. 5 at Jacobs High School, Oct. 6 at Huntley High School and Oct. 7 at Cary-Grove High School.



Our view: Be safe this Labor Day weekend

Fri, 02 Sep 2016 10:30:00 GMT

Labor Day might mark the traditional end of summer, but changing school calendars may have diminished its significance in that regard.



Another view: Getting tough on gun runners

Thu, 01 Sep 2016 10:30:00 GMT

Sometimes there’s no good alternative to a tough approach to crime.



Our View: Escort policy needs revised

Wed, 31 Aug 2016 10:30:00 GMT

Marengo High School officials meant no harm when they adopted a new hallway escort policy to start the 2016-17 school year.



Our View: System rigged against voters

Sun, 28 Aug 2016 10:30:00 GMT

Every 10 years after the U.S. Census, an elite few in Illinois decide which congressional and legislative districts each voter is in.



Our view: Lemonade Brigade's helping hand

Sat, 27 Aug 2016 05:49:00 GMT

Thumbs up: To the Lemonade Brigade, which held a fundraiser Thursday to raise money for a McHenry-area child who climbed into a hot car in July and has been hospitalized ever since. The Lemonade Brigade continues to be a tremendously positive force in the community, and this is yet another example.



Our view: Prep football a McHenry County pastime

Fri, 26 Aug 2016 10:30:00 GMT

People across Illinois will flock to high school football games tonight for the first contests of the new school year.



Our view: Pay attention to tax protesters

Thu, 25 Aug 2016 10:30:00 GMT

Taxpayers fed up with ever-increasing property taxes have more options to voice their displeasure to elected officials, many of whom don’t seem to care.