Subscribe: The Opinion Paige
http://theopinionpaige.wordpress.com/feed/
Preview: The Opinion Paige

The Opinion Paige



Figuring out life in New York. Writing along the way.



Last Build Date: Mon, 11 Dec 2017 11:03:30 +0000

 



Good Movie Redeems Bad Weekpaigelandsem

Mon, 16 Oct 2017 03:39:59 +0000

The headlines in politics and entertainment over the past several days have been disheartening – sometimes, downright maddening, And I know a movie can’t make the world go away, but a good one at least lets you think about something else for a couple hours. Some weeks, it seems, can only be redeemed by a … Continue reading Good Movie Redeems Bad Week(image)


Media Files:
http://2.gravatar.com/avatar/58f9acfab7046b4ff8c600d36e6a1c70?s=96&d=identicon&r=G




Movie Meditations from a TIFF Newbiepaigelandsem

Mon, 25 Sep 2017 01:27:31 +0000

The moment I caught “festival fever” at the Toronto International Film Festival last weekend came Saturday at 8:00pm. My boyfriend and I darted out of a 6:00 showing of I, Tonya to start a 15-minute sprint through downtown to line up for an 8:45 screening of Lady Bird, my most anticipated movie of the festival. … Continue reading Movie Meditations from a TIFF Newbie(image)


Media Files:
http://2.gravatar.com/avatar/58f9acfab7046b4ff8c600d36e6a1c70?s=96&d=identicon&r=G




Whole30 So Far (or, “Eight Days Away From a Chocolate Chip Cookie”)paigelandsem

Wed, 06 Sep 2017 04:55:20 +0000

Eight nights from now, I’ll be getting ready for bed and letting it sink in that what I’ve dreamed of for a month can become reality once I wake up in the morning. That dream? Eating one of these. I’ve been denying myself of Levain Bakery’s deliciousness for the past three weeks while doing Whole30, … Continue reading Whole30 So Far (or, “Eight Days Away From a Chocolate Chip Cookie”)(image)


Media Files:
http://2.gravatar.com/avatar/58f9acfab7046b4ff8c600d36e6a1c70?s=96&d=identicon&r=G




Italy, Part I: Rome Recappaigelandsem

Mon, 19 Jun 2017 04:11:17 +0000

There’s a balance I try to strike on big trips, between living in the moment but also pausing long enough to reflect and document – whether by taking photos, jotting down the name of a restaurant, or writing a paragraph about the magic of a particular moment. I want to be in the best position … Continue reading Italy, Part I: Rome Recap(image)


Media Files:
http://2.gravatar.com/avatar/58f9acfab7046b4ff8c600d36e6a1c70?s=96&d=identicon&r=G




Read Lately: “Personal History”paigelandsem

Tue, 30 May 2017 05:15:10 +0000

This Memorial Day (in New York City, at least) was one of my favorite kinds of days: A day off, but not one where it’s warm and sunny and I’m filled with guilt about not being outside. It’s cloudy, a little rainy, and I’m sitting on my bed in a mood to write about nothing … Continue reading Read Lately: “Personal History”(image)


Media Files:
http://2.gravatar.com/avatar/58f9acfab7046b4ff8c600d36e6a1c70?s=96&d=identicon&r=G




In The Presence of an Icon (Or, “That Night I Waited Five Hours for Tickets to See Bette Midler on Broadway”)paigelandsem

Tue, 09 May 2017 04:31:21 +0000

At 4am Saturday, my alarm rang. By 4:45, I (along with my boyfriend, a saint) was sitting in Shubert Alley with the seven others already in line. Our mission? Secure standing room tickets to see Bette Midler in Hello, Dolly! that night. At 10am, the box office opened. We each walked away with two SRO … Continue reading In The Presence of an Icon (Or, “That Night I Waited Five Hours for Tickets to See Bette Midler on Broadway”)(image)


Media Files:
http://2.gravatar.com/avatar/58f9acfab7046b4ff8c600d36e6a1c70?s=96&d=identicon&r=G




It Feels Like February (And That’s a Good Thing)paigelandsem

Tue, 28 Feb 2017 04:44:41 +0000

One miserable February day in high school, I remember one of my teachers illustrating how we all felt. On the white board, he drew two diagonal lines that intersected toward the bottom, each one representing half the school year. He labeled the low point, where the lines met, “February.” He meant it to encourage us; yes, it’s dark … Continue reading It Feels Like February (And That’s a Good Thing)(image)


Media Files:
http://2.gravatar.com/avatar/58f9acfab7046b4ff8c600d36e6a1c70?s=96&d=identicon&r=G




2016 Unfinished Business – The Best of What I Readpaigelandsem

Mon, 23 Jan 2017 03:46:08 +0000

It’s January 22, 2017, but I have some unfinished business from 2016 and I’m taking care of it right here. I can only remember one resolution I made going into 2016: Keep track of all the media I consumed – movies, articles, books, music, television – that caught my eye. Looking back, I can actually … Continue reading 2016 Unfinished Business – The Best of What I Read(image)


Media Files:
http://2.gravatar.com/avatar/58f9acfab7046b4ff8c600d36e6a1c70?s=96&d=identicon&r=G




Hamilton, Round Two (I know, I know)paigelandsem

Sat, 05 Nov 2016 23:12:33 +0000

What I’ll always remember about seeing Hamilton on November 2, 2016, is that shortly after my boyfriend and I took our seats, an older couple came and sat in front of us, and the man was wearing a Cubs hat. Any other night, we would not think twice about this. But obviously, for Cubs fans, … Continue reading Hamilton, Round Two (I know, I know)(image)


Media Files:
http://2.gravatar.com/avatar/58f9acfab7046b4ff8c600d36e6a1c70?s=96&d=identicon&r=G




Is this thing on?paigelandsem

Sun, 23 Oct 2016 14:36:16 +0000

Not a lot to say here, other than…it’s been awhile. Why, exactly? I don’t really know. I’ve actually come here to write several times in the past few months, but nothing happened. I have a few drafts saved that recount all my summer adventures, from my college friends’ visit in June to my July trip to … Continue reading Is this thing on?(image)


Media Files:
http://2.gravatar.com/avatar/58f9acfab7046b4ff8c600d36e6a1c70?s=96&d=identicon&r=G