Subscribe: Lancashire Telegraph | Latest reviews
http://www.lancashiretelegraph.co.uk/leisure/dine/restaurant_reviews/rss/
Added By: Feedage Forager Feedage Grade A rated
Language:
Tags:
blackburn town  blackburn  centre  inn  lancashire  pub review  pub week  pub  review  town centre  town  valley  week  week’s 
Rate this Feed
Rate this feedRate this feedRate this feedRate this feedRate this feed
Rate this feed 1 starRate this feed 2 starRate this feed 3 starRate this feed 4 starRate this feed 5 star

Comments (0)

Feed Details and Statistics Feed Statistics
Preview: Lancashire Telegraph | Latest reviews

Lancashire Telegraph | Latest reviews



Lancashire Telegraph /leisure/dine/restaurant_reviews/



Published: Sun, 17 Dec 2017 15:12:27 +0000

Last Build Date: Sun, 17 Dec 2017 15:12:27 +0000

 



PUB REVIEW: The Rising Sun, Blacko

Fri, 09 Oct 2015 11:00:42 +0100

THERE is undoubtedly something rather special about the quintessential, English pub. Sadly, they are becoming more of a rare species nowadays. However, one still remains in the multi-award winning village of Blacko.



PUB OF THE WEEK: Katy Kelly’s, Padiham

Thu, 14 May 2015 16:32:07 +0100

I THINK it’s fair to say, there has been lots of negative press, in relation to the pub industry of late.



PUB OF THE WEEK: The Ale House, Clitheroe

Thu, 30 Apr 2015 15:24:34 +0100

THIS week I wish to highlight a type of drinking establishment that is becoming more and more popular in our town centres.



REVIEW: Usha Indian restaurant, Burnley

Tue, 21 Apr 2015 15:23:32 +0100

THROUGHOUT my university days I picked restaurants based solely on price - but am I glad I ditched that little plan? You bet.



PUB OF THE WEEK: Hare and Hounds, Clayton-le-Moors

Thu, 02 Apr 2015 15:50:00 +0100

THERE was more than a touch of irony as I set off on my beery travels for this week’s pub review.



REVIEW: Ed's Easy Diner, Blackburn Mall

Thu, 26 Mar 2015 09:52:23 +0000

WHEN I was invited to try out the new Blackburn eatery Ed’s Diner, I was genuinely excited.



PUB OF THE WEEK: The Zy Bar, Market Street Lane, Blackburn

Thu, 26 Mar 2015 15:59:47 +0000

I THINK it is fair to say that decent drinking dens in Blackburn town centre are pretty much in decline.



PUB OF THE WEEK: The Emmott Arms, Laneshawbridge

Thu, 12 Mar 2015 16:21:03 +0000

IT was a glorious day, as I set off for this week’s pub review.



PUB OF THE WEEK: The Four Alls, Higham

Thu, 19 Feb 2015 16:12:15 +0000

IT WAS a glorious day for this weeks beery trek. So I decided to put on my walking boots and descend upon a rural hostelry, that boasted lots of local history.



PUB OF THE WEEK: The Red Lion Hotel, Market Street, Colne

Thu, 12 Feb 2015 15:10:00 +0000

IT HAS been quite a while since I visited a Samuel Smith’s hostelry.



PUB OF THE WEEK: The Blackburn Times

Thu, 05 Feb 2015 17:32:20 +0000

TO BE perfectly honest, I wasn’t expecting too much from this week’s beery venture. The reason being that a trip to Blackburn town centre limits your selection of decent drinking dens – in my humble opinion.



REVIEW: Friendly pub provides its punters with ‘superb’ ale

Thu, 29 Jan 2015 16:30:00 +0000

NOT far from Rawtenstall town centre, situated at one end of the East Lancashire Railway, lies the award-winning drinking den, Buffer Stops – a relatively new addition for discerning ale quaffers in the Rossendale Valley and beyond.



The Kettledrum, Cliviger: Pub drumming up praise and a great reputation

Thu, 15 Jan 2015 17:04:31 +0000

IT was a typical raw January afternoon as I alighted my bus for this week’s pub review, the Kettledrum Inn on the outskirts of Burnley.



PUB OF THE WEEK: The Postal Order, Blackburn

Thu, 04 Dec 2014 10:54:42 +0000

I made a rare venture into Blackburn town centre this week, for the pub review. A centre, that in my opinion, is virtually devoid of any quality drinking dens.



PUB OF THE WEEK: Boyce’s Barrel, Colne

Thu, 27 Nov 2014 15:25:27 +0000

THERE’S a question I keep asking myself of late. Is our perception of preferable watering holes changing?



PUB OF THE WEEK: Inn at the Station - Clitheroe

Thu, 23 Oct 2014 16:31:36 +0100

IT’S been a while since I ventured into the Ribble Valley. An area with many outstanding watering holes. So, on a blustery, rain-swept day, it was extra comforting, to seek sanctuary, in one of the locality’s establishments.



PUB OF THE WEEK: Cross Keys, Burnley

Thu, 16 Oct 2014 14:03:21 +0100

MY destination this week stops off at one of the oldest pubs in the locality: an inn which, although rebuilt in 1905, originally dated back to around 1750.



PUB OF THE WEEK: STAFF OF LIFE

Thu, 09 Oct 2014 17:12:43 +0100

THIS week, I plucked up a little courage for the pub review. I took the liberty of straying over the border, into the White Rose county.



PUB OF THE WEEK: Victoria Hotel, Great Harwood

Thu, 25 Sep 2014 14:30:00 +0100

THIS week I call in at one of the finest examples of an early 20th-century pub, a Grade Two-listed hostelry, with an interior that has remained virtually unchanged since its construction in 1905.



PUB OF THE WEEK: The Talbot Hotel, Burnley

Thu, 18 Sep 2014 13:54:31 +0100

THIS week I call in at one of the area’s premier drinking dens.



PUB OF THE WEEK: Railway Inn, Pleasington

Thu, 11 Sep 2014 14:50:00 +0100

This week’s pub review gives me extra satisfaction to highlight a pub, that was, until recently, looking tired, run down and in need of some tender loving care.



PUB OF THE WEEK: Craven Heifer, Rawtenstall

Thu, 28 Aug 2014 17:56:39 +0100

IT'S been a while since I made a beery trek to the Rossendale Valley for the pub review — and a few of the natives I had spoken to had been a tad vociferous of late, reminding me of that fact.



CHEERS! Here’s my super six ale houses

Thu, 31 Jul 2014 16:20:00 +0100

This week I have taken the liberty of swerving the usual pub review.



PUB OF THE WEEK: Griffin Inn, Haslingden

Wed, 30 Jul 2014 16:52:01 +0100

THE smell of malted barley was in the air as both me and beery compatriot Bob Fletcher approached this week’s selection for the pub review.



PUB OF THE WEEK: The Rifle Volunteer, Burnley

Thu, 17 Jul 2014 17:20:00 +0100

THIS week's pub review calls in at a friendly, community hostelry that has been transformed in recent years. “The Vols”, as it's known locally, was a tired-looking and relatively run-down establishment up to a few years ago.



PUB OF THE WEEK: The Crown, Colne

Thu, 10 Jul 2014 15:33:44 +0100

THE ecstasy and the agony of top-end sport was there for all to see at the climax of Wednesday night's big-match encounter in Colne.



Survivor of the great pub exodus

Thu, 03 Jul 2014 16:04:22 +0100

THE Adelphi is an historic Blackburn town centre pub in a prominent position with a very loyal customer base.



PUB OF THE WEEK: Coach and Horses, Burnley

Wed, 18 Jun 2014 14:40:02 +0100

THE Coach and Horses is a traditional pub I thought had been lost forever when previous owners Robinson’s pulled down the shutters and put this historic boozer up for sale nine months ago.



Review: Butlers, Blackburn Market

Mon, 02 Jun 2014 12:45:19 +0100

IT was a blistering Friday lunchtime and a spot of alfresco dining beckoned.



Review: The Old Function Room, Darwen

Sat, 10 May 2014 19:00:00 +0100

FOOD has only recently started being served at The Old Function Room in Darwen and with a love of pub grub, it would be rude for me not to try out their menu.



Review: Brewsters, Oakenhurst Farm, Lower Darwen

Tue, 06 May 2014 10:24:17 +0100

HALF-term was coming to an end and we needed a venue to fill one rainy afternoon as well as some hungry bellies.



Review: Healy’s at Lily Mae’s, Accrington

Sat, 22 Mar 2014 17:00:00 +0000

DINING out in East Lancs can sometimes be a bit of a chore.



Review: Tiggis Ribble Valley, Clayton-le-Dale

Sat, 15 Mar 2014 14:00:00 +0000

IT was getting late, in dining terms, on a Sunday night when I ventured to Tiggi’s Ribble Valley on the A59.



Review: Oswaldtwistle Mills’ Terrace Tea Room

Mon, 03 Feb 2014 11:20:54 +0000

AFTERNOON tea has become a popular treat; for foodies on a budget it is a special dining experience at a much lower cost than a three-course dinner.



Review: Debenham's cafe, Blackburn

Fri, 06 Dec 2013 14:30:25 +0000

WHEN we first reviewed several months ago it was in the first week of re-opening after the town centre department store had been given a multi-million pound makeover.



Review: Káva, Halifax Road, Todmorden

Mon, 04 Nov 2013 16:15:42 +0000

The man responsible for the excellent cooking at this little cafe is Dale Hibbert, who for a short time played bass guitar in The Smiths when they were just starting out.



Review: The Green Chimney Albert Road, Colne

Tue, 22 Oct 2013 17:01:14 +0100

Having heard nothing but good things about this quirky Colne eaterie I made a long-awaited trip to see what all the fuss was about. And I can guarantee my first won’t be my last.



Review: The Hungry Duck, Ramsbottom

Mon, 23 Sep 2013 13:20:25 +0100

TAKING advantage of a break between bands at the excellent Ramsbottom Festival, the better half and I came upon this little gem almost by accident.



Review: The Queen's Hotel, Accrington

Fri, 06 Sep 2013 18:01:02 +0100

This week we call in at a most popular Hyndburn Hostelry. The Queens Hotel is a pub I have never visited — and yes, I am sure that will come as a surprise to some of you.



Review: Hospital Inn, Bamber Bridge

Mon, 02 Sep 2013 18:04:53 +0100

THE Hospital Inn is just the tonic you need after a hectic week.



Review: Molly's, Moor Lane, Clitheroe

Tue, 27 Aug 2013 17:41:50 +0100

GASTRO pubs and swanky restaurants are all well and good but no town centre should be without its fair share of decent cafes, the kind of establishment you can just call into mid-shop for a reviving brew or something more substantial.



Review: The Polished Knob, Todmorden

Thu, 22 Aug 2013 15:37:21 +0100

The Polished Knob in the Lancashire/Yorkshire border town of Todmorden, has been getting lots of favourable comments for quite a while now — so it was time for me to go and see what all the fuss was about.



Review: Rawtenstall Cricket Club

Mon, 19 Aug 2013 18:03:51 +0100

CRICKET tea rooms really are the most hidden of dining out gems. Obviously they have seriously limited hours (only open in the summer and then only on match days) but if you can find one open, boy are you in for a treat.



Review: The Topiary Brasserie, Fence

Mon, 05 Aug 2013 17:44:19 +0100

THE last time we dined out, we ended up at McDonald’s and on the way home had to stop to deliver a calf when one of our cows got into difficulty!



Lancastrian with a passion for Caribbean cuisine serves up some treats at Blackburn waterside restaurant

Mon, 29 Jul 2013 17:26:24 +0100

AUTHENTIC Caribbean cuisine is taking off in Blackburn bringing communities from across East Lancashire and beyond together with the help of a chef with a passion for spice.



Review: Hark to Bounty, Slaidburn

Thu, 25 Jul 2013 17:20:06 +0100

THIS traditional, historic, old English country Inn, is situated in the Lancashire village of Slaidburn, although, up until the Local Government Act of 1974, the pub was very much part of rural Yorkshire.



Review: Liz 'n' Lil's, Blackburn

Mon, 22 Jul 2013 17:50:11 +0100

IN the heart of Blackburn centre is the pub-turned cafe that I had been eager to visit.



Review: The Three Fishes, Mitton

Mon, 08 Jul 2013 18:21:12 +0100

Ten years ago The Three Fishes at Mitton re-opened paving the way for a mini-revolution in eating out in East Lancashire.



Review: Craven Heifer, Kelbrook

Mon, 01 Jul 2013 12:39:11 +0100

CLASSICAL pub food with a twist is becoming an oft-used phrase on menus of establishments which like to think of themselves as more gastro than pub.



Review: The Plate, Waddington

Mon, 24 Jun 2013 18:04:36 +0100

NESTLING in the depths of the Ribble Valley is the Plate, the cafe bar which is part of the Backridge Farm complex.