Subscribe: Comments on Type 2 Diabetes - A Personal Journey: Test, Review, Adjust
http://loraldiabetes.blogspot.com/feeds/5631960509631984877/comments/default
Added By: Feedage Forager Feedage Grade A rated
Language: English
Tags:
alan  barbara  control  diabetes  diabetic  diagnosed week  doctor  good  information  mary ada  metformin  numbers  reading  test  years 
Rate this Feed
Rate this feedRate this feedRate this feedRate this feedRate this feed
Rate this feed 1 starRate this feed 2 starRate this feed 3 starRate this feed 4 starRate this feed 5 star

Comments (0)

Feed Details and Statistics Feed Statistics
Preview: Comments on Type 2 Diabetes - A Personal Journey: Test, Review, Adjust

Comments on Type 2 Diabetes - A Personal Journey: Test, Review, Adjust





Updated: 2017-12-11T06:18:56.781+11:00

 



Yes, of course. We'll all be watching for tho...

2017-07-11T08:56:48.945+10:00

Yes, of course. We'll all be watching for those more noninvasive procedures. What's so interesting, however, is the new information regarding what actually causes diabetes.



Barbara, I do not know enough about the topic to c...

2017-07-10T08:35:45.262+10:00

Barbara, I do not know enough about the topic to comment properly, apart from noting I am very wary of surgery as a 'cure' and very aware of the risks involved. Personally, I will continue to do what I do. I may become more interested when those other noninvasive procedures reach their destination on the road they are coming down.



Alan, you no doubt know this, but I was reading Am...

2017-07-09T11:23:09.221+10:00

Alan, you no doubt know this, but I was reading American Scientific this month and saw their main article about surgery for Diabetes. It is now assumed that the small intestine has more to do with insulin resistance than previously thought. Those who have bypass surgery are almost completely cured of type 2 diabetes without controlling diet or losing any weight yet -- often as soon as two weeks after the surgery and they remain free of the disease for years. For those of us who don't qualify for major surgery, there are now new procedures that involve a sleeve in the intestines to close off the duodenum -- this apparently is all that's needed to influence the GI tract downstream and most of the mechanisms of glucose control. This sleeve already exists and has been approved for use in Europe and South America. There are other noninvasive procedures coming down the road soon too. Analysts figure it can save us millions of dollars in treatment. I don't think big Pharma likes it at all, but I'm going to keep watch on this. It's the best news I've heard in a long time. Tell me what you know about the subject.



Yes the side effects were bad enough for me to ju...

2017-06-18T22:37:51.604+10:00

Yes the side effects were bad enough for me to just STOP taking it! Bad bloating GAS pain diarrhea. CONSTANT FEELING UNCOMFORTABLE. I NO LONGER EAT more than 20 carbs per day and my BG readings are never over 140 1 and 2 hours after meals. I personally feel pharmaceutical companies give doctors kick backs for prescribing their drugs and that's WHY doctors don't tell you the bad side effects nor do they tell you it can be controlled with what you eat and exercise. Metformin also causes vitamin b12 deficiencies
THIS ONLY MY OPINION AND MY EXPERIENCE WITH METFORMIN. IF YOU can AVOID TAKING IT I SUGGEST AVOIDING taking IT



Thanks Alan -- I DO need to control portions a bit...

2017-05-11T12:27:32.940+10:00

Thanks Alan -- I DO need to control portions a bit better, and I've gained some weight. Really depressing.



Barbara, slowly rising fasting numbers are the sam...

2017-05-10T08:24:48.362+10:00

Barbara, slowly rising fasting numbers are the same reason I started on metformin after three years just on diet and exercise. Your 140-160 post-prandial numbers are a bit high for my liking despite your good A1c. I suggest a review of the carb portions in the meals leading to those numbers.



Hi Alan, My fasting glucose has been too high each...

2017-05-10T04:20:56.469+10:00

Hi Alan,
My fasting glucose has been too high each morning -- about 120, and I can't seem to get it lower. During the day, after eating it's around 140 to 160. Last check my A1C was 5.8, but that was 6 months ago. I'm trying to lose a few pounds before the doctor again.
I'm thinking that since Metformin is a safe drug, why not start? there was a Harvard study a few years ago that suggested every pre diabetic start on it, since virtually everyone will eventually proceed to full blown diabetes. That study always stayed with me.
I really appreciate your slow going with dosage. I'll write that down when I see my doctor next.
As to my other question regarding how to get that high glucose down, so there's no silver bullet? If I see a 180 an hour after a meal, there's no remedy is there, short of insulin?



Barbara, why do you believe you need more aggressi...

2017-05-08T09:12:51.761+10:00

Barbara, why do you believe you need more aggressive care? Is it A1c, FBG, post-prandials or complications?

I can't say what to expect because we are all a bit different. I had no problems but I was already under good control and limiting carbs. A minority have severe gastro effects, some have them to a lesser degree and over half have no problems at all. If you add the med I suggest you discuss ramping up with your doctor, beginning with a low dose (1x500mg) and adding 500mg weekly if you do not have problems until you reach the effective dose precribed by the doctor.

Similarly I cannot say how long it may take to see improvements in blood glucose levels.



Allan, I have been on and off your blog for years ...

2017-05-08T08:19:36.381+10:00

Allan, I have been on and off your blog for years now, and have a couple of questions -- I'm still technically Pre-diabetic, but I think I need more aggressive care, and am going to ask my doctor to start me on Metformin. What can I expect? Does it really take months for results? are the side effects really terrible?



Thanks for the info. Will be reading regularly and...

2016-11-27T22:39:52.282+11:00

Thanks for the info. Will be reading regularly and catching up with what I've missed. I thought I wasn't diabetic. Total denial. My highest reading was 8.8 after some canned corned beef so I'm thinking I'm an idiot! 5.2 is my best reading but that's when I'm 'being good' on Atkins. Ditto x



I've been type II for about 15 years & gen...

2016-07-11T04:31:40.931+10:00

I've been type II for about 15 years & generally done ok with a1c between 6.3 to 6.6 but recently it rocketed to 7.1 and I literally lost control of my bg. Went on essentially a carb starvation which brought my numbers down and seemed to reset my system. I discovered that I didn't need nearly as many carbs as experts recommend and finally cut out all conventional starches like cereal, bread, pasta and rice. Pretty much protein, vegetables & legumes. It's only been two weeks but my numbers are always good & I stopped using Metformin entirely. Bottom line is I wish I'd known about this 15 years ago.



Thank you.I have been doing exactly the same th...

2016-06-06T09:44:49.912+10:00

Thank you.I have been doing exactly the same thing for the past 10 or 15 years.i have been successful and do not check my BG regularly.My meals are perhaps a little bland but I do fine.



This makes so much sense to me. Eat, test, and th...

2013-02-12T08:14:40.749+11:00

This makes so much sense to me. Eat, test, and then adjust what I eat based upon the test results. I am glad I came here to find some help and information.



Sir, your blog is exactly what I needed to find. ...

2013-01-14T12:34:22.040+11:00

Sir, your blog is exactly what I needed to find. I have been tearing my hair out over trying to figure out what the "good foods" are, sorting through the conflicting advice, and wishing for clear, simple instructions (I'm an engineer, too).

'Test, test, test' is something I can do. Sounds like I need to get myself a meter!



I'm now not sure where you are getting your in...

2012-11-22T06:39:08.477+11:00

I'm now not sure where you are getting your info, but good topic. I needs to spend a while studying more or understanding more. Thanks for magnificent info I used to be searching for this information for my mission.
My weblog :: www.diabeteswarrior.net



Almost everyone in my family is diabetic except me...

2012-01-31T05:49:45.339+11:00

Almost everyone in my family is diabetic except me, but I was diagnosed as "prediabetic". My Mom's doctor says you are either diabetic or you aren't. He says there is no "pre".
I'm is confused!
MY doctor hasn't told me anything about changing my diet to testing. What now?



G'day Lefty :) Nice to meet you. Just for acc...

2011-11-28T20:12:11.263+11:00

G'day Lefty :)

Nice to meet you. Just for accuracy my A1c was 8.2% at diagnosis.

The metformin may take some time. Your dietary changes are more likely to be effective at this early stage.

Cheers, Alan



Thank you for your information and helpful attitud...

2011-11-28T14:01:10.150+11:00

Thank you for your information and helpful attitude for people like me who are lost in this new world of diabetic confusion. Although the doctor has told me I am not a diabetic, he said I am pre-diabetic and need to get it under control now.

Wow...I was scared that my A1c began at 5.9, then to 6.0 and now is 5.8 and some people here are at 10.1 and you were an 11!

I have only been on the Metformin for 5 days now. Not sure if this is helping me yet due to the fact that I read it takes a month or more to fully take effect.

Thanks again



I was just diagnosed last week, I too have an A1C ...

2011-09-04T21:50:52.730+10:00

I was just diagnosed last week, I too have an A1C level of 10.1. I appreciate your post, I'm starting now today to do what you said and see what works. Went to Dr. and was told to start meds immediately, but to not return for 3 mo., think I'll turn to specialist.



I was just diagnosed last week, I too have an A1C ...

2011-09-04T21:50:01.578+10:00

I was just diagnosed last week, I too have an A1C level of 10.1. I appreciate your post, I'm starting now today to do what you said and see what works. Went to Dr. and was told to start meds immediately, but to not return for 3 mo., think I'll turn to specialist.



Thanks Alan. Mary for ADA board

2011-08-27T03:10:25.603+10:00

Thanks Alan. Mary for ADA board



Mary from the ADA board here. Very good informati...

2011-08-27T03:09:55.901+10:00

Mary from the ADA board here. Very good information. Thank you.



Thank you, Alan! I appreciate your note and advic...

2010-12-28T11:34:19.929+11:00

Thank you, Alan! I appreciate your note and advice as I try to help my Dad stay healthy!
Cheers,
Shana :-)



Interesting post, amazing ideas. Keep writing!

2010-08-08T07:41:33.435+10:00

Interesting post, amazing ideas. Keep writing!



Alan, Thanks. I have just found out I have diabete...

2009-06-22T08:45:48.976+10:00

Alan, Thanks. I have just found out I have diabetes. My A1C was 10.
I have been reading your blog. It has helped me a lot. I did not realize that cereal and 2% milk was not helpful. I will be changing my breakfast, thanks to you.