Subscribe: Comments on: Preview and Chat: New Orleans Hornets
http://www.forumblueandgold.com/2007/01/19/preview-and-chat-new-orleans-hornets/feed/
Added By: Feedage Forager Feedage Grade B rated
Language: English
Tags:
cook  defense improve  defense lamar  defense  game  improve  kobe  lakers  lamar  phil  players  refs  smusher  substitutions unit  unit 
Rate this Feed
Rate this feedRate this feedRate this feedRate this feedRate this feed
Rate this feed 1 starRate this feed 2 starRate this feed 3 starRate this feed 4 starRate this feed 5 star

Comments (0)

Feed Details and Statistics Feed Statistics
Preview: Comments on: Preview and Chat: New Orleans Hornets

Comments on: Preview and Chat: New Orleans Hornets



A Lakers Blog. Thoughts, reflections, and the odd rant on the Los Angeles Lakers and the NBA (even the Clippers).



Last Build Date: Tue, 19 Sep 2017 22:45:28 +0000

 



By: DrRayEye

Mon, 22 Jan 2007 07:11:50 +0000

12 There is no doubt that defense is THE problem right now. What's frustrating to me is that it doesn't have to be that way. The best news is that it will get better when Kwame and Lamar return. As Kurt has pointed out many times, in many ways, Kwame makes a huge difference for Laker defense. Lamar plays defense and rebounds well. The two players most often mentioned as defensive liabilities are Parker and Cook. If Farmar were upgraded to the starting unit and given more minutes, with Smush/Sasha as situational substitutions, the first unit defense would improve--much more than the difference between the two players, becuase now all 5 could play as a unit. Like wise, if Turiaff were upgraded to the second unit, with Cook/Radman as situational substitutions for either the first or second unit, the second unit defense would improve.



By: Rob L.

Mon, 22 Jan 2007 04:52:23 +0000

On the lighter side, here's an article by Hollinger comparing NY and LA basketball traditions. NY Sun



By: Kas

Mon, 22 Jan 2007 04:20:41 +0000

On pace for 52 wins mid way thru the season, im happy. i like to think the basketball gods balance things out somehow and thats why we tend to sometimes lose to crappy teams. think about our record if we had our 26 win plus won some of the games we were "supposed" to win (bucks, bobcats, hornets(2), portland, wizards, griz) that would make put us at 33-8, best record in the NBA? so anyways i dont get to worried becuase things tend to balance themselves out and hopefully we will get our 50-55 wins and see what happens in the playoffs. p.s. has anyone seen that new nike com that has all the players signed by them in it (Kobe, Lebron, etc etc) its realllly awesome.



By: Rob L.

Mon, 22 Jan 2007 02:52:46 +0000

It's now official. The Lakers have a huge problem on defense. They have the 4th ranked offense, and the 24th ranked defense. When Lamar was injured the focus was on how the Lakers would replace his points and his boards. I need to dig deeper, but it seems clear his absence has upset the team D more than anything. There is time to correct this. But make no mistake, if the Lakers defense does not improve, this team will not make it out of the first round.



By: ian

Sun, 21 Jan 2007 22:34:12 +0000

I miss John R.



By: chris henderson

Sun, 21 Jan 2007 17:53:47 +0000

doesn't it seem like Kobe can't get no love from the refs? we were down 102 - 99 with the ball and Kobe drives the lane, gets stuffed, which could go either way, I've seen a lot less contact get the whistle? they get the rebound and go down and hit the 3 and now it's 105 - 99, and the game just slipped away, (on our next possession, it seemed like a frustration shot by Kobe a long shot 3 attempt, as if to say to the refs, "you took this game away") I wonder if he's got a bad rep with the refs? if they talk amomgst themselves and come up with a scheme to try to teach a lesson to certain players who are the most offensive in their minds of always complaining or calling them out in front of the crowd... anyway, I hate to blame a loss on the refs, (I know, John R is gonna come back and give me hell for this) but it seems like in the last few games, the calls are going against us.



By: Cary D

Sun, 21 Jan 2007 17:40:48 +0000

ugh...



By: DrRayEye

Sun, 21 Jan 2007 07:42:01 +0000

I credit Phil for finally banishing both Cook and Vladrad to the bench after he couldn't cajole them into correcting defensive gaffes. I appreciate that Phil took to relying on Turiaff, Farmar, and the hot hand of Evans to work with Kobe to bring the Lakers back. Then I marvel at his confidence to bring in one of the other banished players, the Smusher, to close out the game (even as the Smushaphobes closed their eyes and bowed their heads in prayer--unable to bear what they were sure would ensue). Was Phil expcting Smush to smother Pargo or stay in front of Jackson? Did he think that the Smusher was exceptiionally quick at getting back on defense? Or had Phil himself become a Smushoholic, willing to forgive the Smusher almost any lapse or error as long as he occasionally would resurrect another playground miracle? Go figure.



By: ian

Sun, 21 Jan 2007 07:03:24 +0000

I just don't understand the Lakers, how can you not bring your A-Game to this. A nic easy win would really boost them, but no they have to go and display their incredible sucktitude.



By: Muddywood

Sun, 21 Jan 2007 04:35:46 +0000

The game was, as Simon Cowell would say, PATHETIC.