Subscribe: Comments on One Word, One Rung, One Day: The Bone Pickers - A My Town Monday Book Review
http://traviserwin.blogspot.com/feeds/3858944688979112991/comments/default
Added By: Feedage Forager Feedage Grade B rated
Language: English
Tags:
amarillo public  amarillo  bone pickers  book  boulder theater  family  interesting  library multiple  multiple copies  read  set  town 
Rate this Feed
Rate this feedRate this feedRate this feedRate this feedRate this feed
Rate this feed 1 starRate this feed 2 starRate this feed 3 starRate this feed 4 starRate this feed 5 star

Comments (0)

Feed Details and Statistics Feed Statistics
Preview: Comments on One Word, One Rung, One Day: The Bone Pickers - A My Town Monday Book Review

Comments on Bacon, Beer, Books: The Bone Pickers - A My Town Monday Book Review





Updated: 2017-02-02T04:45:50.501-06:00

 



Amarillo Public Library has multiple copies of THE...

2015-02-09T23:20:26.569-06:00

Amarillo Public Library has multiple copies of THE BONE PICKERS, and has had for decades.



Amarillo Public Library has multiple copies of THE...

2015-02-09T23:19:54.636-06:00

Amarillo Public Library has multiple copies of THE BONE PICKERS, and has had for decades.



I received my copy of the Bone Pickers today, and ...

2014-01-07T22:53:42.008-06:00

I received my copy of the Bone Pickers today, and am so excited just to have it in my hands. You see, I have waited 56 years to read this book. I was born in Borger,TX in 1953 and after moving to Amarillo in 1958, I remember overhearing my parents discussing this book(yes, I was five, but I have phenomenal long term memory. Couldn't tell you what I had for lunch yesterday,but what I was up to 56 years ago is no stretch). I am not sure why it stuck with me, except that I certainly found the name odd, and oh yeah, my mother couldn't find a copy in Amarillo. That little fact was something I never forgot.



Your means of describing everything in this articl...

2013-04-23T09:10:48.455-05:00

Your means of describing everything in this article is genuinely fastidious, every one
can simply know it, Thanks a lot.

Here is my blog :: bmi calculator for men




2012-10-25T06:09:52.905-05:00

This comment has been removed by the author.



I've just stumbled onto this review. This book...

2011-11-04T00:27:52.924-05:00

I've just stumbled onto this review. This book, and the story of the Wittenbergs has been a legend within my family. My mother grew up in Borger Tx, about 50 miles north of Amarillo. A story that holds from my grandad was a time when all the locals were called upon (nay, expected) to go searching for "crazy" Jake Wittenberg. They searched all through the night only to find out that he had been hiding in the barn all along.

The stories about pulling the books is true. Not sure how Tech got to republish it, but supposedly the family bought up the rights. I'm reading the book for the first time, my grandmothers 1958 copy. Lucky thing about having family from the area for so long.

It is strange to read a book so deeply vetted in your community. The town has changed, sure. But the way people behave and the social contracts between your neighbors is still present, especially in smaller surrounding towns like Pampa.



It is very interesting for me to read this article...

2009-11-18T14:46:38.113-06:00

It is very interesting for me to read this article. Thanks for it. I like such themes and everything connected to this matter. I definitely want to read a bit more soon.



Ahh, yes. I know that book well. I've only read it...

2008-10-10T08:43:00.000-05:00

Ahh, yes. I know that book well. I've only read it once but the copy I read is a legendary piece of my family's personal library.

As for your two theories on why the novel disappeared as fast it came, from what I recall, it was a little bit of both. Not only were the Whittenbergs wealthy, they owned the town newspaper. As I remember being told, the Whittenbergs bought every copy they could find as well as sicking their lawyers on the author and publisher.

It is a good book and well-written. Some of the scandals seem tame by today's standards but the dynamics of a rich and powerful family ring true.



I did grow up in the 50s in Amarillo and I can ide...

2008-06-08T12:50:00.000-05:00

I did grow up in the 50s in Amarillo and I can identify with the characters from The Bone Pickers, some were my neighbors, some were just the "family from the ranch", but all were well known in some form. There may have been some exaggeration in some descriptions but that family still lives on and has pretty colorful characters.



Mine's up. Sort of. :)

2008-05-13T20:22:00.000-05:00

Mine's up. Sort of. :)



Travis- The only movie I can think of is Witness. ...

2008-05-13T13:54:00.000-05:00

Travis- The only movie I can think of is Witness. Certainly not recent, but parts of it were filmed in the fields along my school bus route.



A day late due to traveling, my post is up. I'll b...

2008-05-13T10:54:00.000-05:00

A day late due to traveling, my post is up. I'll be back later to read.



TE: I was wondering how this book compared to OIL ...

2008-05-13T10:29:00.000-05:00

TE: I was wondering how this book compared to OIL by Sinclair Lewis/basis of THERE WILL BE BLOOD. Did you read that? See the movie?

I'll check out both books and the flick.



More oddities from the Panhandle... hmmmm.. intere...

2008-05-13T06:26:00.000-05:00

More oddities from the Panhandle... hmmmm.. interesting.



Amazing story - I had trouble this week writing ab...

2008-05-13T03:59:00.000-05:00

Amazing story - I had trouble this week writing about a fiction event so twisted it a bit to write about a true account of a book written about the execution of a local man !



Oh- RE: Boulder Theater: Smallish venue, great sou...

2008-05-12T16:57:00.000-05:00

Oh- RE: Boulder Theater:
Smallish venue, great sound, sort of Boulder ecletic. A friend of mine had a CD release party/concert there and it was fantastic.



Hey T- Boulder Theater is actually one of the few ...

2008-05-12T16:55:00.000-05:00

Hey T- Boulder Theater is actually one of the few venues I've gotten to check out while living in Colorado. Very cool, should be an AWESOME show. If we were staying here and knew what was up with the house, etc. I would SO go to the show- I've had my eye on it! Steve Earle is great anywhere, but yeah, it would be worth a trip to the Boulder Theater. :) IF we are still here (and please don't take it personally, but Lord, PLEASE don't let us be here!) we'd love to meet y'all at the Rio for margaritas!



ooooh. i love a bit of possibly-true scandal ficti...

2008-05-12T16:26:00.000-05:00

ooooh. i love a bit of possibly-true scandal fiction. gonna have to get a read of that.

and what a great idea for a theme. although i' pretty sure no books have been set in my town. would state count? i think i have a book set in my state. not my current one, as i'm in wales. my home one.

oh wait. it was just this week, yeah? no way i'm reading that book and posting about it tonight. i'll just enjoy yours. :)



This is a cool idea! I can't think of any novels s...

2008-05-12T15:05:00.000-05:00

This is a cool idea!

I can't think of any novels set in my town...Near my town, sure. In Orange County, absolutely. Lots of songs and TV shows set around us, though. Although, it was the oil boom that brought everyone out around the turn of the twentieth century.



I looked but couldn't find a single book based in ...

2008-05-12T14:45:00.000-05:00

I looked but couldn't find a single book based in Welwyn Garden City , so I did a regular MTM.

Yours was an interesting story though!!



I did a MTM post, too.

2008-05-12T14:33:00.000-05:00

I did a MTM post, too.



Very interesting, Travis.I did a regular My Town M...

2008-05-12T12:45:00.000-05:00

Very interesting, Travis.

I did a regular My Town Monday post because I didn't have time to read a book set in the area. Maybe next time.

Linda



Wait, there was a nonfiction book set mostly in my...

2008-05-12T12:05:00.000-05:00

Wait, there was a nonfiction book set mostly in my home town, "Best lawyer in a one laywer town" by Dale Bumpers



this is a cool idea, but I don't think there has b...

2008-05-12T12:03:00.000-05:00

this is a cool idea, but I don't think there has been any novels published that feature my home town. The town of "Deerhaven" in my "Cold in the Light" thriller is basically Charleston, Arkansas so I suppose that counts.



Thomma Lyn - thanks it is a great read.WordVixen -...

2008-05-12T11:34:00.000-05:00

Thomma Lyn - thanks it is a great read.

WordVixen - Seen any good movies there lately you'd like to recommend?

Barrie - It truly is a Texas classic.

Miladysa - Yes there are still mnay of their descendants in town though the players in the novel may all be dead. Interesting enough, a high percentage of those family tree are now lawyers which is exactly why I didn't state their name in this post.

Chris - Like the novel the title has many layers. When the family gets together to discuss business they say they have a few bones to pick but it also is indicative of their scavenger like qualities.

Ello -But it was fun work.