Subscribe: Comments on ERV: EXPELLED: For an Amazon.com review??
http://endogenousretrovirus.blogspot.com/feeds/4116803492646523061/comments/default
Added By: Feedage Forager Feedage Grade B rated
Language: English
Tags:
bitch biosphere  dembski  foul mouthed  foul  frothing bitch  ftk  hateful foul  hateful  kwok  mouthed frothing  mouthed  review 
Rate this Feed
Rate this feedRate this feedRate this feedRate this feedRate this feed
Rate this feed 1 starRate this feed 2 starRate this feed 3 starRate this feed 4 starRate this feed 5 star

Comments (0)

Feed Details and Statistics Feed Statistics
Preview: Comments on ERV: EXPELLED: For an Amazon.com review??

Comments on ERV: EXPELLED: For an Amazon.com review??





Updated: 2017-08-14T20:42:45.026-05:00

 



ERV, did you hear that Kwok's review was reinstate...

2007-12-24T21:20:00.000-06:00

ERV, did you hear that Kwok's review was reinstated?

You know why? Because Kwok posted this in the comments section:

"Dear Bill:

You have until NOON EST tomorrow to have Amazon.com reinstate my review of the "The Design of Life". If you do not, then I will write to Dr. Robert Zimmer (Stuyvesant HS '64), formerly Provost, Brown University, and currently, President, University of Chicago, to insist that he initiate a course of action that will result in having you stripped of your 1988 Ph. D. degree in Mathematics for an ongoing series of actions - of which this is but the latest - which demonstrate that you lack the moral turpitude to retain possession of this degree.

You should also be aware that I have bcc'd copies of this e-mail to two reporters from prominent USA newspapers : The New York Times and The Washington Post. I have also bcc'd a Pulitzer Prize-winning journalist, and a fourth journalist as well.

Respectfully yours,

John Kwok"


He also wrote this:
"Dear Jedidiah,

Bill D. asked Amazon.com to delete my review. So I decided to issue him an ultimatum to have it restored by NOON EST the following day (see either two in tents' post or especially mine for the text of the ultimatum) or else suffer the consequences. The Discovery Institute fascist had no choice but to comply with my ultimatum.

Best regards,

John"

see his comment here (click)

That's TOTAL PWNAGE!!!

Dumbeski = Kwok's PwNz0rD!



This is great. It didn't take long for the anti-I...

2007-12-20T17:41:00.000-06:00

This is great. It didn't take long for the anti-ID crowd to swamp the ratings. It's almost like Darwinian selection for review strength. The 1 star reviews are winning...



Nah, if FTK were Christopher Hitchens the writing ...

2007-12-20T12:48:00.000-06:00

Nah, if FTK were Christopher Hitchens the writing would be better.

Besides, I think CH would show amused contempt, not seething hatred of his/her own.



I think here Dembski has taught us by his example:...

2007-12-13T12:42:00.000-06:00

I think here Dembski has taught us by his example:

http://www.pandasthumb.org/archives/2004/10/war-of-reviews.html

If only all reviewers behaved like this.



Over on SFN, Halfmooner just posted this article o...

2007-12-10T10:21:00.000-06:00

Over on SFN, Halfmooner just posted this article of a Florida Education official who sent out emails from her personal account to try to get other people to oppose that state's science standards, apparently because they included evolution. She did not get canned.

No "expulsion" there.



Ftk: "You have got to be the most hateful, foul mo...

2007-12-09T15:25:00.000-06:00

Ftk: "You have got to be the most hateful, foul mouthed, frothing bitch in the biosphere."

Hateful? Foul mouthed? Naah. I don't see any. And I'd take "frothing bitch" and "horrific display of seething hatred" as simple projection.

Ftk, I almost feel your pain. It must be devastating seeing a graduate student expose your heroes for the dishonest hypocritical charlatans they are. But the rational response to that would be to re-examine your own position, not to leak out all over the place.




2007-12-09T15:17:00.000-06:00

This comment has been removed by the author.



And my internet crush deepens...No, not you FtK. Y...

2007-12-09T11:59:00.000-06:00

And my internet crush deepens...

No, not you FtK. You're a wet noodle who wouldn't see the ocean if you were stranded on Giligan's island by yourself.



Heh. Speaking of "Expelled" and all the whining t...

2007-12-09T10:43:00.000-06:00

Heh. Speaking of "Expelled" and all the whining that the IDists have been doing lately; get a load of this

And here's the scientist's side:

But on Nov. 17, Hahn asked him to resign, pointing out in the letter that Abraham should have known of evolution's centrality to the project because it was evident from the job advertisement and grant proposal.

". . . You have indicated that you do not recognize the concept of biological evolution and you would not agree to include a full discussion of the evolutionary implications and interpretations of our research in any co-authored publications resulting from this work," Hahn wrote in the letter, which the commission provided to the Globe. "This position is incompatible with the work as proposed to NIH and with my own vision of how it should be carried out and interpreted."

The commission [the Massachusetts Commission Against Discrimination] dismissed his complaint earlier this year. The commission said Abraham was terminated because his request not to work on evolutionary aspects of the project would be challenging for Woods Hole because the research was based on evolutionary theories.


How much you want to bet that AIG and/or the DI are going to jump on this?



You have got to be the most hateful, foul mouthed,...

2007-12-08T22:45:00.000-06:00

You have got to be the most hateful, foul mouthed, frothing bitch in the biosphere.

First, the idea of that statement coming from someone with a blog called "Reasonable Kansans"...the irony, she gave me a cramp.

Secondly, she is not. She's not even close to Violent Acres. Really, that woman don't leave kansas much, does she.



Is it too soon to start with the Abbie For Preside...

2007-12-08T17:17:00.000-06:00

Is it too soon to start with the Abbie For President campaign?

J-Dog



I think it's fair to say, at this point, that Abbi...

2007-12-08T14:07:00.000-06:00

I think it's fair to say, at this point, that Abbie has the ID hate machine in high gear against her. I don't blame em', she's kicked so much ass in these last few months that their kids are gonna inherit a colon deficit. It's at least clear at this point that FtK is bitter over it. Such things bring a smile to my face.



"forthekids": First, don't come for my kids! If ...

2007-12-08T09:22:00.000-06:00

"forthekids": First, don't come for my kids! If you know what's good for you, you'll stay the fuck away from them.

I would love to be considered "the most hateful, foul mouthed, frothing son-of-a-bitch in the biosphere" by IDiot peckerwoods like yourself, you nasty, spirit-haunted, anti-rational moron.
You throw out such hatred simply because twice recently Abbie has delivered wounds to the moronic ID Creationist simps whose pimply arses you love to kiss. Better come up with a lot more insults, for a lot more people, because the downfall of you and your lying heroes is beginning to accelerate.

Dover. Live with it, be-atch.

-- HalfMooner



I liked Kwok's "review." Sure, he hadn't read Dem...

2007-12-08T09:00:00.000-06:00

I liked Kwok's "review." Sure, he hadn't read Dembski's new book, but he didn't pretend to have done so. Kwok had cogent comments giving a background of the debate, than anyone considering buying the book ought to know about, including his own exchanges with Dembski.

Amazon went way wrong in deleting that very useful commentary.

-- HalfMooner



"You have got to be the most hateful, foul mouthed...

2007-12-07T16:02:00.000-06:00

"You have got to be the most hateful, foul mouthed, frothing bitch in the biosphere."

And thank Eris for her.

Intelligent Design Creationism has been discussed on its merits and found sorely lacking. No one can honestly consider it a legitimate scientific endeavor. The fact that it is still being pushed so deceitfully means there are only two possible responses.

The first is to laugh at the supporters. Whether they are too willfully uneducated to realize that they are mouthing nonsense or they are too ethically challenged to care. In either case, mocking laughter is warranted.

The second is the type of public derision our gonzo biologist hostess does so well. We should be angry that these dishonest intellectual midgets are trying to destroy our country's educational system. Why do they hate America so much?

The ID movement has sown nothing but ignorance and lies, now they are reaping laughter and scorn. The Goddess is just.



I said in jest on my blog that FTK is really Chris...

2007-12-07T12:57:00.000-06:00

I said in jest on my blog that FTK is really Christopher Hitchens pretending to be an irrational Christian behaving in unchristian ways to discredit Christianity. I'm only slightly surprised how many people found it plausible. I guess it is hard to believe that someone could do so much to discredit Christianity and really, truly believe that she is spreading the Gospel. It is as though she doesn't realize that, while Christopher Hitchens is largely preaching to the choir, people like FTK actually drive away people who might, if they encountered intelligent, educated, well-informed Christians like Ken Miller or Francis Collins, might not have anything against it.

As a Christian, all I can say is that no system of thought, nor any scientific conclusion, should be judged on the basis of the human beings in any tradition who do evil in its name. I can also say that those who have studied Christianity and know what it teaches about the importance of things like truth will support ERV and the scientists over pseudochristians like FTK.



I had my review of Sarfati's book taken down twice...

2007-12-07T11:18:00.000-06:00

I had my review of Sarfati's book taken down twice.

I just kept re-submitting it and it is still there.

But how... pathetic that they will lobby to have critical reviews removed.

Their antics smack of Big Brother, and the more politicla clout they think they have, the worse it gets.



You have got to be the most hateful, foul mouthed,...

2007-12-07T08:16:00.000-06:00

You have got to be the most hateful, foul mouthed, frothing bitch in the biosphere.

Which is why she's awesome. I wish I got the ovaries to take you IDiots on without breaking a sweat.

By the way I love that Amazon review you posted. I too am a Stuyvesant Alum, and it's glad to hear that this pseudoscience bullshit will not be taught in my alma mater. EVER.



"Atheists might be afraid of peanut butter and ban...

2007-12-07T07:23:00.000-06:00

"Atheists might be afraid of peanut butter and bananas..."

Actually, I think overall I was more frightened by the repressed homoeroticism of the banana clip. Not because I have ill-will toward gays or anything, but because they honestly don't seem to think anyone noticed...



OK, Denyse O'Leary called me an "ill-tempered illi...

2007-12-07T00:37:00.000-06:00

OK, Denyse O'Leary called me an "ill-tempered illiterate", but Abbie is now the "most hateful, foul mouthed, frothing bitch in the biosphere." I think she wins.

Unless the profile of the critic factors into this contest. . . ?



Long post, but good though. Youre right, of course...

2007-12-06T23:49:00.000-06:00

Long post, but good though. Youre right, of course, about the hypocrisy of the IDers especially Dembski. His "review" stunt was just rediculous.



ERV:Meh, its a complement. Atheists might be afrai...

2007-12-06T23:19:00.000-06:00

ERV:

Meh, its a complement. Atheists might be afraid of peanut butter and bananas, but Fundies are scared shitless of young, happy, healthy, intelligent atheists. We must be 'seething' and 'hateful'. We just GOTTA be!
FtK and I have been over this, but maybe ID adversely effects ones memory (points at Dembski again).


Actually, atheists don't need to be scared of the banana argument.

Mind you, when you read the link, you find that Comfort is apparently going back on his renunciation of it.


Not that it matters; the banana argument was stupid anyway: it was human selective breeding; not god that made it the way it is today. Comfort should instead try to find a way to explain why the coconut or the pineapple are not such easy, friendly foods to eat, like the banana is.



Glen-- I think it IS a good review. Dembski has no...

2007-12-06T22:46:00.000-06:00

Glen-- I think it IS a good review. Dembski has not released anything since Dover, and 'Design' is the sequel to 'Pandas'. It is VERY important that a school board member who thinks 'Design' is a *safe* alternative for their school knows that their decision to adopt this book will lead their district into another Dover. Though I agree, that if you dont know this, his comments about Dover/schools could seem superfluous.

I was thinking more on the order of Amazon's perspective, which presumably revolves around dealing with the specifics (not that the IDiots did). And I did include a major caveat, "...other than in putting Dembski's and Wells's book into perspective...."

And sure, that really is what's important overall. One could probably just put in the same reviews that exist for "Design Inference," with the same rot from the IDists, and same the telling arguments against ID from the pro-science side, and it would make little difference except for some names.

They're just going through the motions, recycling the same bad arguments and lying accusations that have become dangerously monotonous to those who wish to maintain science's integrity. And as such, Kwok's review hardly needed exposure to the specific forms of their tiresome cant in order to discuss what's really wrong with the book, nor to make the usual yet unanswered charges against that nonsense.

But I doubt that Amazon looks at it that way--after all, they do want to sell BS as much as they wish to sell the arguments against that BS. Indeed, for them a trumped-up "controversy" is simply a win-win situation.

Glen Davidson



Well, ERV, I'd rather be hateful, foul-mouthed, fr...

2007-12-06T22:44:00.000-06:00

Well, ERV, I'd rather be hateful, foul-mouthed, frothing smart (like you!) than thick-as-two-planks stoopid like some people we *coughFtKcough* know.

Wet rat.

Wonderful! You must have seen Dembski in his famous sweater. It's even Norwegian wharf rat grey.



lol@reynold-- blogger hates everyone, formatting i...

2007-12-06T22:10:00.000-06:00

lol@reynold-- blogger hates everyone, formatting is impossible in these comments

cj-- My only request is that you take it down if I ask :)

Glen-- I think it IS a good review. Dembski has not released anything since Dover, and 'Design' is the sequel to 'Pandas'. It is VERY important that a school board member who thinks 'Design' is a *safe* alternative for their school knows that their decision to adopt this book will lead their district into another Dover. Though I agree, that if you dont know this, his comments about Dover/schools could seem superfluous.

Tyler/Thom/pleco-- Meh, its a complement. Atheists might be afraid of peanut butter and bananas, but Fundies are scared shitless of young, happy, healthy, intelligent atheists. We must be 'seething' and 'hateful'. We just GOTTA be!
FtK and I have been over this, but maybe ID adversely effects ones memory (points at Dembski again).