Subscribe: The Old New Thing
http://blogs.msdn.com/oldnewthing/rss.aspx
Preview: The Old New Thing

The Old New Thing





Last Build Date: Thu, 27 Apr 2017 14:00:02 +0000

 



Static hooking through predefinition

Thu, 27 Apr 2017 14:00:00 +0000

Creating your own hook points.



Why are there two incompatible ways of specifying a serial port baud rate?

Wed, 26 Apr 2017 14:00:00 +0000

Toto, I don't think we're on an IBM PC XT any more.



How do I kill a program that hung with an always-on-top fullscreen window?

Tue, 25 Apr 2017 14:00:00 +0000

Hey, look at that desktop over there.



Filtering the Browse for Folder dialog so it shows only drive letters

Mon, 24 Apr 2017 14:00:00 +0000

An exercise in filtering.



Application crash reported as security vulnerability, but you never crossed the airtight hatchway

Fri, 21 Apr 2017 14:00:00 +0000

A crash is not a priori a security vulnerability.



On generating sentinel pointer values in Windows

Thu, 20 Apr 2017 14:00:00 +0000

That's not a pointer. This is a pointer.



Under what conditions could a commit of reserved memory fail?

Wed, 19 Apr 2017 14:00:00 +0000

Usually because you are out of memory, but really it's when you're out of commit.



That time a customer reported an error in the map used by Flight Simulator

Tue, 18 Apr 2017 14:00:00 +0000

But whose map is right?



Why does my __FILE__ macro produce an invalid address, which mysteriously becomes valid a few moments later?

Mon, 17 Apr 2017 14:00:00 +0000

It's not there until somebody demands it.



How can I atomically leave a critical section and delete it?

Fri, 14 Apr 2017 14:00:00 +0000

Even if you could, it wouldn't help you.