Subscribe: Paper Cuts
Preview: Paper Cuts

ArtsBeat » » Books

New York Times Blog

Last Build Date: Thu, 12 Oct 2017 15:41:24 +0000


Long-Lost Letter from Neal Cassady to Jack Kerouac Headed to Auction (Again)

Wed, 18 May 2016 19:11:32 +0000

After some legal wrangling, a letter from Neal Cassady to Jack Kerouac will be offered at auction.

Juan Felipe Herrera Named to Second Term as Poet Laureate

Thu, 14 Apr 2016 00:00:51 +0000

The Library of Congress appoints Juan Felipe Herrera to a second term as United States poet laureate.

Chris Jackson to Lead One World Imprint at Random House

Mon, 11 Apr 2016 19:01:03 +0000

Mr. Jackson, who has been an executive editor at Spiegel & Grau, will officially restart the One World imprint in fall 2017.

Media Files:

Live Reading of Martha Graham Memoir (All of It)

Wed, 06 Apr 2016 20:01:30 +0000

The reading will commemorate the 90th anniversary of Graham’s first public performance with a group of dancers.

Meg Rosoff Wins Astrid Lindgren Children’s Book Prize

Wed, 06 Apr 2016 15:45:25 +0000

The American writer Meg Rosoff won the Astrid Lindgren Memorial Award for her wide-ranging oeuvre, which includes coming-of-age stories like “Picture Me Gone” and “How I Live Now.”

James Hannaham Wins PEN/Faulkner Award for Fiction

Tue, 05 Apr 2016 16:41:38 +0000

Mr. Hannaham won the $15,00 prize for his second novel, "Delicious Foods."

Media Files:

Plus-Size Superhero Gets Her Own Series

Mon, 04 Apr 2016 16:04:54 +0000

The heroine Faith Hebert will get her own monthly series from Valiant Comics, starting in July.

Whiting Foundation Announces Winners of 2016 Awards for Writing

Wed, 23 Mar 2016 11:30:12 +0000

Each of the 10 chosen writers receiving a cash award of $50,000. The awards are given for “early-career achievement and the promise of superior literary work to come,” according to the Whiting Foundation.

Bancroft Prize Awarded to Books on Constitutional Convention and Native Americans

Wed, 16 Mar 2016 17:42:46 +0000

The Bancroft Prize, one of the most prestigious honors in the field of American history, is awarded to three books.

Stephen Greenblatt Wins Holberg Prize

Fri, 11 Mar 2016 14:28:36 +0000

The Harvard scholar Stephen Greenblatt, known for his Shakespeare studies, wins the Holberg Prize.