Subscribe: Comments on: Review: Winning Results with Google AdWords
http://www.mattcutts.com/blog/review-winning-results-with-google-adwords/feed/
Added By: Feedage Forager Feedage Grade B rated
Language: English
Tags:
adwords  andrew  book review  book  clue agenda  don  google  matt  people clue  people  read  reading  review  sites  someone  web 
Rate this Feed
Rate this feedRate this feedRate this feedRate this feedRate this feed
Rate this feed 1 starRate this feed 2 starRate this feed 3 starRate this feed 4 starRate this feed 5 star

Comments (0)

Feed Details and Statistics Feed Statistics
Preview: Comments on: Review: Winning Results with Google AdWords

Comments on: Review: Winning Results with Google AdWords





Last Build Date: Tue, 23 Jan 2018 04:09:31 +0000

 



By: Marc Gander

Tue, 04 Jul 2006 15:59:37 +0000

Have we incurred the wrath of Google A friend and I in UK decided in January to setup a website to challenge default charges by British Banks. We were amazed when within 3 months we a membership of 10,000 and now almost 6 months later we have a membership of 40,000!! and growing at a rate of over 400 people per day. The number of guests we receive are just enormous. We expect to have over 75,000 people by the end of the year. We have hundreds of sites linking to us and talking about is. Even PR 8 and 9 BBC sites are linking to us. We have been on TV and Radio. We are all about bank charges. Yet we are nowhere in the Google rankings. Someone said that you have a "sandbox" where some sites are put because their results are so huge that they are suspected of spamming. Are we in the sanbox? If we are, how can we find out? We are a non-profit making site run by volunteers and a few donations. We are helping a lot of people and the UK banks have already repaid over £4 million because of us. Maybe it is just that our SEO is no good - in which case we will work on it. On the other hand, if it is true that we are under suspicion from Google, then could someone check us out because we are very real - not spammers. I hope that this post isn't out of place here. regards Marc



By: Nikki

Thu, 01 Jun 2006 17:06:41 +0000

Andrew, I know I wasn't attacking your book and I want you to know that too. In my first entry, I was commenting on a book review which I did read, not on the book itself which I didn't read. I was questioning where Matt was coming from recommending a book on Adwords, a product his company sells. I don't agree that it's hypothetical to question a source. Maybe for some people it is :) At any rate, I've reconsidered and see that my initial reaction to Matt's review was a little naive -- in retrospect, I feel his review was entirely appropriate and helpful. Google's methodology for Adsense and Adwords is complex and someone with Google is in a better position to know whether a writer, like yourself, understands Adwords and explains it well. Clearly, Matt feels you do, and certainly Google has a vested interest in having people understand how to use their products. I'm glad for the opportunity to restate that here. Very simply, my comments aren't prompted by a lack of trust in your $16 book, Andrew. I tend to question where information comes from, whether I read it in a $16 book, a 75 cent newspaper, or a free book review on the Internet. Don't you do that too? After all, you went to grad school, right? I went to college too. My degree is in critical analysis and I spent years working in law evaluating information, including autopsy reports, financial records and "expert" opinions. Honestly Andrew, it's not the money that matters, it's the value of the information. Again, I see the value in Matt's review. I'm sure I'll see the value in your book.



By: Andrew G

Thu, 01 Jun 2006 11:59:41 +0000

Nikki, I'm not sure I really understand this mentality about lacking trust in a $16 book. I plowed through thousands of books when in graduate school, at great expense, so maybe I have a different perspective. When you're in an airport, don't you pick up light reading? Isn't that just the price of reading? In any case, where you should be sceptical is about claims that any advice can help you "get rich". To be clear, my experience in consulting is with companies of various sizes (but not typically as small as yours) who need help managing their marketing and growing their sales. I do *not* claim to be able to help complete shoestring operations turn a profit - rather, my experience is mostly with companies with decent marketing budgets. As for your claim that you're approaching this analytically, no you aren't, if you're talking hypothetically about a book you haven't read. So this thread was about a book review. That was its title. I am still grateful that Matt reviewed my book, and yes, certainly there are commercial aspects to why we are here. I honestly don't do AdWords as a hobby, but as a business. In a world where every second talk show is geared towards plugging some general-interest book or movie, it seems comparatively tame that people who are in a niche industry might help a bit to get the word out about that industry. For the record, I moderate on a couple of industry forums where the discussion does of course flow freely about many topics, and self-promo is banned. But that being said, you're allowed to talk about products, services, and ideas, and the people behind them. That's all an industry is. Without the commercial side it would be more like a sport... or art... if you believe those things aren't commercial that is. :)



By: Nikki

Fri, 26 May 2006 17:14:57 +0000

Guys, I'm new to the PPC, Adsense and Adwords arenas. I spent 20 years in a law firm and retired in December to take care of a sick parent and start a 100% online business developing web sites and web content, writing every day, and even buying decent domain names. I'm no where near covering the salary I gave up, but we're managing not to hit the savings and I'm not greedy. I have several web sites, including AddMultimedia.Com (no Google on that one), and a site where I promote my voice-over skills (I was a narrator and sound engineer in college, pre-digital). Frankly, though it's been a real challenge setting up pages to get contextually relevant Adsense to come up. So now I wondered if I should shift and learn about Adwords and start launching Adwords campaigns. I'm going to read both Goodman's book and Giguere's, but frankly I remain skeptical. I honestly don't want to be critical but, isn't this all just a little self-serving? A lot of comments here have been about how noble Matt was in not accepting a review copy of Winning, but, Matt, don't you work for Google? When you promote a how-to book on Adwords (a product your company sells), aren't you self-promoting? I'm just trying to figure out how on the level you guys are being and whether I'm investing my time wisely in reading this blog and these books. I'm not sure what kind of response I'm expecting to this. I'm very much for learning and understand how to apply what I read, so even if portions of Goodman's books may be outdated (as anything remotely Internet will become), I'm sure I'll find something useful there. I'm also looking forward to Giguere's book and newsletters (which I just signed up for). The whole initial idea of this was to develop better web designs and web content for clients who will be more dependant on SEO, page ranking and possibly monetizing their own sites. I'm in no current position to offer them guidance, but I learn by doing. Maybe others not trying to sell a book here or promote their company's products will want to chime in here. Again, I'm not out to slam anyone here. I'm just trying to approach this analytically, which at first means with skepticism and a lack of trust. That doesn't tend to engender warm, fuzzy feelings in the people my questions may be directed to. In the same breath, I want to thank Matt, Andrew and Eric for sharing their experiences. I do sincerely appreciate that.



By: Michelle

Mon, 15 May 2006 18:23:05 +0000

I'd be a bit nervous about eating something from someone i didn't know. Yuck. you never know what could be in it or what happened to it! B E W A R E



By: Ian

Mon, 15 May 2006 08:57:22 +0000

Matt - you might end up with a large number of pens in the post from your readers after that! :D



By: Adam Senour

Sun, 14 May 2006 23:36:15 +0000

What I look for are references/feedback from people who have a clue and no agenda.
http://www.google.com/search?hl=en&lr=&rls=GGLG%2CGGLG%3A2006-19%2CGGLG%3Aen&q=%22people+with+a+clue%22+-agenda&btnG=Search Apparently you're not going to find too many of those.



By: Andrew G

Sat, 13 May 2006 17:29:18 +0000

P.S. Read the UK reviews (on Amazon). Now those are some dialed-in people! :)



By: What a Maroon

Sat, 13 May 2006 01:33:26 +0000

I am a skeptic and a critic. I pay little attention to reviews except my own. What I look for are references/feedback from people who have a clue and no agenda. Matt fits that category with respect to AdSense. However I still wasnt biting until I read your Andrew. Hopefully you make more than 80 cents from the ebook so you can take your wife out for the dinner she deserves (the spouse of a writer usually deserves more than they get to make for what they put up with when one is writing a book).



By: Victor Caballero

Fri, 12 May 2006 21:16:07 +0000

Andrew, I appreciate your posting as I am sure others do. I was getting ready to order your book on your site now I will for sure. Keep the editions updated! Looking forward to reading your book. -Victor