Subscribe: Book Reviews: Lifestyle Articles from EzineArticles.com
http://ezinearticles.com/rss/Book-Reviews-Lifestyle.xml
Added By: Feedage Forager Feedage Grade B rated
Language: English
Tags:
author  book review  book  books  change  life  lifestyle  living  make  new  people  read  review  time  world  written 
Rate this Feed
Rate this feedRate this feedRate this feedRate this feedRate this feed
Rate this feed 1 starRate this feed 2 starRate this feed 3 starRate this feed 4 starRate this feed 5 star

Comments (0)

Feed Details and Statistics Feed Statistics
Preview: Book Reviews: Lifestyle Articles from EzineArticles.com

Book Reviews:Lifestyle Articles from EzineArticles.com





Published: Sat, 24 Feb 2018 18:41:39 -0600

 



New Book Teaches How to Attract Money Through Thought and Action

Tue, 19 Dec 2017 15:02:57 -0600

In "Vibrational Money Immersion," Ray Higdon teaches us how to change our mindset about money so we can attract it. The book is a blend of secrets learned from past authors like Napoleon Hill, along with Higdon's own personal stories and experiences about how he has attracted more money into his life.



Corn, Cotton and Chocolate: How the Maya Changed the World

Tue, 03 Oct 2017 14:14:07 -0500

The Mayan civilization existed longer than any other culture on the face of our planet. Author and researcher James O'Kon put together this taut reference guide that is sure to open up many eyes to the breadth of contributions these people made on today's world.



Book Reveals That Our Social Impact Personality Type Determines How We Do Good

Tue, 17 Jan 2017 13:02:21 -0600

In "Do Good, Feel Better," Laura McKnight reveals the different personality types of charitable minded people and how we can all find ways to help others in ways that are compatible with our preferences. She offers a quiz to help us determine our type, and plenty of inspiration for how we can all make this world a better place.



Stop Negativity - The 10 Day Challenge With Anthony Robbins

Fri, 02 Dec 2016 07:58:26 -0600

This challenge is taken from his book "Awaken the Giant Within" as it is such a tomb 539 pages I have selected parts to review. I, like millions of others an a great fan of Anthony Robbins. I will tell you about the challenge, but there are also many other benefits from reading the book; It is a work-book.



Do You Believe in Mind Power?

Mon, 15 Aug 2016 09:41:57 -0500

A favourite book of mine "The Power of Your Subconscious Mind" by Dr Joseph Murphy, explains clearly how we can access our mind-power to achieve our greatest dreams; cure bad habits, like alcoholism, smoking, overeating, etc. How to overcome fears and improve poor health. In fact he cures his own malignant growth using mind-power.



Do It - A Practical Guide to Living Your Dreams

Thu, 28 Jul 2016 10:47:03 -0500

My passion is "Mind Power" and understanding how the brain can assist us in living our dreams. We can do this by tapping into our own resources, in a way that enables this to happen much more easily. Practises like NLP, visualisation, affirmations repetition, and belief help us. We have to know the comfort zone can trick us with fear of the unknown.



How Satisfied Are You With Your Current Life-Plan?

Tue, 05 Jul 2016 09:37:19 -0500

Psycho-Cybernetics is essentially about changing habits, you belief system and your habits of action, and therefore how you react to life-events. Psycho-cybernetics the brain-child of Maxwell Maltz, can help you change your outlook and how you view your capabilities, and therefore your life.



Michelle Bridges - Total Body Transformation Journal

Wed, 06 Apr 2016 07:29:59 -0500

Michelle has worked in the fitness industry for over 20 years. She has trained thousands through her 12 Week Body Transformation programs, DVDs and TV series The Biggest Loser. Now she can help more with this amazing journal.



Follow Me - Francesca Moi Book Review

Mon, 04 Apr 2016 10:28:46 -0500

Francesca Moi is the Meet Up Queen. She can help you to build your ideal lifestyle. Just Follow Me!



Awaken The Giant Within - A Tony Robbins Review

Mon, 04 Apr 2016 10:09:04 -0500

I once remembered Tony Robbins as the creator of info-commercials. He is so much more than that now. He has changed millions of lives and you don't need to attend a seminar.



Pat Meseti - Millionaire Mindset

Fri, 01 Apr 2016 10:13:41 -0500

Pat Meseti is the author of Millionaire Mindset and is a great mindset coach. Pat can be seen at many speaking and coaching events throughout Australia.



Crunch Time - Michelle Bridges

Fri, 01 Apr 2016 08:19:10 -0500

While Michelle Bridges does bring to mind yelling and screaming contestants, she has also helped a lot of people succeed. Have you ever been on the weight loss journey without support?



Tara Stiles - Teaching Us About The Yoga Lifestyle

Mon, 28 Mar 2016 07:03:45 -0500

Tara Stiles is the founder of Strala Yoga, a Yoga Instructor, Author, Model and the face of Reebok. She has made her own style of yoga and is making all her own rules as the Rebel of Yoga. Her new book "Make Your Own Rules Diet" is like no other diet book I have ever read!



Life & Love By Lisa Messenger - How It Changed My Way Of Thinking

Tue, 22 Mar 2016 08:04:53 -0500

I was hooked within lines of this book and I think you will be too. Split into categories such as Confidence, Creativity and Community makes it easy to choose what is relevant or to read from cover to cover.



Men Are From Mars

Tue, 08 Mar 2016 07:27:50 -0600

Men Are From Mars, Women Are From Venus according to John Gray in his book of the same name. He uses this to illustrate the differences in behaviour of men and women. I have just reread the above book, it has a very appealing introduction to explain the differences in men and women.



Do It! - A Guide to Living Your Dreams

Mon, 19 Oct 2015 07:54:35 -0500

The other day I pulled the above book from my bookshelves in order to re-read it. I find whenever I re-read a book after a period of time, I discover something new within it's pages. A little gem of an idea I had messed before. I can never throw interesting books out I just buy more book shelves. Neither would I get the same enjoyment reading of a mechanical device, I like the feel of the pages.



God and Government: A Review of Rev. Barry Lynn's Career Protecting Church/State Separation

Tue, 01 Sep 2015 06:56:12 -0500

Introduction: Barry Lynn - Barry Lynn once confessed, though not, I suspect, with heavy heart, that "the Reverend Jerry Falwell does not like me." That was about as caustic and mean-spirited as Barry can manage but, oh my, how incisive, informative and entertaining he can be defending and advancing church/state separation. Make no mistake - this book is timely, for such a defensive is vital at this time in the nation's history.



Ask for the Moon and Get It

Tue, 04 Aug 2015 06:58:49 -0500

Tidying my bookcase recently I found an old book with loose pages that were turning brown. Obviously a book I had kept for years although I don't remember buying it. I decided if I had kept it that long I would re-read it, it had to be worth it!



I Can Make You Smarter by Paul McKenna

Mon, 06 Jul 2015 10:47:22 -0500

Paul McKenna has written a series of books some of which I have read. He is a master of hypnosis and uses self hypnosis in the CD's accompanying the series of books. He also uses NLP and other exercises, the book is backed by scientific research into using your brain more effectively. This book aims to increase your various intelligences from verbal to spiritual. There are mind maps and summaries after each chapter for a quick recap and learning review.



Getting More of What You Want - What Does Success Mean to You?

Wed, 17 Jun 2015 14:12:57 -0500

I have a very old little book with the above title, by JH Brennan its pages are yellowed with age and it is looking very sad, but the contents are as relevant as ever. I am pleased to say the book is still available in bookshops, so that you can take advantage of it's secrets too. I came across it the other day when I was doing some clearing out and re-read it, it is about changing you life by discovering what is important to you.



Awaken the Giant Within

Wed, 10 Jun 2015 13:25:08 -0500

Awaken the giant within; I think this is an amazing book for restructuring your life. It is a book I first read 20 years ago, but taking it on holiday recently I found it had a much stronger impact this time. They say when the student is ready the tutor will be found! You are shown how by changing your values and beliefs you can change your thinking mode in an instant, and how to make these changes permanent. He also advocates small daily improvements to take your life from where it is today to where you would like to take it.



What Is the Green Foods Bible All About?

Tue, 02 Dec 2014 11:34:04 -0600

There are green drinks everywhere. We have heard since we were children how important it is to eat our greens.



A Book Review: Get Outta My Face by Rick Horne

Mon, 01 Dec 2014 06:08:33 -0600

Horne uses many examples of interactions between adults and teens - some not so good examples and some better following his plan. Our author outlines and then suggests a plan of action for the parent or others working with the angry teen.



A Book Review: Disconnected - Parenting Teens in a MySpace World by Chap Clark and Dee Clark

Fri, 24 Oct 2014 14:19:18 -0500

In this book, the Clarks address the issue of parenting teens in the 21st century. Like in Chap Clark's book, Hurt 2.0, they describe in depth the development and characteristics of early, mid and late adolescence. This book is written from a Christian perspective using Scripture freely and presenting solutions from a Biblical perspective. Our authors direct this book to Christian parents.



Come to the Library? Tell Me Why

Tue, 22 Apr 2014 12:35:27 -0500

Nandita came regularly to our library.Such a delight to see someone come and hang out there. I saw her lost in a book many times. She came to the movies we screened and participated in the discussions. So one day I asked if she wanted to be a member at our library.She looked surprised and answered with a question...



Discover How to Relieve Stress and Return to 'Normal'

Thu, 13 Mar 2014 08:07:21 -0500

A common thing among all people, 'normal' people and those we think of as of having 'problems', is our ability to deal with stress and the emotions that accompany it. I want you think of your stress and emotions as being in a glass.



Financial Book Review: The Bank On Yourself Revolution by Pamela Yellen

Fri, 28 Feb 2014 15:56:49 -0600

A short review of the Bank On Yourself Revolution, Pamela Yellen's followup to her NY Times Bestseller, Bank On Yourself written by one of Austin's top financial advisors and financial radio hosts. The Bank On Yourself Revolution was published in February, 2014 by Benbella Books.



Buy Cheap Books Today

Thu, 23 Jan 2014 09:22:28 -0600

Do you want to buy cheap books today? Having a hard time finding a cheap textbook? If that is the case, worry no more. You can be able to get the best textbook prices you can imagine. So wipe that worry in your face since you can be able to buy relatively inexpensive books for your need.



New Book Encourages Readers to Live the Dream Life

Fri, 22 Nov 2013 10:29:04 -0600

In "Drink Fine Wine... Ride Fine Horses," Tammy Rimes shares how she and her husband created their dream life and how you can do the same. Making it clear that a dream life requires hard work, Rimes walks readers through how she did it and what it requires to make one's dreams come true. This book is both a business "how to" and a feel good exploration of how to create the life you dream about and find balance in the process.



The Unexpected Legacy of Divorce - Judith Wallerstein

Mon, 14 Oct 2013 11:50:47 -0500

The book represents the voices of these children. They have now grown up, and some have families of their own. They narrate their difficulties in dealing with the loneliness, anger, depression, drug abuse and even the violence in their own lives that followed the break-up of their families. They talk about the unpleasantness of hopping from one nest to another, often having little choice of how to spend their time, and feeling inferior to children from intact families. They are now forcing society to pay more attention at their interests.



What Is the Definition of a Lifestyle Entrepreneur?

Tue, 09 Jul 2013 13:07:07 -0500

A lifestyle entrepreneur is someone who is tired of living the template lifestyle that most people have accepted and has decided to create a lifestyle by design. This person has a passion to do something and wants to make a living at it even if that means they are not going to make a fortune doing it.



New Book Turns Cleaning Into a Family Fun Responsibility Lesson

Mon, 03 Jun 2013 13:40:28 -0500

Carol Paul's Team Clean is not your typical cleaning book. She reveals how Moms can get Dads and kids involved in cleaning with a system of rewards and create a family bonding activity that will make kids actually want to clean, as well as prepare them to become responsible adults.



Steps to Success: Master the Mundane Tasks Daily

Fri, 31 May 2013 13:22:02 -0500

Discover how important it is to master the mundane tasks on a daily basis as it is presented by Jeff Olson in his book: "The Slight Edge, Turning Simple Disciplines Into Massive Success." In his book he talks about 7 Slight Edge Principles, which if done consistently will bring you success in every part of your life.



The 'Secret' to Making Money!

Fri, 24 May 2013 10:39:42 -0500

A Book Review of Rhonda Byrne's insightful read - 'The Secret'. If your wish is that of making money, one book that you have to start your quest with is 'The Secret' By Rhonda Byrne. The book is a guiding light, it allows you to take a look into your life, understand what it is that you exactly want, and then focus your energies on achieving it. The book is based on a very simple law, a law that governs life in a way and that is 'The Law of Attraction'.



Importance of Having Your Personal Self Help Books

Fri, 10 May 2013 08:02:47 -0500

Are you tired of reading huge personal development books that do not seem to give you what you need? If the answer is yes, then you should start looking for ways to get the right advice.



Free Electricity Forever - How to Get Free Solar Power From Photovoltaic Cell Panels (Book Review)

Mon, 05 Nov 2012 14:37:46 -0600

Bill Gates has been quoted as saying, "It's kind of cool having solar panels on your roof." Author A.J. O'Brien uses that quote as the springboard for this concise yet comprehensive overview of residential solar power. O'Brien has assembled the basics necessary help homeowners move forward on their "solar journey." Anyone who has been intrigued about solar power, is likely to be propelled to serious action after reading this book.



Book Review - "Smashed: Growing Up a Drunk Girl"

Tue, 24 Jul 2012 08:29:07 -0500

The author sends a very strong message to readers about the alarming sub-culture of young females and their use of alcohol. She chronicles patterns of binge drinking that established themselves in late teens. This compelling story will resonate with teenagers and young adults alike. Zailckas focuses on the culture of drinking from a female perspective. This book should be compulsory reading in all high school curriculums world-wide, at a time when cynical corporations deliberately target and exploit teenage markets.



Four Hour Work Week Review

Fri, 13 Jul 2012 09:51:53 -0500

The incredible guide to life and the book that will slap you in the face for not reading it sooner. First things first, I love this book. It is one of if not the most practical and useful book I've ever come across.



For The Love of God Written By Lawrence W Gold, MD

Fri, 22 Jun 2012 12:40:56 -0500

Excellent and controversial book showing both ways of thinking between professional medical care and those believing in faith healing using no doctors. Daniel Zimmer led an upstate New York religious retreat. This group believed that only God through prayers and anointing could cure someone's illness, regardless of what it was. When someone in the rather large group living in the retreat area had a medical problem, other members of "The Followers" as they called themselves would gather around the ill person, pray, anoint, read the bible, and do anything they knew other than professional medical care to heal the ill person.



ISO - International Standard Organization

Wed, 16 May 2012 14:57:23 -0500

ISO is the International Standard Organization and it is established in 1947. It is world's largest developer and publisher of International Standards. ISO is a non-government federation of national standards bodies which forms a bridge between the public and private sectors.



The Complexity Of A Soldier Written By Michelle Bellon

Fri, 04 May 2012 11:24:40 -0500

The title of this excellent book tells a lot about the book and its many stories of civilian and military members and families and just how difficult it is to serve in the military, especially in times of war. Rory had married Emily and they introduced Callie into the world and into their lives. Rory had worked on his family farm for years and he finally broke away and took a job in a mill figuring he would like the work better and the hours would allow him better home life. When Rory received his "pink slip" from the mill he was devastated.



Broken Wings Written By Alexandrea Weis

Tue, 10 Apr 2012 09:12:36 -0500

Broken Wings is a must read as I discovered from the books beginning. Pamela Wells recovered, rehabbed, fed, and did anything possible to allow her mostly smaller animals get to the point of living a near normal life. She had a small home with some old surrounding buildings both of which she used for the animals, located in a very rural area of New Orleans. Some lived with her in her house while some were in the other buildings or on the loose not wanting to leave Pamela.



Fahion, You and E-Books

Thu, 29 Mar 2012 14:00:14 -0500

The Internet is spreading its boundaries with each passing day, which makes eBooks easily accessible to people. They now do not need to spend heavy amounts for buying their favourite book as they can easily download it from World Wide Web and obtain required information. Whether it is fashion, law, science or commerce, they can find eBooks almost on every topic.



Learn About Marriages and Divorce Laws Through Ebooks

Fri, 16 Mar 2012 14:01:02 -0500

According to a research, United States has recorded the maximum number of divorces in the world. Around 50 per cent first time marriages and about 67 per cent second marriages end in the country every year. Divorce is attributed to various problems, such as depression, incompatibility and domestic violence, among others.



Book Review of "Redefining Leadership: Navigating the Path From Birthright to Fulfillment in Life"

Thu, 09 Feb 2012 13:36:29 -0600

Peter Drucker, who has been hailed by many as the father of modern management once opined, "Management is doing things right; leadership is doing the right things." Is it possible that current leadership theory has gotten it wrong and leadership is not something made - but is inherent in all people? Assegid Habtewold thinks so and has written an excellent treatise on the fact that leadership is a type of birthright in his Redefining Leadership. If one desires to lead, he should find what he is passionate about and fulfill Drucker's mantra - such a determination will inevitably lead to doing right things.



The Right To Belong Written By Patrick A. Davy

Wed, 18 Jan 2012 09:02:29 -0600

Do you have the option to know your father? Thirty-eight year old Pete Mitchell had never known his father and he wanted to find him if possible and get to know him before it was too late. A short but interesting read as the author tells this story that contains good and bad parts of life and makes the reader question if they have had the privilege of knowing their parents.



10 Tips for Enjoying Your Life More

Tue, 27 Dec 2011 13:49:15 -0600

Are you ready to start enjoying your life a lot more? Do you feel like you are constantly over stressed about things and want something that you can do differently for yourself?



The Safehouse Written By T Thomas Ackereman

Tue, 20 Dec 2011 08:27:28 -0600

A well-written down-to-earth story of spousal abuse. I realize there are some men that are abused by their spouse but the huge number of abuse done by husbands far exceeds that figure. Much is not reported by the woman figuring that "for the child's sake", or "it will get better", or "he won't do that again", or "he really loves me", and "he didn't realize what he did to me", and on and on explanations that are rarely truthful.



Christmas - Reality Forgotten

Sun, 04 Dec 2011 22:32:35 -0600

It's that time of year again and rather than it being a joyous occasion, it often tends to result in stress and is also the highest levels of suicide at this time of year. OK, so I am perhaps being a bit gloomy, but unfortunately the truth hurts.



The New Rich

Tue, 15 Nov 2011 15:06:28 -0600

Tim Ferriss's revised book "The 4 Hour Work Week" was a wonderful read and very inspiring. The idea D.E.A.L to become the New Rich is genius!



Communion Written By Jean Blasiar and Jonathan Marcantoni

Mon, 07 Nov 2011 11:17:18 -0600

An excellently written story of a young girl that seemingly lost her ability to speak for some unknown reason at a very young age. The story begins in the 1930's and takes place mostly in Ohio. Melanie and Edward Commons brought Gem home from the hospital in May of 1937.



Green Mama by Tracey Bianchi - Greening Your Travel and Worship and Planting a Tree, Eco Book Review

Thu, 03 Nov 2011 15:38:18 -0500

If you're attuned to saving the earth's dwindling natural resources, consider greening your travel and place of worship. Planting a tree is beneficial too. Tracey Bianchi, author of "Green Mama: The Guilt-Free Guide to Helping You and Your Kids Save the Planet," leads the way in these eco-friendly actions...



Green Mama by Tracey Bianchi - Earthly Book Review - Compassion Fatigue, Eco-Language and Eco-Snobs

Thu, 06 Oct 2011 10:30:07 -0500

Going green encompasses many different aspects. Companies promoting eco-friendly products, when in fact they're not (Greenwashing), feeling overwhelmed by the amount of worthwhile causes to contribute to (Compassion fatigue), and learning the "green" language are included. Tracey Bianchi, discusses these topics in her book, "Green Mama: The Guilt-Free Guide to Helping You and Your Kids Save the Planet."



Decoding the Tiger Mom

Wed, 03 Aug 2011 10:33:47 -0500

Amy Chua took the world by storm with her bestselling book entitled "Battle Hymn of the Tiger Mother." But, it seemed that most people misunderstood where she was going with it. This article discusses the book that set the internet ablaze.



Something to Cheer About While the Economy and Nearly Everything Else Tanks: A Superb New Book

Fri, 15 Jul 2011 10:33:45 -0500

A review of Dr. Steven Jonas' latest book, "101 Ideas and Insights for Triathletes and Duathletes" (Healthy Learning/ Coaches Choice, Monterrey, CA., 118 pages, $19.95). This is the much-anticipated sequel to the landmark work "Triathloning for Ordinary Mortals." The latter led thousands, perhaps tens of thousands, of novice athletes into the sport of triathlon, rendering the experience both enjoyable as well as successful. In 101 Ideas, Dr. Jonas serves up comprehensive guidance with factual information and insights based on his extensive involvement with triathlon and its little sister sport, duathlon. (The latter, in case you didn't know, consists of a run, bike and run.) I don't care for the name so much. Since the swim is missing, I favor "dryathlon." However, nobody listens to me so duathlon it is.) The nine chapters address motivation, getting started, variety of race options, training, equipment, race day details and strategies, nutrition, injury prevention and management and staying with it. Each chapter has from five to twenty sub-chapters pertinent to the featured topics. If you have a question about how to prepare for a triathlon or duathlon that Dr. Jones has not addressed, you are probably worrying too much.



The Four Hour Workweek

Wed, 29 Jun 2011 15:41:07 -0500

Written by Timothy Ferriss, this New York Times Bestseller is sure to change the way you live and do business. Ferriss holds nothing back as he disproves everything we typically think about working and time management. A must read for any business individual.



Don't Tell Nobody! A Forbidden Desire Not Forever Vulnerable, Written By Darryl Wayne

Tue, 01 Mar 2011 13:50:24 -0600

For a person such as me, the reading and reviewing of this book was extremely difficult. I respect those that are gays or lesbians to live that type of life but to write a respectable review I must change gears in my thinking and write through the eyes of them. The language is very explicit and is meant for adults only.



How To Retire Before 40

Thu, 24 Feb 2011 11:37:50 -0600

Like many people I was tired of working at my job. Between the commute, the meetings, co-workers, and my boss I wanted to find a way to quit and live my life. The book "How To Retire Before 40" was just the thing I needed.



The 4-Hour Workweek Expanded and Updated

Tue, 22 Feb 2011 15:15:16 -0600

Book Review: The 4 Hour Workweek - Expanded and Updated by Timothy Ferriss. There are a lot of these motivational books that are all about how to change your lifestyles and gain success in the future. Many of them do not deliver results. The few that do work need to be searched for, one of them is the 'The 4-Hour Workweek'.



A Guide to the Good Life: The Ancient Art of Stoic Joy

Mon, 21 Feb 2011 18:52:27 -0600

Book Review: A Guide to the Good Life: The Ancient Art of Stoic Joy by William B. Irvine. Stoicism is one of the earlier philosophies that took root during the Greek and then the Roman period. Dr. Irvine presents Stoicism according to its Roman context.



Books That Will Change Your Life

Fri, 18 Feb 2011 09:59:24 -0600

Books that will change your life is truly helpful at the right moment in your life. These books are great and can help us with many things indeed. Books can help us gain personal success, provide us with the right tools, improve our health etc.



In Defense of Food an Eater's Manifesto

Thu, 17 Feb 2011 15:42:38 -0600

This is a really well structured and to the point book which works really great for the information that it holds. There are a number of different types of diets which are adopted in different parts of the world. Some of these diets are from the Mediterranean while some come from Japan and Masai.



The Art of Nonconformity - Set Your Own Rules, Live the Life You Want and Change the World

Thu, 17 Feb 2011 15:27:39 -0600

There are many amongst us who feel like their life is not flowing the way they would like it to, this creates a feeling of dissatisfaction. This book will give you just the thing you need in order to inspect different aspects of your life. You will ask yourself questions and also provide the answers and in the process, you will end up changing it and doing wonders for yourself.



The Complete Idiot's Guide To Simple Living by Georgene Lockwood

Tue, 18 Jan 2011 16:09:19 -0600

In this hustle and bustle time we live in, sometimes it seems that our existence only becomes more complicated as each year passes. With more and more things and experiences to engage in and with, are we really enjoying life and living more? Or do all of the fancy gadgets and widgets and this and that, and gazillions of choices just increasing our stress and making it difficult to actually enjoy the important stuff? If you have asked yourself how to prioritize and then minimize the stuff in your life, or how to earn a life and not just a living, "The Complete Idiot's Guide To Simple Living" by Georgene Lockwood might just be the book to help you set yourself on the path to a more simple, but enjoyable stress free life.



The Life You Order

Fri, 14 Jan 2011 11:09:17 -0600

Put four smart, accomplished women around a kitchen table once a month and what do you get? If the women are Deborah Collins Stephens, Jackie Speier, Michealene Cristini Risley, and Jan Yanehiro, eventually you get a great book. This Is Not the Life I Ordered is about surviving the unexpected challenges life hands you.



Memories of Growing Up in Little Italy, NY - A Memoir by Guz Petruzzelli

Tue, 04 Jan 2011 14:58:42 -0600

When I first came across the title of this book on Amazon.com, I knew I just had to buy it. The reason? Because I grew up in Little Italy too, and lived in the "neighborhood" for 48 years, before I relocated to Sarasota, Florida in late 1995.



Non-Essential Reading for Living Off the Grid

Wed, 15 Dec 2010 17:35:30 -0600

Nick Rosen's book "Off the Grid" is a hodgepodge of anecdotes loosely hung together around the theme of utility-less living. I doubt that anybody in "Off the Grid" would have read, or benefited from, this book before they unplugged. What fails to come across in this featherweight book is the seriousness of the times and of the people whose response to today's USA is, in part, to move off-grid.



Smart Couples Finish Rich by David Bach

Mon, 29 Nov 2010 14:38:07 -0600

The book Smart Couples Finish Rich by David Bach talks all about money management for couples. One of the most difficult aspects of partnership - whether you're married or not - is finances. The trouble that money can bring into a partnership of any kind can be devastating if you're not prepared for it.



A Review of The Vortex - Where the Law of Attraction Assembles All Cooperative Relationships

Thu, 16 Sep 2010 22:15:51 -0500

This includes a BONUS CD on the Law of Attraction! This unique Top rated offering by Esther and Jerry Hicks, who offer the Teachings of Abraham, can help you realize each and every connection you might be presently involved with in addition to each and every connection you've ever experienced is the ultimate lifestyle relationship.



Can YOU Really Think and Grow Rich?

Thu, 15 Jul 2010 20:26:12 -0500

In order to be a success at what you do in your life you must first define a very clear and definite plan that you can act upon at once, not tomorrow or next week but at once. After reading Think and Grow Rich for the third time I finally discovered what it was.



So Grows the Tree - Creating an Ethical Will by Jo Kline Cebuhar, J D

Mon, 12 Jul 2010 14:51:11 -0500

Jo Kline Cebuhar defines an Ethical Will as that which you believe, what you know, and what you hope for. This becomes "The legacy of your beliefs and values, life lessons and hopes for the future." Her book "So Grows the Tree: Creating an Ethical Will" outlines for the reader a number of possible plans for creating a personal Ethical Will. Kline also helps the reader understand why it is important to create their own Ethical Will, how to make your story come alive, and a time frame for creating an Ethical Will. Her suggestions...



Gender Identity and Reassignment Surgery

Fri, 09 Jul 2010 15:33:58 -0500

Those who suffer from gender Dysphoria or gender identity issues will be aware that the causes of gender identity issues often originate from conception to growth in the womb. Transsexuals face everyday practical problems such as coming out to family, friends and work colleagues, transitioning, reassignment surgery techniques, post operative issues, and much more.



Objectivist Critique of the Virtue of Selfishness

Mon, 17 May 2010 09:02:09 -0500

A simple analysis of the Ayn Rand book "The Virtue of Selfishness." Evaluated more upon its merits as a book than a philosophy.



The Six Must-Reads For Your Encore Career Bookshelf

Fri, 14 May 2010 14:07:40 -0500

People often say that books are like old friends. I'm thinking that sometimes they can be better than old friends, because a good book can offer wise advice, brilliant inspiration, and great ideas without any hidden agenda. Books give us the opportunity to explore a notion in its embryonic form and go deeper if desired.



"Walk Like You Have Somewhere to Go" by Lucille O'Neal - Book Review

Wed, 21 Apr 2010 10:12:07 -0500

Walk Like You Have Somewhere To Go is an autobiography written by NBA superstar Shaquille O'Neal's mother, Lucille O'Neal. The book details Lucille's hardships through life from becoming a teenage mother to conquering alcoholism, and dealing with her son's rising fame; all the while relying on motivation and faith to help her. Lucille also introduces the term "mental welfare", which she uses to help describe her mental health condition as it progresses over the years.



Why Buy Budget Sewers Designer Handbook?

Mon, 19 Apr 2010 17:01:36 -0500

Chances are you are wondering just what the Budget Sewers Designer Handbook is really all about. After all there are lots of great sewing books online that one can choose from so why choose this particular one? Besides maybe you really aren't into sewing so why should this book be of any value to you?



Eat Stop Eat Book Review - What is it and Does it Really Work?

Mon, 19 Apr 2010 07:53:56 -0500

Eat Stop Eat is a revolutionary new weight loss book by nutritionist, Brad Pilon. Brad's program is different in many ways than most typical weight loss programs. Most popular diets and plans today focus on things like calorie shifting, counting every calorie, carb, and speck of fat that you put in your mouth. Eat Stop Eat is none of that.



The Secret to Life - The Book That Will Transform Your Life in Every Way!

Tue, 23 Mar 2010 16:42:11 -0500

Do you feel you would like your life to take a more positive turn? Do you feel you want to change your current situation in life and bring about positive change? Read on.



One Exciting Lifestyle at the Pinnacle of Your Career Leads to an Even More Exciting Lifestyle!

Fri, 26 Feb 2010 16:57:36 -0600

Tony Anthony came and spoke to us during Chaplain's Hour at Inverness Prison a few days ago, and there was a most attentive audience of prisoners, staff and Prison Fellowship visitors. Tony Anthony is the author of the book "Taming The Tiger" and it is basically his life story but well written with page turning detail.



Timothy Ferriss, the 4 Hour Workweek Review

Tue, 23 Feb 2010 13:49:57 -0600

Gain the freedom to live the life you want. In a few simple steps Tim Ferriss takes you by the hand and guides you to your own personal life style. Do the exciting, life changing things you want to, today. Make your life a banquet to feast on. Be your life's best.



Ready, Set, Green - Eight Weeks to Modern Eco-Living - Book Review

Fri, 29 Jan 2010 18:34:59 -0600

Want to go green in eight weeks? Ready, Set, Green: Eight Weeks to Modern Eco-Living by Graham Hill and Meaghan O'Neill of Treehugger show you how. But are the ideas doable? Find out here.



Review - "The Second-Half Adventure" by Kay Marshall Strom

Wed, 27 Jan 2010 07:51:10 -0600

Whoever you are, the skills and experiences that you've gained in your life can be used to help change the world. Author Kay Marshall Strom encourages the reader to explore the possibility of using those skills to better not only the world around you, but all over the world.



A Literary Gem

Tue, 05 Jan 2010 21:49:16 -0600

If you like fiction in the tradition of John Irving and Tom Wolfe, you should enjoy reading She's My Dad. Part mystery/thriller, part an artistic work of lyric brilliance, this novel about the prejudice gays and transgender people face is a fast-paced, suspenseful read.



Dr Phil's Life Strategies - A Book Review

Mon, 07 Dec 2009 08:42:23 -0600

Through his book, Life Methods, Dr. Phillip C. McGraw, P.h.D, will help you make a winning plan for greatness in any area of your life. It can and will work for you, if you're prepared to get real with yourself and own your turn at true contentment. I know this because Life Systems has actually helped me take command of my personal life. Life Methods features 304 pages created by Dr. Phillip C. McGraw, P.h.D, who stars in his hit daytime talk-show "Dr. Phil", was released in NY by Hyperion Books in 1999.



Jamaican Author Teaches All to Be Free and Laughing

Fri, 04 Dec 2009 10:08:42 -0600

The book, "Free and Laughing" is a must read, a must have. As author, Marguerite Orane is strategic with her experiences that she claims she started out by jotting on her electronic blog. Constantly revisiting the basics is a must for Marguerite as she brings out in the chapter (43) on plies. Some of the experiences related are not her own, but as Marguerite observes and understands through those she empathises with, in her life and biblically speaking. One of her personally memorable experiences is related in chapter 34 "Soulmates." Its impressive how Marguerite in her own way writes positively about a variety of experiences.



Information Over Load in the Computer Age - Lifestyle Book Review

Fri, 27 Nov 2009 08:23:05 -0600

Do you ever feel overwhelmed with all the onslaught of information day in and day out? You get it in your car listening to the radio and hear the news, you turn on the TV and you have 360 channels to choose from, you open your e-mail to find a 300 incoming pieces of information, online newsletters, spam, business contacts, friends that you send you those stupid jokes, and even notifications from places where you do business. "Data Smog; Surviving the Information Glut," by David Shenk



City Park Urban and Suburban Design - The New Lifestyle Cites - Book Review

Thu, 26 Nov 2009 21:30:47 -0600

Why is it that so many communities are so perfect, and have all the recreation facilities surrounding where the people live? It makes life more enjoyable, less stressful, and it makes it safer for raising a family as well. People that live in these types of areas are healthier, happier, and they get the exercise they need. The quality of life that is gathered from proper urban development of this type is almost incalculable from a monetary standpoint.



The Big Book of Parenting Solutions - 101 Answers to Your Everyday Challenges and Wildest Worries

Fri, 16 Oct 2009 15:28:37 -0500

The first thing I noticed when I opened up the box for "The Big Book of Parenting Solutions: 101 Answers to Your Everyday Challenges and Wildest Worries" by Michele Borba was the title was not kidding, this is one big book. It's over 700 pages!



The Secrets to the Law of Attraction Are Changing Lives Worldwide

Mon, 12 Oct 2009 10:40:58 -0500

The secrets to the law of attraction have been changing lives worldwide since 'The Secret', a movie that has an accompanying book, was released by Rhonda Byrne in 2004. Byrne, an Australian woman, made 'The Secret' because she had recently come out of a series of misfortunes both personal and professional and had been inspired to pick up the pieces and change her life by coming across a book published in 1910 by Wallace D. Wattles called 'The Science of Getting Rich'.



Real World Sustainability, Simple Steps to a Better Life - By Andy Macdonald

Thu, 08 Oct 2009 19:55:52 -0500

The purpose of the book is to provide you strategies to improve your surroundings, protect your health, ways to save money and strategies to positively make a difference for the health and well being of our planet. The author begins with the simple question of: What are the cost and benefits to me and the environment of this action?



New Book Can Help You Improve Your Relationships

Wed, 30 Sep 2009 15:00:29 -0500

Want to know what your spouse is really thinking? How did your first date really go? New book from Kat Bourgeois answers questions about love, dating and relationships.



Earl Nightingale's "You Become What You Think About!"

Tue, 29 Sep 2009 16:07:10 -0500

Finally there is a way to improve your lifestyle and get all the things you want out of your career, your relationships and your life. Imagine if you could make all the things you dream of a reality. Now you can, start with this article



Power For Living by T D Jakes

Wed, 12 Aug 2009 10:34:43 -0500

T. D. Jakes establishes basic concepts and principles for discovering purpose and power through the anointing of the Holy Spirit in his book "Power for Living." These perceptive and soul searching guidelines offer the reader specific directions for experiencing answered prayer, maintaining focus while in their quest for God, and the power to live out their dreams.



Bluest Eye - An Awesome Story With Embedded Reality

Mon, 10 Aug 2009 09:27:55 -0500

Toni Morrison, winner of The 1993 Nobel Prize in Literature, penned this awesome story of "The Bluest Eyes" in a very intriguing and interesting manner. This is gripping and arresting to the soul as she articulates the story of a struggling African-American family. She uses irony, inversion of reality, and vivid images which bring the story to life.



The 4-Hour Workweek - A Manual For New Productivity Or a Guide to Cheating?

Sun, 12 Jul 2009 11:01:31 -0500

Timothy Ferriss seems to have mastered the life of leisure and delegation. His product, brainQUICKEN, is run without his direct intervention. He travels the world and has had some fascinating experiences. But many would not call him successful, they would call him shiftless.



Amazing Brida

Wed, 01 Jul 2009 11:58:51 -0500

Brida is truly a moving saga of love, passion, mystery, philosophy and spirituality from master story-teller Paulo Coehlo, one of the most widely read and loved authors in the world, especially renowned for The Alchemist and Eleven Minutes.



Design It, Knit it - Secrets From the Designer's Studio by Debbie Bliss - Book Review

Mon, 08 Jun 2009 13:30:01 -0500

Design It, Knit It - Secrets from the Designer's Studio by Debbie Bliss is the ultimate book you need for knitting. It's a perfect gift and also a good book to use as reference if you are into knitting.



Lifestyle Book Review - Living Happy is a Choice and a Lifestyle

Thu, 30 Apr 2009 13:20:49 -0500

Have you ever noticed how many people seem have it all together and make lemon aid out of almost any situation. Have you ever considered that this attitude is a choice, and by thinking this way it will have you perceiving a completely different existence? Perhaps, you have noticed that some folks choose to live their life a different way. And have mean spirit, also a decision, and whereas it may be unconscious it is a decision and they have made that choice either way.



Every Straight Guy is Now in Competition With Every Lesbian For the Hot Babes

Tue, 21 Apr 2009 11:20:14 -0500

Let me recommend a book that you should read if you are a straight guy and worried that you can no longer compete local lesbians for the hottest women. The book is: "Roberts' Rules of Lesbian Dating" By Shelley Roberts; Spinsters Ink Books; 1st edition (August 1998). Why should you read this book?



Polythene Mailing Bags - Economical Postal Packaging

Wed, 15 Apr 2009 10:22:10 -0500

Polythene mailing bags are specially designed to provide an economical solution for protecting products for delivery in the mail. Plastic mailing bags are lightweight yet strong, save on postage costs and are water resistant, so protecting the contents during shipment. They have a tamper proof, self sealing flap, making packing a breeze.