Subscribe: NPR Topics: Opinion
http://www.npr.org/rss/rss.php?topicId=57
Added By: Feedage Forager Feedage Grade A rated
Language: English
Tags:
african nations  globes  golden globes  golden  instant replay  npr  president trump  president  recy taylor  story  taylor rape  trump  word   
Rate this Feed
Rate this feedRate this feedRate this feedRate this feedRate this feed
Rate this feed 1 starRate this feed 2 starRate this feed 3 starRate this feed 4 starRate this feed 5 star

Comments (0)

Feed Details and Statistics Feed Statistics
Preview: NPR Topics: Opinion

Opinion : NPR



Editorial opinions and commentary on news events and world events. Download podcasts and subscribe to RSS feeds.



Last Build Date: Tue, 16 Jan 2018 10:02:00 -0500

Copyright: Copyright 2018 NPR - For Personal Use Only
 



Trump's Insults Will Nudge African Nations Closer To China

Tue, 16 Jan 2018 10:02:00 -0500

The danger for the U.S. is that Trump's reported slurs make China an even more enticing partner for African nations, writes British-Somali journalist Ismail Einashe.



'Recy Taylor's Rape Still Haunts Us'

Sun, 14 Jan 2018 17:42:45 -0500

At the Golden Globes, Oprah Winfrey told the story of Recy Taylor's rape in 1944. Taylor died last month at 97. NPR's Michel Martin reflects on their 2011 interview and why her story still haunts us.



'Rapists,' 'Huts': Trump's Racist Dog Whistles Aren't New

Sat, 13 Jan 2018 06:29:50 -0500

On Thursday, President Trump described Haiti and most of Africa with a vulgar term. Here's why that shouldn't surprise you.



President Trump's Slur Is An Insult To America, Too

Sat, 13 Jan 2018 05:46:00 -0500

This week President Trump spoke in vulgar terms about immigrants and their countries of origin. NPR's Scott Simon reflects on the president's choice of words.



NPR's Approach To A Reported Presidential Profanity Evolves

Fri, 12 Jan 2018 15:18:00 -0500

First NPR didn't use "the word," and then it did, as it tried to focus on the underlying story.



Showing Love Through Food May Be Making Our Pets Obese And Unhappy

Fri, 12 Jan 2018 11:15:00 -0500

Over half of the dogs and cats around the globe battle the bulge. A pet obesity specialist says a deep human-animal bond may inadvertently be causing unhealthy emotional and physical consequences.



Science Says That To Fight Ignorance, We Must Start By Admitting Our Own

Fri, 12 Jan 2018 10:46:00 -0500

The best way to defend everything we really do know, according to science, is to begin by admitting our own ignorance — to ask "What don't you know?" says astrophysicist Adam Frank.



Is This Gorilla Mother Consciously Protecting Her Baby?

Thu, 11 Jan 2018 12:33:00 -0500

In response to a report of "heroic" behavior by a female mountain gorilla aiming to protect her baby, anthropologist Barbara J. King explores questions of conscious awareness of infanticide in apes.



Are NPR Listeners And Readers Entitled To A Different Word?

Thu, 11 Jan 2018 11:52:22 -0500

As news about entitlement programs trends, we're hearing more about whether that's a good word for them.



Man As God: 'Frankenstein' Turns 200

Wed, 10 Jan 2018 12:31:00 -0500

Mary Shelley cautioned us of the dangers of extending science into realms where we have little control of the outcomes; may we all read her tale — and take in its lessons, says Marcelo Gleiser.



How Instant Replay Sucks The Fun From Football

Wed, 10 Jan 2018 04:58:00 -0500

Commentator Mike Pesca says watching football is no longer just glorious enjoyment of fantastic plays. With the NFL's frequent use of instant replay, it's become an exercise in scrutiny and doubt.



Siri, Cortana, And Alexa Carry The Marks Of Their Human Makers

Tue, 09 Jan 2018 13:01:00 -0500

Before you dismiss them as inhuman or inhumane, consider their dramatic personal histories — and their ancestor grande damme Eliza, says guest blogger Jimena Canales.



In the Korea Talks, Why Kim Jong Un Can't Lose

Tue, 09 Jan 2018 07:04:12 -0500

North Korea's leader entered the talks with a strong hand. Researcher Ben Forney takes a look at Kim's endgame.



What History And Fiction Teach Us About Women And Power

Mon, 08 Jan 2018 09:49:00 -0500

Psychologist Tania Lombrozo considers two books: In one, we learn what ancient Greece can tell us about Twitter trolls and, in the other, we're shown a world in which women have power over men.



Activism Hits The Red Carpet And Oprah Hits A Home Run At The Golden Globes

Mon, 08 Jan 2018 00:34:00 -0500

Recent stories of sexual harassment and abuse in Hollywood inspired black dresses and unexpected guests at the Golden Globes. In the actual awards races, Three Billboards, Ladybird, and Amazon scored.