Subscribe: Blawg Review
http://blawgreview.blogspot.com/atom.xml
Added By: Feedage Forager Feedage Grade B rated
Language: English
Tags:
april fools  blawg review  blawg  blog  day  law  review year  review  week  year blawg  year  youtube embed  youtube 
Rate this Feed
Rate this feedRate this feedRate this feedRate this feedRate this feed
Rate this feed 1 starRate this feed 2 starRate this feed 3 starRate this feed 4 starRate this feed 5 star

Comments (0)

Feed Details and Statistics Feed Statistics
Preview: Blawg Review

Blawg Review



It's not just a blog carnival; it's the law! ~ a fool in the forest



Updated: 2014-10-15T08:55:34.209-04:00

 



In Memoriam: A Final Blawg Review

2013-11-04T00:22:14.656-05:00


In January 2007, I received an e-mail message from Ed., the mysterious and pseudonymous editor of Blawg Review. By that point, I'd hosted a couple of Blawg Reviews and become a "sherpa", assisting Ed. and the guest hosts to source material for each Monday's post. Over the lengthy time that I'd been corresponding with him, however, I'd never received a message like this one:
Subject: Living Will for Blawg Review - Open in Case of Emergency ;-)
I was honored that he'd entrusted me with the keys to a project which he had nurtured so carefully for so long. I was amused that I felt such a sense of responsibility for a task given me by a man whose name I didn't know. When a couple years or so later I retired as a sherpa (true to form, Ed. never accepted that resignation, preferring to call it my "Sherpa Sabbatical"), he wrote, "Colin Samuels, Sherpa Emeritus, will always be a key player in Blawg Review (he's got the login and password keys) so he remains, officially, the editor in waiting should I kick the bucket. Truth be told, Colin is more afraid of that eventuality than I am." I most certainly was.

Though Blawg Review reached an unofficial ending of sorts more than a year ago, word of Ed.'s passing spread quickly last week amongst the many who'd written Blawg Reviews for him, who'd spoken with him at one of the many meet-ups and conferences he attended, who'd corresponded with him over the years, or who simply appreciated the tremendous contribution he'd made to our corner of the internet.

Shortly after hearing that sad news, Mark Bennett proposed a final edition of Blawg Review in Ed.'s memory; Scott Greenfield, Antonin Pribetić, Brian Tannebaum, Ken White, Eric Turkewitz, George Wallace, Gideon, Ron Coleman, and Mike Semple-Piggot joined his effort. Today, each of us will pay tribute to a man who played a central role in establishing the legal blogosphere. Starting with Greenfield's post, each chapter will link to the next, before returning to this post and closing the loop one last time.

It's our privilege to honor Ed., a man who gave the legal blogosphere a distinct voice, even though he never did tell us his name.

Colin Samuels
Blawg Review Sherpa Emeritus



The Civil Rights Act, 1964

2012-07-03T01:16:26.808-04:00

allowfullscreen="" frameborder="0" height="300" src="http://www.youtube.com/embed/ZaRUca7FyAc?rel=0" width="400">

Blawg Review #324 at the law blog of Texas attorney Paul Kennedy, The Defense Rests, marks this day in 1964 when Lyndon Baines Johnson signed into law the Civil Rights Act of 1964 ending segregation in the United States, a signature piece of his administration's Great Society legislation.

From today's Blawg Review:
While many remember him for the disastrous campaign in Vietnam (that eventually drove him from office), LBJ's most lasting legacy was the Great Society. During his time in the White House, LBJ ushered in Medicare and Medicaid, food stamps, Head Start and federal funding for education.
Ironic that just last week the US Supreme Court upheld the Affordable Care Act which will provide insurance to those just above the poverty line through the expansion of Medicaid. There are critics of the new law who argue that the solution to the problem is to remove the words "over 65" from the legislation authorizing Medicare.
Check out all the links to various law blog posts from the past week that Paul Kennedy has included in this week's Blawg Review #324.

 And have a Happy Independence Day, celebrating the fourth, with Paul Kennedy and the Defenders of Liberty. Not to be confused with the band "The Great Society".



Blawg Review, Jubilee Special

2012-06-04T10:02:23.036-04:00


From his duck blind on the banks of the Thames, Charon QC watched as Her Majesty's barge and a flotilla of a thousand lesser vessels paraded before an adoring public out in the rain to celebrate Queen Elizabeth II's first sixty years.

Quite coincidentally with the Royal Jubilee celebrations, perhaps having something to do with the Olympics, our friend Charon QC launched a hundred links to British law blogs this past week in an unprecedented show of patriotism--UK Blawg Review #10 in four impressive blog posts!

  1. UK Blawg Review #10 – Part 1
  2. UK Blawg Review #10 – Part 2
  3. UK Blawg Review #10 – Part 3
  4. UK Blawg Review #10 – Part 4

Charon QC is a master of the Blawg Review, this carnival of law blogs, having hosted a half-dozen or so previous presentations each of which is worth your attention and review. This is Blawg Review, elevated to an art form.

His latest, Blawg Review #292, was recognized with the award for Blawg Review of the Year 2011, an honour long overdue.

We're not sure what recognition Charon QC might receive from Her Majesty for his contributions to law blogging with this UK Blawg Review #10, not to mention his daily blog posts that keep the world informed and entertained with insights into English law and British politics, but I wouldn't be surprised if someday this Dean of the British Blawgosphere were to be named Lord Charon.

Blawg Review returns next week with its regular programming. 

* image courtesy of Banksy



Skull & Bones #322

2012-05-21T08:03:41.652-04:00


Blawg Review #322, inspired by Skull & Bones, is hosted by the imaginative Kevin A. Thompson at Cyberlaw Central. Everyone knows about Kevin's blog; fewer know much at all about the secret society known as Skull & Bones. So, first, a little backgrounder.

width="400" height="301" src="http://www.youtube.com/embed/V97hHBLM7WI?rel=0" frameborder="0" allowfullscreen>

Kevin Thompson is well-established in the blawgsphere, having hosted Blawg Review six times previously. His first go at it was an inspriational #42, The Hitchhiker’s Guide to the Blawgosphere. His next, #93, was illuminating, indeed. Kevin's third, #144, continued a numerical theme based on the number of guests at Bilbo Baggins's birthday party. Kevin was recognized with the award for Blawg Review of the Year 2009 for his tribute to Douglas Adams on Towel Day. Blawg Review #256 was an epic presentation based on Frank Herbert's Dune. And last year, with #295, Kevin got his geek on to mark the 27th anniversary of the first sale of an Apple Macintosh.

It's no secret that Kevin is one of the best ever to host Blawg Review, and we're honored that he's back again this year with his seventh presentation, Blawg Review #322, the Skull & Bones edition!



Blawg Review on Facebook!

2012-05-15T05:36:23.152-04:00

If you know all about Dave! (that's Dave with an exclamation point) you know that he's been Simpsonized. He's a bona fide comic character!

Dave! had aleady hosted four unique presentations of Blawg Review, a clever chart format showing his programming skills, a back-to-school special while he was a law student, a bar exam nail-biter when he knew the feeling, and a flashback to the early days of the worldwide web. Crazzzzy! Whenever we see an opportunity for a Blawg Review that would be enhanced by his mad geek skillz, we turn to Dave!

Today, being the 28th birthday of Facebook co-founder and major shareholder Mark Zuckerberg, we asked Gulbransen if he could do a creative presentation for Blawg Review #321. I wasn't worried that he'd come up with something special, even when I hadn't heard from him throughout the week. I knew Dave! likes to be left alone while he's working on Blawg Review. I figured Dave! was hard at it on Saturday night...but then I spotted him cruising up Yonge Street with the family. Bwaahaha!



More Than A Woman

2012-05-07T11:35:40.964-04:00

Girlfriends of the Court, Melissa and Kate, on Amicae Curiae present this week's Blawg Review #320 to mark the 600th birthday of Joan of Arc and the anniversary of the Seige of Orleans. Opening for the ladies in Australia are the incomparable Bee Gees!
width="400" height="233" src="http://www.youtube.com/embed/ObUz9ssgdng?rel=0" frameborder="0" allowfullscreen>



Canajun, eh?

2012-04-30T15:11:53.688-04:00

On this day, the bicentennial of statehood for Louisiana, one might wonder why not enlist a Cajun blogger to host Blawg Review #319. Instead, we've got this Canajun trial warrior to remind us that this day historically marks the Louisiana Purchase. How so? As most Americans know, the Louisiana Purchase encompassed all or parts of fifteen current states and small parts of what is now two provinces--few Canadians are aware of that!

But what about the French and the British? Napoleon Bonaparte, upon completion of the agreement stated, "This accession of territory affirms forever the power of the United States, and I have given England a maritime rival who sooner or later will humble her pride."

Blawg Review #319 at The Trial Warrior Blog, by Antonin Pribetic this week, includes copious factoids and anecdotes of this day in history--including one to his Croatian roots--who knew? All of which provides an entertaining and informative backdrop for some of the best legal blog posts of recent days, curated by one of the best of the blawgosphere. It's a longish Blawg Review, so take your time to enjoy the narrative and the links.

In the end, this Blawg Review, the second by our friend Nino, brings to mind the famous words of French mathematician and philosopher Blaise Pascal who wrote, "Je n’ai fait celle-ci plus longue que parce que je n’ai pas eu le loisir de la faire plus courte," which is Cajun for, "I have made this longer than usual because I have not had time to make it shorter."



Make It Count

2012-04-23T12:18:11.872-04:00


Dan Hull @Whataboutparis, inspired by Shakespeare, inadvertently channels Hunter S. Thompson in this week's Blawg Review #318.
My name is Dan Hull. I practice law to (1) make money, (2) ensure that every day will be different than the one before, (3) to use everything I have practicing law so I can feel alive, (4) to serve sophisticated purchasers of legal services who "get it"--corporate clients with in-house counsel normally represented by much larger firms--and to put them first, and (5) treat my law practice and firm and as not just a shop but also as a laboratory for new ideas. "Immersion" is what I seek in life and work. So that my life is full, and full of surprise. For me, this is exactly what William Shakespeare (or whoever authored the works bearing his name) and Hunter Thompson had in common. It is the gift, and courage, to get us to fully participate in the story along with its creator.
Buy the ticket. Take the ride. ~Hunter S. Thompson
allowfullscreen="" frameborder="0" height="233" src="http://www.youtube.com/embed/WxfZkMm3wcg?rel=0" width="400">



Letter from Birmingham Jail

2012-04-16T09:36:04.002-04:00

Mark Bennett hosts Blawg Review #317 on his blog, Defending People, to commemorate this date in 1963 when Martin Luther King Jr wrote his Letter from Birmingham Jail. That letter is reproduced in full in this week's Blawg Review, as Bennett says, it's worth it. In our view so are the many links to current law blog posts selected for this thoughtful presentation. The times have changed but the issues remain the same. What's going on?

width="400" height="301" src="http://www.youtube.com/embed/Y9KC7uhMY9s?rel=0" frameborder="0" allowfullscreen>



Arranging Deck Chairs

2012-04-15T11:02:56.548-04:00

(image)
As I toured the Maritime Museum of the Atlantic in Halifax, Nova Scotia, this weekend on the 100th anniversary of the sinking of the Titanic, along with many others I wondered what it must have been like for those passengers and what I'd have done that night.

I love to travel, you know, so it's not inconceivable to me to have been on the Titanic. I do enjoy cruises. I'm not wealthy by any means, so I'd not have been on the upper deck with the rich and famous. I might have found myself among the middle class travelers, having somehow cleverly negotiated an upgrade from my steerage class ticket. I most certainly would not have had one of those exclusive deck chairs with my name on it!

As it's my nature to help others before myself, I probably would have assisted some to board the few available lifeboats--women and children first, old man. Then I would have seized the opportunity to enjoy what little time left on this fabulous adventure that is life and grabbed myself one of those comfortable deck chairs reserved for the most well-to-do of the first class passengers who had paid extra to go in style.

Reports of my demise might appear on the blogs a hundred years later, where it would be noted that I had last been seen arranging deck chairs on the Titanic, as the band played on.






You Can't Fool an Old Fool

2012-04-02T11:41:37.485-04:00

(image) Eric Turkewitz, New York Personal Injury Lawyer and perennial prankster, went to great lengths this year with another of his well-conceived hoaxes, a bit late for the annual April Fools Day Blawg Review by George Wallace. Well, actually, Eric's intricately planned hoax was timed to trail the news of April Fools Day shenanigans, being released to the interwebs by Turk and a cadre of collaborators late on Sunday evening.

It would have been real easy for this week's host of Blawg Review to get sucked in by this story echoing throughout the blawgosphere, and link any one of the clever posts by these hoaxters in today's Blawg Review #315.

But this is Declarations and Exclusions, the serious law blog of George Wallace, an insurance lawyer who knows a scam when he sees one. George Wallace is nobody's fool.

From this week's Blawg Review #315:
[This space was almost occupied by links to a story that I have convinced myself was/is an April Fools' prank not of my making. If it proves to be real—which I suppose is possible in this ever-changing world in which we're living—you'll all know about it next week, and I will confess my doubts were misplaced.]

[Update 0725 PDT: My instincts have proven to be correct on this one. Hoaxing mastermind Eric Turkewitz explains all here.]

You can't fool an old fool.(image)



The History of April Fools Day

2012-04-01T09:22:51.771-04:00

width="400" height="233" src="http://www.youtube.com/embed/OhVCTkpVX2Y?rel=0" frameborder="0" allowfullscreen>

April Fools Day has a storied history on Blawg Review, too, always told on the personal and cultural web journal of lawyer George M. Wallace, a fool in the forest.

Every year since the inception of Blawg Review, George has treated everyone interested in law to a carnival of law blogs in a serious manner on his insurance law blog, Declarations and Exclusions, together with a bonus edition on April Fools Day, on a fool in the forest. No so much a prank, but a surprise, as it were. Alas, it was getting predictable. Year after year, without fail, George would "surprise" us with an April Fools Day edition. They were awsum, always, but to regular followers of Blawg Review seldom a surprise.

Last year, on April Fools Day, his special presentation alluded to the imminent demise of Blawg Review.

This April Fools' edition marks the tenth occasion on which it has been my pleasure to host an installment of Blawg Review. Thanks once again to the Anonymous Editor, and other supporters of this and previous editions.

As Futures will do, the Future of Blawg Review has shrouded itself in mystery. Should it turn out that the post you are reading is the Last Blawg Review Ever, it is my hope that you will agree with me that, unlike the denizens of our Little List, the institution of Blawg Review assuredly will be missed.

Was he kidding?! Could it be true? Some believed it was really over for Blawg Review. So influential a blawger is George Wallace, just sayin' could make things true.

This year, George is back to his old tricks again on April Fools Day, with a prequel to "Blawg Review #315". Is he pranking us? Can it be true? Do you believe? Read his April Fools Day Prequel, today, and come back tomorrow to see if there's another Blawg Review #315.



Where's Blawg Review?

2012-04-02T11:54:13.064-04:00

(image)
The sun hasn't set on Blawg Review, but we've been traveling these past few months, and not just to law conferences.

(image)
I am not an Athenian, nor a Greek, but a citizen of the world. ~ Socrates

Blawg Review will be back soon; the peripatetic editor, maybe not.



LawLawpalooza!!!

2011-08-08T15:42:44.236-04:00

width="400" height="257" src="http://www.youtube.com/embed/9zZEc-msyck?rel=0" frameborder="0" allowfullscreen>

Fitz and the Tantrums might be the name of a law blog, but no; it's the name of a hot new band that performed its brand of soul-influenced indie pop this weekend in Chicago at Lollapalooza 2011.

Sarah Randag of the ABA Journal was all over it, and brings us her report in this week's Blawg Review #314 she calls LawLawpalooza!



Coming Soon, ABA Journal

2011-08-08T11:11:15.165-04:00

Molly McDonough and Sarah Randag host Blawg Review #314 next in the ABA Journal during the ABA Annual Meeting 2011 in Toronto.

(image)
What's that? The American Bar Association is holding its annual meeting in Canada? Has Ontario joined the Union? Did the United States invade the Great White North and take it over without a shot being fired? Wait, wait...

THIS JUST IN:
CHICAGO, Aug. 2, 2011 – The American Bar Association and the Canadian Bar Association are preparing to sign a historic agreement that will lead to enhanced cooperation and information exchanges between the two organizations, their in-house counsel constituencies, and the U.S. and Canadian legal professions.

A signing ceremony with the associations' presidents and witnessed by other bar leaders is scheduled for 4 p.m. Aug. 6, pending approval of the agreement by the ABA Board of Governors, at the Royal Conservatory, 273 Bloor St. West, Toronto. Following the ceremony will be the ABA Annual Meeting Opening Assembly, featuring remarks by the Chief Justice of the Supreme Court of Canada, Beverley McLachlin, and U.S. Supreme Court Justice Stephen Breyer.

“We have enjoyed a long and warm relationship with the Canadian Bar Association,” said ABA President Stephen N. Zack of Miami, Fla. “The signing of the agreement, on the occasion of the ABA's Annual Meeting in Toronto, will formalize our mutually beneficial cooperation that has been in place for the past 80 years.”
(image)
BFF



Keep It Simple

2011-08-01T13:37:33.173-04:00

src="http://www.youtube.com/embed/7PtJYy3Ti_k?rel=0" allowfullscreen="" frameborder="0" height="257" width="400">

Stephen Albainy-Jenei at Patent Baristas hosts his fifth carnival of law bloggers, Blawg Review #313, riffing off Keb Mo's Keep It Simple. It's a laid-back Blawg Review; thoroughly enjoyable.

Today is also Emancipation Day. The Slavery Abolition Act 1833 ended slavery in the British Empire, August 1, 1834, which is remembered in the colonies with various holidays and celebrations, like Caribana Caribbean Carnival in Toronto. From the first colony to abolish slavery, Toronto-based Omar Ha-Redeye earned Blawg Review of the Year kudos for Blawg Review #278 on the International Day for the Remembrance of the Slave Trade and its Abolition. Worth another read.



Blawg Review #312

2011-07-18T14:36:57.423-04:00

Happy 93rd Birthday, Madiba. Today is Mandela Day, in honor of the birthday of Nelson Mandela, often called Madiba, an honorific, his clan name.Mandela needs no introduction to our readers. As a lawyer he led an exemplary life, 27 years of which he spent in prison for his principled political activism for the causes of freedom and justice for all in his homeland of South Africa. Many have read his autobiography, Long Walk to Freedom, with its introduction by former Secretary General of the United Nations, Kofi Annan. I've been reading Mandela's recent publication of Conversations With Myself, a collection of the writings of Nelson Mandela, many of which were written while imprisoned. As he says, in prison you've got time to think.Nelson Mandela's prison cell, Robben Island, South AfricaThis year on 18 July - Nelson Mandela’s 93rd birthday - the UN is joining a call by the Nelson Mandela Foundation to devote 67 minutes of our time to helping others, as a way to mark Nelson Mandela International Day.Here on Blawg Review, we've covered topics and issues that were of great interest to Nelson Mandela, the lawyer, and the man. Notably, Omar Ha-Redeye hosted Blawg Review #278, which was recognized at the Blawg Review of the Year 2010, to mark the International Day for the Remembrance of the Slave Trade and its Abolition. Earlier in 2010, on Slaw.ca, Omar Ha-Redeye hosted Blawg Review #249 on National Freedom Day.The Nelson Mandela Foundation seeks to contribute to a just society by promoting the vision and work of its Founder and convening dialogue around critical social issues with The Dialogue Programme. Mandela would have been a heck of a law blogger!Today, on Nelson Mandela's 93rd birthday, this Blawg Review #312 honors him with a collection of links to law blog posts that draw attention to issues close to Madiba's heart. Throughout the day, we will add links to additional law blog posts that our readers find appropriate for inclusion in this week's Blawg Review, had they known it was to be Mandela Day or that there would be a Blawg Review this week at all. Help us out here...The Innocence Project Blog reports that New York exoneree Dewey Bozella received the Arthur Ashe Courage Award at the ESPY Awards. Bozella served 26 years in New York prisons for a murder he didn’t commit before he was exonerated in 2009. Nelson Mandela, was a previous recipient of this award.On the Human Trafficking Law Blog Wendi Adelson, Kathleen Kim, and Bridgette Carr report that:South Africa has been identified as a major human-trafficking destination for victims from within the country, the region and beyond, yet there is no legislation that specifically criminalises human trafficking and protects victims.The country is a signatory to the 2000 UN protocol to prevent, suppress and punish trafficking in persons. In signing this document, also known as the Palermo Protocol, the government committed to adopting legislation to make human trafficking a criminal offence and began the process of drafting a law in 2003. However, the Prevention and Combating in Trafficking in Persons (TIP) Bill only reached parliament in March 2010 and there is no indication of when it will be passed.Mike Spindell, Guest Blogger on Jonathan Turley's blog, hopes that this somehow works out well for establishing an Egyptian Democracy, rule of law and freedom.Glenn Greenwald reports how the U.S. government uses its media servants to attack real journalism.Mandela might have thoughts on this study, blogged by Doug Berman on Sentencing Law and Policy, that finds "black men live longer in prison than out".Scott Greenf[...]



Remembering Joel Rosenberg

2011-06-06T08:48:59.400-04:00

We remember Joel Rosenberg as a champion for justice in an intolerant world, the host of Blawg Review #238, which is this week's Blawg Review in his memory. It was an honor to have known the man, whom I had the pleasure to meet in real life. He will be missed.

(image)
Photo credit © Oleg Volk, reproduced with permission



Blawg Review #309

2011-05-03T14:32:54.394-04:00

O how love I thy law! it is my meditation all the day. ~Psalm 119:97 width="400" height="330" src="http://www.youtube.com/embed/ReoIXojq_xw?rel=0" frameborder="0" allowfullscreen>On May 2, 1611, four hundred years to the day, the King James Bible was published for the first time in London, England.The original printing of the Authorized Version was published by Robert Barker, the King's Printer, in 1611 as a complete folio Bible. It was sold looseleaf for ten shillings, or bound for twelve. Robert Barker's father, Christopher, had, in 1589, been granted by Elizabeth I the title of royal Printer, with the perpetual Royal Privilege to print Bibles in England. Robert Barker invested very large sums in printing the new edition, and consequently ran into serious debt, such that he was compelled to sub-lease the privilege to two rival London printers, Bonham Norton and John Bill. It appears that it was initially intended that each printer would print a portion of the text, share printed sheets with the others, and split the proceeds. Bitter financial disputes broke out, as Barker accused Norton and Bill of concealing their profits, while Norton and Bill accused Barker of selling sheets properly due to them as partial Bibles for ready money. There followed decades of continual litigation, and consequent imprisonment for debt for members of the Barker and Norton printing dynasties, while each issued rival editions of the whole Bible. In 1629 the Universities of Oxford and Cambridge successfully managed to assert separate and prior royal licences for Bible printing, for their own university presses – and Cambridge University took the opportunity to print revised editions of the Authorized Version in 1629, and 1638. The editors of these editions included John Bois and John Ward from the original translators. This did not, however, impede the commercial rivalries of the London printers, especially as the Barker family refused to allow any other printers access to the authoritative manuscript of the Authorized Version.We had hoped to get a legal scribe from England to host this week's Blawg Review but, alas, the usual suspects were apparently preoccupied with the Royal Wedding. So, here we are on this historic occasion with no host to speak of but an interesting theme, nevertheless.The King James Version of the Ten CommandmentsI am the LORD thy God, which brought thee out of the land of Egypt, from the house of bondage.7 Thou shalt have none other gods before me. 8 Thou shalt not make thee any graven image, or any likeness of any thing that is in heaven above, or that is in the earth beneath, or that is in the waters beneath the earth:Ron Coleman brings forward this Divine Trademark on Likelihood of Confusion, and points to more about Church symbol trademarks by this tradmark guy, Owen Smigelski.9 Thou shalt not bow down thyself unto them, nor serve them: for I the LORD thy God am a jealous God, visiting the iniquity of the fathers upon the children unto the third and fourth generation of them that hate me,10 And shewing mercy unto thousands of them that love me and keep my commandments.Eugene Volokh has a post about Sex-Based Inheritance Rules, Islamic Law, and the Old Testament. (Editor's Note: the professor probably means "gender-based" but one can't not appreciate the lovely Muslim girls served by Google Adsense with his post.)11 Thou shalt not take the name of the LORD thy God in vain: for the LORD will not hold him guiltless that taketh his name in vain.Which reminds me, where the hell is Geeklawyer when you need hi[...]



This Too Shall Pass

2011-04-26T00:33:11.026-04:00

title="YouTube video player" width="400" height="255" src="http://www.youtube.com/embed/qybUFnY7Y8w?rel=0" frameborder="0" allowfullscreen>

This too shall pass for a Blawg Review, an eclectic collection of bits and pieces of the blawgosphere linked together as if by Rube Goldberg.



Lone Star Blawg Review

2011-04-21T00:51:44.722-04:00

title="YouTube video player" width="400" height="255" src="http://www.youtube.com/embed/psJpZzQ_FKs?rel=0" frameborder="0" allowfullscreen>

Houston attorney Paul Kennedy hosts Blawg Review #307 at The Defense Rests to commemorate Sam Houston's defeat of Santa Anna in the Battle of San Jacinto, fought on April 21, 1836, in present-day Harris County, Texas, which was the decisive battle of the Texas Revolution. This edition of Blawg Review is as big as Texas and, not unexpectedly, focused on all things Texan. We'll play along.

Norah Jones performs "Lonestar" with fellow-Texan Willie Nelson at Farm Aid 25. Farm Aid's performances are donated by the artists in order to raise funds and raise awareness for family farmers. They've raised their voices to help — what can you do?



Blawg Review #306

2011-04-11T00:19:16.303-04:00

Blawg Review turns six, today. What did you expect? Fireworks? title="YouTube video player" src="http://www.youtube.com/embed/kGrTS00J-rw?rel=0" allowfullscreen="" width="400" frameborder="0" height="330">On April 11, 2005, the first issue of Blawg Review was hosted by Evan Schaeffer on the Legal Underground. Six years later, a growing number of lawyers new to blogging are asking, "What is Blawg Review?Blawg Review is the blog carnival for everyone interested in law. A peer-reviewed blog carnival, the host of each Blawg Review decides which of the submissions and recommended posts are suitable for inclusion in the presentation. And the host is encouraged to source another dozen or so interesting posts to fit with any special theme of that issue of Blawg Review. The host's personal selections usually include several that reflect the character and subject interests of the host blawg, recognizing that the regular readership of the blog should find some of the usual content, and new readers of the blog via Blawg Review ought to get some sense of the unique perspective and subject specialties of the host. Thanks to all the law bloggers who collaborate to make Blawg Review one of the very best blog carnivals of any genre.Colin Samuels, Blawg Review Sherpa Emeritus, describes it best. "Where once we were isolated legal students, practitioners, and academics who could share our thoughts only with those in proximity, blogging and social media have turned us all into a kind of "other memory" for one another. The knowledge, experience, and insight we are able to access here, within our ever-expanding networks of colleagues and friends, colleagues-of-colleagues, friends-of-friends, is nothing short of amazing. By participating, we are able to give and receive and grow beyond ourselves while allowing others to grow as well. Thanks to our tools, these memories need not fade or become inaccessible, but we should always keep in mind that tools do not create — we do."On this sixth anniversary of Blawg Review, we revisited some of the most creative presentations of this carnival of law blogs. Each year for the past six years we've recognized the best of the best with the honor of Blawg Review of the Year.Blawg Review of the Year 2005Blawg Review of the Year 2006Blawg Review of the Year 2007Blawg Review of the Year 2008Blawg Review of the Year 2009Blawg Review of the Year 2010These award-winning presentations show an appreciation of literature and art, a strong sense of community, passion for a cause, and a good sense of humor. These are common themes in the best of Blawg Review and, while only one presentation each year receives the award for Blawg Review of the Year, there are many more that deserve another look.Whether you're new to Blawg Review and looking to get a better sense of the state of the art of law blogging, or a regular reader of this carnival of law blogs, you might like to look back at some of the past issues on this sixth anniversary--especially if you're thinking of hosting Blawg Review this year.#1 Legal Underground#2 Likelihood of Confusion#3 Appellate Law & Practice#4 Law & Entrepreneurship#5 Conglomerate#6 South Carolina Trial Law#10 InternetCases.com#11 Al Nye The Lawyer Guy#14 Legal Commentary#15 Employment Blawg#17 Greatest American Lawyer#18 The Common Scold#20 The Mommy Blawg#22 Blawg Wisdom#23 Preaching to the Perverted#25 Ambivalent Imbroglio#26 Inter Alia#27 Legal Blog Watch#28 May it Please the Court#29 Blawg[...]



Adieu

2011-04-01T03:04:25.694-04:00

title="YouTube video player" width="400" height="330" src="http://www.youtube.com/embed/fPOoWVWjzxI?rel=0" frameborder="0" allowfullscreen>

Blawg Review #305 is hosted by a fool in the forest. Being the last waltz for Blawg Review, as it were, this is dedicated to all those who have hosted the carnival of law blogs during the past six years. Adieu.



Blawg Review Goes Nukular

2011-03-30T18:07:50.776-04:00

George Wallace, a lawyer who blogs on Declarations and Exclusions about News and Comments on California Insurance Law, the Politics of Insurance, and Other Risky Business hosts Blawg Review #304 on a very serious subject.

George is, perhaps, better known in the blogosphere for his more humorous personal blog, a fool in the forest, so it's a surprise that he resisted including this.

title="YouTube video player" width="400" height="330" src="http://www.youtube.com/embed/6JrIYR8jArk?rel=0" frameborder="0" allowfullscreen>

And remember, you can't tweet too often about Blawg Review.