Subscribe: Comments on: Anime Nano Podcast #9 – Pay Per Preview
http://podcast.animenano.com/2006/09/10/anime-nano-podcast-9-pay-per-preview/feed/
Added By: Feedage Forager Feedage Grade B rated
Language: English
Tags:
american  anime club  anime  episode  hate  hinano  hot  jigoku shoujo  much  new  people  podcast  questions  show  time  usa 
Rate this Feed
Rate this feedRate this feedRate this feedRate this feedRate this feed
Rate this feed 1 starRate this feed 2 starRate this feed 3 starRate this feed 4 starRate this feed 5 star

Comments (0)

Feed Details and Statistics Feed Statistics
Preview: Comments on: Anime Nano Podcast #9 – Pay Per Preview

Comments on: Anime Nano Podcast #9 – Pay Per Preview



Just Like AnimeNano.com, But In a Podcast!



Last Build Date: Tue, 08 Apr 2014 16:05:53 +0000

 



By: Alafista

Thu, 21 Sep 2006 13:19:30 +0000

lol ... i was readingnewtype and didn't realise she (... nope he) was a trap-chan ... brrrr



By: dragonfire

Thu, 21 Sep 2006 02:18:44 +0000

Is there a place to post our questions or comments that may be brought up on te show?



By: Volk

Mon, 18 Sep 2006 02:28:53 +0000

just like to say I have been listening to your podcasts since the first one and have listened to everyone after it and would like to say thanks for giving me something to listen to while I wait for my next classes to start at Uni(as I listen on my PSP)



By: Hinano

Sun, 17 Sep 2006 18:16:23 +0000

omigah so like yea no podcast this week :|



By: Hinano

Sun, 17 Sep 2006 15:00:57 +0000

I totally saw Kino no Tabi, it bored the hell out of me



By: Retsgip

Sun, 17 Sep 2006 07:34:28 +0000

If anime characters are reading anime, does it look real to them?!?!??!?



By: wontaek

Sun, 17 Sep 2006 04:01:22 +0000

I have a question for future podcast: Are Anime viewers more likely to be open to new ideas? Since Anime is not a main-stream entertainment outside Japan, and if you also consider that Anime is more likely to deal with fantasy stuffs or Sci-fi things, I thought that anime fans would be more likely to entertain novel ideas and concepts. Much to my surprise, the local anime club I joined and paid membership due, the Purdue Anime Club, has repeated called me stupid for putting up new topics or answering some of older topics in their forums and often locked or deleted the posts almost as soon as I put up one, even though they contained no profanity nor anything that might be offensive to someone: an example of the post that was called stupid and basically told me to be glad that it wasn't locked up was a post about what I thought were some of the best or most influential anime songs. What bothered me the most was, however, I have heard in the club meeting someone else mentioning a point similar to one I have raised in the forum post, and he was quickly told to shut up: more precisely, he questioned the physics in Shakugan no Shana's world and was told that since there is magic, we should not think about any science in Shana's world. So the question is, are anime groups and communities generally this closed minded and impolite like Purdue Anime Club, or is PAC an exception to the norm?



By: Mashner

Sat, 16 Sep 2006 17:58:12 +0000

They said NOT to Kino no Tabi! I can't believe it. Have you actually SEEN it?



By: Zeroblade

Sat, 16 Sep 2006 16:22:14 +0000

Well, as for comments about the podcast, I'd have to say that you probably could've trimmed off some of the crappier shows (like that Silk Road Yuuto thingy) and left the time to talk a little more about the better stuff like Kanon. Also, perhaps the "Hot or not" section could just be a regular 1-minute segment in each podcast, wherein you guys take the chance to mock some of the crappier shows or episodes. As for questions... ... actually, I got nothing.



By: Pastel

Fri, 15 Sep 2006 16:53:35 +0000

Don't worry, you're meant to have a bad episode at one point or another. They have had 8 episodes of non boringness, each episode being a joy to listen to up till now. It isn't HATE, it's just constructive criticism. No-one typed this episode sux i hate jp hung hinano dey suk



By: Hinano

Fri, 15 Sep 2006 11:05:50 +0000

are we ever prepared? isnt it always "WHERE THE FUCK IS ______ WE GOTTA PODCAST!" :P



By: hungtruong

Fri, 15 Sep 2006 02:48:25 +0000

In all honesty, we pretty much didn't prepare for this one. So yeah, next one should be better. Maybe.



By: Retsgip

Fri, 15 Sep 2006 01:51:24 +0000

Psh, American stereotypes just make me laugh. Why? Because they're usually true and they're damn funny. I'm from America and I think we're pretty damn evil or scary. If I had grown up in a different country, it'd probably be even worse. Simple solution though: Just don't watch the animes that conflict with your views, or learn to cope with it. Also, there's hella hate going on. Jeez, these 3 have lives outside of their podcasting, give em a break for trying to do something special for us all. I'm pretty sure their main goal was to have fun, so anything beyond that is a bonus to us listeners.



By: Thor

Thu, 14 Sep 2006 22:53:14 +0000

QUESTIONS: 1) Just curious as to why some of the more stronger hitting and well done anime movies/OVA are never mentioned among many bloggers or even in your own podcasts in reference to stories that affected or left lasting impressions. Is it a generational thing? (i.e. younger anime watchers may not have seen these titles and not taken the time to go back and watch as they are too obsessed with the latest Bleach or Naruto fillers?) Although JP started his anime watching came much later, Hinano and Hung I assume have been watching since the late 90's. In all that time, did none of you ever see titles like Grave of the Fireflies (great movie on WWII japan tragedy about teh cruelty of war), Now and Then, Here and There (one of the more eerily brutal anime OVA I can recall about child brutallity, the pain and suffering of war, etc.), Arjuna (pro environmental) and etc. etc. Do teh Right Thing is a great movie from Spike, but come on, did none of these leave any kind of impression? o_O 2) NOT being an ignorant "All USA, USA ROCKS, EVERYONE ELSE SUCKS" kind of idiot, I can handle a bit of anti USA undertones in anime. We dropped 2 horrible bombs there in Japan, and we are often a world bully (usually when a Republican is in office) so I get it. But I feel as if there is more and more anti American themes in anime lately and it's getting to the point where it seems like every show is brining up the "Evil USA" or the evil USA military. What is your take on all this anti-American comments, themes, and do you think it will effect DVD sales here in the USA? (Examples, notice how super similar looking characters mimicking Condoleezza Rice and other current Bush administration people are shown to be wanting mass murdering Chiropterans in the Blood series? In the GITS shows, it's the evil American Military that is an underlying enemy to Section 9. And so on, and so on... It's as if the anime industry in Japan is reverting back to it's old sterotypes of American again.. (Anyone remember the Mad Bull anime!?? OMG stop the horror!)



By: Hinano

Thu, 14 Sep 2006 22:27:18 +0000

So much hate



By: I-k

Thu, 14 Sep 2006 18:32:31 +0000

"awesome!" $ What's up with shoujo series and sparkles? And crossdressing? and Traps?



By: Haze

Thu, 14 Sep 2006 16:30:20 +0000

I think it's time for you to change the format a bit!



By: Pastel

Thu, 14 Sep 2006 12:46:48 +0000

I didn't like this episode. The preview thing could have been better than it actually was. You could have done more research. Of course, you can't know everything, but it seems that the mark is missed so many times. Like, BONES new anime being ignored and being dubbed "just another period drama". Spirit of the Sun is very interesting and unique (in terms of anime), and you obviously just based your comments on the pictures you saw on your official site. And Hinano's "This guy's hot, so I'm gonna watch it" and "This guy isn't, so I'm not" is annoying. And it seems that all too often, the same mailbag questions are repeated in some way or another. Have a list of "already asked questions". Though you promote your podcast on the basis that it doesn't have a structure, SOME structure or planned-ness would benefit. Have a few more weekly features. Maybe you could do some "top 5" feature or SOMETHING like that. You see how Hinano did a blog post with older anime? Something like that, just with different subjects. And please introduce more special guests! Do the three core people (Hung, Hinano, JP), but have different guests for different segments on the show, like what you did with that robotic sounding guy. Just make sure it's semi planned. And questions: *What are the worst anime OPs you have listened to? *Which anime would you show to people who a. Haven't seen an anime or b. Have a bad opinion of anime, i.e. think it is childish *Are any of you fans of NARUTARU?



By: wonkeydonkey

Thu, 14 Sep 2006 11:04:27 +0000

i'm still waiting for the rest of that show to get subbed ;_;



By: THEgreencrayon

Wed, 13 Sep 2006 23:36:01 +0000

the full version of kamisama kazoku's "Brand New Morning" is out! ^___^



By: Retsgip

Wed, 13 Sep 2006 23:35:20 +0000

I just wanted to say, that Negima picture is all sorts of disturbing. It looks like he's being rammed in the butt by the girl behind him. Although that may seem hot to some, it just makes me cringe every time I see it. Nice podcast, btw. I enjoyed it. I even followed along with you and looked at all the animes as you talked about them. It reminded me of when I was a kid and I'd read picturebooks on tape or something. Funtimes!



By: wonkeydonkey

Tue, 12 Sep 2006 16:42:00 +0000

i hadn't realised there were so many jump mangas being made into anime this season, maybe they'll attract naruto fans who are sick of fillers? anyway my question is what/which anime have you rewatched the most and why?



By: bj0rN`-

Tue, 12 Sep 2006 02:06:02 +0000

LoL! Gonna check out this now. I always love talks about upcoming seasons and reviews.



By: Hinano

Tue, 12 Sep 2006 00:40:38 +0000

ROFLMAO I just realized i said "jikai anime nano podcast dai 9 wa" instead of dai jyu wa lol



By: Andrew

Mon, 11 Sep 2006 20:51:52 +0000

Umm that was not at all what I meant by Anime hot or not, {I was thinking more along the lines of like anime tropes] but whatever, it was still awesome.



By: pKjd

Mon, 11 Sep 2006 06:57:38 +0000

Just added 5 more titles to the list: BLACK LAGOON: The Second Barrage _Summer Season.1 FREEDOM Bikkuriman Hikariden Master of Epic Another fine podcast as always. I'm really glad you guys were able to find my list useful. I'll be sure to keep it updated as the weeks go by. Thanks again.



By: Crayotic Rockwell

Mon, 11 Sep 2006 06:35:05 +0000

If there ever was an argument that the animenano podcast needs a little preperation or organization before discussing topics or previews, episode 9 is definitely it. Not everyone, but at least one person in the posse, who can school the others.. It's normally not so bad, but after listening to the list of previews this episode, I kinda feel as though the majority of them could be cut out and I wouldn't have really missed much entertainment or information. You want the podcast to sound like three people hanging out, but not so much that you forget that there's an audience downloading and listening to 50 minutes of this. The mailbag was delivered pretty quick and solid tho. (although the hot/not feature coulda been used to pad a shorter episode) Jigoku Shoujo better not try to shoehorn another plot.. Jigoku Shoujo pwning random assholes = radness. Jigoku Shoujo getting all emo and and not pwning anyone = wackness. Oh and when I was referring to a "shittier product", I guess I was talking about script editing/censorship.. lots of localization.. loose/lazy translations.. drop japanese extras... since the mainstream isn't going to worry so much about that.. So yeah, what Hung said :) I probably should have said "pander less to the hardcore fans" and if that'll be a worry (which is probably silly since most people just rewatch their fansubs :))



By: jpmeyer

Mon, 11 Sep 2006 06:27:21 +0000

@fortedash http://www.penny-arcade.com/comic/2005/05/09



By: hungtruong

Mon, 11 Sep 2006 05:04:45 +0000

Ha, I saw that press release about moe and was gonna write a post about it. But I'm lazy.



By: fortedash

Mon, 11 Sep 2006 04:51:51 +0000

Jpmeyer on Eva: "So hot that it melted the butter that I liberally applied to my groin" - LEGENDARY