Subscribe: NPR Topics: Opinion
http://www.npr.org/rss/rss.php?id=1057
Added By: Feedage Forager Feedage Grade A rated
Language: English
Tags:
advice  battle sexes  bodega  hispanic sounding  king  new  npr  president trump  president  sounding surname  sounding  times  trump  week 
Rate this Feed
Rate this feedRate this feedRate this feedRate this feedRate this feed
Rate this feed 1 starRate this feed 2 starRate this feed 3 starRate this feed 4 starRate this feed 5 star

Comments (0)

Feed Details and Statistics Feed Statistics
Preview: NPR Topics: Opinion

Opinion : NPR



Editorial opinions and commentary on news events and world events. Download podcasts and subscribe to RSS feeds.



Last Build Date: Fri, 22 Sep 2017 14:18:54 -0400

Copyright: Copyright 2017 NPR - For Personal Use Only
 



'Battle Of The Sexes' Revisits Billie Jean King's Historic Win Against Bobby Riggs

Fri, 22 Sep 2017 14:18:54 -0400

Emma Stone stars as King in a breezy new film that carries us back to '73, and the heyday of the women's lib movement. Critic John Powers says the message of Battle of the Sexes still resonates today.



NPR's Movie Preview: 16 New Films To Watch This Fall

Fri, 22 Sep 2017 06:00:00 -0400

As summer gives way to fall, blockbusters give way to award contenders. Here are some of the best, buzziest and otherwise noteworthy films coming to theaters.



An Offensive Hypothetical Slips Through Newsroom Oversight Process

Wed, 20 Sep 2017 11:14:40 -0400

A report about a disturbing Facebook practice raises troubling newsroom lapses.



Lessons From Katrina: How Restaurants Can Be Beacons In A Catastrophe

Wed, 20 Sep 2017 10:00:00 -0400

In good times, restaurants do more than furnish meals. They also provide a place to bring people together. As Louisiana knows all too well, that's what makes them so vital during the worst times, too.



Black, Jewish And Avoiding The Synagogue On The High Holy Days

Wed, 20 Sep 2017 06:06:11 -0400

It's one thing when outsiders don't recognize my faith. It's a different kind of sadness when I'm made to feel like a stranger in the synagogue.



Airing The Dirty Laundry: Too Few Of NPR's Corrections Are Heard On The Radio

Mon, 18 Sep 2017 16:35:34 -0400

If NPR makes a mistake, usually listeners won't know without checking online.



Move Over Millennials, Here Comes 'iGen' ... Or Maybe Not

Sun, 17 Sep 2017 07:01:00 -0400

A new book worries that growing up with smartphones and the Internet has been harmful to a generation of kids. Critic Annalisa Quinn says intergenerational carping is a long, and unhelpful tradition.



What's In A (Hispanic-Sounding) Surname? We Gave Our Advice. Here's Yours

Sun, 17 Sep 2017 06:18:28 -0400

Last week, Ask Code Switch heard from a woman who was considering trading her white-sounding last name for her boyfriend's Latino one. Here's a roundup of the best advice we got from our readers.



High-Tech 'Bodega' Falls Short Of The Real Thing

Sat, 16 Sep 2017 03:28:51 -0400

Two entrepreneurs attracted criticism after they unveiled a ritzy vending machine they named Bodega. NPR's Scott Simon muses on the value of the brick and mortar stores that predate the machine.



Week In Politics: Trump Debates DACA, Border Security With Democrats

Fri, 15 Sep 2017 16:35:00 -0400

Democratic leaders emerged from a meeting with President Trump heralding a deal to protect DACA. The president says there was no deal. Was this a moment of bipartisanship? NPR's Ailsa Chang asks NPR political commentators E.J. Dionne of The Washington Post and Brookings Institution and David Brooks of The New York Times.



Nobody Takes The Bodega Out Of The Corner. Not Even A Startup

Fri, 15 Sep 2017 15:00:00 -0400

A new startup wants to make these neighborhood stores "obsolete." But for many people, bodegas aren't just about convenience — they feed the spirit of a community.



What Should We Make Of Trump's Speech Patterns — And Our Responses To Them?

Thu, 14 Sep 2017 09:46:00 -0400

Yes, President Trump's words tend to be simple and oft-repeated. The real question, says anthropologist Barbara J. King, may be what happens when we adopt them.



Facts And Friction

Wed, 13 Sep 2017 11:06:30 -0400

Who fact-checks the fact checkers?



With A Hurricane Approaching Florida, Airline Algorithms Show No Sympathy

Sat, 09 Sep 2017 08:06:39 -0400

The software of major airlines monitor supply and demand, then lower or raise prices accordingly — within seconds. That can lead to some exorbitant prices, NPR's Scott Simon says.



With This Ring, I Thee Take ... Your Hispanic-Sounding Surname?

Sat, 09 Sep 2017 06:01:02 -0400

What happens when a "Miller" becomes a "Martinez"? This week, we offer advice for a woman whose boyfriend is worried about unconscious bias affecting their marriage.