Subscribe: FT.com - Wolfgang Munchau
http://www.ft.com/rss/comment/columnists/wolfgangmunchau
Added By: Feedage Forager Feedage Grade B rated
Language: English
Tags:
brexit  britain  coalition talks  coalition  economy  eurozone  german  germany  political  reform  talks  time  trade  wolfgang münchau 
Rate this Feed
Rate this feedRate this feedRate this feedRate this feedRate this feed
Rate this feed 1 starRate this feed 2 starRate this feed 3 starRate this feed 4 starRate this feed 5 star

Comments (0)

Feed Details and Statistics Feed Statistics
Preview: FT.com - Wolfgang Munchau

Wolfgang Münchau



Wolfgang Münchau



Last Build Date: Mon, 23 Apr 2018 19:30:57 GMT

Copyright: © Copyright The Financial Times Ltd 2018. "FT" and "Financial Times" are trademarks of the Financial Times. See http://www.ft.com/servicestools/help/terms#legal1 for the terms and conditions of reuse.
 



Eurozone downturn and lack of reform presage existential crisis

Sun, 22 Apr 2018 10:02:01 GMT

A slowdown mixed with a monetary union unwilling to repair itself would be a risk to the global economy



Germany is frustrating Emmanuel Macron’s grand ambitions

Sun, 15 Apr 2018 11:10:05 GMT

The reality is that Paris and Berlin are no longer natural allies



Trade disputes reveal the EU’s strategic weakness

Sun, 08 Apr 2018 10:09:01 GMT

A bloc of nations with small-country mindsets wallowing in a permanent state of dependence



The time for revoking Brexit has passed

Sun, 01 Apr 2018 04:00:45 GMT

Britain’s economy has failed to collapse and the EU has moved on



Financial markets fail to reflect the eurozone time-bomb in Italy

Sun, 25 Mar 2018 12:14:26 GMT

Parliamentary dynamics are crucial as populists make up 60 per cent of MPs and senators



In a trade war Germany is the weakest link

Sun, 18 Mar 2018 12:49:07 GMT

Steel tariffs are a side show — extra duty on car exports could devastate the EU



Italy is storing up trouble for the eurozone

Sun, 11 Mar 2018 15:30:06 GMT

A Five Star government could derail talks on reform of the single currency bloc



Mario Draghi’s successor has some hard questions to answer

Sun, 04 Mar 2018 16:40:36 GMT

Candidates with the necessary qualities for the ECB top job are in short supply



A customs union would avoid the worst of all post-Brexit worlds

Sun, 25 Feb 2018 16:03:19 GMT

The EU is likely to approve such a deal, but it would also impose stringent controls



Eurozone reformers act as if the crisis never happened

Sun, 18 Feb 2018 14:54:04 GMT

Safe bonds are a bad idea whose time has definitely not come



Germany gets a taste of grassroots revolt 

Sun, 11 Feb 2018 15:59:43 GMT

A youth-led rebellion against Angela Merkel’s new coalition has echoes of the Brexit tumult



German politics is tilting towards federalism

Sun, 04 Feb 2018 13:54:05 GMT

Conservatives see measures proposed in the coalition talks as a slippery slope



Italy’s political threat to the EU and to investors

Sun, 28 Jan 2018 17:53:50 GMT

Markets are too complacent about the parliamentary election next month



Brexit ‘Revocateurs’ are wrong to put faith in another referendum

Sun, 21 Jan 2018 13:42:08 GMT

No question could keep the UK in the EU and Leavers may boycott a second poll



A German coalition deal to radically reshape Europe

Sun, 14 Jan 2018 16:10:11 GMT

The preliminary agreement signals a shift to more agenda-driven EU politics



Lack of eurozone reform outranks Brexit as the EU’s biggest threat

Sun, 17 Dec 2017 12:39:11 GMT

The cyclical recovery has deflected attention from a series of unresolved issues



Theresa May wants to sneak back into Europe’s single market

Sun, 10 Dec 2017 13:46:05 GMT

The Brussels agreement represents a powerful reminder that Britain is leaving the EU



Even £50bn will not buy Britain very much

Sun, 03 Dec 2017 13:38:37 GMT

The ratification of trade agreements cannot be contractually agreed, it is always political



Germany’s coalition woes reveal the failing centre

Sun, 26 Nov 2017 15:58:15 GMT

Lindner’s decision to walk out of the talks heralds a fracturing future



Is Angela Merkel’s tenure as German chancellor drawing to a close?

Mon, 20 Nov 2017 11:43:03 GMT

Failed coalition talks severely dent her leadership prospects, writes Wolfgang Münchau  



After Brexit, the UK’s old-fashioned economy will lose its clout

Sun, 19 Nov 2017 16:21:06 GMT

The great irony of leaving the EU is that Britain will be forced to be more European



Europe’s four freedoms are its very essence

Sun, 12 Nov 2017 17:45:44 GMT

Political logic links EU citizens’ freedom of movement to goods, services and capital



Revoke the Brexit blueprint, not the decision to leave

Sun, 05 Nov 2017 17:37:46 GMT

Short-term costs should not be a factor, but long-term trade-offs matter



Why an ailing eurozone still requires extreme treatment

Sun, 29 Oct 2017 12:15:50 GMT

Even after a decade-long recovery, the ECB may never be able to halt asset purchases



Germany’s financial squeeze offers Brexit hope

Sun, 22 Oct 2017 16:21:27 GMT

Its big current account surplus means Merkel will not want a cliff-edge British exit