Subscribe: FT.com - Philip Stephens
http://www.ft.com/rss/comment/columnists/philipstephens
Preview: FT.com - Philip Stephens

Philip Stephens



Philip Stephens



Last Build Date: Thu, 22 Feb 2018 11:36:49 GMT

Copyright: © Copyright The Financial Times Ltd 2018. "FT" and "Financial Times" are trademarks of the Financial Times. See http://www.ft.com/servicestools/help/terms#legal1 for the terms and conditions of reuse.
 



Donald Trump’s retreat leaves Vladimir Putin the winner

Thu, 22 Feb 2018 05:01:19 GMT

It is in the Middle East that the decline of US leadership has been most keenly felt



Kim Jong Un gives Donald Trump a lesson in diplomacy

Thu, 15 Feb 2018 05:00:53 GMT

Strip out the noise, and the North Korean leader has outsmarted his opponent at every turn



Memo to May: Britain needs European security

Tue, 13 Feb 2018 11:39:53 GMT

Participation in EU schemes such as the common arrest warrant is vital to the national interest



Don’t blame George Soros for the UK’s second thoughts on Brexit

Thu, 08 Feb 2018 16:04:57 GMT

Remain-backing financier is an easy but inexact target for unhappy leavers



Pacifist Germany defies Europe’s nationalist tide

Thu, 08 Feb 2018 05:00:31 GMT

Berlin has not shrunk from the darkest chapters of continental history



Brexit Britain’s nervous breakdown

Thu, 01 Feb 2018 05:00:40 GMT

The country is upending the policies that have set its national course for 50 years



No, non or nein? The other Brussels Brexit battle

Fri, 26 Jan 2018 13:06:21 GMT

Paris thinks EU business could be conducted in French again



Theresa May’s new Brexit strategy: jump first, argue later

Thu, 25 Jan 2018 05:00:31 GMT

The UK government has no clear vision of Britain’s future relationship with Europe



Donald Trump, Davos and the special relationship

Thu, 18 Jan 2018 05:00:46 GMT

Britain’s future is of a nation badly diminished in Europe and unloved in the US



Home truths for hardline Brexiters

Wed, 17 Jan 2018 13:16:16 GMT

Johnson and co will have to acknowledge the economic costs of the rupture they favour



Now Angela Merkel steps into Emmanuel Macron’s shadow

Thu, 11 Jan 2018 05:00:49 GMT

Berlin was used to writing the EU’s agenda, but currently Paris has the stage to itself



Britain has made itself a Brexit straitjacket

Thu, 04 Jan 2018 05:00:58 GMT

In setting out red lines, Theresa May has created a bespoke trap for the UK on trade



Populism is failing, but it is too soon to cheer

Thu, 21 Dec 2017 05:00:42 GMT

Many of those who backed insurgents have genuine grievances



Britain needs a five-year Brexit transition

Mon, 18 Dec 2017 12:54:02 GMT

Tory politics point to early cut-off point, but realities press hard in other direction



Why Europe need not kowtow to China

Thu, 14 Dec 2017 05:01:09 GMT

With a modicum of confidence, EU nations can set the terms of the relationship



Harsh lessons for the next phase of Brexit

Thu, 07 Dec 2017 05:01:08 GMT

Brexiters’ false promises have dissolved on contact with the facts of economic life



A coalition will be the end of Angela Merkel

Thu, 30 Nov 2017 10:47:33 GMT

Surpluses and a pro-EU agenda could tempt the SPD as the Merkel era nears its close



Stop the world. Germany is stepping off

Thu, 23 Nov 2017 05:01:31 GMT

The politics of plenty once led politicians to lift their sights to Europe. No longer



When German power meets Polish nationalism

Thu, 16 Nov 2017 05:00:55 GMT

While Warsaw turns back to the past, Berlin wrestles with the consequences of hegemony



Brexit has broken British politics

Thu, 09 Nov 2017 05:01:52 GMT

To old friends, the UK appears to be in the grip of an inexplicable fever



Europe’s choice — French ambition or German bean-counting

Thu, 02 Nov 2017 05:01:32 GMT

Berlin wanted a strong ally in Paris but is now lukewarm on Macron’s reforms



There are alternatives: late Brexit or no Brexit

Thu, 26 Oct 2017 04:01:54 GMT

Two years was never going to be long enough to repatriate responsibilities



Rage, Rocket Man and the price of Donald Trump’s vanity

Thu, 19 Oct 2017 04:01:05 GMT

US allies’ policy of working to minimise the president’s impact is running out of road



How to beat populism in Europe

Thu, 12 Oct 2017 04:00:27 GMT

Mainstream politics must stop defending a status quo that is manifestly unfair



Sovereignty and self-determination collide in Catalonia

Thu, 05 Oct 2017 04:00:28 GMT

Catalans cannot vote to secede without affecting Spanish citizens elsewhere