Subscribe: FT.com - Philip Stephens
http://www.ft.com/rss/comment/columnists/philipstephens
Preview: FT.com - Philip Stephens

Philip Stephens



Philip Stephens



Last Build Date: Tue, 16 Jan 2018 23:56:40 GMT

Copyright: © Copyright The Financial Times Ltd 2018. "FT" and "Financial Times" are trademarks of the Financial Times. See http://www.ft.com/servicestools/help/terms#legal1 for the terms and conditions of reuse.
 



Now Angela Merkel steps into Emmanuel Macron’s shadow

Thu, 11 Jan 2018 05:00:49 GMT

Berlin was used to writing the EU’s agenda, but currently Paris has the stage to itself



Britain has made itself a Brexit straitjacket

Thu, 04 Jan 2018 05:00:58 GMT

In setting out red lines, Theresa May has created a bespoke trap for the UK on trade



Populism is failing, but it is too soon to cheer

Thu, 21 Dec 2017 05:00:42 GMT

Many of those who backed insurgents have genuine grievances



Britain needs a five-year Brexit transition

Mon, 18 Dec 2017 12:54:02 GMT

Tory politics point to early cut-off point, but realities press hard in other direction



Why Europe need not kowtow to China

Thu, 14 Dec 2017 05:01:09 GMT

With a modicum of confidence, EU nations can set the terms of the relationship



Harsh lessons for the next phase of Brexit

Thu, 07 Dec 2017 05:01:08 GMT

Brexiters’ false promises have dissolved on contact with the facts of economic life



A coalition will be the end of Angela Merkel

Thu, 30 Nov 2017 10:47:33 GMT

Surpluses and a pro-EU agenda could tempt the SPD as the Merkel era nears its close



Stop the world. Germany is stepping off

Thu, 23 Nov 2017 05:01:31 GMT

The politics of plenty once led politicians to lift their sights to Europe. No longer



When German power meets Polish nationalism

Thu, 16 Nov 2017 05:00:55 GMT

While Warsaw turns back to the past, Berlin wrestles with the consequences of hegemony



Brexit has broken British politics

Thu, 09 Nov 2017 05:01:52 GMT

To old friends, the UK appears to be in the grip of an inexplicable fever



Europe’s choice — French ambition or German bean-counting

Thu, 02 Nov 2017 05:01:32 GMT

Berlin wanted a strong ally in Paris but is now lukewarm on Macron’s reforms



There are alternatives: late Brexit or no Brexit

Thu, 26 Oct 2017 04:01:54 GMT

Two years was never going to be long enough to repatriate responsibilities



Rage, Rocket Man and the price of Donald Trump’s vanity

Thu, 19 Oct 2017 04:01:05 GMT

US allies’ policy of working to minimise the president’s impact is running out of road



How to beat populism in Europe

Thu, 12 Oct 2017 04:00:27 GMT

Mainstream politics must stop defending a status quo that is manifestly unfair



Sovereignty and self-determination collide in Catalonia

Thu, 05 Oct 2017 04:00:28 GMT

Catalans cannot vote to secede without affecting Spanish citizens elsewhere



The lesson of the German election

Thu, 28 Sep 2017 04:06:46 GMT

The danger is not that Germany will be overrun by the far right, but that it will turn inwards



What the German election means for the UK

Mon, 25 Sep 2017 12:42:19 GMT

Merkel’s weakened position is unlikely to help May’s push for a softer line on Brexit



Angela Merkel writes the plumber’s guide to politics

Thu, 21 Sep 2017 04:01:40 GMT

The big unanswered question is what the chancellor intends to do with her victory



Merkel’s message to Theresa May: Brexit means Brexit

Thu, 14 Sep 2017 04:11:01 GMT

Misreading Germany has been a reliable thread of 44 years of British EU membership



The road from Black Wednesday to Brexit

Wed, 13 Sep 2017 04:01:28 GMT

An account of Britain’s exit from the European Exchange Rate Mechanism tells a familiar story of economic failure



Dullness is not enough for Angela Merkel’s Germany

Thu, 07 Sep 2017 04:00:42 GMT

The country cannot avoid discussion of its international role much longer



Corbyn and Trump join hands against the liberal world order

Thu, 31 Aug 2017 04:08:38 GMT

The organising ideology of Corbynism is not pacifism but anti-Americanism






The making of Trump’s worldview

Wed, 09 Aug 2017 13:15:21 GMT

Two historians show how an ‘America First’ foreign policy has been taking shape for decades



A Brexit transition is only half an answer

Thu, 27 Jul 2017 04:01:32 GMT

The mantra that the UK wants a ‘deep and special’ relationship with the EU is empty