Subscribe: FT.com - Philip Stephens
http://www.ft.com/rss/comment/columnists/philipstephens
Preview: FT.com - Philip Stephens

Philip Stephens



Philip Stephens



Last Build Date: Wed, 24 May 2017 00:53:43 GMT

Copyright: © Copyright The Financial Times Ltd 2017. "FT" and "Financial Times" are trademarks of the Financial Times. See http://www.ft.com/servicestools/help/terms#legal1 for the terms and conditions of reuse.
 



Theresa May has got it right about business

Sun, 21 May 2017 15:02:45 GMT

Market capitalism can only work within frameworks that secure the consent of citizens



Crises, chaos and the world according to Donald Trump

Thu, 18 May 2017 04:00:20 GMT

The organising goal of US foreign policy is the avoidance of fresh calamities



How Jeremy Corbyn’s Labour party is planning for opposition

Sat, 13 May 2017 11:24:01 GMT

What matters to the class warriors is that they retain control beyond defeat



Emmanuel Macron, Donald Trump and a moment for optimism

Thu, 11 May 2017 04:02:05 GMT

The French election serves as a reminder that voters will listen to a reasoned case



What Theresa May has learnt from Margaret Thatcher

Sun, 07 May 2017 12:32:35 GMT

Measured against Jeremy Corbyn, the prime minister can claim to occupy the centre



Theresa May, Jeremy Corbyn and an election trapped in the past

Thu, 04 May 2017 04:07:45 GMT

One leader pines for the 1950s, the other for the 1970s



Theresa May is dangerously disdainful of dissent   

Sat, 29 Apr 2017 14:30:33 GMT

A thumping majority will not change Europe’s negotiating stance  



Emmanuel Macron offers the patriotic antidote to nationalism

Thu, 27 Apr 2017 04:00:09 GMT

Populism prospers because many of the grievances it has tapped into are real



Michael Williams, international relations expert, 1949-2017

Wed, 26 Apr 2017 14:32:01 GMT

A fine public servant who was instrumental in bringing peace to war-torn nations



What Theresa May’s election gambit means for Brexit

Thu, 20 Apr 2017 04:00:13 GMT

A strong personal mandate would give the prime minister a margin of manoeuvre



Donald Trump, Xi Jinping and a great power bargain

Thu, 06 Apr 2017 04:00:38 GMT

The singular threat to Sino-American relations comes from North Korea



Brussels takes back control of Brexit

Thu, 30 Mar 2017 04:00:28 GMT

All the power lies with Europe and Britain holds no cards in the coming negotiations



A Franco-German bargain to save Europe

Thu, 23 Mar 2017 09:01:30 GMT

After a deluge of crises the next few years will confound the doubters



A Franco-German bargain to save Europe

Thu, 23 Mar 2017 05:00:24 GMT

After a deluge of crises the next few years will confound the doubters



Brexit’s Mr Make-or-Break it

Wed, 22 Mar 2017 14:06:47 GMT

UK government faces a tough time if Martin Selmayr succeeds in setting tone for talks



Why Britain may not want a US trade deal

Thu, 16 Mar 2017 13:49:46 GMT

UK’s large surplus with America makes it a prime target for Trump’s protectionists



Brexit maps the path to Scottish independence

Thu, 16 Mar 2017 05:00:56 GMT

The break-up of Britain may not be inevitable but the wind is blowing that way



Europe’s fight to prove union has staying power after Brexit

Wed, 15 Mar 2017 14:00:54 GMT

Sixty years after the Treaty of Rome, there is still a case for integration even as the UK prepares to leave



How not to negotiate Brexit — the essential guide

Thu, 09 Mar 2017 05:00:03 GMT

The risk is that mutual interest in an agreed outcome is lost to emotion



How Jeremy Corbyn has remade British politics

Thu, 02 Mar 2017 05:04:41 GMT

The Labour leader is not interested in the politics required to win votes at home



What George Orwell would have made of Donald Trump

Fri, 24 Feb 2017 04:35:52 GMT

The energy of populist insurgents is about more than flat living standards



Boris Johnson forgets the message

Tue, 21 Feb 2017 13:06:26 GMT

Foreign secretary is not winning friends on the other side of the bargaining table



Could Donald Trump be tripped up by a constitutional codicil?

Sun, 19 Feb 2017 16:03:57 GMT

Members of the president’s own party think the unthinkable, writes Philip Stephens



Pence pleases European ears at the Munich Security Conference 

Sat, 18 Feb 2017 14:43:06 GMT

Western leaders must hope that Trump’s deputies retain hold of US defence policy



Donald Trump, Vladimir Putin and a fatal attraction

Thu, 16 Feb 2017 05:01:04 GMT

After Flynn’s resignation, smiles are turning to scowls in Moscow