Subscribe: FT.com - Lucy Kellaway
http://www.ft.com/rss/comment/columnists/lucykellaway
Added By: Feedage Forager Feedage Grade B rated
Language: English
Tags:
business  corporate  guff  i’m  kellaway  leaving  life  lucy kellaway  lucy  office  set teach  teach skip  work  workplace   
Rate this Feed
Rate this feedRate this feedRate this feedRate this feedRate this feed
Rate this feed 1 starRate this feed 2 starRate this feed 3 starRate this feed 4 starRate this feed 5 star

Comments (0)

Feed Details and Statistics Feed Statistics
Preview: FT.com - Lucy Kellaway

Lucy Kellaway





Published: Sun, 19 Feb 2017 14:06:34 GMT

Last Build Date: Sat, 25 Feb 2017 11:24:48 GMT

Copyright: © Copyright The Financial Times Ltd 2017. "FT" and "Financial Times" are trademarks of the Financial Times. See http://www.ft.com/servicestools/help/terms#legal1 for the terms and conditions of reuse.
 



Should you ever trade on past glories?

Sun, 19 Feb 2017 14:06:34 GMT

Telling others what you did before can be a sign of mediocrity



Sexy and super bland: the office uniform

Sun, 12 Feb 2017 10:41:27 GMT

Individualism is to be avoided at all costs



How to ask for what you want — and get it 

Sun, 05 Feb 2017 12:19:23 GMT

Start with please and thank you, then spoon on the flattery



Cold feet: Lucy Kellaway visits a no-nonsense Nordic spa

Wed, 01 Feb 2017 05:01:35 GMT

In Copenhagen, a 95C sauna is followed by a swim in the freezing Baltic



I am a difficult person at work and proud of it

Sun, 29 Jan 2017 13:05:10 GMT

In the workplace and in life, being troublesome can be useful



Why is work making us miserable?

Sun, 22 Jan 2017 11:51:11 GMT

Office life is better than ever before, but dissatisfaction is rising



Writing clearly turns out to be not so easy after all

Sun, 15 Jan 2017 14:26:23 GMT

My plunge into euphemism and obfuscation



Golden flannel awards: corporate guff

Sun, 08 Jan 2017 12:22:49 GMT

Contenders for 2016’s gong ranged from euphemistic to ‘plain moronic’



I’m leaving and I want you to join me

Sun, 20 Nov 2016 10:29:18 GMT

After 31 years at the FT I’m becoming a teacher and have set up Now Teach



Skip the empathy, Mr Schultz, and focus on the coffee

Sun, 13 Nov 2016 12:09:19 GMT

Starbucks boss has no business sending a missive to staff to tell them how to be



My tips for overcoming a fear of public speaking

Sun, 06 Nov 2016 12:58:38 GMT

Remind yourself how awful most business leaders are: the bar is low



Lucy Kellaway v David Tang: the rules of modern life

Thu, 03 Nov 2016 12:03:59 GMT

The FT’s resident agony aunt and uncle discuss social niceties and conundrums



Silicon Valley’s corporate culture is ageist

Sun, 30 Oct 2016 15:54:52 GMT

Faddish organisational trends that shut out older workers are in danger of spreading



How Elena Ferrante gave the game away

Thu, 27 Oct 2016 09:01:28 GMT

The Italian author’s unmasking caused outrage — but her new book reveals far more



Being early has everything going for it

Sun, 23 Oct 2016 12:21:22 GMT

Time spent waiting is an opportunity to catch up with emails, reading and phone calls



Why unsolicited feedback is good for you

Sun, 16 Oct 2016 14:12:52 GMT

Just as with other skills, we benefit from clear and direct views that help us improve



Unisex loos are no refuge for a gossip

Sun, 09 Oct 2016 12:26:41 GMT

Rise of the gender-neutral toilet in the workplace



Lessons in clarity from Edward Mike Davis

Sun, 02 Oct 2016 11:36:07 GMT

The Tiger Oil chief’s missives were rude, but his style was perfect



The bliss of losing my smartphone

Sun, 25 Sep 2016 11:43:40 GMT

The aftermath of leaving my iPhone in a Washington DC taxi was frightening, shaming, then liberating



Wells Fargo’s wagonload of insincerity

Sun, 18 Sep 2016 09:52:59 GMT

After being taken for a ride, customers should bridle at the guff in its apology advert