Subscribe: Comments on The Written World: Week in Review - January 10, 2010
http://myreadingbooks.blogspot.com/feeds/355792885966265523/comments/default
Added By: Feedage Forager Feedage Grade A rated
Language: English
Tags:
book  books  decade  good  haven  hope  library  list  love  new decade  new  read  reading  start  washing machine  washing  year 
Rate this Feed
Rate this feedRate this feedRate this feedRate this feedRate this feed
Rate this feed 1 starRate this feed 2 starRate this feed 3 starRate this feed 4 starRate this feed 5 star

Comments (0)

Feed Details and Statistics Feed Statistics
Preview: Comments on The Written World: Week in Review - January 10, 2010

Comments on The Written World: Week in Review - January 10, 2010





Updated: 2018-04-21T09:18:27.062-03:00

 



Oh Kelly! I'm so sorry about the flooded basem...

2010-01-13T10:25:41.217-04:00

Oh Kelly! I'm so sorry about the flooded basement! What a nightmare. :(

I haven't read your review of The Djinn yet, because I'm slowly working on reading the book right now myself, but I can't wait to finish so I can go see what you had to say about it.



Oh yes, and I meant add - I can relate to your hou...

2010-01-12T13:36:02.983-04:00

Oh yes, and I meant add - I can relate to your household water issue woes! Our bathtub faucets are leaking and the plumber has given us a $800 estimate to fix it - ack! Makes me long for the days of renting when this kind of stuff was the landlord's problem.



I think we are at the start of a new decade and do...

2010-01-12T13:34:23.257-04:00

I think we are at the start of a new decade and don't understand how people could argue otherwise (although I haven't read those arguments so who know? I may be wrong), but we generally refer to decades as the 1820s, the 1950s, etc, so wouldn't this be the start of the 2010s? Plus, we ushered in the new milennium in 2000, starting off that decade - 10 years later, we are starting a new decade.

Anyway, that's my (admittedly uninformed) POV!

I think you're off to a pretty good reading year. I've only read one book and a couple graphic novels as well but have a few books on the go that I hope to finish up soon. How was the graphic novelization of Neverwhere?



If only my library allows me to check out that man...

2010-01-11T22:00:49.976-04:00

If only my library allows me to check out that many books. Yours is simply amazing. I like the sound of DRACULA.



Oh dear...so sorry to hear about your washing mach...

2010-01-11T21:25:17.859-04:00

Oh dear...so sorry to hear about your washing machine and flood. We love our new washing machine -- after having to replace the one whose motor burned out, smoked up our basement, and made me call in the firemen!!



Oh no, household appliance woes! Hate it when that...

2010-01-11T18:53:56.654-04:00

Oh no, household appliance woes! Hate it when that happens.

And, I've only finished one book this year. Now, that's a slow start! It was good though so I'm not too upset :)



I think the new decade starts this year in 2010 ba...

2010-01-11T17:13:20.269-04:00

I think the new decade starts this year in 2010 based on precedence. Nobody considered the year 2000 the 90s did they? Or 1990 part of the 80s? So why would that change now? I dunno that's just how I see it.

Good list. I miss your posts and you. We will have to chat soon when you're not busy. Possibly reschedule your trip as well?



Eek about the washer! Sorry Kelly :(

2010-01-11T16:29:13.554-04:00

Eek about the washer! Sorry Kelly :(



Doesn't sound like fun but glad it was easily ...

2010-01-11T06:44:55.145-04:00

Doesn't sound like fun but glad it was easily cleaned up! Hope you enjoy your loot!



I am really looking forward to reading your review...

2010-01-11T00:39:40.179-04:00

I am really looking forward to reading your reviews because I have not read any of the books on your list.
Happy Reading!
http://bookywooks.blogspot.com/



CBC Radio had a big thing about whether this is th...

2010-01-10T22:53:27.771-04:00

CBC Radio had a big thing about whether this is the beginning of the new decade or not. Scholars were on the radio getting seriously upset over the debate! I'm neutral on the issue - no matter which way is correct it's still 2010 :P



I so hope that you have the washing machine proble...

2010-01-10T21:42:08.509-04:00

I so hope that you have the washing machine problem solved....Wet/Dry vacs are miracle machines!!!

You have a great assortment of books checked out...North of Beautiful is fantastic...enjoy!



Glad to hear that you were able to clean out the b...

2010-01-10T20:52:55.881-04:00

Glad to hear that you were able to clean out the basement! What a pain when things like that happen. I'm going to listen to The Help on audio after I finish my two current "listens." Have a great week!



I'm so sorry about your washer :( What a freak...

2010-01-10T20:48:28.990-04:00

I'm so sorry about your washer :( What a freaking disaster!! How was Neverwhere? I've heard some mixed reviews of the Graphic Novel of that one. I love the novel itself, but have been curious about the GN version. I can't wait to read Lips Touch Three Times!! Looks so good!! I love the illustrations!



I love your weekly reads and need o add Black is f...

2010-01-10T17:59:26.115-04:00

I love your weekly reads and need o add Black is for Beginnings to my TBR list. What did you think of "Djinn"? Thank goodness for libraries!



I'm with Andi on this one...I haven't even...

2010-01-10T16:16:42.833-04:00

I'm with Andi on this one...I haven't even finished my 1st book of 2010 so I think you are doing great :) You have some great books checked out from the library...I love when you share your list of library books BTW!



If that's a slow start to the reading year, I ...

2010-01-10T14:26:51.718-04:00

If that's a slow start to the reading year, I will trade you any day! I haven't even finished my first book of 2010, and I'm a little sad about it. However, I can't be too hard on myself since I'm reading a really good book and don't want it to end.

Happy beginning of 2010!



I will DEFINITELY be the last person to read The H...

2010-01-10T12:48:18.619-04:00

I will DEFINITELY be the last person to read The Help at this rate!

I'm with The CC. I think the decade starts in 2011. After all, 1-10 is the first group of ten, right? And then 11-20 is the second.



Have you read the other books in Stolarz' seri...

2010-01-10T12:26:53.581-04:00

Have you read the other books in Stolarz' series? I have Blue is for Nightmares and the second one on my shelf but haven't gotten to them yet.

I'm about 2/3rds of the way through A Wrinkle in Time for the readalong! Hope to have my post up next week.



Magical library where you can take out that many b...

2010-01-10T12:20:37.688-04:00

Magical library where you can take out that many books. Jealous.

OBERNEWTYN!! Read it! Love it! Read the entire series! I hope to get everyone in the world hooked on this series. ;) The final two books come out this summer. *happy dance*



Love the Meg Cabot in the list. I've had Avalo...

2010-01-10T12:07:45.246-04:00

Love the Meg Cabot in the list. I've had Avalon High on my wishlist for a while. The series looks good.

Happy reading with all that great library loot.