Subscribe: Comments on MYSTERIES in PARADISE: Review: THE GIRL WHO PLAYED WITH FIRE, Stieg Larss...
http://paradise-mysteries.blogspot.com/feeds/6221709853643443651/comments/default
Added By: Feedage Forager Feedage Grade B rated
Language: English
Tags:
agree  bastard  book  books  dorte  dragon tattoo  fire  forward  girl dragon  girl  kalle  kerrie  read  reg  shoulder  tabletalk 
Rate this Feed
Rate this feedRate this feedRate this feedRate this feedRate this feed
Rate this feed 1 starRate this feed 2 starRate this feed 3 starRate this feed 4 starRate this feed 5 star

Comments (0)

Feed Details and Statistics Feed Statistics
Preview: Comments on MYSTERIES in PARADISE: Review: THE GIRL WHO PLAYED WITH FIRE, Stieg Larss...

Comments on MYSTERIES in PARADISE: Review: THE GIRL WHO PLAYED WITH FIRE, Stieg Larsson





Updated: 2017-11-15T08:13:56.496+10:30

 



Am I the only one who noticed the "FART"...

2010-12-07T02:59:30.285+10:30

Am I the only one who noticed the "FART" noise in the movie? Its in the beginning of the movie after Lisbeth makes love to her girlfriend. After her girlfriend gives her the cigarette holder gift....the girlfriend moves a little bit then farts...they immediately cut to the next scene but Lisbeth had a smirk on her face. I rewinded it like 3x to make sure it was a fart and it definitely was....LOL!!!!!!



loving the girl with the dragon tattoo and looking...

2010-05-28T09:38:41.743+09:30

loving the girl with the dragon tattoo and looking forward to this one!



Not really, I think that was a good midway point t...

2009-07-21T16:03:10.875+09:30

Not really, I think that was a good midway point to stop for a breather.



There would have been 10 Reg? Does it feel "u...

2009-07-21T06:55:40.467+09:30

There would have been 10 Reg? Does it feel "unfinished" after you've read #3?



Thanks for confirming my thinking TableTalk. Do yo...

2009-07-21T06:54:42.549+09:30

Thanks for confirming my thinking TableTalk. Do you find you re-read faster than you read a book originally?



TableTalk, I certainly agree with that plan. By th...

2009-07-21T04:49:31.767+09:30

TableTalk, I certainly agree with that plan. By the time I finished translating all three in a row, I could hardly remember which episode was in which book. It really is one big epic. Too bad we'll never see the other 7.



I've also just finished 'The Girl who Play...

2009-07-21T02:34:18.533+09:30

I've also just finished 'The Girl who Played with Fire' and I'm sure you need to read the first one to really get the best out of it. I'm also sure that to get the best out of either of them they need a re-reading- there is so much there. I'll wait until the third one is available and then go back and read the first two as a prelude to the last one.



Kerrie, I just told Dorte "thanks". Anyw...

2009-07-20T22:03:56.073+09:30

Kerrie, I just told Dorte "thanks". Anyway, no way can the word "jävla" (an adjective derived from djävul, "devil") mean "bastard," which is in a whole different realm of swearing.

From the dictionary:
djävla adj & adv
bloody;
damn[ed];
US also goddamn[ed], goddam
[«» Expressions]
[din] djävla drulle
you bloody (damn[ed], US goddamned) fool;
vulg. you fucking idiot

(Not you, Kerrie!)



Kerrie, you can rest assured that Reg is kind and ...

2009-07-20T20:04:50.979+09:30

Kerrie, you can rest assured that Reg is kind and polite towards me as always LOL



Louise, I am looking forward to the next. The firs...

2009-07-20T19:59:51.940+09:30

Louise, I am looking forward to the next. The first two do have a bit of a saga-ish feel about them.



Jeanne, I think we've somehow lost the art (or...

2009-07-20T19:58:53.478+09:30

Jeanne, I think we've somehow lost the art (or is it the patience) to read books that take us weeks even months. Good to hear from you.



Reg, I think you can use "bastard" as an...

2009-07-20T19:57:55.527+09:30

Reg, I think you can use "bastard" as an adjective - e.g. the "bastard son"



Reg and Dorte, I can only hope you are not swearin...

2009-07-20T19:56:53.771+09:30

Reg and Dorte, I can only hope you are not swearing at each other! Mig Dansk er ikke artig og afhænger af en oversætter.



I wouldn't wish these books any shorter, and i...

2009-07-20T10:17:30.875+09:30

I wouldn't wish these books any shorter, and if I miss some nuances of meaning, then how great must they be to withstand the translation!



Tak ska du ha, Dorte! As well as interesting it wa...

2009-07-20T07:17:55.382+09:30

Tak ska du ha, Dorte! As well as interesting it was infuriating, as you can well imagine.



Reg, it is really interesting to hear about the pr...

2009-07-19T20:59:35.833+09:30

Reg, it is really interesting to hear about the process. Your information about the translating process is fascinating.
And as a Danish reader I agree that ´bastard´ is not the right word.



On the phrase "Kalle Bastard Blomkvist" ...

2009-07-19T15:45:49.652+09:30

On the phrase "Kalle Bastard Blomkvist" -- original Swedish "Kalle Jävla Blomkvist", which I translated to American English as "Kalle Fucking Blomkvist". I don't believe "bastard" is an adjective. For some reason it was prissified by the UK editor (as were many other phrases in the book, which I could not read past page 140). Hence my pseudonym since I didn't want to be blamed personally for these infelicities among the thousands of changes that were made.

And Bernadette, Stieg did live long enough to approve the editing done by his Swedish publisher on the first book.

The whole saga will be revealed in an upcoming book by his partner, Eva Gabrielsson, tentatively titled "The Year After Stieg."

--Steven T. Murray, aka Reg



I'm assuming that by "Shoulder" you ...

2009-07-17T06:54:25.402+09:30

I'm assuming that by "Shoulder" you mean THE GIRL WITH THE DRAGON TATTOO Kenneth. Reviewers have been divided on which one they enjoyed more.



I found "Fire" to be clearly inferior to...

2009-07-16T21:28:06.305+09:30

I found "Fire" to be clearly inferior to "Shoulder". (I was so anxious for "Fire" that I bought it from a London shop 6 months ago and had it shipped to the USA, so my recollections are a tad vague.)"Fire" struck me as more of a thriller or fantasy work - Salander as Supergirl - whereas "Shoulder" was more of a family history cum crime saga, and for me a lot more enjoyable. "Fire" seemed to follow the formula of the first book and I'm not as excited about #3 but will read it based on my enjoyment of "Shoulder" and despite "Fire".



What a shame we can't know if these books woul...

2009-07-16T05:22:51.607+09:30

What a shame we can't know if these books would have been better edited if Larsson had not died (although I love the two I've read I do agree that they could both have done with a red pen).

Very jealous of Lou who has read it already (if only I were multilingual) and looking forward to October for #3



I really liked the third one. In my opinion it was...

2009-07-16T04:38:32.570+09:30

I really liked the third one. In my opinion it was much better than the second one, which is my least fave of the three Millenium-books. I think you have a lot to look forward to :-)



I often think I don't say enough Dorte. I am l...

2009-07-15T22:38:01.467+09:30

I often think I don't say enough Dorte. I am looking forward to reading the next though.



A fine and fair review. I especially like the eleg...

2009-07-15T22:19:53.640+09:30

A fine and fair review. I especially like the elegant way you get around the ending without spoiling anything:
"At the end of "FIRE" we are left in no doubt that there is another in the series."

It is sad that Larsson died far too early, but at least, seen from a reader´s point of view, it makes much more sense to end with volume three.