Subscribe: Dragons, Heroes and Wizards: Fantasy Series Book Reviews
http://dragonsheroesandwizards.blogspot.com/feeds/comments/default
Added By: Feedage Forager Feedage Grade B rated
Language: English
Tags:
book  books  continue  epic fantasy  epic  fantasy  great review  great  hope  love  much  new  read  reading  review  series  time 
Rate this Feed
Rate this feedRate this feedRate this feedRate this feedRate this feed
Rate this feed 1 starRate this feed 2 starRate this feed 3 starRate this feed 4 starRate this feed 5 star

Comments (0)

Feed Details and Statistics Feed Statistics
Preview: Dragons, Heroes and Wizards: Fantasy Series Book Reviews

Dragons, Heroes and Wizards





Updated: 2017-07-25T15:33:59.462-04:00

 



Great review! I've got to get round to this on...

2016-05-14T21:30:26.207-04:00

Great review! I've got to get round to this one!



I remember I started reading this, but I couldn...

2016-05-14T21:28:09.069-04:00

I remember I started reading this, but I couldn't get into it. Maybe I'll give it another go!



I'm not sure if you'll receive this commen...

2016-03-02T00:17:33.306-05:00

I'm not sure if you'll receive this comment. I see that your original review is from 2008. I love this series! And I've desperately searched the web for more detail on characters and the landscape (eg maps etc). Surprisingly there's very little info out there. I just wanted to say your review is awesome and greatly appreciated. Thanks



this book looks perfect for me. as a fantasy reade...

2016-01-23T05:43:47.580-05:00

this book looks perfect for me. as a fantasy reader i love reading new things and this one seems promising. i also like the cover!! great post!



These books are recommended for ages 12+ and 7th g...

2015-10-08T11:40:38.676-04:00

These books are recommended for ages 12+ and 7th grade and up.

Thanks for stopping by!



Thank you for this blog it w. I found it was well ...

2015-10-07T09:06:09.682-04:00

Thank you for this blog it w. I found it was well put together and easy to read. I was just wondering what age would you say suits this best? Thank you again for this wonderful blog.



If you like laughter mixed with tears (more laught...

2015-07-04T16:40:05.730-04:00

If you like laughter mixed with tears (more laughter than the latter,) and YA that treats you like you are an adult, I can't recommend these enough.

Thanks for stopping by! I hope to see you here again in the future.



This series is totally new to me!! I think I shoul...

2015-07-04T12:39:30.960-04:00

This series is totally new to me!! I think I should check them out!
Haniya
booknauthors.blogspot.com



The balance of dark and light is awe inspiring. Yo...

2015-06-30T00:53:51.147-04:00

The balance of dark and light is awe inspiring. You can literally go from laughing so hard it hurts to a profound sorrow that sticks with you for days after you read the book. (If not longer.)

There are so many books that I pickup for a reread that I only vaguely remember. However, this book/series will forever remain clear in my mind.

Well Done!

And thanks Mogsy for dropping by :>)



The ending of this one killed me. But it also hook...

2015-06-26T17:49:15.798-04:00

The ending of this one killed me. But it also hooked me forever on this series, so there's that :)

~Mogsy @ BiblioSanctum



From what I've been told, the jumps were all b...

2015-05-20T21:05:04.507-04:00

From what I've been told, the jumps were all backstory and will not continue. However, the dialog, the multiple perspectives, the sharp wit and the college level vocabulary all make it feel far more adult than YA.

Dialog is something that can be done so badly but when it is done well, as it was in this book, it moves things right along and keeps you engaged on a more personal level. I found it interesting that Olgun is mute. The lack of dialog on his part made for an unusual balance. Personally, I thought it was brilliant.

And thanks for commenting! Means the world to me to hear from you.



I'm looking forward to it! Ari Marmell confirm...

2015-05-20T20:58:36.724-04:00

I'm looking forward to it! Ari Marmell confirmed on Twitter that there will be no more time jumps in future books so I'm even more pumped to continue reading.

Thanks for stopping by. Your observations are always valued here. ♥♥♥



Even though I'm not exactly appreciative of YA...

2015-05-20T12:28:48.432-04:00

Even though I'm not exactly appreciative of YA, this is the kind of story I can relate to: the main character might be a teenager, but the situations and the background are such that I don't feel as if it has all been "dumbed down" (as you said in your review) for a younger audience. After all who says younger people are unable to make mental leaps anyway?

There are two more details that convince I might like this book: the dialogue (from your review I understand it's witty and intelligent - always a point in favor) and the jumps in time, that usually keep the narrative flowing and engaging. So I'm adding this one to my list right away!

Great review, as always!



I really enjoyed this series. Like you said, it...

2015-05-19T21:38:30.479-04:00

I really enjoyed this series. Like you said, it's YA but not dumbed down, and I like that it breaks most YA conventions. I hope you continue the series, if recall the time jumps don't continue. And it's also much more emotional, I still remember that ending...

~Mogsy @ BiblioSanctum



I hope you enjoy the series as much as I did :>...

2015-05-15T23:53:43.376-04:00

I hope you enjoy the series as much as I did :>)

Thanks for taking the time to comment and I hope you'll drop back by to let us know if you enjoyed (or disliked) the books!



This sounds AMAZING and I've already added it ...

2015-05-15T19:28:27.653-04:00

This sounds AMAZING and I've already added it to my reading list. I am the same with my characters and I love to see them progress, adapt and change over the course of the book(s) so reading your review has showed me that this book has it and so much more.



My pleasure! This series is truly a gem that I bet...

2015-04-15T12:08:26.896-04:00

My pleasure! This series is truly a gem that I bet has largely been forgotten. I hope you enjoy it :>)



Now I have to read this! I have not been in the re...

2015-04-13T14:31:29.463-04:00

Now I have to read this! I have not been in the reading game very long, so I have not read a whole lot. But I have been searching for a sort of samurai fantasy, and I think this will be the next best thing. How exciting. Currently I am going through all of R.A. Salvatores works, but once I have scaled that mountain this series will be my next go to. Thanx for sharing!!



You are welcome here! Make yourself at home and fe...

2015-04-10T13:26:09.058-04:00

You are welcome here! Make yourself at home and feel free to raid the refrigerator. :>)



I am there with you on the fantasy tropes, but I a...

2015-04-10T01:03:45.192-04:00

I am there with you on the fantasy tropes, but I am also very addicted to anti-heroes.
You'll see me here often, I love what your doing here (great taste in books).
Happy to join/ follow/ annoy you. :)

Be Well,
John



Books are alot like music, or fashion trends. Each...

2015-04-09T03:21:07.411-04:00

Books are alot like music, or fashion trends. Each generation strives recreate themselves by recreating entire genres. Even terminology changes and not always for the better. Take modern "epic" fantasy. I'm not sure what the term means anymore. And I've seen some heated discussions that prove it means different things to different age groups.

What I've seen lately is a much darker story than what I loved in the 70s-80s and even into the 90s. Characters are flawed and usually stay that way. Situations are grim and don't improve all that much. Violence, sex and profanity, while realistic, are given far too much detail.

And forget happy endings. That is the part I miss the most. I want to be grinning by the time I close the book. Not feeling like the answers were possibly worse than the questions.

But I'm also somebody who never outgrew fantasy tropes. I love damsels in distress (but not helpless ones!), knights in shining armor, talking swords, sentient animals and hordes of orcs, trolls, demons and ancient gods.

However, I do believe that as you say, those gems are hidden out there somewhere. I'll continue to look for them :>)

Thanks for stopping by and the kind words of encouragement! Hope to see you again soon.



Aging out of epic fantasy?!? (*covers ears*) My de...

2015-04-09T00:01:22.600-04:00

Aging out of epic fantasy?!? (*covers ears*) My dear, I am sure there is a plethora of wonderful epic fantasies out there waiting for you to explore them. I do understand how you feel though, when I reach the end an amazing series more often then not I find myself wishing I had not finished it. But the best part of finishing one journey is the new excitement and wonder of starting a new one.

I look forward to reading about your next adventure.

Be well,
John



It is! It is starting to worry me though. I have...

2015-03-24T22:34:01.931-04:00

It is! It is starting to worry me though.

I haven't found any series lately that gives me the same level of immersion. I'm starting to worry that I'm aging out of the epic fantasy world. The Empire Trilogy was plenty dark in places but there was always an underlying feeling of hope and the possibility of a change for the better.

Today's epics are darker and more hopeless. The prevailing feeling is one of hope for the lesser of two (or more) extremely bad outcomes. But I have a wealth of old books to reread so I'm not tooooo worried :>)



Great review! The 'Empire' trilogy is one ...

2015-03-24T11:57:17.617-04:00

Great review! The 'Empire' trilogy is one of my favourite fantasy series of all time, and I myself have just embarked on a re-read of the first book. It's absolutely gutting that there's no more Mara after it's finished, isn't it?

- Laura @halfstrungharp



I'm evil that way.... but I doubt you'll r...

2015-03-24T01:37:10.895-04:00

I'm evil that way.... but I doubt you'll regret it :>)

And thanks! I'm not completely happy with my header. I don't know enough to figure out why the text portion is so fuzzy but I love my dragons!