Subscribe: Comments on: Compostable Garbage Bag Review
http://greenbabyguide.com/2009/08/07/compostable-garbage-bag-review/feed/
Added By: Feedage Forager Feedage Grade B rated
Language: English
Tags:
bag  bags  bin  compost bin  compost  compostable  composting  degrade  food  garbage bag  garbage  great  heather  passively great  plastic 
Rate this Feed
Rate this feedRate this feedRate this feedRate this feedRate this feed
Rate this feed 1 starRate this feed 2 starRate this feed 3 starRate this feed 4 starRate this feed 5 star

Comments (0)

Feed Details and Statistics Feed Statistics
Preview: Comments on: Compostable Garbage Bag Review

Comments on: Compostable Garbage Bag Review



Earth Friendly, Budget Friendly



Last Build Date: Fri, 14 Apr 2017 23:57:53 +0000

 



By: Joe Seattle

Sat, 23 Jan 2010 01:12:40 +0000

Just toss the compostable bags in your yardwaste. they will degrade (made from corn) but as heather says they need high heat. If your compost bin gets hot enough they will degrade in six - 12 months. We use a city provided compost pail and toss it in the compost bin out back. I keep a seperate tub for food soiled paper that goes in the yard waste. Its great because for our family of four we rarely fill a 13 gallon garbage bag per week.



By: Aaron M.

Fri, 14 Aug 2009 13:11:54 +0000

I recommend vermiculture (worm composting) as an alternative to composting outdoors or at least, no composting in the winter. www.wormwoman.com has great resources on how to compost with worms. One advantage with the compostable bags is that they will degrade faster than standard plastic garbage bags, even in a landfill, so they are good to use as a normal trash bag.



By: rebecca

Mon, 10 Aug 2009 16:20:56 +0000

Interesting, Heather. I just looked on the box, and it does say that they are intended to compost in a municipal composting facility. We do have municipal composting here (for yard debris--not food scraps at this point), but I didn't think to put the bags in there. I guess I could go back to rinsing out the bin. A little water is better than plastic, right?



By: Heather

Mon, 10 Aug 2009 14:29:03 +0000

Most of the compostable plastic bags that are available on the market are not home compostable. They can only be composted in commercial facilities and usually go with curbside pickup programs. It's not the aeration that was the problem but heat. They need very hot temperatures to break down.



By: Lisa

Sat, 08 Aug 2009 02:29:49 +0000

I have a small pail I empty every day or every other day.



By: anne

Fri, 07 Aug 2009 19:15:56 +0000

I compost extremely passively. I have a great big black bin and I just add to it every couple of days. I have never stirred it(probable should) and it never seems to fill up. We are a family of 5. Composting however aggressively or passively is a great way to reduce your garbage load. I need to find a better way to do it in the winter though..up here we hit -20C to -40C for about 4mths so it makes my little big a frozen heap.



By: Margaret

Fri, 07 Aug 2009 18:21:07 +0000

We have an old heavy-duty plastic container (with a tight-fitting lid) that we keep under the sink. Growing up, my parents used a Costco-sized ice cream bin, and now use some sort of rubbermaid bin; ours is an empty dish soap bin. The lid means that the smells aren't a problem, and it's easily emptied into the compost bin outside and rinsed out as necessary. Perhaps we'll need a larger bin when we're generating more food scraps, but for now I don't think we empty that bin more than once a week.